Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 1, 2011
    38
    It feels more like a poor man's "Poltergeist, " minus the static-filled TV.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 31, 2011
    38
    You can't criticize it for false advertising.
  3. Reviewed by: Ethan Gilsdorf
    Mar 31, 2011
    38
    The crazy train of Insidious runs fully off the rails when the filmmakers go logical and some of the strange gets explained away as a double shot of demonic possession and astral projection.
  4. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Mar 31, 2011
    30
    Aesthetically, Insidious operates at the level of a decent high school video project.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Mar 31, 2011
    0
    The only remotely entertaining aspects of Insidious come from Whannell and Sampson as a comic pair of hypercompetitive hipster ghost hunters, and even that schtick is repeated ad nauseam.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 290 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 126
  1. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    I have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that because of its uniqueness is much more deserving of a higher score than it received. It may not have the best plot, acting, or consistency but damn was it scary and fun. I was clenching the seat and my kness hurt after from pressing on the floor. One of my top recent scary movies along with The Others, Drag me to Hell and Cabin Fever. Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2011
    7
    The movie "Insidious", directed by the infamous James Wan, is a surprisingly scary movie full of chills and creeps. Its a good film that will definitely cool you down in the hot summer with its scares. Full Review »
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    1
    This movie was HORRIBLE.... Not even made well the same "scary" music played every time it was going to be a scary part but it wasn't scary at all. If you enjoyed the movie Drag Me To Hell you will love this one we laughed a lot during the movie! Don't waste your time, I love scary movies and this one was far from scary . Full Review »