Insidious: Chapter 2

Insidious: Chapter 2 Image
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 30
  2. Negative: 10 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Sep 12, 2013
    80
    A modestly scaled and highly pleasurable sequel to Wan’s low-budget 2011 smash that should have genre fans begging for thirds.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Sep 12, 2013
    70
    Though Wan is stepping away from horror, at least for now, to direct the next The Fast And The Furious sequel, the latest Insidious entry suggests he’s a long way from running out of new tricks, or at least finding infinite variations on old ones.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    Wan remains a crafty enough director to draw your eye warily across the frame. You shouldn't feel so daft for flinching this time.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Sep 12, 2013
    40
    Setting aside the movie’s tediously lame dialogue, self-conscious performances and frequently predicable scares, the narrative’s compulsively shifting chronology intermittently manages to engage, although it does little to obscure the distracting shortcomings of both plot and character development.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Patches
    Sep 13, 2013
    40
    Even before Wilson goes full Jack Torrance and Barbara Hershey shows up to investigate an abandoned hospital Scooby-Doo-style, one could technically call this sequel a gorefest—thanks to the guts of every other horror movie being splattered across the screen.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Sep 13, 2013
    37
    A bustling, overly busy mess.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 15, 2013
    11
    Insidious: Chapter 2 is perhaps an even more scattershot mess than its predecessor. Whannell's script is so rife with portentous backstory, third-act goofiness, and a denouement that practically screams "Insidious 3: Same Old Shit," that the film as a whole is jarring, and not in a good way.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 70
  2. Negative: 9 out of 70
  1. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    James Wan and Leigh Whannell's Insidious Chapter 2 fully delivers in terms of exploring the mysteries left behind in the previous installment,James Wan and Leigh Whannell's Insidious Chapter 2 fully delivers in terms of exploring the mysteries left behind in the previous installment, while also expanding on its intriguing mythology. However, the sequel also embraces the first film's quirkier, campier aspects, which makes for a few good laughs, but also some less-than-terrifying horror sequences. It's an excellent horror piece to swivel into the spiral of its previous film. Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Chapter 2 will surely be a greatest hit on this years scale.
    I went to see this movie expecting a lame chapter 2 like most movie make but it
    Chapter 2 will surely be a greatest hit on this years scale.
    I went to see this movie expecting a lame chapter 2 like most movie make but it really surprised me when I got there. I jumped and loved this part 2. Al though the sounds are a bit...bad...I still loved this movie!
    I recommend this movie to anyone.
    Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2015
    8
    Not quite as scary as the first, but a much better film in my opinion. I loved the whole backstory with Parker Crane/ Bride in Black and hisNot quite as scary as the first, but a much better film in my opinion. I loved the whole backstory with Parker Crane/ Bride in Black and his mother. I was scared and intrigued at the same time Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    7
    Insidious: Chapter 2 wasn't as scary as The Conjuring and it's predecessor, but I still had a lot of fun watching the movie. It continuesInsidious: Chapter 2 wasn't as scary as The Conjuring and it's predecessor, but I still had a lot of fun watching the movie. It continues where the first movie left off and from then it's a ride of mystery, scares and some laughs. The movie wasn't really that scary like the first one but some scenes still gave me goosebumps and chills. When an intense or horrific scene is happening at the moment, a comedy part was involved and I found that a bit weird. It was a bit weird for me, because some of those scenes were really intense and adding a funny tone to it just doesn't really help. There were plot points that I found really interesting and those things kind of overshadowed the main genre of the movie, horror. It was really interesting that this movie was connected to it's predecessor but I still wanted scenes that would really convince me to leave the theatre. James Wan still did a good job with Insidious: Chapter 2, even though it didn't beat it's predecessor. I am going to give Insidious: Chapter 2 a 7/10. Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2013
    6
    Well definitely entertaining, maybe in the wrong categories a few times. Acting is still good, creepy is somewhat still there in like theWell definitely entertaining, maybe in the wrong categories a few times. Acting is still good, creepy is somewhat still there in like the first half. The story is interesting, the directing is perfect. I don't know it just didn't make me jump more then 2 times. Hell that's still 2 more times then The Conjuring and Paranormal Activity (1-2-3-4). See it with your friends or 3+ people for a good times, other then that, it's not the best. Expand
  6. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    5
    The trailer makes it look good with all the horrific parts, but once that trailer's over, you won't jump at any parts of the movie for you'veThe trailer makes it look good with all the horrific parts, but once that trailer's over, you won't jump at any parts of the movie for you've already seen all of the jumpy parts in the trailer. In other words, it was boring. Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2013
    0
    Liked the original but thought this film was just a recycling that was no where near as good. Incredibly boring, Not scary, and ratherLiked the original but thought this film was just a recycling that was no where near as good. Incredibly boring, Not scary, and rather predictable. Would not recommend. Expand

See all 70 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.