Inni

Inni Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Inni is Sigur Rós’s second live film following 2007′s Heima. Whereas that film positioned the enigmatic group in the context of their Icelandic homeland, providing geographical, social, and historical perspectives on their otherworldly music, with uplifting results, Inni focuses purelyInni is Sigur Rós’s second live film following 2007′s Heima. Whereas that film positioned the enigmatic group in the context of their Icelandic homeland, providing geographical, social, and historical perspectives on their otherworldly music, with uplifting results, Inni focuses purely on the band’s performance, which is artfully and intimately captured by French-Canadian director Vincent Morisset. Interweaving archive material from the band’s first ten years with the sometimes gossamer light, sometimes punishingly intense, concert footage, Inni is a persuasive account of one of the most celebrated and influential rock bands of recent years. (Cinema Purgatorio) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Nov 10, 2011
    90
    The best concert films achieve a marriage of sound and image that feels effortlessly harmonious, and in that regard Inni, a musical portrait of the Icelandic band Sigur Ros, leaves most of its genre in the dust.
  2. Reviewed by: Guy Dixon
    Oct 28, 2011
    88
    This is the perfect film for a band that was never trying to be something other than inventive.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Oct 22, 2011
    80
    Whereas 2007's well-traveled "Heima" reveled in scenic color imagery of the artists' homeland, this minimalist item strips the band down to its output, fashioning black-and-white performance footage into a uniquely spellbinding experience.
  4. Reviewed by: Jesse Cataldo
    Nov 7, 2011
    63
    As a document of a live show it looks like nothing else, but Vincent Morisset's greater aspirations, attempts to define or sum up the band through the inclusion of external material, come off as muddled and oblique.
  5. Reviewed by: Gustavo Turner
    Oct 27, 2011
    50
    The result is a hazy, shoegazy visual tone that is both elegiac and eulogistic - that is, at once meditative and funereal.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    Inni is special. Generally I was mesmerised by this film from start to finish. Sigur Ros has established a unique style over the years and itInni is special. Generally I was mesmerised by this film from start to finish. Sigur Ros has established a unique style over the years and it has evolved to a more mature version of their debut Von. After careful [re]listening to Von, I've found it to be quite an amazing and underrated album. The chosen cinematographic style, in my opinion, represents remnants of Von to haunt you visually. It definitely adds a particularly peculiar dimension to their music that I found creative in context of oeuvre of Sigur Ros. Concerning the music, it is brilliant. The small variations in some songs makes this production a special one to own. I've also found some songs to emphasise (only slightly) different instruments that highlights things that (if you know their music well) have known, heard but never realised. It is also a sign of true artists to produce such a performance live and make it sound just as good (some places even better) than their studio albums; thus a true all-rounder band. As a concluding remark, keep in mind that the film and audio version is available. In other words, if the "claustrophobia" of Inni gets its hands to cover your nose and mouth and leaves you too breathless, purchase only the audio. The audio, as mentioned above, is outstanding and different enough to own as a separate album. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2012
    8
    It takes the ambiance of the band into a sort of other worldly place that it should already be at. Black and white visuals of the bands (as ofIt takes the ambiance of the band into a sort of other worldly place that it should already be at. Black and white visuals of the bands (as of current) final performance show the band at a strong point, adding a sort of mysterious art to the jonsi and company. Only true problem i had with the film to make it great was only about a portion of the concert was used. Collapse
  3. Nov 3, 2011
    2
    I thought I was a fan of the band until I saw this film. It's as if a film student had a final project to make something that was not onlyI thought I was a fan of the band until I saw this film. It's as if a film student had a final project to make something that was not only completely visually cancerous but also painful to hear. The filmmaker has somehow found a way to make their music seem tasteless and horrific while using classic music video style elements in a chunky lackadaisical editing style resulting in the most pretentious, boring, and utterly unwatchable cinematography ever shot. I love the band. This movie is horrible. Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.