CBS Films | Release Date: December 6, 2013
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 455 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
361
Mixed:
51
Negative:
43
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ThegodfathersonDec 7, 2013
INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS is a feat of filmmaking, taking the gentle strains of folk music and revealing it for the revolutionary act that it is. Not just because it has been the soundtrack of many social movements, but of personal ones, too. OscarINSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS is a feat of filmmaking, taking the gentle strains of folk music and revealing it for the revolutionary act that it is. Not just because it has been the soundtrack of many social movements, but of personal ones, too. Oscar Isaac as Llewyn is revelatory, a bone-tired, supremely talented man whose passion for making music is struggling mightily against the whims of the industry and his demons one being the loss of his musical partner to suicide. When Isaac sings, we're transported first to the dusky bars of 1960s West Village and, more important, to the jungle of discouragement and confusion he's living in. It's a powerful performance. Supporting him is a great ensemble, some new to the Coen Brothers family (Timberlake, thankfully subdued and nearly holding his own against the others) and some beloved veterans (Goodman). It's not just Isaac and the cast, though, that makes Inside Llewyn Davis remarkable. The music, with T-Bone Burnett in charge of the soundtrack, takes its rightful place front and center. And the Coens tell the story in a clever, elliptical way that drives home the futility and magic of a time. But it's not all sadness and tears. The Coens' singular humor runs a streak through the entire enterprise. Go see it. Expand
16 of 23 users found this helpful167
All this user's reviews
10
ibbsteJul 6, 2014
The Most Brutally Honest Artists' Statement in Modern Cinema

I think the Coen brothers' most profound gift is their ability to translate any message, text, or emotion to film. To me, INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS is so special because of its brutal
The Most Brutally Honest Artists' Statement in Modern Cinema

I think the Coen brothers' most profound gift is their ability to translate any message, text, or emotion to film. To me, INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS is so special because of its brutal honesty of what it looks like, for most people, to pursue your artistic dream. And it's a damn shame. We see people come and go every day with the talent of Llewyn Davis, the titular character at the heart of the film, but through a very distinctly Coen combination of situation, lack of luck, and very particular misjudgments throughout the course of his life prevent him from ever reaching the reputation he may or may not have deserved (but could very well have reached it under different circumstances, which is the larger point).

Oscar Isaac completely disappears into his performance as Llewyn Davis, someone who may appear as a very average person in the streets of New York who has as many dreams and ambition as anyone else. But he's not a perfect person — he doesn't have the foresight or moral flexibility it might have taken for him to have made a more comfortable living out of the passion of his life. Oscar is able to wear this character like a perfectly fit glove, but he made it fit; years from now, people will be wondering why he wasn't aptly recognized for this work in his own time. The performance itself is an intricate, if modest, masterpiece.

Another strength of the Coens' is their ability to bring out the best of their cinematographers. The camerawork from Bruno Delbonnel will, at any given moment, visually clue the audience into the place, position, and state of mind into this central character's mindset through color, focus, framing, and detail. Cinema is, first and foremost, a visual medium; and, as such, both Joel and Ethan Coen know what director of photography to trust most to convey the thousands of words they have to say with each frame.

Finally, what makes this more than a worthy look is the work of Mr. T-Bone Burnett himself. The soundtrack of this film is easily the best in the world of music in its year and helps this film to transcend into a world of poetic irony that has little else but the decibel of its own understated 60s-era East Village earnestness to cry out with.

The Coen brothers themselves tend to seem like shy and introverted individuals. And it's only them who could have painted such a rich and painfully honest portrait with the very artistry they excel at. This is a look at art that crosses every possible medium. The Coens are asking us, "how many geniuses have slipped through the crack? What kind of beauty has been made in any field that I've never been privileged enough to experience? Are we ever really at the ends of the spectrum of possibility of the art we so enjoy to indulge in when such brilliant voices can never quite break through?" It's almost a message of humility — that their ability to tell this man's story is the minimum they can offer back to their audiences for the good fortune they themselves have had to be able to tell such stories in the first place. And, appropriately, they've crafted a film that wasn't properly appreciated by their own successful peers in its own time. The truthful tone will turn many audiences off from its message, but INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS is one of the most essential film offerings of the new millennium thus far.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Benkoko11Feb 23, 2017
The Coen bro's melancholic ode to the American folk age is anchored by its soundtrack and Isaac's memorable performance but often falls into the familiar tropes of the agitated struggling artist.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
panicultureDec 27, 2013
An execrable pile of offensive nonsense. A total jerk and animal abuse. Possibly the Coen's worst; subverting their main character at every opportunity, without a shred of redemption, this horrendous pastiche shrinks to a pinpoint ofAn execrable pile of offensive nonsense. A total jerk and animal abuse. Possibly the Coen's worst; subverting their main character at every opportunity, without a shred of redemption, this horrendous pastiche shrinks to a pinpoint of depressing nastiness. Not even remotely a convincing recreation of life in the Village c. 1960. Awful awful awful. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
najohnstonDec 29, 2013
This is a highly disappointing film. The critical acclaim made me rush with excitement to see this new Cohen Brothers offering. But it is just plain dull. Yes, it's production, casting and music are exceptional. But it does not at allThis is a highly disappointing film. The critical acclaim made me rush with excitement to see this new Cohen Brothers offering. But it is just plain dull. Yes, it's production, casting and music are exceptional. But it does not at all entertain the audience. I kept waiting for Llewyn Davis to do something that would make me care, that would move me, but he didn't. And in fact, not many of the other characters did much for me either. A lot of effort went into making a beautiful but boring movie. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
1
folkchickDec 25, 2013
This film was supposedly "inspired" by the hilarious book "The Mayor Of MacDougal Street" by Dave Van Ronk, the larger-than-life Greenwich Village folk legend. Somehow, against all odds, the Coen Bros managed to create a dull, plodding,This film was supposedly "inspired" by the hilarious book "The Mayor Of MacDougal Street" by Dave Van Ronk, the larger-than-life Greenwich Village folk legend. Somehow, against all odds, the Coen Bros managed to create a dull, plodding, joyless, pointless film. The only good that can come from this movie is the spotlight shining on the late great Dave Van Ronk and re-introducing his work to the world.

If you go see this film keep in mind that that Coens got everything wrong the folk scene was energetic, fun, lively, bursting with life, and the best of the singer/songwriters were very supportive of each other. It was Dave Van Ronk who first said: "Never root against your competitor if what they are doing is good music. When music of quality sells it's good for all of us." He also said, "Honesty can be the cruelest game of all. Not only can someone hurt you and hurt you to the bone they can feel self righteous about it at the same time." And this: "Never make the mistake of thinking someone you don't like, likes you." (You have to think about that for a second).

You'd never imagine anything like that coming out of the mouth of Llewyn Davis.

