FilmDistrict | Release Date: April 1, 2011
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 453 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
320
Mixed:
92
Negative:
41
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
dz9Aug 2, 2011
OMG, this movie let me down. After hearing its praises, and as a huge horror movie fan. I couldn't wait to see this, and the first half of the movie met and went beyond my expectations. But this was just the first half, the second halfOMG, this movie let me down. After hearing its praises, and as a huge horror movie fan. I couldn't wait to see this, and the first half of the movie met and went beyond my expectations. But this was just the first half, the second half contradicts the plot of the movie and makes the whole concept ridiculous. The first half of the movie is an excellent movie about a haunting, whereas the second half is a paranormal search into the ghost's world. Without giving anything away, I want to give you an example of how much this plot contradicts and stretches the movie's plot. Imagine your watching 'The Notebook' and midway through the movie, it turns into 'Mortal Kombat,' pretty drastic change in pacing and plot right?? Well that's what Insidious felt like. The Good: The first half of the movie delivers scares and creeps, movie has a great spooky environment, decent enough acting (nothing to brag about). The Bad: Unnecessary plot twist which blew the simple but effective concept way out of proportion, and plot holes. The first half of this film was amazing, a definite 10, but it just went on a downward's spiral from there Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
Mah-opinionAug 11, 2011
I got this movie with the hope of being scared out of my mind. I was actually scared to watch it after hearing the comments coming from my friends. But I manned up and watched it, alone, by myself. And honestly, I am not as scared as II got this movie with the hope of being scared out of my mind. I was actually scared to watch it after hearing the comments coming from my friends. But I manned up and watched it, alone, by myself. And honestly, I am not as scared as I thought I would be. Most of the parts were scary and made me close my eyes, but most important parts that were supposed to scare me didn't. And these were parts that could have been shot better. But all in all, it had an awesome storyline. Loved the ending (although it was a bit obvious - but definitely managed to shock me for a while) and for sure, this is a movie I would recommend to watch. :) Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
IAmPhongNguyenOct 17, 2011
Insidious lacks the creepy feeling after the first half of the film and the big finish seems to be a bit predictable but it is still a very entertaining haunted house film that delivers fun and jumps. Insidious pushes thoseInsidious lacks the creepy feeling after the first half of the film and the big finish seems to be a bit predictable but it is still a very entertaining haunted house film that delivers fun and jumps. Insidious pushes those cliché horror films off the cliff. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
RuralgeekOct 6, 2012
From the images floating around the internet, I had extremely high hopes for this one. What started out as a truly uneasy environment full of suspense and genuine fear, later turned into a finale that had me laughing at the very "monsters"From the images floating around the internet, I had extremely high hopes for this one. What started out as a truly uneasy environment full of suspense and genuine fear, later turned into a finale that had me laughing at the very "monsters" themselves. The plot has been done a hundred time before, and some of the acting is a bit... "off". While the first hour is actually scary and uncomfortable to watch, it quickly goes from long, drawn out scenes of the protagonist walking through the house at night trying to find where all the noises keep coming from, to a "Hey audience!!! Look at this monster!!! It's so scary!! Be scared!!! WooOOOooo!!"

To be honest, if it had ended 30 minutes earlier than it did, it would have been a decent horror flick in itself, but the plot gets, for the lack of a better word, "cheesy", and feeble attempts at comic relief make it all the less frightful.

This is the kind of thing you watch with your friends, but start chit-chatting half way through the "scares".
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
smijatovDec 14, 2011
While it is no horror masterpiece, "Insidious" is very entertaining and engaging. The thing that stuck out to me the most was some really beautiful cinematography, which I am not used to seeing in horror films. Kudos need to be given to theWhile it is no horror masterpiece, "Insidious" is very entertaining and engaging. The thing that stuck out to me the most was some really beautiful cinematography, which I am not used to seeing in horror films. Kudos need to be given to the cinematographer and director of the film - very beautiful shots. Having beautiful cinematography and thrills and scares is not quite enough to have a very good film, though. There are some things in the film that just make no sense, and are definite loop-holes that the director and screenplay writers missed. The acting is not necessarily the best - the dialogue, especially, feels rather artificial at times, especially when the wife and husband talk. Nonetheless, I have enjoyed the film quite a lot because of an interesting story (despite the holes in it), beautiful cinematography, and some good scary scenes! 6/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
jimmytancrediAug 4, 2011
The movie totally looses itself in caricature and satire of the genre poorly developed after more than a hour projection with the film allegedly trying to look serious, and then descends toward the ridiculous. Quite poorly drafted, lost,The movie totally looses itself in caricature and satire of the genre poorly developed after more than a hour projection with the film allegedly trying to look serious, and then descends toward the ridiculous. Quite poorly drafted, lost, silly. An attempt to look like Poltergeist, and when they realized that it wouldnâ Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
TheNewSpielbergApr 11, 2012
Excellent by modern horror film standards, but as a ghost movie it lacks the performances from the actors required to make the events that take place that bit more believable. But all in all, a brilliant rip-off of Paranormal Activity that isExcellent by modern horror film standards, but as a ghost movie it lacks the performances from the actors required to make the events that take place that bit more believable. But all in all, a brilliant rip-off of Paranormal Activity that is sure to become one of the more worthwhile entries in the horror genre of recent years. The scares were effective but to my distaste were pretty much all jump scares, a technique that I feel is very overused and cliche. To make a horror film work, in my eyes, the main components needed are tone, mood and above all atmosphere. This film packs plenty of those but they become less effective because of the damn jump scares. Far more intelligently creepy scenes could have been thought of. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
schnideJul 26, 2011
In these environmentally conscious times, I can only applaud the production team for making the most of two unfinished movies and editing them together to be released as one. The first part of the film goes through all the standard horrorIn these environmentally conscious times, I can only applaud the production team for making the most of two unfinished movies and editing them together to be released as one. The first part of the film goes through all the standard horror elements that you've seen before with a few individual twists, where all of the three or four moments of scaring you rely on things jumping or running into frame. After that, where the second film takes over for the laughs, we have five solid minutes of exposition which I defy you to sit through with a straight face and say "oh so THAT'S what's going on!" You'll be pleased to know that Darth Maul gets reused in this film as one of the several bad guys who get thrown at you, and Insidious also has the best use of a WWII gas mask that I've ever seen in a modern comedy. And whoever the guy is in Hollywood who gets to push those kitchen drawers out, he gets another credit on his CV thanks to this one. Anyway, I'll be back in a second - I'm just off to astral project into the future to see the Jim Carrey remake. WoooOOOOooooOOOOOooOOOH! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
3lusiveJun 4, 2011
Ok first things first. This is not a 'serious' horror movie; it's suppose to be tongue-in-cheek and it has a really quirky atmosphere (and sometimes even silly). It starts off as a standard haunted house flick but then devolves into anOk first things first. This is not a 'serious' horror movie; it's suppose to be tongue-in-cheek and it has a really quirky atmosphere (and sometimes even silly). It starts off as a standard haunted house flick but then devolves into an increasingly ridiculous B-movie romp with demons chasing people, and ghosts appearing all over the show. It definitely struggles with consistency, and by the end you will be like seriously WTF!? BUT its quirkiness definitely plays into its strengths and it does manage to keep you watching till the end (just about). If you have a light heart and dont go into this thinking you're going to be scared out of your minds, then its worth the watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ToniTheCriticJun 6, 2011
It had its moment of paranormal. Beside that it wasnt nothing to die for. You can go see, but it wouldnt really worth while. Ehhhh. The movie makes you scared but its nothing like the movies Paranormal Activity producers made in theIt had its moment of paranormal. Beside that it wasnt nothing to die for. You can go see, but it wouldnt really worth while. Ehhhh. The movie makes you scared but its nothing like the movies Paranormal Activity producers made in the beginning. (Paranormal Activity 1,2) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
azathothJul 27, 2011
I saw this in theaters and thought it was amazing. The story is original and their are some terrifying scenes. Recently though, I saw it on DVD and I have to say it's not that great. The story is great. It's original, but there are some majorI saw this in theaters and thought it was amazing. The story is original and their are some terrifying scenes. Recently though, I saw it on DVD and I have to say it's not that great. The story is great. It's original, but there are some major flaws. I couldn't understand the father's actions in the second act. The third act was probably the worst part. I liked the beginning of his trip to find his son, but he was asking to be caught by the ghosts. It didn't make any sense. I'd love to read the screenplay because I believe that it may have been better on paper. Problem is that I can't find it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
avatar16Aug 23, 2011
Ne pas voir Insidious comme un film d'auteur, tellement le scénario n'est pas du tout à la hauteur, qui pioche sur bon nombre de ses "rivaux" (Paranormal Activity, L'Exorciste, Les Griffes de la Nuit entre autre...),Ne pas voir Insidious comme un film d'auteur, tellement le scénario n'est pas du tout à la hauteur, qui pioche sur bon nombre de ses "rivaux" (Paranormal Activity, L'Exorciste, Les Griffes de la Nuit entre autre...), à la fin grand-guignolesque, usant même d'une touche comique (l'arrivée d'un duo de ghostbusters...). C'est donc pour le côté épouvante qu'Insidious se montre très efficace (malgré les violons qui grincent sans arrêt), mis en scène avec savoir-faire pour créer une ambiance pesante et des séquences plutôt effrayantes. Et tout ça pour seulement 1,5 millions de dollars de budget! Loin d'être un modèle, mais suffisant pour les âmes sensibles. Vu le succès, attendez-vous à une suite! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
TheMudDoctorSep 2, 2011
James Wanâ
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobJul 3, 2013
Solid acting and while it had a generic supernatural plot to it, I still found Insidious at least some-what enjoyable to watch. I wouldn't mind seeing a sequel.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
AutiTakahashiMar 1, 2013
"Insidious" is a horror movie about an average family haunted with supernatural forces that possess a natural tendency to open lots of doors and make funny noises. Most fans of this subgenre will praise it not because it is an excellent film,"Insidious" is a horror movie about an average family haunted with supernatural forces that possess a natural tendency to open lots of doors and make funny noises. Most fans of this subgenre will praise it not because it is an excellent film, but because the ones that came before it are infinitely much worse. Have you seen "The Haunting in Connecticut"?

The unlucky family in this horror film is the five members of the Lambert family. Each of them is terrorized by a mysterious creature, but most unlucky is young Dalton, who is in a deep sleep and would not wake up. A doctor says that he isn't in a coma. A psychic claims that his spiritual body is trapped in another dimension she likes to call, The Further. Dalton's parents, Josh and Renai, are, to say the least, confused. Whether any of these explanations makes sense or not is not a major concern, because the story mainly serves as an opening to provide scares.

"Insidious" is conscious of the genre's obvious clichés, but it avoids some of them by conforming to an unhelpful, alternative idea that is soon to be a cliché itself. Characters living in haunted houses are often so traumatized by the ghouls that they forget about the possible action of, you know, leaving the house. The Lambert family makes the practical decision of abandoning their home early on in the film, only to have their efforts thwarted when they are told that it's not the house that's haunted, but their son. "Oooooooo". So, instead of one haunted house, we get two haunted houses.

Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/insidious-movie-review/
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
NixySep 27, 2012
Overall, I thought this film was okay. I'm a fan of Rose Byrne, I think she's a hugely underrated actress and so I had high hopes for this film, but I was a little disappointed. Horror is my favourite and most watched genre and as such IOverall, I thought this film was okay. I'm a fan of Rose Byrne, I think she's a hugely underrated actress and so I had high hopes for this film, but I was a little disappointed. Horror is my favourite and most watched genre and as such I didn't think that this film really offered up anything new. Firstly the good. Elements of this film were undoubtedly creepy. Certain aspects of the storyline were chilling and the overall concept was, I thought, quite original. In other words, it wasn't your typical 'haunted house' story where things go bump and people scream (but never seem to move house....), so for that I was grateful. Also, I think what ruins a lot of horror films is when someone does something that makes you think 'Well I wouldn't have done that' (like walking into a scary room without looking for a light, no one in the history of mankind has ever done that...) because that disconnects you from the action and makes you sit there with a slightly unimpressed look on your face at how stupid the person on screen seems to be. But this film didn't really have any of those moments, they all seemed to be fairly rational, sensible people making fairly rational, sensible decisions. That made the whole story better for me. !However! There came a point where that was no longer the case. What started off as a genuinely uncomfortable and creepy film turned into what I thought was a bit like a Michael Jackson 'Thriller' video out-take. I went from, 'well there goes any hope of me sleeping for the next ten years', to '....did that really just happen (insert appropriate unimpressed face here)' in the space of about 30 minutes. I felt like the plot got too ahead of itself and everyone went a bit CGI crazy. Elements were still scary, but I felt like the film started to rely too much on jump scares than actual, real terror moments. Anyone would jump if you made a loud noise and shoved a scary picture in their face, to me that isn't the same and just produces moments that are totally forgettable. So on the whole, I thought this film was okay. Parts were original, well thought out and outright creepy but the direction that the film went in let it down completely. A great film if you're with a friend and want to have a few scares but nothing I can see being remembered any time in the near future. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ObliviousZacSep 30, 2012
Insidious seems as if it was split into two parts, each with a completely different director. Whilst the first half of the film builds up tension skillfully, providing a handfull of unsettling moments, the film is let down by a weak secondInsidious seems as if it was split into two parts, each with a completely different director. Whilst the first half of the film builds up tension skillfully, providing a handfull of unsettling moments, the film is let down by a weak second half. What could have been a memorable horror experience dissolves into a bitter mix of jumpscares, action and rediculousness. Although the atmosphere remains impressive throughout. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
Loved it, an excellent piece of film-making. One of the best horror films I've seen in recent years, even for a film that's only PG-13 (don't let that fool you).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Average_JoeJun 30, 2011
I was expecting a lot from this movie. I read about it in Fangoria, I read the praising reviews and I figured it was from the same team that started the SAW franchise, which was back then with SAW I very fresh.
Over the first say half of the
I was expecting a lot from this movie. I read about it in Fangoria, I read the praising reviews and I figured it was from the same team that started the SAW franchise, which was back then with SAW I very fresh.
Over the first say half of the movie I thought my expectations were met. Insidious indeed delivered several chilling moments and a general malicious atmosphere. The pace is quicker than for example with Paranormal Activity while still not making it feel the ghostly moments are rushed.
But then with the second half starting the movie sadly spirals down to a below average Poltergeist clone.
What started as an almost perfect haunted house story quickly degrades into a badly executed dark fairy tale which from the concept might be able to scare a 10 year old, but is just boring for anyone who has seen more than 5 good horror movies of this sub-genre. Well, to be precise the last third is not only boring but also annoying since everything feels so cheap and rushed.
What a waste of potential.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
6
filmtrashreviewJul 14, 2011
Insidious is a modern day portal of the Haunted House Movie. It's nothing we haven't seen before. Sprits linger around and everyone freaks out trying to save a young kid. It's really that simple. There are a few complex twists and turns butInsidious is a modern day portal of the Haunted House Movie. It's nothing we haven't seen before. Sprits linger around and everyone freaks out trying to save a young kid. It's really that simple. There are a few complex twists and turns but it's no wonder that the producer of Paranormal Activity would produce another film just like it. (Arn't the sequels enough to punish us with?) I will give credit where credit is due, but only where credit is due. Insidious did something that must horror films of today cannot, it made me jump. That's all it did though. For the first time sense The House of the Devil back in 2009 I felt scared watching a film. It surprised me at first and I was taken into the story line. However, the last forty minutes of this film were so random, out there and completely ridiculous that I could no longer enjoy the film. I sat through the last twenty minutes begging for it to just be over. James Wan the director of Saw has swam in the glory of the franchise ever since it launched his career in 2004, but after his last failed attempt with Dead Silence back in 2007 did any of us really expect anything more from James Wan with Insidious. Sure he successfully got Oren Peli to produce the film but after the success of Paranormal Activity this guy has been throwing himself at everything horror. The simple conclusion is that the names advertised with this film are a bunch of one hit wonders. The film was as cheesy as they come with a dumb down completely ridiculous story line. I could hardly even bare watching the last twenty minutes. However, for the first time in almost two years I was scared. It made me jump and if that's the only reason that you watch horror movies then this film is for you. That's all it's going to do though, it will just make you jump. Insidious is a film for the hardcore horror fans the love films like poltergeist. Everyone else this film is TRASH Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
heyitsmegrif4Dec 23, 2011
It is easily one of the scariest movies I have ever seen in my life, but it features weak performances and just a weak premise and to add that a really questionable ending. I give this movie 59%.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
KingmushMay 4, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/05/insidious.html

Not sure what this movie is? Well it's a fairly new movie, talked up to be very scary, and...it actually lived up to expectations. Insidious has got to be one of the most original
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/05/insidious.html

Not sure what this movie is? Well it's a fairly new movie, talked up to be very scary, and...it actually lived up to expectations. Insidious has got to be one of the most original movies, of this genre, that I've seen in a while, also a pretty scary one to boot.

Briefly, the plot is of a family who moves into a new house, one of their son succumbs to a "coma" and then weird ghosts appear. Now I know I said this movie was original and that plot line doesn't some so...original. But, in order to preserve suspense for those of you who go out to see it I won't reveal the end twists which bring on the uniqueness. I will say that there is more that meets the eye and should give this a chance if you find yourself watching it and thinking it's another stale horror flick.

Scariness factor, I did find myself a little jumpy a few times throughout the movie, which is very good considering I don't usually scare that easily. Also the whole mood of the movie was pretty creepy, through the score, the one song played over and over, little things that you may catch out of the corner of your eye, etc.

Insidious was advertised as one of the scariest movies of this year and... I think it's right.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Firestorm8623May 17, 2011
I don't think it's the greatest horror movie ever done but for what it is, a horror film without gore and cheap visual effects, it wasn't bad. It had moments of "jump" terror and it played with the camera well. I don't think I would see itI don't think it's the greatest horror movie ever done but for what it is, a horror film without gore and cheap visual effects, it wasn't bad. It had moments of "jump" terror and it played with the camera well. I don't think I would see it again but If you absolutely want to see a horror film in theaters, it works. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
THEEmoviecriticApr 20, 2011
The first 45 minutes of this movie were absolutely phenominal...the camera angles, real instrument sound track, and storyline were well above average. However, once the little boy enters the show you can pack your bags and leave, theThe first 45 minutes of this movie were absolutely phenominal...the camera angles, real instrument sound track, and storyline were well above average. However, once the little boy enters the show you can pack your bags and leave, the storyline crumbles, and there is less and less interest in the film, while the acting begins to slack. However, the tension in the film stays high, with a terrible ending. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
MarcDoyleApr 5, 2011
It's a fun movie - if you see it in the theater (and yes, the theater is a must IF you decide to see this) - and there are plenty of jump out of your skin moments, but it's not as creepy as the Paranormal Activity films. And the veryIt's a fun movie - if you see it in the theater (and yes, the theater is a must IF you decide to see this) - and there are plenty of jump out of your skin moments, but it's not as creepy as the Paranormal Activity films. And the very significant humor element provides perhaps too much relief in the scheme of things. I'm a little surprised it's a PG-13 movie, even with the F-bomb (I thought that was all it took - "Student Bodies" -> "I'd just like to take this opportunity to say, "F*** You."), and the violence. But then the MPAA is about as consistent as the NCAA on these things. Wilson and Byrne are terrific, as is the old lady - the ghost whisperer, for lack of a better term. I just didn't leave the theater extremely scared like I did after the PA films. And the truly freaky "ghost" looked a little bit too much like Darth Maul for my liking. Made me think of Jar Jar Binks when I shouldn't have. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
BladeStrikeSep 7, 2013
I watched it because it has pretty good ratings and was hoping for a great modern horror but what I got was mediocrity. I'm not pretending to be a tough guy, I get scared easily, but this movie simply was not scary. It had maybe 3 good jumpI watched it because it has pretty good ratings and was hoping for a great modern horror but what I got was mediocrity. I'm not pretending to be a tough guy, I get scared easily, but this movie simply was not scary. It had maybe 3 good jump scares throughout but jump scares are cheap horror and easy to pull off.

The plot was interesting at first when we didn't know what was happening but when its revealed its a complete joke. I won't spoil it but the ending has been done time and time again, and I could see it coming long before it happened. Aside from that there are huge inconsistencies with the spirits abilities. I could barely take it seriously because of all this.

Yet another mediocre modern horror...
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
python2000Feb 10, 2014
When not being an unintentional comedy and not scary whatsoever. Insidious is incredibly boring, formulaic and predictable. Many compare this to Sinister, I think that is unfair, not just because Sinister is actually a good film but becauseWhen not being an unintentional comedy and not scary whatsoever. Insidious is incredibly boring, formulaic and predictable. Many compare this to Sinister, I think that is unfair, not just because Sinister is actually a good film but because Sinister bothers to build up tension. Insidious does not. The scares consist of a long silence and then a CGI ghost or creature appearing (usually the very funny Darth Maul with a 60’s haircut and Freddy Kreuger glove), that is not scary. In some places I jumped but as I have ranted about in many other reviews there is a large difference between a film making you jump and a film being scary. I was always bored, always knew what was going to happen next, always cringing and almost always laughing. A perfect example of how modern horror movies are complete crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JmsbppOct 30, 2013
cuando se cuenta con un bajo presupuesto no hay que intentar hacer cosas que por logica saldran mal con un bajo presupuesto, malos efectos, cosas que no dan miedo etc.
Insidious estuvo bien la primera parte, la ultima media hora fue algo
cuando se cuenta con un bajo presupuesto no hay que intentar hacer cosas que por logica saldran mal con un bajo presupuesto, malos efectos, cosas que no dan miedo etc.
Insidious estuvo bien la primera parte, la ultima media hora fue algo desastrozo en donde intentaron hacer hasta lo imposible por haacer ver 3 millones como 20 esto no es tanto asi no la desvaloro tanto pues la primera parte fue muy buena
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
csgopinath55Nov 24, 2013
This reminds me of dazzling thoughts contained in Indian philosophy. Atman is hidden inside the body that can be attained through continuous meditation, the direction for which is sought through a GURU. Actually body is completely in tuneThis reminds me of dazzling thoughts contained in Indian philosophy. Atman is hidden inside the body that can be attained through continuous meditation, the direction for which is sought through a GURU. Actually body is completely in tune with the atman so that it cannot find itself to be a separate entity until one strives very hard to find as one different from it. this adventure is termed as THAPAS in Hindu Mythology. If one does this, he will attain SIDDHIS and can go really out of this physical body as an astral body. Many stages in the film depict the Director's strange attachment with Indian thoughts which are culled well to have a deep impression over the mind to sense the worldly relationships as unreal and imaginary as long as we live in this world. Wish to see many more versions of this type to make us realise this bondings between us as unreal. Thanks Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JekSpaceyMay 3, 2014
I saw " Insidious " thinking about being in front of a movie completely new and really scary , given the good reviews I had read. Unfortunately, my impressions have not approached even a little ' earlier expectations .
Where is all this
I saw " Insidious " thinking about being in front of a movie completely new and really scary , given the good reviews I had read. Unfortunately, my impressions have not approached even a little ' earlier expectations .
Where is all this originality ? I have not seen it . Appearances paranormal , parallel worlds, mediums, haunted houses, demonic possession , etc. I do not seem so original elements for a modern film , rather they are among the most typical and raped for horror movies .
Sure, it's not fair to base the value of a movie considering only the original , but even if the script is working fine, flat and rather superficial defects such as these can only put more emphasis . To further strengthen the weakness of the film is the evidence actorial , which in part to Lin Shaye , I found unrealistic in their desire to be realistic .
Overall, then , the movie did not like it , but I recognize some merits in it, such as the discrete directed by James Wan , and several dark scenes . In my opinion there were all the elements to make a great horror film , but unfortunately have not been exploited to the fullest.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
I had high expectations for this movie but it wasn't quite as good as I expected. I did get scared here and there but its just seems like something that has been done a few times before.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DokaluJun 23, 2015
It's a good horror movie when you're bored or something like that. I doesn't have anything particularly special about it. It's just a semi-original story with the right amount of screamers and some vague characters, but a relatively goodIt's a good horror movie when you're bored or something like that. I doesn't have anything particularly special about it. It's just a semi-original story with the right amount of screamers and some vague characters, but a relatively good character development, which comes along with a relatively good script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
If there's a complaint to be made about Insidious, it's that the film's second half is unable to live up to the impossibly high standards set by the first half. This isn't unusual when it comes to films that include a "reveal"; even Jaws lostIf there's a complaint to be made about Insidious, it's that the film's second half is unable to live up to the impossibly high standards set by the first half. This isn't unusual when it comes to films that include a "reveal"; even Jaws lost a share of its potency once the shark emerged as more than a shadowy underwater menace. For nearly an hour, Insidious is as unsettling a horror movie as I have seen in recent years - taut, atmospheric, creepy, and at times downright scary. Director James Wan keeps the viewer on edge, always expecting the next "boo!" moment. Every pixel of the digital print oozes dread. Around the mid-way point, we are provided with explanations and things that were mysterious become more concrete. After that, nothing is quite as intense. The final 45 minutes of Insidious get the job done - that is to say, they resolve the story (at least to the extent that any horror movie wraps things up) - but they are not the equal of what comes before them.

Wan's inventive use of camera angles (which include hand-held and point-of-view shots) draws the viewer into the story. It's not as immersive as the pseudo-reality horror films like Paranormal Activity, but it's sufficient to elevate the level of tension. The color is heavily desaturated, making the movie almost black-and-white. The "boo!" moments, which are numerous, are expertly crafted and aren't as cheap or theatrical as is sometimes the case in horror movies. Best yet, Insidious does not feel like an R-rated horror film that was neutered to get a PG-13 rating. This kind of ghost tale doesn't demand gore; it works on atmosphere and story. Wan is best-known for Saw, which had as much atmosphere as Insidious, but more graphic horror elements. Here, working from a screenplay by Leigh Whannell (who co-wrote Saw with Wan and has a supporting role here as a paranormal investigator), he proves that he doesn't need the blood and viscera to generate psychological horror.

We believe in the characters, chiefly because they do not act like the script-driven mannequins who inhabit garden-variety horror films. They act intelligently, which is a rarity. When, after one particularly bad night in the house, Renai announces that they must leave, that's what they do. They get help. They consult experts. We respect the characters because, for the most part, they respond as we might in their circumstances.

Watching Insidious, I was reminded of David Lynch's Fire Walk with Me (and its TV predecessor, Twin Peaks). Iconography Lynch employed for the "weirder" aspects of the Laura Palmer murder mystery are echoed in some of the things Wan does here. Aspects of Insidious recall Twin Peaks' Black Lodge and BOB, and the ending bears more than a passing resemblance to the way in which the Twin Peaks series concluded. Whether intentionally or not, Insidious would seem to owe a debt to those products of Lynch's twisted imagination.

Insidious is a different sort of horror film from the usual genre fare. It is more geared toward intelligent, patient viewers than teenagers in search of a quick, graphic fix. It's not cut from the cookie-cutter mold and that makes it a harrowing, if uneven, experience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
kababsAug 3, 2015
There is legitimate artistry behind the making of Insidious, but unfortunately it has a number of faults that prevent the film from reaching its full potential. Although I have to say it was actually a scary film in an unsettling way, whichThere is legitimate artistry behind the making of Insidious, but unfortunately it has a number of faults that prevent the film from reaching its full potential. Although I have to say it was actually a scary film in an unsettling way, which is what the film has going for it. My biggest problem is the characters, they don't bother talking about all of these crazy events that are happening. Even after they find their child's room ripped apart Patrick Wilson's character still doesn't believe what's going on is supernatural. Its a common problem where your absolutely frustrated with what the characters are doing, because their actions aren't realistic and there is also no depth to the characters. I didn't really care for the characters as there wasn't any character building moments, which more horror films need. If I care for the characters, then ultimately I would probably feel more scared and more into it. My other problem was the jump scares weren't scary at all because you could always predict when they were going to happen, it was probably the general idea around the film that made it scary. But the last act of the film made me more engaged with the story because it is a really interesting approach to a haunted house type story. So overall I would recommend it, but some of its really frustrating. I would have liked more depth to the characters, but its definitely above average for the genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeApr 25, 2016
Insidious actually feels more like a person making it straight from his own camera watching so-called scary things coming in action just to make the audience feel scared than a theatrically-made movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FilmClubMar 27, 2016
"Saw" creators James Wan and Leigh Whannell try their hands at another sort of scare with the Rose Byrne and Patrick Wilson horror film, a throwback to domestic ghost stories. in which exorcists battle otherworldly forces to reunite parents"Saw" creators James Wan and Leigh Whannell try their hands at another sort of scare with the Rose Byrne and Patrick Wilson horror film, a throwback to domestic ghost stories. in which exorcists battle otherworldly forces to reunite parents and children, occasionally uniting parents with their insurance agents as well.

Successful to a point (though seemingly unaware of the chuckles it produces in between shrieks), the movie has strong prospects with genre audiences but won't spawn a phenomenon resembling the filmmakers' previous franchise.

If the Rube Goldberg-isms of the Saw films rely on merciless foreshadowing of agony, Insidious is the opposite: It’s a machine for yelling "Boo!" It does so over and over — with ghosts popping through walls, faces that jump-cut from calm to frenzied and a Darth Maul-like demon with a nasty habit of materializing just over victims' shoulders.

A surprising number of these gotcha moments have the desired effect, and the picture's first hour strings them along through a familiar tale: Young couple (Patrick Wilson andRose Byrne) moves to gorgeous-but-creepy old house; son Dalton falls into a coma after a mysterious encounter; creepy stuff starts to happen.

Less familiar, and off-putting, are the ways the characters and the film react to each new development. Wilson, displaying a strange lack of affect, responds to mysterious threats to his family by starting to stay late at work every night. The script doesn't explain or really exploit this, nor does it find a reason for the movie's jumpy chronology, in which scenes occasionally seem to begin during the day and end at night.

Confusion doesn't ruin the ghost-story vibe, which stays just this side of camp: Wan's camera loves to push slowly into vacant parts of the frame, and the sound department gives him every creaky door and ticking clock in the book.

Intentional comic relief comes in the form of a pair of low-rent ghostbusters working for a genuine psychic (Lin Shaye, who has a better handle on the picture than anyone else involved). But after some promising techno-mystical business from this team, the second hour spends too long astral-projecting through an ill-defined spiritual realm whose dangers and escape routes feel entirely arbitrary.

Guilty-fun exorcist flick manages some jolts but doesn't pull off a genre reboot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews