Insidious

Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Mar 31, 2011
    60
    A concerted effort to make a scary movie without spilling a drop of blood, Insidious is earnest to the point of suffocation about scaring you silly.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 31, 2011
    60
    The pleasant surprise when you actually watch Insidious is that it turns out to be a moderately effective suburban-family creep show, majorly in debt to "Poltergeist" and "The Exorcist" and capturing at least a little of their spirit.
  3. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    Mar 29, 2011
    60
    Insidious could have been something special: a horror movie that actually horrifies without resorting to gore. Instead, thanks to too many cheap jokes and a bit of silly music, it falls short.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 1, 2011
    50
    Creepy spirits in old-timey dress, ear-stabbing sound cues, slamming doors and bloody handprints: The horror flick Insidious isn't scared to be trite.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    Throughout, Wilson and Byrne play these parts straightforward and there's an undercurrent of real anguish in the struggle of parents coping with a child's long-term care.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    The movie is hampered throughout by little inconsistencies.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    It's far more annoying than frightening.
  8. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    The strongest analogue for the second half of Insidious is one that the filmmakers probably weren't trying for: it feels like a less poetic version of an M. Night Shyamalan fairy tale.
  9. 50
    The thing is scary as hell when it's all creaks and thumps and doors swinging open. Then come the explanations, the special effects, and the inevitable feeling of been-there-been-­bombarded-by-that.
  10. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 1, 2011
    40
    Insidious doesn't feature the lazy, home-video-style terror of "Paranormal Activity," thankfully. But it's also pretty normal activity for a ghost story.
  11. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Mar 29, 2011
    40
    None of this is particularly well wrought, and only a bizarre gas mask worn by the séance leader counts as an inspired (if slightly silly) touch.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 436 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 156
  1. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    I have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that becauseI have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that because of its uniqueness is much more deserving of a higher score than it received. It may not have the best plot, acting, or consistency but damn was it scary and fun. I was clenching the seat and my kness hurt after from pressing on the floor. One of my top recent scary movies along with The Others, Drag me to Hell and Cabin Fever. Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2011
    7
    The movie "Insidious", directed by the infamous James Wan, is a surprisingly scary movie full of chills and creeps. Its a good film that willThe movie "Insidious", directed by the infamous James Wan, is a surprisingly scary movie full of chills and creeps. Its a good film that will definitely cool you down in the hot summer with its scares. Full Review »
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    1
    This movie was HORRIBLE.... Not even made well the same "scary" music played every time it was going to be a scary part but it wasn't scary atThis movie was HORRIBLE.... Not even made well the same "scary" music played every time it was going to be a scary part but it wasn't scary at all. If you enjoyed the movie Drag Me To Hell you will love this one we laughed a lot during the movie! Don't waste your time, I love scary movies and this one was far from scary . Full Review »