Polychrome Pictures | Release Date: October 14, 2005
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 33 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
1
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
AnaPOct 20, 2005
I loooooved the movie... Now, maybe it was weird to see them talking in mexican but it is understandable. I loved the movie... I cried so much... Still.... five stars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SureshB.Jul 30, 2008
No words, Its a superb film, The best movie I ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyOct 17, 2005
A story focused on the preservation of the humanity of a family unit despite the absence of it around. subtle and appropriate political statements.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AidaC.Oct 30, 2005
This is a film dedicated to those
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinyPazJan 31, 2009
This was a great Movie, The Child actors were some of the best I have ever seen. Carlos Padilla did a great job in the lead roll, as did the rest of the cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaraS.Jan 5, 2009
This movie is so powerful. We watched it in spanish class and it pretty much made my year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JGarciaNov 3, 2005
This movie deserves an Oscar! A powerful movie that masterfully combines humor with history. I enjoyed every minute of it. All of the actors were great especially the lead little boy -- amazing. Definitely a must see film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreaM.Nov 9, 2005
[***SPOILERS***] Great movie, it's conforting to know that even at such difficult times, family and friendship ties cannot be destroyed. For me it was specially touching the friendship between Ancha and Chava so the scene where Ancha is[***SPOILERS***] Great movie, it's conforting to know that even at such difficult times, family and friendship ties cannot be destroyed. For me it was specially touching the friendship between Ancha and Chava so the scene where Ancha is killed for helping him escape from soldiers wasreally heart breaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
sjsOct 30, 2005
I thought this film was powerful & moving and I am so glad to see it's finally in release, I want to tell everyone to go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DedeS.May 30, 2006
The best movie I ever seen. I like it so much! The first movie of my grade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RenéS.Oct 24, 2005
The innocent voice and spirit of survival is strongly portrayed by Carlos Padilla (Chava), an 11-year-old boy who becomes the
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SindyG.Apr 24, 2008
Movie was very sad , made my husband remember what it was like when he was there and how u suffer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlosRDec 13, 2005
One of the best films I've seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlizeW.Dec 13, 2005
This film is the most ovelooked film of the year. It is an amazing film that should've won an oscar last year. This has been the only movie that has made an emotional impact in my life, it made me cry, laugh, but mostly realize the all This film is the most ovelooked film of the year. It is an amazing film that should've won an oscar last year. This has been the only movie that has made an emotional impact in my life, it made me cry, laugh, but mostly realize the all the INNOCENT VOICES there are in the kids during wars. Since we are currently in one, this film is very especial to me. I'm glad to see that this year it has been recognized by the National Board Of Review, Washington Film Critics, San Franciso Film Festival and the Satellite Awards. I first saw it at the Toronto Film Festival, where the whole audience was crying and at the end of the film stood up clapping. THIS IS A MUST SEE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
nutterjrNov 8, 2010
I am surprised that having witnessed a true story about a boy losing his innocence during the civil war in El Salvador with grueling pictures of the atrocities of war and the things a 11 year old goes through, I did not quite feel overwhelmed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
nishant27Apr 7, 2015
The movie's plot and acting were great, especially for the child actors, given their age. However, the unneccesary slo-mos and other effects intended to artificially introduce tension into scenes that were already very emotional ruined muchThe movie's plot and acting were great, especially for the child actors, given their age. However, the unneccesary slo-mos and other effects intended to artificially introduce tension into scenes that were already very emotional ruined much of the movie for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews