Inside Man

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 256

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. [Anonymous]
    Apr 12, 2006
    6
    No one can deny that this movie has a great cast. The acting is terrific. The directing is classic Spike Lee--brilliant at times, but he takes every chance to work in commentary about race, religion and ethnicity. All in all, this movie presents a good picture and the plot depicts what would be a brilliant heist if it were true. However, there are serious flaws in the plot (which are No one can deny that this movie has a great cast. The acting is terrific. The directing is classic Spike Lee--brilliant at times, but he takes every chance to work in commentary about race, religion and ethnicity. All in all, this movie presents a good picture and the plot depicts what would be a brilliant heist if it were true. However, there are serious flaws in the plot (which are gracefully glossed over by expert acting), but the end result is that we really don't know the various character's motivations for their behavior. At one point we are told by one of the theives "I did it for the money", but that doesn't seem to add up with what was taken. Similarly I'm still trying to figure out exactly what motivated Denzel to bring Jodie a telephone number in one of the last scenes. The sequence of the movie is expertly executed to both provide hints and keep you guessing. Denzel's character is likeable, funny and feels real. Jodie Foster's character is a bit unbelievable in terms of profession. Oh, and keep an eye out for the Albanian woman. I thought she was excellent. Expand
  2. MikeG.
    Apr 7, 2006
    5
    A movie where the whole didn't add up to the sum of its parts. Solid if not spectacular performances by Denzel, Jodie and Clive, decent enough pacing, but there was something missing. The story was VERY anticlimactic...the twist with Christopher Plummer was revealed very early, and movies like this are more effective when they end with a bang than a whimper. It was so-so...I A movie where the whole didn't add up to the sum of its parts. Solid if not spectacular performances by Denzel, Jodie and Clive, decent enough pacing, but there was something missing. The story was VERY anticlimactic...the twist with Christopher Plummer was revealed very early, and movies like this are more effective when they end with a bang than a whimper. It was so-so...I wouldn't recommend it. Expand
  3. DougR.
    Apr 9, 2006
    5
    The writer and producer think they are so clever, but the basic plot is ridiculous. Spike Lee makes it interesting with various directing techniques. The last 15 mnutes is a big letdown. Lucky Sleven does this type of movie much better.
  4. TheDude
    Sep 11, 2006
    6
    This film can be summarized in five words: "All flash and no substance." The lead actors deliver solid performances (as you would expect from the likes of Denzel Washington, Jodie Foster, and Christopher Plummer) but are unfortunately expected to carry a largely incomprehensible story where the plot is vague and convoluted and the motivations of the characters are poorly defined. Top it This film can be summarized in five words: "All flash and no substance." The lead actors deliver solid performances (as you would expect from the likes of Denzel Washington, Jodie Foster, and Christopher Plummer) but are unfortunately expected to carry a largely incomprehensible story where the plot is vague and convoluted and the motivations of the characters are poorly defined. Top it all off with a resolution that leaves more questions than answers and you have a film that is hard to recommend. To Spike Lee's credit, he can be confident and inventive director, but he still goes for "film student gimmickry" when the film would have been better served with more restraint and a tighter focus on the narrative. "Inside Man" is entertaining enough as a popcorn flick, but there are better films more deserving of your time. Expand
  5. J.D.
    Mar 29, 2006
    5
    Judging by the reviews on this site I was anticipating a good movie but I was dissapointed. It had its moments and had the right idea but went wrong in a lot of area's. Overall it was incredibley cheesey. But I expected that as soon as I saw the opening credits and was reminded that it was A SPIKE LEE JOINT.
  6. MarkC.
    Apr 15, 2006
    4
    I am a big fan of Spike Lee, and think a lot of his other moveies have been very underrated. So I saw this with high expectations and was quite disappointed. The movie has little suspense, the plot is unbelievable, and some of the minor characters are so stereotypical, they are both unbelievable and distracting. The only really great performance in the movie was by Clive Owen, who is I am a big fan of Spike Lee, and think a lot of his other moveies have been very underrated. So I saw this with high expectations and was quite disappointed. The movie has little suspense, the plot is unbelievable, and some of the minor characters are so stereotypical, they are both unbelievable and distracting. The only really great performance in the movie was by Clive Owen, who is mesmerizing. The other main actors (Denzel Washington, Jodie Foster) are good, but have been better in other movies. Expand
  7. TonyB.
    Aug 12, 2007
    5
    "Inside Man' is at its best when Jodie Fisher, Clive Owen and Christopher Plummer are on screen.; theirs is acting on a consistently high level. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for Denzel Washington who is often too mannered; this is not his finest hour.
  8. KurtC.
    Mar 26, 2006
    6
    I was left feeling bored and unamused. After all the positive reviews I have heard (critics and users alike) I was really expecting a fresh and exciting film, but was disappointed. Washington plays his typical tough-guy under duress role, and Foster fails to inspire like she has so often in the past. There is nothing new in Spike Lee's exploration of racial tensions and corruption of I was left feeling bored and unamused. After all the positive reviews I have heard (critics and users alike) I was really expecting a fresh and exciting film, but was disappointed. Washington plays his typical tough-guy under duress role, and Foster fails to inspire like she has so often in the past. There is nothing new in Spike Lee's exploration of racial tensions and corruption of power in this weak, slow-moving, and watered down "suspens/thriller." Save your money. Expand
  9. LarryS.
    Mar 28, 2006
    6
    First 2/3red of the movie was very well done but the last 1/3rd was a big disappointment. What in the world were they thinking casting Jodie Foster in this role. Viewers did not needed to be fed the story with a spoon. Not one of Spike's best. The social commentary was lost in the messy plot and sub plots. Clive Owen is terrific!
  10. billys.
    Apr 5, 2006
    6
    A very entertaining "think thriller" thats a little easy in the "think" department. Spike Lee sells out and makes a big studio Movie For The Masses with a big ticket cast so now he can finance his next two joints without the suits telling him what they want!!
  11. MarcK.
    Apr 9, 2006
    6
    Absolutely overrated. Based on 2005 film reviews and the review of this movie, it is clear to me that most movie reviewers are shills for the film industry, "rooting" for certain films to do well. Great cast, but bad acting, especially Jodie Foster, who had a smirk on her face the entire movie, and I had no idea why. The plot builds for us to see the "twist," and when it's revealed, Absolutely overrated. Based on 2005 film reviews and the review of this movie, it is clear to me that most movie reviewers are shills for the film industry, "rooting" for certain films to do well. Great cast, but bad acting, especially Jodie Foster, who had a smirk on her face the entire movie, and I had no idea why. The plot builds for us to see the "twist," and when it's revealed, it's nothing special at all. Expand
  12. KenG.
    May 26, 2006
    6
    Film drags too often, and there is definite fat here that could have been cut out. One of the prroblems with Spike Lee is that in the last few years he's allowed himself to become too self-indulgence, in exchange for discipline.
  13. ScottB.
    Aug 28, 2006
    4
    An interesting plot, good acting and character development all fall apart in the last 30 minutes. An utterly unbelievable and inconclusive ending makes this a disappointment.
  14. H.Carter
    Sep 5, 2006
    6
    The "snappy banter" as one critic put it, fell flat with me---it was ok at first, but it got stale real quick. the story started off good as well, but became transparent and a total let down by about midway through. the direction was pretty good, the actors were pretty good---so I guess it was the writing and the story that were just medicore at best. I'm glad I waited for it on DVD.
  15. AndyG.
    Mar 26, 2006
    6
    I was expecting something spectacular from the reviews, but the movie was a letdown. Denzel was good and Clive was good, but the movie just did not seem suspenseful. There are many weaknesses with the theft. The movie did seem to drag down and Jodie F's role was not needed and not inspiring. The movie is better than most from the acting, but that is not saying much due to I was expecting something spectacular from the reviews, but the movie was a letdown. Denzel was good and Clive was good, but the movie just did not seem suspenseful. There are many weaknesses with the theft. The movie did seem to drag down and Jodie F's role was not needed and not inspiring. The movie is better than most from the acting, but that is not saying much due to today's movie crapola. You would be better off to see the Thomas Crown Affair (old one and remake) and avoid this one. Expand
  16. HansjakobW.
    Apr 12, 2006
    6
    Entertaining but a little self-satisfied, Lee's film has moments of great energy and tension interspersed with scenes that seem interminable. And what's with that old chestnut, the Nazi war criminal? Can't anyone count any more? The Christopher Plummer character would have to be in his 90s if the film's "explanations" had any roots in reality. Find some other reasons Entertaining but a little self-satisfied, Lee's film has moments of great energy and tension interspersed with scenes that seem interminable. And what's with that old chestnut, the Nazi war criminal? Can't anyone count any more? The Christopher Plummer character would have to be in his 90s if the film's "explanations" had any roots in reality. Find some other reasons why movie characters can be odious and evil, WW ended over 60 years ago! Expand
  17. Nov 4, 2010
    6
    Acting -- great, as would be expected. The film doesn't work though: All the twists are revealed or amply clear by about the mid-point, so the thing just sort of stops, but doesn't have an ending. Secondly, Clive Owen steals the papers to bribe Christopher Plummer later, right? But then why leave the ring and send Denzel to investigate Plummer? The result of that will be that Plummer'sActing -- great, as would be expected. The film doesn't work though: All the twists are revealed or amply clear by about the mid-point, so the thing just sort of stops, but doesn't have an ending. Secondly, Clive Owen steals the papers to bribe Christopher Plummer later, right? But then why leave the ring and send Denzel to investigate Plummer? The result of that will be that Plummer's past crimes will be exposed in which case the papers Clive stole become valueless. Right? Expand
  18. Mar 9, 2016
    6
    It's a very performance driven film and the actors do a great job at it. Owen and Washington were fantastic but sadly never fully used during the film. Lots of needless sub-plots, Lame attempts at misdirection, and the lack of having a fluid plot (where one scene just sort of flows into the next) makes Inside Man the kind of film that just fails to live up to it's potential.

    It's a good
    It's a very performance driven film and the actors do a great job at it. Owen and Washington were fantastic but sadly never fully used during the film. Lots of needless sub-plots, Lame attempts at misdirection, and the lack of having a fluid plot (where one scene just sort of flows into the next) makes Inside Man the kind of film that just fails to live up to it's potential.

    It's a good enough movie to watch but I think under the direction of another director, It probably could have been great.
    Expand
  19. Aug 27, 2014
    6
    Filled with countless strong performances and Spike Lee at the helm, Inside Man holds all the necessary means to being a successful top-notch thriller. But something is missing, can't quite pinpoint it.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. This is the mother lode all action/suspense directors search for and Lee, who usually doesn't work in that genre, has hit it.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    A flashy cast, clever script and vibrant showcasing of New York City as the ultimate melting pot are strong plusses for Spike Lee's most mainstream studio venture.
  3. I found myself savoring a thriller (as well as a Spike Lee “joint”) that wasn't, for a change, in my face.