518 Media | Release Date: December 6, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 136 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
95
Mixed:
15
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
NeilLMar 24, 2009
Now that the critical dust has settled (love it or hate it, as always), this film stands out as Lynch's most complex, troubling and perverse work. For that feat alone it deserves the highest score possible. It will continue to fascinate Now that the critical dust has settled (love it or hate it, as always), this film stands out as Lynch's most complex, troubling and perverse work. For that feat alone it deserves the highest score possible. It will continue to fascinate and perplex. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful
9
DerekCOct 24, 2008
I'VE BEEN LYNCHED! - Bad, inevitable joke, but also fitting. One has to trust Mr. Lynch to sit through a film like this. What does one do with the grotesque in this film, as in his others? How about the evil, the innate I'VE BEEN LYNCHED! - Bad, inevitable joke, but also fitting. One has to trust Mr. Lynch to sit through a film like this. What does one do with the grotesque in this film, as in his others? How about the evil, the innate self-destructiveness and pathetic cluelessness of mankind? There is no such thing as a happy ending in a Lynch film, despite appearances to the contrary. We're put through an intriguing, in your face nightmare. What does one do? Oddly enough it is possible to enjoy it. As a fan of Alain Resnais films, which are typically cryptic and challenging, I consider David Lynch to be the next generation of his school transplanted and grown in America. Inland Empire is so buried in the current American psyche it is startling. It digs right down to its twisted and self-strangling roots. Our culture is incomprehensibly bizarre. Inland Empire reflects that and leads you to feel like a victim of our own country's behavior. It's the undercurrent spirit of the age, increasingly so as time continues past the release date of the film. Then there are the parallels of the film inside the film inside the mind of the lead character that take place in Poland. Surprise America. Mankind has been there and done that before elsewhere in the world. How do humans entertain themselves? Persistently. Perennially. We don't just invent 'American' dreams. We consistently insist upon inventing dark games of deceit, sex and intrigue. Like it or not, we all make Lynch films of our lives. And we find it entertaining in the moment of each moment's birth. What are we? Why are we so dark? Why has mankind alone invented evil? With a bit of cinematic magic and flash, David Lynch dares put us through a hall of mirrors in an attempt to find out. The challenge: find the thread of sanity that holds us together. To Lynch fans, surviving the journey is worth the knowledge of understanding. Can we learn from our mistakes? Can we grow? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
VenlkatRJul 21, 2008
I thoroughly appreciate the fact that Lynch has experimented with this film in a way he hasn't done with any other. However, it is extremely private and the viewer is lucky to understand anything (if at all). Lynch admitted to having no I thoroughly appreciate the fact that Lynch has experimented with this film in a way he hasn't done with any other. However, it is extremely private and the viewer is lucky to understand anything (if at all). Lynch admitted to having no script and instead handing over to each actor several pages of dialogue each day. Ultimately, the movies spirals down into an endless abyss of meaninglessness, and drowns in self-preservation. Work of art:yes, avant-garde:yes; but unless you are a hardcore Lynch fan , or love abstract art this movie is definitely not worth a watch. You will be left alienated, and would have rather spent them staring at a blank wall. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DamonC.Dec 17, 2006
I'm the biggest fan of David Lynch. I have seen Mulholland Drive 5 times, Lost Highway and Blue Velvet twice each, and relished Twin Peaks, The Elephant Man and Wild at Heart. But as much as I wanted to, I didn't go for IE. I think I'm the biggest fan of David Lynch. I have seen Mulholland Drive 5 times, Lost Highway and Blue Velvet twice each, and relished Twin Peaks, The Elephant Man and Wild at Heart. But as much as I wanted to, I didn't go for IE. I think the story is actually very simple: Laura Dern's character, despite not heeding a warning against acting in a particular movie, go ahead and does it anyway and falls in love with her co-star. This opens the pathway into two alternate universes: (i) a white trash equivalent of Laura Dern's character, and (ii) a Polish mirror image. Much happens, but the essential thing is that through the magic (i.e. catharsis) of cinema, a person is able to transcend humdrum problems, even murders, and Laura Dern's character learn enough from the movie to be able to connect to her white trash and Polish selves, and is eventually able to penetrate into a new world, where even bad acting (notably by bunnies, and by implication, herself) receives thunderous applause. Okay, but so what? I sat through three hours of tedium without experiencing much suspense, mystery or in fact, any emotional connection with Laura Dern's incarnations. The best thing about IE was the bunnies, and that was really stolen from a short film done a couple of years ago. I think Lynch is stuck on traveling the lost highway of Mulholland Drive, and needs to get off quick before it all turns into another sordid episode of True Hollywood Stories. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JustinLJun 14, 2007
I'm a Lynch fan who almost walked out on this one at the theater. It's so overly self-indulgent & purposefully annoying. There's some wonderful Lynch moments, but as a whole piece it's certainly one of his weakest efforts.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MarcDoyleAug 13, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know what the hell happened in this movie - if "happened" is even a useful term. People talk about Inception as a "dream" movie - but this one was a true dream. F-ed up images, unconnected nonsense. I love Lynch, but he even admitted that random, unconnected scenes came to him and he essentially "threw them in!". It was a LONG three hours. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
PaxsterOct 6, 2010
Inland Empire is not a bad film and has some great imagery but it is almost as if Lynch is taking the piss out of himself with virtually no story lines and endless amounts of critical interpretation and chatter. Where are the moments ofInland Empire is not a bad film and has some great imagery but it is almost as if Lynch is taking the piss out of himself with virtually no story lines and endless amounts of critical interpretation and chatter. Where are the moments of realism like Mulholland Drive? No story, great imagery, average acting. It can only be a 5. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
I will put it as simply as it has to be: If you like David Lynch movies, you will like Inland Empire. If you don't like David Lynch movies, you will hate Inland Empire. It is not Lynch's best. It is not Lynch's worst. It is simply hisI will put it as simply as it has to be: If you like David Lynch movies, you will like Inland Empire. If you don't like David Lynch movies, you will hate Inland Empire. It is not Lynch's best. It is not Lynch's worst. It is simply his "Lynchiest." If you want to know what the directorial style of David Lynch is, as well as the most extreme boundaries to what a film can really be, watch Inland Empire and it will answer all your questions. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
BlancoA.Dec 6, 2006
I consider myself a HUGE Lynch fan, with the Twin Peaks film/series, Mulholland Drive, and Wild at Heart being among my faves of all time. I'm sorry to say that Inland Empire, while visually and aurally stunning, is just wholly I consider myself a HUGE Lynch fan, with the Twin Peaks film/series, Mulholland Drive, and Wild at Heart being among my faves of all time. I'm sorry to say that Inland Empire, while visually and aurally stunning, is just wholly unacceptable. At the LA Film Festival, none of the actors involved could explain to the audience what actually happens in the film. Lynch himself explained that he filmed a single scene with no story in mind, a couple of weeks later, he filmed another scene - completely unrelated to the first. Eventually, after following this organic process, a film developed out of this tapestry and Inland Empire was the result. I'm paraphrasing here, of course, but at about 3 hours, sitting through this sucker was BRUTAL. And it pains me to say so. Laura Dern is amazing in this film. Ideas here and there are provocative. But as a whole, it's unacceptable. Non-linear? Yeah. If nobody involved with the film can tell you what the film is about or what happens in the film, you've got problems. One day, I wish Lynch would go back to telling stories, where at least 80% of the film is comprehensible and maybe 20% is "Lynchian" or odd - a la the Black Lodge in Twin Peaks, etc. But this one is about 10% comprehensible, and the rest is just nice to look at and listen to. Please, David, come back to us... I can see you in there, but you're too far away at the moment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TracyRFeb 10, 2007
Sure he's brilliant and even his crap is a lot better than many people's finest efforts. Some incredibly compelling scenes, totally exquisite at moments, but just not enough effort to frigging communicate and leaves the audience to Sure he's brilliant and even his crap is a lot better than many people's finest efforts. Some incredibly compelling scenes, totally exquisite at moments, but just not enough effort to frigging communicate and leaves the audience to do too much of the work. That's what the director is for and all the gee whiz visual effects don't cover it up. Maddening in a way, because he has proven what a terrific albeit non-narrative story teller he can be when he wants to be. But this one, however intermittenly entertaining, doesn't offer enough to justify the effort of watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DennisC.Aug 14, 2007
This is a befuddling mess of a movie. Just like other great directors, there does seem to come a time when an artist has only sycophants to guide him/her. I have followed Lynch down many a dark alley of his mind, but this just leads nowhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoreyD.Feb 5, 2007
Film critics are like flies in jello when it comes to films like this one. They should stick to BLADE II or FAST AND THE FURIOUS or THE LAKEHOUSE, things that can compare to daytime television. This is one of those films you have to commit Film critics are like flies in jello when it comes to films like this one. They should stick to BLADE II or FAST AND THE FURIOUS or THE LAKEHOUSE, things that can compare to daytime television. This is one of those films you have to commit to, as it's long and distinct. Get a good nap before, and bring a sack lunch, take the next day off. This movie will be stuck in your head for a bit, and when it finally hits you, you'll smile. It's beautiful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffT.Apr 3, 2007
Wow!! I did not want to leave that world he has created in this "film" See it with an open mind and do not put to much into understanding everything in your first viewing. It took me about 2 or 3 times before I started to catch on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobMay 30, 2007
Strange, beautiful, mezmerizing, menacing, brave. Art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LarryH.May 5, 2007
I love David Lynch. I am a follower of Lynch. But Inland Empire was 3 hours of abysmal film. It was plotless, it was uninspired, and it made no sense. This movie has officially become the worst movie of all time in my books. Shame on Lynch I love David Lynch. I am a follower of Lynch. But Inland Empire was 3 hours of abysmal film. It was plotless, it was uninspired, and it made no sense. This movie has officially become the worst movie of all time in my books. Shame on Lynch for directing and Dern for producing this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WillisS.Aug 21, 2007
Inland Empire is strictly for David Lynch fans and lovers of Art House movies. This movie is not for the casual 'noir' fan who will most definitely lose interest because of the non linear plotline and the nearly three hour running Inland Empire is strictly for David Lynch fans and lovers of Art House movies. This movie is not for the casual 'noir' fan who will most definitely lose interest because of the non linear plotline and the nearly three hour running time. Patrons will benefit from watching this movie with friends who are willing to discuss and argue about the 'plot' and meaning of Inland Empire. Seen alone, this movie will most certainly leave some lost and asking too many questions. I personally left this movie confused and disappointed, but after some research and finding some 'explaination' of the movie on the internet I felt better about the movie and the story that Lynch was trying to tell, albeit in an overly abstract manner. Overall, a movie going experience fans of abstract noir should not miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
N.E.Dec 15, 2006
Interesting that so many of these reviews couldn't locate the Inland Empire geographically. For the record, the Inland Empire (aka, the 909) consists of the heavily congested, smog-choked working-class suburbs of western San Bernardino Interesting that so many of these reviews couldn't locate the Inland Empire geographically. For the record, the Inland Empire (aka, the 909) consists of the heavily congested, smog-choked working-class suburbs of western San Bernardino and Riverside counties. I don't think this makes the film any clearer, but there it is. That said, this movie is incredible. The 1 rule of Lynch's films is that repeated viewing is essential; understanding how all the images fit together requires a real feeling for the scenes. With all of Lynch's previous work, I've found that the stories make a degree of sense, and contain fascinating insights, but many of the links required to realize this are intuitive rather than logical; they "sink in". I have no doubt that this will happen once I've seen "Inland Empire" a few more times. Ultimately Lynch is a great artist and makes very few films; if you're trying to decide whether to see this film, imagine what you would do if van Gogh was exhibiting new paintings in your hometown; they might not be his greatest work, and you might not grasp their meaning on the 1st pass, but you would still want to see van Gogh's newest work for yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KadorP.Dec 31, 2006
OK - this is it ladies and gents - a three hour actors' workshop - very good scenes but I Am a David Lynch fan and was sorely disappointed that there was absolutely No Payoff At All on this film - for the first time, in my humble OK - this is it ladies and gents - a three hour actors' workshop - very good scenes but I Am a David Lynch fan and was sorely disappointed that there was absolutely No Payoff At All on this film - for the first time, in my humble opinion - Just because someone's done it in the past, doesn't mean everything they do is "brilliant" - This was simply a bucketful lot of slap-dash with no continuity Or Relevance. But still, if you're a fan, you can't leave, sort of like one of those famous potato chips, though not as salty. Save your money for the DVD - it's certainly not something you need to see all in one seating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterF.Dec 7, 2006
Inland Empire is a masterwork--in Lynch's ouvre it ranks up there with Blue Velvet and Mulholland Drive, and it may be the best film of '06. It is certainly the most challenging and experimental film to be released by an American Inland Empire is a masterwork--in Lynch's ouvre it ranks up there with Blue Velvet and Mulholland Drive, and it may be the best film of '06. It is certainly the most challenging and experimental film to be released by an American director in quite some time. Go elsewhere if you need popcorn entertainment; but if you want to be taken on a thrilling ride into the mad, terrifying corridors of consciousness, this bit of pure cinema is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronT.Jan 10, 2007
One of the few entirely unique experiences I've had at the movies, but also distinctly Lynchian. There is no way to summarize the plot of this movie, nor is that the way it was apparantly intended to be absorbed. The sheer dread, One of the few entirely unique experiences I've had at the movies, but also distinctly Lynchian. There is no way to summarize the plot of this movie, nor is that the way it was apparantly intended to be absorbed. The sheer dread, paranoia, irony, sadness, satire, and triumph are felt rather than observed. The movie hits you hard in the same place in your mind that is brutally affected by a nightmare which, upon waking, is impossible to explain in it's full impact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BorisM.Jan 2, 2007
Unlike Harmony Korine or Crispin Glover, Lynch doesn't have to rely on exploiting mentally handicapped people in order to convey his message to the silver screen. Where Lost Highway and Mulholland Drive let me down, Inland Empire proves Unlike Harmony Korine or Crispin Glover, Lynch doesn't have to rely on exploiting mentally handicapped people in order to convey his message to the silver screen. Where Lost Highway and Mulholland Drive let me down, Inland Empire proves a true return to form for the best director alive today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FredC.Oct 6, 2007
I rarely go to a movie that I feel was a total waste of money, but this one certainly was. I boldly sat through the entire unstructured mess, even though a good 1/3 of the audience had trickled out by the end. I've liked all of I rarely go to a movie that I feel was a total waste of money, but this one certainly was. I boldly sat through the entire unstructured mess, even though a good 1/3 of the audience had trickled out by the end. I've liked all of Lynch's films except for Eraserhead, but this fiasco even made Eraserhead look good. Come on, Mr. Lynch, you can do better! Please make some movies with the audience in mind, not just to put your fantasies on celluloid. After all, you are expecting us to PAY to go see your work. It seems to me you've let success go to your head. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DrDM.Mar 10, 2007
Great acting, great vision, great cinamatogrophy. 1 hour less and a fusion of the ideas would have made this into an all time best, but Lynch is just playing with his audience - pretentious artistic faeces. No theme -maybe East Europe white Great acting, great vision, great cinamatogrophy. 1 hour less and a fusion of the ideas would have made this into an all time best, but Lynch is just playing with his audience - pretentious artistic faeces. No theme -maybe East Europe white slavery brought to US, drugged up hooker believing in her mind that she is a famous actress, but no -real shame and a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
YokM.Mar 22, 2007
Three hours of relentlessly intense ugly digital footage, so icomprehensively incoherent and art installation-esqe that its just completely (and doubtlessly intentionally) unaccessible on any level. The most agrivating thing is that its so Three hours of relentlessly intense ugly digital footage, so icomprehensively incoherent and art installation-esqe that its just completely (and doubtlessly intentionally) unaccessible on any level. The most agrivating thing is that its so reminiscent of art installation work thats already out there it doesnt even have that element of originality that could make it exciting. The continually fluctuating fragments of messy editing, dialogue that might as well been spoken in Elvish it has so little relevence to the rest of the film and delivery similar to the average pullchord bandai toy, make this absolute torture to sit through. It is the embodinment of pretension and an obnoxiously self obsessive venture on Lynch's part, showing that his name is not only a license to print money, but also to actively abuse celluloid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
russjJul 11, 2007
Not being a fan of the digital video medium i went to see this film with trepidation as i am a fan of Lynch's visual aesthetics and thought the medium wouldn't do justice to his vision. However David Lynch did a great job but too Not being a fan of the digital video medium i went to see this film with trepidation as i am a fan of Lynch's visual aesthetics and thought the medium wouldn't do justice to his vision. However David Lynch did a great job but too many scenes looked like student art installations. The film was too long and i think too similar to the labyrinthine plots served up in Mulholland Drive and Lost Highway that the impact was lost. It seemed like a parody of a David Lynch movie and i think he would be well advised to try a different genre and a more linear narrative in his next feature. Tarantino has shown in Pulp Fiction you can mess with narrative and make a film that makes sense and be non-linear. I would like to watch it on DVD whilst stoned although i wouldn't say this is a positive thing. It is reminiscent of having a bad dream and my memories of the film feel like i have dreamt them. Whether this makes for a good movie i am not sure but it is a unique experience. You will love or loathe this movie and that's the point , it isn't mainstream and doesn't want to be. It knows its audience and the audience will search for it fed up of sanitised money-making Hollywood blockbusters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GarrisonT.Dec 20, 2006
This film was built to split audiences... and expectations... and psyches. For those well-versed in the "mobius strip" structure Lynch has slowly been refining since his underrated LOST HIGHWAY, this film will be a Godsend. For everyone This film was built to split audiences... and expectations... and psyches. For those well-versed in the "mobius strip" structure Lynch has slowly been refining since his underrated LOST HIGHWAY, this film will be a Godsend. For everyone else, I would simply ask that you give it a fair shot, minus any expectations you might have for a normal three-act narrative. Just let the jaw-droppingly visceral lead performance by Laura Dern be your emotional anchor through this cryptic film's dark and troubling waters. Don't worry... she'll carry you safely to the other side. BEST FILM OF 2006... period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeidiK.Dec 20, 2006
A gorgeous and poignant film. i am enthralled yet again.....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElliottM.Dec 5, 2006
I saw this at the AFI fest and I haven't stopped thinking about it since. Yes, it's frustrating and confusing, but I can't remember ever being so completely engrossed in a 3-hour movie before. It is exhilarating and I saw this at the AFI fest and I haven't stopped thinking about it since. Yes, it's frustrating and confusing, but I can't remember ever being so completely engrossed in a 3-hour movie before. It is exhilarating and astonishing to see something so formless, so subconscious. Oh, and Laura Dern is incredible. Her "monologue" might be the greatest moment in film for 2006. (Oh, and one more thing -- I think David Edelstein's review is misrepresented above -- I found it to be quite positive actually). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Dec 8, 2006
'INLAND EMPIRE' is difficult yes. Challenging yes. Brilliant filmmaking, absolutely. Lynch's most daringly experimental feature will be maddening to some (witness the wildly mixed reviews) and endlessly fascinating to die hard 'INLAND EMPIRE' is difficult yes. Challenging yes. Brilliant filmmaking, absolutely. Lynch's most daringly experimental feature will be maddening to some (witness the wildly mixed reviews) and endlessly fascinating to die hard cineastes. Multiple viewings are a neccessity. This film will be discussed, argued about and debated for years to come. Like all great films. The best film of 2006, no contest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomB.Jan 15, 2007
I've loved everything that David Lynch has done from Eraserhead to Mullholland drive. Having said that I have no reservation in saying that this is the WORST film I have ever seen from a known director. I believe that Mr. Lynch I've loved everything that David Lynch has done from Eraserhead to Mullholland drive. Having said that I have no reservation in saying that this is the WORST film I have ever seen from a known director. I believe that Mr. Lynch intentionally set out to show us all that he can do whatever he wishes with absolutely no regard for his fans or audiences in general. He made his point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful