FilmDistrict | Release Date: April 1, 2011
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 453 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
321
Mixed:
92
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
CapnAwesomeMay 5, 2013
This movie is truly scary as sh*t. I am not a horror film buff at all, just a casual watcher. The film uses sudden loud noises to make you truly scream OH SH*T. There are a variety of pop-ups accompanied by loud noises that really freakThis movie is truly scary as sh*t. I am not a horror film buff at all, just a casual watcher. The film uses sudden loud noises to make you truly scream OH SH*T. There are a variety of pop-ups accompanied by loud noises that really freak you out. Usually you know it's coming by the tension build up and suspense, but a casual viewer will still be scared. Great film to watch with friends, but I can't say I would dare to watch it alone, in the dark. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 25, 2011
The movie "Insidious", directed by the infamous James Wan, is a surprisingly scary movie full of chills and creeps. Its a good film that will definitely cool you down in the hot summer with its scares.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
10
InClassApr 1, 2011
I have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that because of its uniqueness is much more deserving of a higher score than it received. It may not have theI have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that because of its uniqueness is much more deserving of a higher score than it received. It may not have the best plot, acting, or consistency but damn was it scary and fun. I was clenching the seat and my kness hurt after from pressing on the floor. One of my top recent scary movies along with The Others, Drag me to Hell and Cabin Fever. Expand
14 of 20 users found this helpful146
All this user's reviews
10
Spyfighter5000Apr 19, 2013
A great scare flick that brings us back to the golden age of haunted house horror films with it's own twits.
Writer Leigh Whannell and director James Wan do a spectacular job at creating a familiar yet original experience for viewers and
A great scare flick that brings us back to the golden age of haunted house horror films with it's own twits.
Writer Leigh Whannell and director James Wan do a spectacular job at creating a familiar yet original experience for viewers and generate some frightening memorable scares. Overall, Insidious is well written, directed, shot and acted, a great solid horror flick.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
jakethesnackOct 29, 2013
While not as creepy as The Shining or Pet Semetary It's still creepy, even more than most classic horror movies. I enjoyed the demon and this is the first movie since the 80's to really creep me out.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
skeptic375Apr 4, 2011
Not being a horror fan, I wasn't expecting much from this film. Really, I was expecting Paranormal Activity. I was pleasantly surprised. This doesn't break molds in the horror genre and uses a lot of cliches and music cues that are moreNot being a horror fan, I wasn't expecting much from this film. Really, I was expecting Paranormal Activity. I was pleasantly surprised. This doesn't break molds in the horror genre and uses a lot of cliches and music cues that are more annoying than scary, but it still was creepy, which a movie hasn't done to me since I was a kid. There was a pair of characters that add comic relief to the film, relieving any possible tension, that come in halfway through, and though I enjoyed them, in my opinion, they don't fit, but I've heard others say they were glad they were there. As usual with James Wan, there is a nod to Billy the puppet (from Saw, James Wan's first major horror film) in the background of one of the scenes. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
Watermelon789Aug 8, 2011
Overall definitely lacks in parts that it could have been creepy , some of the acting feels low budget. Even with all this disappointing flaws , it makes nice triumphs .
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
Jblack0928Apr 1, 2011
There are a ton of great scares in this movie. It literaly keeps you on the edge of your seat from beginning to about 3/4ths of the way through. The ending moves a little towards the goofy but that doesnt keep it from being one of the bestThere are a ton of great scares in this movie. It literaly keeps you on the edge of your seat from beginning to about 3/4ths of the way through. The ending moves a little towards the goofy but that doesnt keep it from being one of the best original horror ideas in YEARS. If your tired of remakes and want something a bit new check this one out. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
vernApr 2, 2011
This is a scary movie that actually gets the job done, and does it well. It seems that most horror movies today can't do that. When plot, time consistency (and in some points, the acting) are concerned, this is not a great movie by anyThis is a scary movie that actually gets the job done, and does it well. It seems that most horror movies today can't do that. When plot, time consistency (and in some points, the acting) are concerned, this is not a great movie by any means. But this movie does provide plenty of genuine scares and chills for the viewer. There is also sustained tension, an ominous tone, and some very haunting images throughout it's running time. This film gets an 8 for truly scaring me (and I normally don't get scared at many movies). If you are willing to suspend your disbelief for an hour and a half, you will have a very good time with Insidious. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
KendylKlownfishApr 14, 2011
Regardless of a few notable flaws, Insidious is all about old-fashioned thrills and chills. Pros: Brilliantly directed and edited; some old-fashioned haunted house elements; very scary and very chilling, yet humorous and even a bit campy;Regardless of a few notable flaws, Insidious is all about old-fashioned thrills and chills. Pros: Brilliantly directed and edited; some old-fashioned haunted house elements; very scary and very chilling, yet humorous and even a bit campy; introduces us to one of the scariest images in a horror film to date. Cons: Some flawed writing and plot development; poorly acted; some choppy special effects. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
RFCxDaViDxRFCApr 29, 2011
Holy S**t is not two words I use often, but i found myself repeating them over and over again at this movie. It is not usual that a horror film's trailer makes me evacuate my bowels, but this one certainly did. The movie is jumpy and scaryHoly S**t is not two words I use often, but i found myself repeating them over and over again at this movie. It is not usual that a horror film's trailer makes me evacuate my bowels, but this one certainly did. The movie is jumpy and scary throughout but at some points, the story seemed silly. But this doesn't matter when you are trembling at the scary moment that you know is coming. The creators of this movie have out done themselves with this movie. If you think Paranormal Activity was bad, just WAIT until you see this. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
FrozenStar90Apr 3, 2011
Though this may be business as usual for the horror genre, Insidious definitely does what it sets out to do. And that's to scare the unholy bejeezus out of you. It has been a very long time since I've actually been frightened by a movie, butThough this may be business as usual for the horror genre, Insidious definitely does what it sets out to do. And that's to scare the unholy bejeezus out of you. It has been a very long time since I've actually been frightened by a movie, but Insidious pulls it off with pristine precision. Filled with a handful of striking images, Insidious will lurk in the back of your mind for days. Despite a lackluster conclusion, this is one horror movie you owe yourself to see. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
ShiiraApr 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For God's sake! Get out! That's the tagline sprawled across the movie poster for Stuart Rosenberg's "The Amityville Horror", the 1979 shocker about the haunted goings-on at George and Kathy Lutz's Long Island residence, adapted from the supposed non-fiction bestseller by Jay Anson. The promotional admonition has the unintentional effect of drawing a bead on that most annoying of all haunted house movie tropes, which is the irrationally slow realization on the ghost-afflicted victims' part that they don't actually have to coexist with the growing menace. They can, in fact, leave, right after the first unexplained door slam. The Lutzs, in particular, are especially obstinate in their steadfast refusal to flee like normal people, holding down the fort as they do til the last possible moment, even though the daughter communicates with a dead girl. Also, George's demonic possession is confused for the flu, and the flies attack like piranhas. Best of all, nobody seems adequately fazed by the portal to hell that the family dog first sniffs out in the basement. The Dutch Colonial literally has to ooze blood before George and Kathy come to their senses and finally abdicate themselves from the supernatural plot of land. To be fair, if the characters in horror movies could take a hint, the film would be over in a matter of minutes. In a sense, characters in horror movies need to act as if they have brain damage. Characters like the Lutzs have to put themselves in harm's way for the sake of running time. But the best of the bunch, like Oren Peli's "Paranormal Activity" and Tobe Hooper's "Poltergeist", go through the trouble of providing the terrorized people with a bonafide reason to stay in the house, an incentive for the emotional violence that they'll have to endure during their long, drawn-out ordeal with the unexplained phenomena. As a result, their dealing with the malevolent presence feels more organic to the story, and not merely a screenwriter's contrivance. For instance, in "Paranormal Activity", the young couple puts up with the disturbances in their troubled home because Micah is shooting a documentary film. Differing from other like-minded genre fare, for the amateur filmmaker, it's a bad day if nothing out of the ordinary happens. It's in Micah's best interest to be scared. (Not so much, Katie's.) The Steven Spielberg-produced "Poltergeist", the movie that "Insidious" most resembles, initially anyway, comes equipped with a practical basis for keeping Steve and Diane Freeling(Craig T. Nelson & JoBeth Williams) in their suburban dwelling. The house eats their daughter. They're not going anywhere until their tract home regurgitates Carol Anne(Heather O'Rourke). Homologous in cause, Josh(Patrick Wilson) and Renai(Rose Byrne) aren't going anywhere either, since their son Dalton(Ty Simpkins) needs to find his way back to the body that he transcended through astral projection. Smarter than most genre films of its ilk, the Lamberts leave their thought-to-be haunted home(their first house) midway through the narrative, since Renai, having witnessed enough phantoms to last her a lifetime, doesn't wait for things to get worse. Even better, Josh believes her, foregoing the patented cliche of the skeptic telling the eyewitness that in no certain terms that the person who cries ghost is crazy. In the time-honored tradition of the haunted house movie, by the time the unconverted sees the menace for himself, it's too late, and both eyewitness and former skeptic run for their lives. In "Insidious", just like the Tobe Hooper film, a parent has to retrieve the child from the netherworld, a domestic-based interior universe. (In retrospect, the husband in "Poltergeist" is kind of a p*ssy for not insisting harder that he should be the one to go retrieve Carol Anne. The wife could have worked the rope.) Ironically, when Josh and Renai change addresses, they are unknowingly abandoning their son, since Dalton's floating self is on the "further" side of the house, similar to the Freeling girl's situation. Being smart becomes a wrong move. Being dumb would have kept them closer to their wandering son. On his own, Dalton would have never found the new house had Josh not gone looking for him, when "Insidious" visualizes what "Poltergeist" only suggests: a dark underworld, a purgatory-like crawl space that traps children. Mick Jones of The Clash once asked, "Should I Stay or Should I Go," and in "Insidious", this reasonably scary exercise in genre proves that there's no right move in a horror movie, just like how a nightmare should be. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
G_MackzyDec 3, 2011
Good to see a genuinly scary movie that didn't had to revert to use gore as a shock tactic. Watching a movie a second time will also allow you to pick up subtle bits and pieces that you may have missed the first time. For instance I saw a boyGood to see a genuinly scary movie that didn't had to revert to use gore as a shock tactic. Watching a movie a second time will also allow you to pick up subtle bits and pieces that you may have missed the first time. For instance I saw a boy standing in the corner of the camera shot as one of the protagonists walked past that I didn't see the first time round and it scared the bejesus out of me. Like most scary movies the budget doesn't seem to be out of this world and the final few scenes look a tad corny. But overall very scary movi Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
rnnbrwnOct 28, 2011
Very scary, and a really good story, I thought. To be honest, I could've done without the Egon Spengler characters and Insidious 2 is clearly signposted, but it was a great, creepy movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
themozaMay 25, 2011
For a modern horror, the scares were pretty good. The plot was a bit.... silly, transitions from scene to scene were confusing and some of the acting was a bit wooden, but god damn- some bits had the whole cinema screaming. Except me of course
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
Spot21Apr 11, 2011
Going into Insidious, I didn't know what to expect. I knew it was by the makers of Saw and I'm not a big Saw guy so I was nervous that it might focus on blood to scare instead of suspense. I was wrong. It was a great, suspenseful movie thatGoing into Insidious, I didn't know what to expect. I knew it was by the makers of Saw and I'm not a big Saw guy so I was nervous that it might focus on blood to scare instead of suspense. I was wrong. It was a great, suspenseful movie that relied on real scares. Even the final act was good. A must watch for horror fans Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
jdrandall38Jul 25, 2011
Absolutely solid horror film. The horror movie genre is a very "hit or miss" catergorie and with this one, they "Hit." If you have the chance give this one a look. I would describe this one like a mix of Poltergeist and Paranormal ActivityAbsolutely solid horror film. The horror movie genre is a very "hit or miss" catergorie and with this one, they "Hit." If you have the chance give this one a look. I would describe this one like a mix of Poltergeist and Paranormal Activity (The first one). Some parts were kind of goofy which is why I dropped it down from an 8 to a 7 but still solid. Paranormal ingenuity is were this one lands with a fresh idea not yet used in any movie thus far. Give this one a chance if you are into horror flicks. 7/10. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
GVirus16Apr 19, 2011
Insidious is an absolutely terrifying movie. All these critics and random people who are saying it sucked didn't see this movie. Perfect scare moments which occur just after the point when you think something's gonna happen are quiteInsidious is an absolutely terrifying movie. All these critics and random people who are saying it sucked didn't see this movie. Perfect scare moments which occur just after the point when you think something's gonna happen are quite prevalent, and the storyline itself is awesome. I saw this movie in an EMPTY movie theater, by myself, and it was the first horror film to truly terrify me in many a year. I've been raised in a household where the favored genre was horror, and so I've slowly become desensitized to most horror movies. But this one seriously freaked me out.

GO SEE THIS MOVIE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE...and if you want a bit more of a scare...go alone...>:D
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Oct 30, 2011
This is a superb horror film. James wan makes fims that have familiar elements from the genre but he gives them a unique flavour with the use of harsh, punchy string music to accompany the shocks and some brilliantly imaginative imagery. theThis is a superb horror film. James wan makes fims that have familiar elements from the genre but he gives them a unique flavour with the use of harsh, punchy string music to accompany the shocks and some brilliantly imaginative imagery. the horror in this film is subtle at times and then very intense at others. James Wan is an inspired director that doesn't hold back. You're either gonna accept his vision and feel the terror, or reject it - at which point it becomes comedic, hence some of the low scores. For me he's a true auteur, up there with Argento. I love old school horror, and this delivers for me. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerOct 28, 2013
A pretty good horror film. It's got a genuinely tense and creepy atmosphere, and because of it is able to provide some truly scary moments. Unlike most horror movies out there it doesn't rely on lame jump scares. It has them, but it doesn'tA pretty good horror film. It's got a genuinely tense and creepy atmosphere, and because of it is able to provide some truly scary moments. Unlike most horror movies out there it doesn't rely on lame jump scares. It has them, but it doesn't rely on them. The soundtrack is used to great effect here. It shows up at just the right moments to make things more intense and frightening. So it's a good horror movie that provides some genuine scares, but it's not perfect.

The second-half of the movie brings in some comic-relief characters that severely damage the overall tone and atmosphere of the movie. Also just like most modern horror movies lame jump scares are present that fail to elicit any sort of reaction, much less fear. The plot and acting could have also used just a little more tightening. These flaws do bring down the overall quality of the movie, but they don't ruin it.

All in all "Insidious" is both impressive and scary in a time where most horror movies fall flat. It manages to do what all horror movies should do, but most fail to do; being scary. So if you're looking for a good horror movie there are a huge selection of worse out there. So grab your popcorn, turn off the lights, and get ready for a fright. It may not be perfect, but "Insidious" delivers some truly frightening moments. That's more than I can say about most horror movies.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
PurpleUrpNov 15, 2011
Definitely a must watch as Insidious goes "boss hogging" through Horror Street. The storyline itself is redundant, but Insidious does it its job right by frightening us pretty good. The horror genre hasn't been able to evolve, but InsidiousDefinitely a must watch as Insidious goes "boss hogging" through Horror Street. The storyline itself is redundant, but Insidious does it its job right by frightening us pretty good. The horror genre hasn't been able to evolve, but Insidious came inches to it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
HeafMay 30, 2011
This is one of my favorite horror movies in recent memory. The second act brought this from set-up to full on scary. The third act took this to a place I have seen in only a couple of other horror films. As soon as you feel like this movie isThis is one of my favorite horror movies in recent memory. The second act brought this from set-up to full on scary. The third act took this to a place I have seen in only a couple of other horror films. As soon as you feel like this movie is predictable, they take it to new heights. Great actors through out, and great directing. I am not a huge fan of the Saw franchise. The first Saw movie was something new and exciting everything after that, not so much. James Wan won me over with this. I can't wait to watch this a few more times. I think it will hold up to repeat viewings. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
GDaBombApr 8, 2011
No movie has ever scared me as much as this one did!!! If you like horror movies, this is a must see!! Insidious is the new Poltergeist. Get ready for a scare!!
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
BnicleveApr 17, 2011
Anyone, and I mean, anyone who did not like this movie is a jerk. Or at least is desensitized. This was the best horror flick I have seen in years. Though I am surprised it came from the makers of **** Paranormal Activity. for my in depthAnyone, and I mean, anyone who did not like this movie is a jerk. Or at least is desensitized. This was the best horror flick I have seen in years. Though I am surprised it came from the makers of **** Paranormal Activity. for my in depth review visit www.beesbadmoviereviews.com. Sorry to spam. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
ohaiKendylApr 18, 2011
Even though the writing and acting are a bit flawed, Insidious is all about old-fashioned thrills and chills that are both scary as hell and exhilarating.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
Dee14Apr 25, 2011
This was definitely a good movie, but it could have been WAY scarier. At times, I didn't even feel the suspense that should have been built up to scare the audience. The ominous music did deliver during some scenes, but not all. All in all,This was definitely a good movie, but it could have been WAY scarier. At times, I didn't even feel the suspense that should have been built up to scare the audience. The ominous music did deliver during some scenes, but not all. All in all, It was a good attempt at a new and unique storyline. On a better note, the ending will not disappoint viewers. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
Cotts1988May 1, 2011
Insidious is a brilliant horror film with some of the freakiest moments seen in recent cinema. The plot is a tad convoluted and occasionally makes the film seem cheap, yet this is par for the course when watching any sort of supernaturalInsidious is a brilliant horror film with some of the freakiest moments seen in recent cinema. The plot is a tad convoluted and occasionally makes the film seem cheap, yet this is par for the course when watching any sort of supernatural horror, such as this. Some of the scares are perfectly executed, specifically those found earlier in the film. The second half of the film does drag a little, yet this is only because the first half is so brilliant. In tone the film is similar to Drag Me To Hell, without quite as many laughs which are replaced with more outright scary moments. It was also highly refreshing to watch a horror film of recent times that does not require an intense level of gore to keep viewers gripped. Insidious is certainly one of the best horror films of the last decade. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
XxDestinyxX001Apr 29, 2011
I love this movie. this is the only movie that ever scared me soo much. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie they scare me soo much sometimes.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
gabbyps3lover13May 5, 2011
This movie was so amazing I was happy there was finally some good old fashioned monsters and demons. it did remind of poltergeist with the whole finding his kid in a different realm. it made me jump and was a nice change from all the otherThis movie was so amazing I was happy there was finally some good old fashioned monsters and demons. it did remind of poltergeist with the whole finding his kid in a different realm. it made me jump and was a nice change from all the other "scary" movies that have come out. it didnt take to long get to the point either considering im an impatient person. The opening credits for it made me think of the classics hitchock made i felt myself smiling throughout the whole thing Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
RocketcrossingMay 10, 2011
Insidious is the newest film from duo James Wan (director) and Leigh Whannell (writer/actor) who were made infamous by their first film, Saw. Except this time, instead of starting a sub-genre, they're paying homage to another: the HauntedInsidious is the newest film from duo James Wan (director) and Leigh Whannell (writer/actor) who were made infamous by their first film, Saw. Except this time, instead of starting a sub-genre, they're paying homage to another: the Haunted House genre, which includes films such as The Amityville Horror and House on Haunted Hill. Now as much as I like campy little tribute pictures, like Brutal Massacre or Grindhouse, I usually don't consider them great movies. The reason? As fun as it is to revisit a genre that is otherwise dead and gone, these movies don't really bring anything new to the table. That being said, Insidious was a delightful surprise. It keeps its heart close to home with the classics, but is totally original in both its execution and plot. Now you may think you've seen this movie before - quick shots of people walking by doorways, turns out a brutal multiple-homicide took place there years before, blah blah blah - but I assure you, you're wrong. The film does have some aspects of familiarity to them, there's no denying that, but it also has a refreshing edge that most recent horror films don't have. One of these things is that Insidious EARNS its scares. Yes, it does have the quick shots of things appearing and disappearing, loud noises, and all that jazz, but it also has a shocking number of scenes that rely on build-up and legitimately creepy circumstances instead of the pop-out scares that we're all so familiar with. Unfortunately though, Insidious isn't consistent. For every brilliant scene that is beautifully done, there are at least 3-4 that either don't make a whole lot of sense or are the cheap pop-out style scares. Also, the big reveal into what's going on in this movie was good, but it also missed the mark slightly; other scenes were carried out a bit too long and got a bit too ridiculous. One can see where they were trying to go with it, but it just didn't come out that great. It is unfortunate that this movie wasn't better received; they came so close to being a notable force in the horror genre, which is so desperately needed right now in main stream cinema, and personally I think James and Leigh would fit the bill wonderfully because they have something that very few people don't: heart, and they've got a ton of it. Read the rest of the review at my film review site rocketcrossing.com and check us out on facebook at facebook.com/rocketcrossing Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
boxenford92May 14, 2011
Its impossible to sit through this film and not jump. James Wan is a master of using silence in horror. And what really gets me about this is that demons are my biggest fear on the planet. The audience i saw this with was screaming throughoutIts impossible to sit through this film and not jump. James Wan is a master of using silence in horror. And what really gets me about this is that demons are my biggest fear on the planet. The audience i saw this with was screaming throughout the film. The only thing that brings it down is the last quarter of the film. It was really realistic for the first 3 quarters before it went into fantasy land Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
YourThoughtsMay 17, 2011