You can probably guess that I knew Van Ronk, and like many of my compatriots, am baffled how such a bleak film sprang from such brilliantly witty source material. They should have thought twice about using Dave Van Ronk's name to give this film a sort of street cred. There's too many of us out here who see how false this film rings, and because of our love and reverence for the man, feel compelled to speak up on his behalf.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
1
Love4MoviesJan 10, 2014
Save your money. In fact, the Coen Brothers should give me a refund or come to my house and listen to me sing old folk songs for 2 hours. Okay, a couple of sad songs are fine but too much of a sad thing is a bad thing. If the purpose ofSave your money. In fact, the Coen Brothers should give me a refund or come to my house and listen to me sing old folk songs for 2 hours. Okay, a couple of sad songs are fine but too much of a sad thing is a bad thing. If the purpose of the film was to drive the audience into the ground with unconnected sequences and with only a cat to give a moment of meaning -- then you will like the film. Good cat, bad movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusApr 20, 2014
Did I miss something? Did I watch another "Inside Llewyn Davis" movie? This movie, goes NOWHERE!
a lot of pointless dialog, drags on and on. The actors and music were good, but that doesn't make a good movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
BoychickDec 21, 2013
There is nothing Inside Llewyn Davis. it's a beautifully produced fraud. The movie goes nowhere. Nothing happens. The Coens have written a movie about an era, rather than a story with a beginning, middle, and end. I cannot believe the reviewsThere is nothing Inside Llewyn Davis. it's a beautifully produced fraud. The movie goes nowhere. Nothing happens. The Coens have written a movie about an era, rather than a story with a beginning, middle, and end. I cannot believe the reviews it has received. I wanted to love this movie. It is very unsatisfying. The audience I saw it with, was looking at each other, as if to say, "Is that all there is? When is the story going to begin?" Don't waste your money. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
waynDec 11, 2013
The coens are back inside llewyn davis is a powerful,emotional with coens directing which might be a Oscars winning movie in what ever category with oscar issac delivering a career best performance and the music score that touches your heartThe coens are back inside llewyn davis is a powerful,emotional with coens directing which might be a Oscars winning movie in what ever category with oscar issac delivering a career best performance and the music score that touches your heart and fills it with emotions that cuts right through the movie Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Dec 26, 2013
I understand that the movie's intention is to be dreary, bleak, and so on, but it comes off as boring, overlong, and with no satisfying conclusion. The music was a mixed bag with more bad than good. Some characters felt worthless.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
4
ScraperDec 27, 2013
It's guaranteed that the Coens will leave no detail behind in their settings which is why everyone will give their films a chance and why critics will have their reviews written before seeing the movie. Inside Llewyn Davis is no differentIt's guaranteed that the Coens will leave no detail behind in their settings which is why everyone will give their films a chance and why critics will have their reviews written before seeing the movie. Inside Llewyn Davis is no different from the scarves, to the office chairs, the lovely echo in the empty hall as Llewyn goes a cappella, to the silver in the quarters making a ring as they're dropped on the table, everything of the period is cared for. But in this movie you will find no trace of characters developing their relationships with one another. The ambient light on skin, as beautiful as it may be at times, stays stagnant for two hours. All of the characters' minds were made up before your butt hits the theater seat. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
DmitryPortnoyDec 8, 2013
"Inside Llewyn Davis" is a masterly work of exquisite beauty, rigorous discipline, and supreme confidence. The Coens have purged the violence of "Blood Simple," "Miller's Crossing," and "No Country for Old Men," the jokiness of "Raising"Inside Llewyn Davis" is a masterly work of exquisite beauty, rigorous discipline, and supreme confidence. The Coens have purged the violence of "Blood Simple," "Miller's Crossing," and "No Country for Old Men," the jokiness of "Raising Arizona," the grotesquery of "Barton Fink," the college-dorm philosophizing of "The Big Lebowski" and "A Serious Man," the cornball regionalism of "Fargo" and "O Brother, Where Art Thou"--in short, all of their trademarks as filmmakers--and the result? With all those crutches kicked away, this movie levitates in mid-air, as perfect as a pearl, priceless, graspable, mysterious, layered, aglow. It demands to be seen in a theater, in the dark, with an audience that erupts in laughter, then lapses in rapt silence. With Woody Allen's "Manhattan," and William Friedkin's "The French Connection," it is also that rare cinematic portrait of New York worthy of its subject. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
0
PvdadDec 30, 2013
Music good. Characters believable. Plot line almost invisible. Deathly boring. I sat there expecting something to actually happen. It didn't. It started out boring and became, well, depressing. Don't waste money on this one.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
8
SchmigerDec 19, 2013
First of all: Don't let yourself be fooled by reviews acclaiming "I love all of their work, but this work of'em has no concluding story etc." I'd ask each and everyone of them: "Which Coen movie actually has these features?"

For me, this
First of all: Don't let yourself be fooled by reviews acclaiming "I love all of their work, but this work of'em has no concluding story etc." I'd ask each and everyone of them: "Which Coen movie actually has these features?"

For me, this movie has been great for several reasons... I really like the kind of music the movie is centered around & and I generally like the way the Coen Brothers make their movies, not heavily focusing on a concluding story, standards or anything, but always trying to create something that will make you laugh at absurdity, as it was for me with movies like "The Big Lebowski", "Oh Brother..." or "Burn after Reading". This combined with a nice sidekick in form of a cat let me had a really nice evening enjoying this movie. I got what I expected, the 105 minutes really flew by.

If I had to compare this one with other work of the Coen Brothers, I'd say it is somehow similar to "Oh Brother...", but with a very different setting and tone. So if you like the music & you like more movies from the Coen Brothers besides "No Country for Old Men", you shouldn't be to disappointed watching this one.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
5
LowbrowCinemaDec 22, 2013
Sometimes the Coen Brothers really surprise me but this time they didn't. INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS is beautifully made, produced and especially shot but ultimately what's really the point? A true exercise in futility that always captures yourSometimes the Coen Brothers really surprise me but this time they didn't. INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS is beautifully made, produced and especially shot but ultimately what's really the point? A true exercise in futility that always captures your attention but then fades from memory. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
netflicDec 30, 2013
I generally like movies made by Coen brothers and always look forward to seeing them.
The last one, though, left me surprisingly un-moved. Not that the quality is not there, no, it is done quite masterfully. But something is missing. The
I generally like movies made by Coen brothers and always look forward to seeing them.
The last one, though, left me surprisingly un-moved. Not that the quality is not there, no, it is done quite masterfully. But something is missing. The script does have a few funny lines but there is nothing new in the story, and frankly, it is quite boring.

I would probably like it more if the folk music appealed to me but it did not.
So, "Inside Llewyn Davis" I did not find much of anything... Except, probably a snap-shot of 60-th and 70-th...
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJan 19, 2014
Another strong showing by the Coen Brothers. The Coen's know how to start a film by making you feel lost but by the end your totally on board and are completely satisfied. Also this is a great soundtrack. A
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
zeevcatJan 14, 2014
Egads. Has anyone who was alive during the musical culture of the early 1960s seen this movie and reviewed it positively? It is stultifying. Llewyn is like the walking dead, surly-faced, untalented, and really boring. His so-called auditionEgads. Has anyone who was alive during the musical culture of the early 1960s seen this movie and reviewed it positively? It is stultifying. Llewyn is like the walking dead, surly-faced, untalented, and really boring. His so-called audition in Chicago is ridiculous, as if the writer/musician "inside" him skipped town. All the songs (with the exception of the one performed by Justin Timberlake in the Columbia Records studio) are the same monotonous tempo as if all the metronomes in the world were set at 15 beats per minute. Could we have seen any other facial expression on the guy except for the permanent look of pain and suffering? I was in the Village during the Beatnik era and remember it so differently. Did the Coen Brothers talk to anyone who was there? Dave Van Ronk's book about his life and times was allegedly an inspiration, but did they actually read it? This did not approximate the Mayor of MacDougal Street energy and spirit, but rather the drab life of an Accountant of MacDougal Street. A huge disappointment after hearing all the hype. Llewyn Davis proves himself a small, petty, uncaring (never once did he stroke those poor cats) man. The only satisfying moment in the film for me was the end, when he gets his comeuppance. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
MoviemattFeb 9, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To quote another user (axgrinder), whose review is so good it needs to be repeated, in full: "The critics love Inside Llewyn Davis. A few even proclaim that Joel and Ethan Coen are the greatest filmmakers in America. But look past all those 100 pt. scores and notice the choice of words they use to describe this film. Words like small, painful, heavy, melancholy, bleak, deeply felt and exquisitely crafted. Few, if any, of them describe this movie as clever, interesting or entertaining. That’s because it isn’t.
Here’s more of what this movie isn’t. It isn’t funny. The night I saw this movie, the theater was sold out. No one laughed, not even once. Also, the songs aren’t that great. Unlike O’ Brother, Where Art Thou?, you’re not going to be singing any of these songs to yourself as you walk out the door, and you’re not likely to hear them on the radio, or anywhere else, ever again. (Sorry T-Bone.) Worst of all, the story isn’t very interesting or entertaining. It’s about a folk singer struggling to make it as a musician. He takes himself very seriously, and he thinks he’s better than everyone else. He makes a lot of bad decisions and pretty much alienates everyone around him. It turns out he’s not that good a song writer, and he gets beat up for being a jerk. Then the movie ends. (No one applauded. Everyone was too busy scratching their head and saying “Huh?”) No Country for Old Men was something of a head scratcher too, but at least it was interesting. My first reaction to this firm was, “Huh?” followed by “Wow, that was totally pointless.” (If you’ve seen Fruitvale Station then you know what I’m talking about.)"
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
fiora95Feb 20, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Extremely deep and beautiful movie. Coen brothers are very very brilliant and witty in their scenes and dialogues. An unconventional and really intelligent story about a precise historical period which was very interesting. Before Bob Dylan. "Inside Llewyn Davis" has beautiful and characteristic colours. Coen brothers are great film directors, they are unique. You have to see this movie, it is one of the most beautiful movie of 2013/2014. It's unconventional and very very nice. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
FireintheArcadeMar 26, 2014
Inside Llewyn Davis is getting a lot of smuck from audiences for being too boring. It is very subtle and doesn't have an extensive plot, so if that bothers you don't watch it. What it is, is a character study that explores what it's like toInside Llewyn Davis is getting a lot of smuck from audiences for being too boring. It is very subtle and doesn't have an extensive plot, so if that bothers you don't watch it. What it is, is a character study that explores what it's like to be a struggling musician in a what appears to be a dying genre (at the time). I quite enjoyed the film. Oscar Isaac's performance was superb, most notably his musical talent. It's really quite beautiful how much we learn about Davis in a one week period. It might seem like a bit of a downer, but Inside Llewyn Davis is a human experience that reminds us of that passion and talent isn't always recognized. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
tampagirlMar 18, 2014
First of all let me say I am a HUGE Coen brothers AND Justin Timberlake fan, so I was really looking forward to this movie. I must be either 1)not artsy enough, 2)not educated enough (even though I have a masters degree) 3)not a fan of folkFirst of all let me say I am a HUGE Coen brothers AND Justin Timberlake fan, so I was really looking forward to this movie. I must be either 1)not artsy enough, 2)not educated enough (even though I have a masters degree) 3)not a fan of folk music, or 4)all of the above. This movie took me on a meaningless journey to nowhere. I searched for metaphorical references, like the cat representing his heart, or other meaningful notations, and heck, I just wanted to be entertained at all. I honestly didn't understand this movie, and I think the critics say they liked it because it is just plain weird and that's what they seem to like. Justin Timberlake was underutilized and John Goodman was useless...as were several characters in the movie. Follow me around for a week and I promise you will be so much more entertained watching me make dinner at night, feed the dog, take a walk, sleep, work and do laundry. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
0
Unvarnished1Dec 31, 2013
As a big fan of the Cohen brothers prior work, I have to say that this movie was simply terrible. The fact that the critics are praising this film ad nauseam just shows that they should be ignored and that the system is rigged. As you watchAs a big fan of the Cohen brothers prior work, I have to say that this movie was simply terrible. The fact that the critics are praising this film ad nauseam just shows that they should be ignored and that the system is rigged. As you watch the film, you feel yourself waiting anxiously for something to actually happen. Instead, absolutely nothing happens. The central character is disconnected and not believable as a 60s folk singer. There's no discernible plot. The cast feels over dramatic. The movie goes nowhere. I'm fortunate that I'm a voting member of a Hollywood guild so that I can transfer my whining here into a No Vote! By far the worst film I've seen this year. Ask yourself this....if this didn't have the Cohen brothers Hollywood machine behind it, would the critics have lauded this film even remotely as much? I think we all know the answer to that. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Tazmania32Jan 9, 2014
I feel like what the Coen Brothers did in this was aim at striking a very delicate cord of: not everyone becomes a star. That harsh can really slap you in the face sometimes, and that darkness and that attempt to turn your shoulder awayI feel like what the Coen Brothers did in this was aim at striking a very delicate cord of: not everyone becomes a star. That harsh can really slap you in the face sometimes, and that darkness and that attempt to turn your shoulder away from that is something that the Coen's know how to illustrate. Great film. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
bdun_12Jan 15, 2014
Yeah, so this movie doesn't have much a plot. Don't let that prevent you from seeing it. One of the Coens' finest. A gloomy and real character piece is what it is. Llewyn Davis is one of the most complex original characters that the CoensYeah, so this movie doesn't have much a plot. Don't let that prevent you from seeing it. One of the Coens' finest. A gloomy and real character piece is what it is. Llewyn Davis is one of the most complex original characters that the Coens have dreamed before, and what a performance by Oscar Isaac. Please, don't go into this movie expecting a formulaic plot about a lucky musician who strikes it big. You won't get that, the Coens can't let you off that easily. Another masterpiece by some of the greatest American filmmakers ever and my personal favorite film of 2013. Must see. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
ambenderJan 16, 2014
The saddest movie I've seen this year also has a couple of the funniest one-liners. The Coens are probably the only directors working today that could pull that off, and they continue to have my deep respect. Oscar Isaac and John Goodman wereThe saddest movie I've seen this year also has a couple of the funniest one-liners. The Coens are probably the only directors working today that could pull that off, and they continue to have my deep respect. Oscar Isaac and John Goodman were also majorly snubbed for Oscar nominations. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
sobellejanetMar 13, 2014
We simply did not get this. Maybe you need drugs to appreciate it. First and foremost, the folk music era (which was during high school for us) was very short lived...for a good reason. Rap music has been around longer. And frankly, IWe simply did not get this. Maybe you need drugs to appreciate it. First and foremost, the folk music era (which was during high school for us) was very short lived...for a good reason. Rap music has been around longer. And frankly, I thought the original music and screenplay from A Mighty Wind, a spoof on this era, was far superior. At the end, I thought I had watched a French film; it was just made by Americans. You know the kind. People you never really can connect with don't say much and nothing ever happens and there is an ending that is purposefully enigmatic. All in all nothing happened to anybody. This guy was very hard to like; he's a loser who's only shred of accountability is trying to care for his friend's cat. I also didn't like the shrewish ex girlfriend or whatever she was to him. HIs deceased partner in music...what was that all about? The trip from NY to Chicago and back in the wind and snow was for what purpose? I guess to allow John Goodman a chance to give a brief quirky inexplicable cameo. What did it show us about Llewyn except more of what a pathetic boring loser this guy is. Good grief! And the music definitely evoked all the memories of how puerile most folk music was. If you want to watch a meaningful comment on that brief period, don't miss A Mighty Wind. It exposes all the phony, quasi-intellectual sappiness in the most hilarious scathing way. An utter delight. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
lenny68Dec 9, 2013
I agree with DirkV. I too am a big fan of much of their work, and when they successfully combine their unique visual flair, humour and a good story they are peerless. This just left me cold. Like another overrated film of theirs, OI agree with DirkV. I too am a big fan of much of their work, and when they successfully combine their unique visual flair, humour and a good story they are peerless. This just left me cold. Like another overrated film of theirs, O Brother..., this had virtually no substance whatsoever. Expand
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
10
DumboMageeDec 15, 2013
I've been a huge Coen Brothers fan for a long time, my favorites being Fargo and A Serious Man. I think this might be their best film yet. The writing is just incredible, the songs, the music, the acting, the cinematography all flawless.I've been a huge Coen Brothers fan for a long time, my favorites being Fargo and A Serious Man. I think this might be their best film yet. The writing is just incredible, the songs, the music, the acting, the cinematography all flawless. No one makes movies like them, so unique and inspiring, heartbreaking and honest. I was blown away by Oscar Isaac, his performance will garner plenty of awards. This movie is a masterpiece. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews