Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    All calculation aside, scary is still scary, and Insidious makes up in old-fashioned tension what it sometimes lacks in originality.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 30, 2011
    91
    A haunted-house movie that has some of the most shivery and indelible images I've seen in any horror film in decades. Yes, it's that unsettling.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 30, 2011
    75
    A tidy terror flick, and refreshing with its intention to make viewers gasp rather than gag.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 3, 2011
    75
    If there's a complaint to be made about Insidious, it's that the film's second half is unable to live up to the impossibly high standards set by the first half.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 31, 2011
    63
    This one is not terrifically good, but moviegoers will get what they're expecting.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 31, 2011
    63
    Here's a better than average spook-house movie, mostly because Insidious decides it can haunt an audience without spraying it with blood.
  7. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 31, 2011
    63
    If your idea of a fun night out is to be manipulated by freaky sound effects, jumpy edits, and point-of-view shots of ceiling fans whooshing menacingly, Insidious is the film for you.
  8. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Mar 31, 2011
    63
    By the time it's over, Insidious is less scary than a mortgage payment.
  9. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    Nicely acted by all and photographed in creepy, cold, under-lit tones.
  10. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Mar 30, 2011
    70
    No blood, no gore, no hacked-off arms and legs, but plenty of creepy set pieces, quick cuts and blasts of music that will have you both squirming in your seat and jumping out of it. Until the bone-headed part kicks in.
  11. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Mar 30, 2011
    75
    The spookiest and most entertaining horror flick since "Paranormal Activity."
  12. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Mar 29, 2011
    70
    We need visionaries-but also solid craftsmen who seem to enjoy their work. Insidious is the product of the latter. It doesn't build a better haunted house but, when on its game, reminds us of the genre's pleasures.
  13. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Mar 27, 2011
    70
    Successful to a point (though seemingly unaware of the chuckles it produces in between shrieks), the movie has strong prospects with genre audiences but won't spawn a phenomenon resembling the filmmakers' previous franchise.
  14. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Mar 27, 2011
    70
    A possession thriller less terrifying than fun.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 377 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 144
  2. Negative: 14 out of 144
  1. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    I have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that becauseI have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that because of its uniqueness is much more deserving of a higher score than it received. It may not have the best plot, acting, or consistency but damn was it scary and fun. I was clenching the seat and my kness hurt after from pressing on the floor. One of my top recent scary movies along with The Others, Drag me to Hell and Cabin Fever. Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2011
    7
    The movie "Insidious", directed by the infamous James Wan, is a surprisingly scary movie full of chills and creeps. Its a good film that willThe movie "Insidious", directed by the infamous James Wan, is a surprisingly scary movie full of chills and creeps. Its a good film that will definitely cool you down in the hot summer with its scares. Full Review »
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    1
    This movie was HORRIBLE.... Not even made well the same "scary" music played every time it was going to be a scary part but it wasn't scary atThis movie was HORRIBLE.... Not even made well the same "scary" music played every time it was going to be a scary part but it wasn't scary at all. If you enjoyed the movie Drag Me To Hell you will love this one we laughed a lot during the movie! Don't waste your time, I love scary movies and this one was far from scary . Full Review »