Insidious is a great film to see in the cinema, the atmosphere some scenes create keep you soo far on the edge of your seat that your practically sat on the person in fronts head!!! Saying this, i don't think the film will have the sameInsidious is a great film to see in the cinema, the atmosphere some scenes create keep you soo far on the edge of your seat that your practically sat on the person in fronts head!!! Saying this, i don't think the film will have the same effect when released on dvd. I am only rating the film with a 7 as I am a huge fan of both Paranormal Activity's and Saw movies. But I found that the main let down of Insidious was how far it strayed from both Paranormal Activity and Saw, the fact that it was filmed with crystal clear cameras and a lot of CGI, makes the fear we had from Paranormal Activity's CCTV footage and believable ghostly antics (paranormal activity) fade away. All in all the storyline started off well and then takes an outstanding DROP to a point where you think..... I actually think a 5 year old would have thought up a better ending!! (Soo predictable, everyone I know who has seen it said they knew the ending before it happened and so did I) Overall I think it is worth seeing if your in to your horror movies, but do not see it if you want something similar to Saw or Paranormal Activity, whatever you do, do not wait until the DVD is released as the cinema makes the scenes a hundred times better. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
itz_giologicalJun 2, 2011
A breathtaking and harrowing descent down one of the scariest first halves in movies in the 21st century finally lets loose in its second act and turns midway into a documentary about astral projection. It has its moments of creep and momentsA breathtaking and harrowing descent down one of the scariest first halves in movies in the 21st century finally lets loose in its second act and turns midway into a documentary about astral projection. It has its moments of creep and moments of schlock, too but it is never failing in its attempts of horror trickery. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
SnowDayApr 5, 2015
Insidious is one of the most frightful and intricately crafted horror films I have ever seen. From providing vivid thrills to establishing one mesmerizing scene after another, it won't disappoint anyone looking for a genuine scare.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
XDeadsoul07Jul 14, 2011
The movie was great I had chills during most of the movie. It had a great ending to I never expected the what happen. The director did a good job on this movie.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
harlthegr8Aug 24, 2011
LOVED THIS! For a modern day horror movie, this is as good as they get! Unique story and the best part is that it is a very "physical" interpretation of ghosts and spirits. You actually see them throughout the movie instead of the occasionalLOVED THIS! For a modern day horror movie, this is as good as they get! Unique story and the best part is that it is a very "physical" interpretation of ghosts and spirits. You actually see them throughout the movie instead of the occasional moving curtain, bump in the night, etc. Loved the idea. The ending was a tiny bit disappointing, but still was a great movie overall. Oh and the song in the movie makes it so much creepier!!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Gloomy_nesJul 25, 2011
I think people are too busy acting all brave and hard when watching a horror movie that they can't possibly enjoy it. This movie was at least a very decent horror flick. The plot and ending were well constructed, and there were plenty ofI think people are too busy acting all brave and hard when watching a horror movie that they can't possibly enjoy it. This movie was at least a very decent horror flick. The plot and ending were well constructed, and there were plenty of scary/creepy scenes. It had a lasting effect on me to the point that I was a bit uneasy at night, but that's about it. The entities found throughout the movie are a bit creepy, but I'd say that they're not really scary. Over all, this movie was good even though it stumbled throughout the first hour. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
Kallins3122Jul 10, 2011
Amazing horror movie ! I can't remember the last time a movie scared the sh*t out of me. The third-person angle of the camera (similar to the game Resident Evil 4 & 5) puts you in a anything-can-happen perspective. This motion picture bringsAmazing horror movie ! I can't remember the last time a movie scared the sh*t out of me. The third-person angle of the camera (similar to the game Resident Evil 4 & 5) puts you in a anything-can-happen perspective. This motion picture brings you something new and, mostly, something good in the horror genre. A genre who, I personally think, got over-abused and lost his essence. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
MrDennis94Jun 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i love this movie because everyone thought probably that it was a Haunted house but it was about Demon things and it was very Good :) And i want a second of this movie because it was so good :) it scared so much :) Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
Edward9630Jul 23, 2011
Insidious is a brilliant film. The story is enjoyable to learn, the actors did a great performance for their characters and the scares work in this film. When i heard the saw & paranormal activity producers were working on the film i had mixInsidious is a brilliant film. The story is enjoyable to learn, the actors did a great performance for their characters and the scares work in this film. When i heard the saw & paranormal activity producers were working on the film i had mix feelings about the film before i saw it but i was very impressed of what ive seen. There were two or three scenes that made me jump and i usually dont jump in horror films so this did a great job. Plus this is also a very creepy film. I would give this film a full price. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
dahlmedicJul 13, 2011
This movie is a modern masterpiece. The first horror movie that has had this much of an effect on me in a long time. It has all the perfect elements to create a movie that will have you thinking about it when you are in the dark.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
BenIsThisGuyAug 2, 2011
This movie was messed up and had some disturbing scenes. It was a good and I have heard of the plot of the movie happening before so it was easy to accept for me. It was entertaining to watch and I could watch it again.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
thejjttAug 2, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. por favor agan caso omiso de los detractores de esta gran pelicula de terror, en años , el cine americano no a tenido una pelicula de terror/horror que lo represente y adivinen que,.. insidious, la noche del demonio ( su nombre en español) lo es,.. no esta abarrotada con efectos especiales, su historia es envolvente desde un inicio, aunque debo aceptar, que se vuelve al estrepitosa para el final, las interpretaciones cumplen con su cometido, y la bien desarrollada narrativa solo te mantiene comiendote las uñas hasta el final. Pero lo que se lleva los aplausos son la vibra que el hambiente de la pelicula te transmite, una mezcla de los sustos clasicos de los 80 con lo nuevo del siglo 21, simplemente maravilloso, se los juro, el demonino con fuego en la cara es la criatura mas terrorifica que e visto en años, y eso gracias a que no se exedieron con tanto efecto estupido al que hollywood esta tan acostumbrado. El dream team del horro americano hizo un sublime trabajo, del cual me siento muy orgulloso. Esperen a que sean las 3 de la mañana, apaguen las lices, suban todo el volumen de su teatro en casa y disfruten de lo que puede ser el espectaculo de horror mas sabroso e ingenioso desde la primera parte del exorcista. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
insidiousisAug 17, 2011
This movie was like a rollercoaster. It started off amazing, and just kept getting better and better. It was packed with suspense and kept you on the edge of your seat. Until... you saw the "monster" in this movie. after that, it began to goThis movie was like a rollercoaster. It started off amazing, and just kept getting better and better. It was packed with suspense and kept you on the edge of your seat. Until... you saw the "monster" in this movie. after that, it began to go downhill incredibly fast. I mean, it just got stupid and cheesy after that. However, the ending was shocking and surprising and perhaps the best part of the movie. The movie was essentially good except it was quite rushed and the acting wasn't terrific. It didn't compare to some of the director's other movies such as Saw and Paranormal Activity. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
MikefromAngusOct 17, 2013
First off I am not a horror fan, I don't like them. They don't scare me. They make me laugh! I started to watch "Insidious" and I started getting goosebumps! The story got me involved! There was a touch of science which made the movie aFirst off I am not a horror fan, I don't like them. They don't scare me. They make me laugh! I started to watch "Insidious" and I started getting goosebumps! The story got me involved! There was a touch of science which made the movie a little more believable. Overall the movie is not perfect, there are some cheesy parts. But what it does pull off, is a good horror movie. It delivers the right amount of scares, and is not over the top. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
abductionOct 1, 2011
Insidiouse was a great movie. Scarery as hell. Literelly. I was in the movie theater watching it with my dad and he even scremed like a girl. It was hillariouse. I love my dad. What the hell is up with how scarehy they made this movie? AfterInsidiouse was a great movie. Scarery as hell. Literelly. I was in the movie theater watching it with my dad and he even scremed like a girl. It was hillariouse. I love my dad. What the hell is up with how scarehy they made this movie? After you have seen it once though it is not as f-ing scarey. What the hell is up with that? Ok well I have to go. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
MediaCriticOct 18, 2011
I have seen lots of horror movies, and many scary ones. This movie is scary, but not mainly bu the theme as much. More by the random pop ups, that don't seem to fit in at the right time. They seem to appear out of nowhere and at bad points inI have seen lots of horror movies, and many scary ones. This movie is scary, but not mainly bu the theme as much. More by the random pop ups, that don't seem to fit in at the right time. They seem to appear out of nowhere and at bad points in the film. It doesn't have the best storyline ever, and the plot is a bit weak at parts. The movie seems to go off subject a lot too. However, it is a good movie. But not the best horror out there. Though it will scare you! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
RoccosRantSep 4, 2012
A surprisingly good haunted/possession movie. With how much generic crap is peddled out in this vein of cinema; I'm glad to see movies like this pop out every now and then. Would definitely recommend for a good scare!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
HonestVoice5792Nov 14, 2011
The movie itself is okay, but I give it credit for managing to get me scared, however seeing the main villain leaves me to believe to lack of creativity it has; Mixing Darth Maul and Freddy Kruger seems oddly not scary to me.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
easypeasy118Dec 5, 2011
this film is amazing, it was so scary i papped my self all the way through with scenes that were so smart and not only did it show scary scenes at night but also in daylight which i don't normally see in horror films was scared me even more.this film is amazing, it was so scary i papped my self all the way through with scenes that were so smart and not only did it show scary scenes at night but also in daylight which i don't normally see in horror films was scared me even more. you don't know how it's going to end with a man entering some weird place where the devil lives. one of the most scary films i have ever seen. 9/10 Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
PSenoudasDec 12, 2011
Directed by a gifted director, Wan gives us an instant classic of modern horror! I am great fun of horror movies and i really loved this one! This movie has a great atmosphere and it will keep you on the edge.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
JollyG87Dec 13, 2011
The ghosts in "Insidious" are not the "Paranormal Activity" kind where you rarely ever see them. These ghosts definitely make their presences known by running through hallways and wearing really creepy costumes. They're like a combinationThe ghosts in "Insidious" are not the "Paranormal Activity" kind where you rarely ever see them. These ghosts definitely make their presences known by running through hallways and wearing really creepy costumes. They're like a combination between the ghosts in "Carnival of Souls" and "The Shining." Because of this, "Insidious" might not be for everyone. But if you dig old-school horror films, you're in for a treat. James Wan takes his haunted house style of horror and runs with it. His film never lets up on movie atmospherics, and at times, it is truly terrifying. But with that said, the movie does get a little too hokey at times, and the characters aren't all that compelling aside from Lin Shaye as the psychic. But if you want to see a horror film that offers something different, check out "Insidious". Whether you laugh the whole time or you're scare straight from it; "Insidious" delivers the goods. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
TTW107Feb 11, 2012
As far as horror movies go recently, Insidious is top notch. It is the only movie to make me jump and give me chills in years. The chills came the first time i saw it in theaters during the scene when the red demon face shows up behind theAs far as horror movies go recently, Insidious is top notch. It is the only movie to make me jump and give me chills in years. The chills came the first time i saw it in theaters during the scene when the red demon face shows up behind the husband, HOLY SH*T! In these times of three Paranormal Activity's that didn't scare one ounce of me, Insidious is a very effective horror film. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
RegOzApr 4, 2012
I loved it! I am usually a harsh judge and I profoundly dislike cheesy horror movies, neither do I enjoy too much-unnecessary- gore, abuse of special effects, or/and bad performances. Here, however, I found all the ingredients needed for aI loved it! I am usually a harsh judge and I profoundly dislike cheesy horror movies, neither do I enjoy too much-unnecessary- gore, abuse of special effects, or/and bad performances. Here, however, I found all the ingredients needed for a movie to be considered -in my opinion- outstanding. There were indeed, many ghosts, but their presence was used smartly. The only flaw I find is the part of 'comedy' they introduced when the two ghostbusters first appeared in scene. The initial interactions of those two characters were silly; henceforth, their performances felt fake. In fact, It sort of changed the feeling of the movie, they just didn't fit there. Fortunately, the movie quickly recovered its obscure nature, and went back to its initial pace; this allowed the actors who played the ghostbusters to improve their performances. Still, is precisely that randomness what stops me from giving to this film a score of 10 - but, it is arguably a solid 9. I wish the director didn't make that mistake, so we would have had a formidable movie. Just want to add that to me, the ending was magnificent, however; I acknowledge that as some have already pointed out, it raises a few questions...which I would like to see answered in an Insidious 2 movie. Yet, I sort of like the fact that the 'happy ending' was not quite there, I mean clear. Overall, this is one of the best horror movies I have watched even though it is not overly scary. Still, I adore it..and I am going to buy the dvd for sure! What is the secret of this film? It has a clever plot, good performances and the movie as a whole has style! Watch it! Do not let the score or negative comments found here to stop you from doing that! I know if you see this movie you won't regret it! Don't let other people's negativism to influence you negatively for you are the one who has to decide!..without bias! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Critic2012May 6, 2012
Insidious is an excellent horror film for two reasons. One, the film has no blood or gore (which is typical of Wan's Saw films). Two, by employing the classic haunted house tale, its able to give the film a whole new twist when it throws aInsidious is an excellent horror film for two reasons. One, the film has no blood or gore (which is typical of Wan's Saw films). Two, by employing the classic haunted house tale, its able to give the film a whole new twist when it throws a monkey wrench into the story. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
JrAgujaIsAGleekOct 7, 2013
This may not be the scariest movie ever but it's worth watching with entertaining jumpscares and its interesting plot and makes all of most of the main characters useful in the movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Subject98Apr 3, 2013
Definitely a mixed bag.There are things in this movie that make me wonder if it's a serious attempt at a horror film or a parody of the genre. Either way it's enjoyable just to see where it goes next and I promise that as you start the movie,Definitely a mixed bag.There are things in this movie that make me wonder if it's a serious attempt at a horror film or a parody of the genre. Either way it's enjoyable just to see where it goes next and I promise that as you start the movie, you would never guess the territory it goes into toward the end. XD Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
MonsieurEamesJan 23, 2013
Probably one of the scariest movies of all times. I had nightmares for weeks after watching this one. The imagery in Insidious is so unforgettable that it will stick with you for a very, very long time.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
BradKellerDAOct 9, 2012
This movie scared the absolute **** out of me. It was so bad that I had to turn on the lights at some points through out the movie. I had goosebumps so bad that the hair on my arms would stand up and wouldn't go back down until the movie wasThis movie scared the absolute **** out of me. It was so bad that I had to turn on the lights at some points through out the movie. I had goosebumps so bad that the hair on my arms would stand up and wouldn't go back down until the movie was over. Ghosts freak me out and if they freak you out also I recommend this movie to you. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Kyle39Sep 9, 2012
Genuinely frightening film that really scared me. I've become desensitized to horror films, so I was shocked at how scary Insidious really is. Eerie, well acted, directed and written. A winner of a ghost story!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
A devilish little haunted house film that it most frightening when there is nothing scary happening. The first hour of Insidious is bone chilling and though the plot is preposterous, it still slithers under your skin and spins around in yourA devilish little haunted house film that it most frightening when there is nothing scary happening. The first hour of Insidious is bone chilling and though the plot is preposterous, it still slithers under your skin and spins around in your head until you just loose your **** and fall helplessly into its grasps. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
knorbiNov 30, 2012
It is probably one of the few movies that really go into the depths of ghost haunting and the reasons why it occurs. I actually believed that it might be the first horror movie with a happy ending. Besides, the original story, the soundIt is probably one of the few movies that really go into the depths of ghost haunting and the reasons why it occurs. I actually believed that it might be the first horror movie with a happy ending. Besides, the original story, the sound effects and the apparitions will try to make you jump off the seat more than one time. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
DaizyBurchillNov 28, 2012
I loved every minute of it although the lipstick-face demon was totally unrealistic but that just made the film funny. This film has been put in the genre Horror but in all honesty this film is hilarious; usually if a horror film is funny itI loved every minute of it although the lipstick-face demon was totally unrealistic but that just made the film funny. This film has been put in the genre Horror but in all honesty this film is hilarious; usually if a horror film is funny it makes it completely rubbish but Leigh Whannell (who also wrote saw) scripted this film very well and used a lot of talented actors (including himself), this film is intriguing and maintains my attention throughout but the one thing this film lacks is the jump factor as I didn't jump once, I would recommend this film to anyone over the age of 11, I think that any 13 year old or older will like this film as I was 13 when I watched it and I loved it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989Jul 18, 2013
This was one creepy film! Definitely up there as one of the scariest films I've seen thanks to being so damn jumpy, but the concept is just great as young Dalton falls into a coma when he is captured by evil spirits. There are so many subtleThis was one creepy film! Definitely up there as one of the scariest films I've seen thanks to being so damn jumpy, but the concept is just great as young Dalton falls into a coma when he is captured by evil spirits. There are so many subtle things in this movie that make it perfect, and so many scares along the way that are just so damn freaky! It's a Horror fans favourite type of film and I'd find it hard to find someone that loves Horror that hates this film. Highly recommend this one! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
BlookerMar 17, 2013
I had a good time watching it, but it wasn't too scary. I watched it in the dark on my own and only jumped slightly at one jump scare. It also got a bit slow at parts, but other than that, it was a fun watch.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
mds03Apr 14, 2013
I have never seen a movie as creepy, freaky, and unnerving as this one. It is without a doubt one of the best ghost movies in existence. After I first watched it, I couldn't sleep very well for days. Do not under any
circumstances let any
I have never seen a movie as creepy, freaky, and unnerving as this one. It is without a doubt one of the best ghost movies in existence. After I first watched it, I couldn't sleep very well for days. Do not under any
circumstances let any child under the age of 12 see it or he/she will be scarred for life. I know I was.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticSep 14, 2013
Insidious is the type of horror film that is rarely seen in Hollywood today a film with no gore and all fun. A film that is well made and which acting is superb. A-
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MarkMusicApr 23, 2013
Oh boy when I first saw a preview the one that kept going "Insidious Is" I was like interesting definintly looks better then many many many horror movies. Then I saw another one that went "From the creators of Paranormal Activity and Saw".Oh boy when I first saw a preview the one that kept going "Insidious Is" I was like interesting definintly looks better then many many many horror movies. Then I saw another one that went "From the creators of Paranormal Activity and Saw". Thats my reaction I was like "This better not have a bunch of random trash happening or uneseccary things happening". That quickly changed I watched it thinking "This was creepy and scary (even though I was scared but my girlfriend surly was) and I didn't see a drop of blood" This was a good story. Now this is much better then the so-called American Horror Classic "Psycho". This INSIDIOUS should be the number one horror movie. If you think you can handle it watch it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
leopem17Apr 10, 2013
Great suspense at the beginning, a generally good plot. However certain characteristics of the evil person make it less creepy. However it kept me hiding behind my duvet for certain areas.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 31, 2013
Very scary. I really enjoyed that psychological thriller and do not miss it!! I do not think though that the second chapter will be as good as the first one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Popcorn12345Jul 27, 2013
A genuinley terrifying movie. Very physcological and a few jumpscares. A very scary movie but although this doesn't give anything away I have spotted a plot hole about 2 thirds in the youngest and one other child aren't seen for the rest ofA genuinley terrifying movie. Very physcological and a few jumpscares. A very scary movie but although this doesn't give anything away I have spotted a plot hole about 2 thirds in the youngest and one other child aren't seen for the rest of the film. Still though very scary. Perfect for a scary sleepover. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
criticliamSep 3, 2013
The eery feel of this film makes you want to think it's real. James Wan hit it out of the park with this film. There is nothing wrong about this movie you can't ask for more. No Blood, just a paranormal thriller/horror that leave you gasping for air
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheCriticKidSep 20, 2013
Terrifying film. This movie is a sterling example of what a ghost story should be like. Absolutely great movie. If you haven't seen it, I recommend this movie 100%.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
milogoldSep 21, 2013
I saw Insidious on TV after going to see Insidious 2 at the cinema, so actually saw the two films in reverse order, regardless I thoroughly enjoyed the film. I thought that Insidious, compared to some of James Wan's other horrors/thrillersI saw Insidious on TV after going to see Insidious 2 at the cinema, so actually saw the two films in reverse order, regardless I thoroughly enjoyed the film. I thought that Insidious, compared to some of James Wan's other horrors/thrillers was a slightly overly hyped film. The film had some dull scenes and not very creative shots but still introduced an interesting element to ghost films and left me wanting for more. The horror in it focused on being creepy and didn't have to rely on a ton of jump-scares to scare me. Some scenes had me completely baffled and wanting to rewind just to make sure I wasn't seeing things. I would recommend this film to anyone who likes ghost films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingDec 13, 2013
Insidious delivers the thrills and scares for the most part of the movie with good setup, acting and characters, and then crumbles at the final act with a lot of clumsiness and a shaky plot and an atmosphere that is neither tense nor scary.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
lukechristianscMar 6, 2014
insidious is not that scary but gives me the creeps but i did not think it was fun . it is a sort of scary to learn about like the paranormal activity i will watch that soon .
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
PetitBikiniOct 29, 2016
I don't know how he does it, but James Wan can just pull out horror out of anywhere. While the overall quality of the film isn't as good as, let's say, "The Conjuring", "Insidious" is still scary enough to give it a try.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BrandonBMar 5, 2016
Insidious is a fun, creepy and wildly entertaining film that is wonderfully directed and acted. A step above a lot of modern horror films, Insidious is memorable viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrandonBonaseraMar 5, 2016
Insidious is a fun, creepy and wildly entertaining film that is wonderfully directed and acted. A step above a lot of modern horror films, Insidious is memorable viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nascentAug 19, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Insidious is a decent movie, with good suspense and build-up, and an original concept. While the film borrows heavily from other films and resembles films such as Poltergeist (1982) and borrows from films like The Shining, Rosmary's Baby, , it holds it's own in many areas. It does have aspects of the story that seem to be popping up a lot again in recent years, with films like The Babadook, The Orphanage, and Changeling, of Mothers losing their sanity and questioning their own Son. But aside from these fashionable clich├ęs the film is constantly interesting and exciting, with good horror and suspense throughout. The film is shot well and atmosphere is fantastic, the weakest part of the film is the low budget nature and over-simplicity of the second half, resembling a lower budget version of The Cell, just without the stunning visuals and other-worldly feel. The biggest issues with the film is the fast that you already know what the enemies look like, there's absolute no shock factor of "The Further", It's just darkness, and a room with rocking horses and puppets. It's not very scary or interesting. It doesn't feel particularly other-worldly, and the only interesting part of the whole experience is the 'lost souls' that move when you don't look at them, which has been done so many times before I've lost count. They still look creepy and offer a few good jump scares, but the atmosphere is lacking.

The ending works well though, and definitely motivates to watch the sequel, despite generally not liking sequels.

Also the other children clearly only server as a plot device, they are pushed out of the film so quickly, and forgotten about entirely. Of course it makes seen they are given to an aunt to be safe, but the mother never calls them? No interesting scenes such as mom calling the other son, only for the phone call to have interference from one of the demon voices? Lazy writing, but forgiveable.

I feel that with a few tweaks this film could've been incredible, otherwise it's just a solid horror film with cool moments, rather than a masterful horror film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
elmerfud43Jun 26, 2014
This is the scariest movie I have ever seen in my life. It's suspenseful, no blood or gore, which makes it far scarier. I myself have seen a lot of these kind of movies and this is honestly the scariest one I have seen yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleOct 24, 2015
Insidious does a fantastic job creating a terrifying atmosphere and then utilizing that atmosphere to scare the living hell out of the viewer. Certainly one of the scarier films I have seen, Insidious got me really good more than a couple ofInsidious does a fantastic job creating a terrifying atmosphere and then utilizing that atmosphere to scare the living hell out of the viewer. Certainly one of the scarier films I have seen, Insidious got me really good more than a couple of times. Director James Wan really knows his way around a horror movie and it shows here. The cast, led by Patrick Wilson and Rose Byrne, is also really good. However, where Insidious falters is in the very far-fetched final act. Horror movies are obviously typically unbelievable, but good ones ere on the edge of possibility. Insidious goes completely off the reservation and gets lost out there. While it does not undo the terrifying first two acts, the third act could have been significantly better without trying to outsmart itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LXQUICKJUSTICEJan 7, 2015
This was an absolutely brilliant movie and an instant classic. Forget the lame horror flicks being churned out left and right, and journey into the depths of the further. Insidious was extremely creative, and you can tell someone actuallyThis was an absolutely brilliant movie and an instant classic. Forget the lame horror flicks being churned out left and right, and journey into the depths of the further. Insidious was extremely creative, and you can tell someone actually took time to think about the mythology behind it. This movie comes out of nowhere and is shockingly unpredictable. I loved each new plot development because it was just so fresh. The ghost world depicted in this film is way scarier than it sounds and that psychotic violin theme gets me every time. The bride in black ghost just was... Wow... That was actually scary. ^.^ Loved every minute. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Error404Apr 16, 2013
Creepy movie, but not over the top. Good movie if you're just starting to watch horror movies. Some pretty creepy parts, and interesting story mix for a good movie. 8 out of 10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jonathan117Mar 23, 2014
Good horror movie with some cool plot twists and an excellent cliffhanger.
Positives:
- Good Story
- Nuanced
- Great Actors
Negatives:
- Too short
- Not all that scary
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NShep53Jun 6, 2015
Personally my favorite horror movie of all-time. I don't know, It just actually scared me unlike other movies nowadays. James Wan is great and Patrick Wilson is a favorite of mine. And Rose Bryne is great here too. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oDjentoJun 5, 2015
Since insidious 3 is coming out i thought i'd review insidious 1 & 2. This first instalment was visually very pleasing and it did have a very creepy atmosphere and even though a lot of scares were still (annoyingly) jumpscares overall it wasSince insidious 3 is coming out i thought i'd review insidious 1 & 2. This first instalment was visually very pleasing and it did have a very creepy atmosphere and even though a lot of scares were still (annoyingly) jumpscares overall it was a very entertaining watch! Watch this one definitely. Number 2 you could kinda pass if you want. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MarmaladeOvenJan 23, 2014
This movie scared me a lot. They have tensions scares, jump scares, and creep-you-out scares. I am very thankful that the writers made the ending a little more absurd than realistic, otherwise I'd have been traumatized for months.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Daniel2651Feb 10, 2014
If you want a film that won't scare you to help you sleep at night than don't watch this film. But if you want a film that will make you shake with fear and make you never want to turn the light off again then watch this film.
The film is
If you want a film that won't scare you to help you sleep at night than don't watch this film. But if you want a film that will make you shake with fear and make you never want to turn the light off again then watch this film.
The film is about family of 5 who move to a new house which seems to be fine at first but then the wife, Renai (Rose Byrne) starts seeing ghostly figures and hearing eerie voices. And when the youngest son, Dalton (Ty Simpkins) falls into an eternal sleep the family decides to call a woman, Elise (Lin Shaye), who is an expert in dealing with ghosts. But soon after calling this woman the family find out a terrible secret which is that it isn't the house that's haunted it's something much worse.
In this film it was hard to choose my favourite scene because there's lots of parts in it that make you jump. One part that made me almost jump out of my skin is the part were the husband, Josh, (Patrick Wilson) is in a room with four ghosts who seem motionless but then the ghosts disappear and reappear right infront of his face.
The film also ropes you in at the beginning when it shows scary images during the credits and the film also keeps you interested until the end when there is a terrifying twist.
I would recommend this film to anyone who likes a good horror film that makes you jump out of your seat in almost every scene. And I would rate this film 8/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Robinson2511Jul 2, 2015
As a Supernatural horror film, Insidious does it's job very well, while there's not much really going on story-wise when you think about, there's enough thrills and scares to be satisfying. The film is well written and directed, although theAs a Supernatural horror film, Insidious does it's job very well, while there's not much really going on story-wise when you think about, there's enough thrills and scares to be satisfying. The film is well written and directed, although the creepy direction does fade slightly in the second half, but it never becomes boring, there's always the tension of knowing that something could happen any minute, although when it does build up to some big terrifying jump scare, it doesn't always pay off. But anyway the acting is good, the writing is good, the direction is creepy, the scares are, ok, and the film is very satisfying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
chwJul 17, 2014
Insidious was slow and sort of boring, but it was still entertaining with all the horrific scenes that make you either jump out of your seat or scream like your on a roller coaster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeApr 10, 2014
There is a good beginning and good horror scenes.But what kills the movie in my opinion is when Patrick Wilson's character goes in the other world to save his son,it is not realistic at all.But it stays a good horror movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Venomq7May 15, 2014
One of the best modern horror movies. Back in 2011 this movie was a pleasant surprise. After the painful drought for horror movie fans, James Wan comes with great horror flick and ends our suffering. Although the movie kinda fell apart at theOne of the best modern horror movies. Back in 2011 this movie was a pleasant surprise. After the painful drought for horror movie fans, James Wan comes with great horror flick and ends our suffering. Although the movie kinda fell apart at the very ending it was still very enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
McgillacuddyOct 30, 2015
I'm not a fan of horror movies. I'm just not. But I want to rate this film fairly, and I gotta say that this was one of the most frightening things I've ever watched. I first watched this film when I was 13, so it's basically the very firstI'm not a fan of horror movies. I'm just not. But I want to rate this film fairly, and I gotta say that this was one of the most frightening things I've ever watched. I first watched this film when I was 13, so it's basically the very first scary film I've actually sat down and watched. This isn't the goofy horror crap that keeps coming out today, this is horror done right. I know that there are most horror films that try too hard to scare you, but it just doesn't work. Insidious scared me effortlessly by just creating unexpected moments and wild jumpscares that actually worked. If you just like the **** being scared out of you for no reason, watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
Insidious delivers the thrills and scares for the most part of the movie with good setup, acting and characters, and then crumbles at the final act with a lot of clumsiness and a shaky plot and an atmosphere that is neither tense nor scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrevorDevendorfAug 10, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ever since I saw the Saw short film by James Wan, I found a new favourite horror director! Brilliant style of horror cinema, with an amazing chilling ambiance, plus the cinematographers are perfect (David M. Brewer & John R. Leonetti). Huge props go to Leigh Whannell for writing a masterpeice. I love the whole concept behind the astral projection aspect, and the place called The Further intrigued me! I'm 'bout to watch Chapter 2, which Ii'll also review here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
horcrux2007Oct 21, 2014
"Insidious" is an insanely scary and fun haunted house ride. The score, soundtrack, and cinematography really help create a disturbing and creepy atmosphere for the film. There are quite a few jump scares in this movie, but there's also a lot"Insidious" is an insanely scary and fun haunted house ride. The score, soundtrack, and cinematography really help create a disturbing and creepy atmosphere for the film. There are quite a few jump scares in this movie, but there's also a lot of tension, especially in the first and third acts. Some people might not like the third act for its slower pace, but I personally really enjoyed the entire film equally. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GuillermoBMJul 12, 2015
Summary: In spite of its messy final act, Insidious is clever, well-acted and suspenseful. 73/100 [B]

Insidious is a low-budget horror film directed by James Wan. The first act of the movie looks like Paranormal Activity 2 (without the
Summary: In spite of its messy final act, Insidious is clever, well-acted and suspenseful. 73/100 [B]

Insidious is a low-budget horror film directed by James Wan. The first act of the movie looks like Paranormal Activity 2 (without the found-footage), but after the first 25 minutes it becomes more original and some scary stuff start to happen. Wan directs very well, the movie boasts a nicely handled suspense, especially in its first act. In addition, it has terrific sound effects. The acting is superb, Rose Byrne and Patrick Wilson were great in their roles. The two main characters performed by Byrne and Wilson were believable and very well developed. Insidious is a spooky, well-acted flick and probably Wan's first good film.

As I said above, the plot is refreshing and the scares are effective. The characters are well developed and some of them are funny (in a good way), a great example are the two male paranormal experts, both play a hilarious role without being annoying. The film scares you with some creepy noises and unexpected images. Its final act keeps the tension although it's a bit weak in comparison to the last two acts. During its final act there is a scene where this demon is revealed. It was very surprising for me, the demon itself looks very scary and that whole scene was so terrifying.

On the upside, Insidious has some thrilling scenes, good performances and unexpected scares; also, its second half is strangely original. James Wan is a director with experience in the genre and creates here a truly scary atmosphere that is reinforced with strong performances by Rose Byrne, Patrick Wilson and Lin Shaye. I also liked the camera work, this movie has lots of creepy shots and a good illumination too. See this film if you're a fan of the genre or if you're interested on seeing a strange, weird ass horror film. Also if you like jump-scares. Insidious is a jump-scare fest, a very good one.

On the downside, its final act is strange, sometimes confusing and it almost ruined the whole film for me. During its first half, the movie kept the suspense and delivered lots of scares; however, in its final minutes the suspense was totally gone and the movie was not as terrifying as it was before. I liked it anyway, the whole production design is awesome and the special effects are well done in spite of being a low-budget flick. In conclusion, Insidious is a great, scary flick that boasts a creepy demon and originality. My only issue is the final act, it's such a mess. [B]
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MrMovieBuffJun 24, 2015
'Insidious' follows the story of a young boy named Dalton (Ty Simpkins) who falls into some sort of shock/coma. His concerned parents (Rose Byrne and Patrick Wilson) worry that he might be possessed as they first believed that their new house'Insidious' follows the story of a young boy named Dalton (Ty Simpkins) who falls into some sort of shock/coma. His concerned parents (Rose Byrne and Patrick Wilson) worry that he might be possessed as they first believed that their new house that they just moved into was haunted.

Directed by James Wan, 'Insidious' is mostly a film that follows Rose Byrne's character, she is alone in the house a lot. Every time, she seems to see or hear something suspicious and is worried that something might happen to her son.

There is pure evidence that there are demons and evil spirits lurking about everywhere. When they try investigating, it seems that it is true.

There is also a few surprises along the way, as we all know, whenever a movie tries to surprise you, it can lead to two different audience reactions, and they are mostly negative.

'Insidious' relies mostly on suspense and a few jump scares that are not too gimmicky, it should be able to satisfy any horror film fan, but unfortunately does not offer anything new or innovative to the horror film genre. There is no gore or torture, just plain scares and a few horrific images. It'll do for weekend entertainment.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews