User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 315 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 315

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    I have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that because of its uniqueness is much more deserving of a higher score than it received. It may not have the best plot, acting, or consistency but damn was it scary and fun. I was clenching the seat and my kness hurt after from pressing on the floor. One of myI have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that because of its uniqueness is much more deserving of a higher score than it received. It may not have the best plot, acting, or consistency but damn was it scary and fun. I was clenching the seat and my kness hurt after from pressing on the floor. One of my top recent scary movies along with The Others, Drag me to Hell and Cabin Fever. Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Regardless of a few notable flaws, Insidious is all about old-fashioned thrills and chills. Pros: Brilliantly directed and edited; some old-fashioned haunted house elements; very scary and very chilling, yet humorous and even a bit campy; introduces us to one of the scariest images in a horror film to date. Cons: Some flawed writing and plot development; poorly acted; some choppy special effects.
  3. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Holy S**t is not two words I use often, but i found myself repeating them over and over again at this movie. It is not usual that a horror film's trailer makes me evacuate my bowels, but this one certainly did. The movie is jumpy and scary throughout but at some points, the story seemed silly. But this doesn't matter when you are trembling at the scary moment that you know is coming. TheHoly S**t is not two words I use often, but i found myself repeating them over and over again at this movie. It is not usual that a horror film's trailer makes me evacuate my bowels, but this one certainly did. The movie is jumpy and scary throughout but at some points, the story seemed silly. But this doesn't matter when you are trembling at the scary moment that you know is coming. The creators of this movie have out done themselves with this movie. If you think Paranormal Activity was bad, just WAIT until you see this. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    INSIDIOUS is a fun, scary and creepy haunted house flick that doesn't fail to scare and entertain. The atmosphere is great and it's scary moments are...well, scary. It's the scariest film I've seen in a while.
  5. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    A great scare flick that brings us back to the golden age of haunted house horror films with it's own twits.
    Writer Leigh Whannell and director James Wan do a spectacular job at creating a familiar yet original experience for viewers and generate some frightening memorable scares. Overall, Insidious is well written, directed, shot and acted, a great solid horror flick.
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    While not as creepy as The Shining or Pet Semetary It's still creepy, even more than most classic horror movies. I enjoyed the demon and this is the first movie since the 80's to really creep me out.
  7. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    Though this may be business as usual for the horror genre, Insidious definitely does what it sets out to do. And that's to scare the unholy bejeezus out of you. It has been a very long time since I've actually been frightened by a movie, but Insidious pulls it off with pristine precision. Filled with a handful of striking images, Insidious will lurk in the back of your mind for days.Though this may be business as usual for the horror genre, Insidious definitely does what it sets out to do. And that's to scare the unholy bejeezus out of you. It has been a very long time since I've actually been frightened by a movie, but Insidious pulls it off with pristine precision. Filled with a handful of striking images, Insidious will lurk in the back of your mind for days. Despite a lackluster conclusion, this is one horror movie you owe yourself to see. Expand
  8. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    Good to see a genuinly scary movie that didn't had to revert to use gore as a shock tactic. Watching a movie a second time will also allow you to pick up subtle bits and pieces that you may have missed the first time. For instance I saw a boy standing in the corner of the camera shot as one of the protagonists walked past that I didn't see the first time round and it scared the bejesus outGood to see a genuinly scary movie that didn't had to revert to use gore as a shock tactic. Watching a movie a second time will also allow you to pick up subtle bits and pieces that you may have missed the first time. For instance I saw a boy standing in the corner of the camera shot as one of the protagonists walked past that I didn't see the first time round and it scared the bejesus out of me. Like most scary movies the budget doesn't seem to be out of this world and the final few scenes look a tad corny. But overall very scary movi Expand
  9. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Going into Insidious, I didn't know what to expect. I knew it was by the makers of Saw and I'm not a big Saw guy so I was nervous that it might focus on blood to scare instead of suspense. I was wrong. It was a great, suspenseful movie that relied on real scares. Even the final act was good. A must watch for horror fans
  10. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Insidious is an absolutely terrifying movie. All these critics and random people who are saying it sucked didn't see this movie. Perfect scare moments which occur just after the point when you think something's gonna happen are quite prevalent, and the storyline itself is awesome. I saw this movie in an EMPTY movie theater, by myself, and it was the first horror film to truly terrify me inInsidious is an absolutely terrifying movie. All these critics and random people who are saying it sucked didn't see this movie. Perfect scare moments which occur just after the point when you think something's gonna happen are quite prevalent, and the storyline itself is awesome. I saw this movie in an EMPTY movie theater, by myself, and it was the first horror film to truly terrify me in many a year. I've been raised in a household where the favored genre was horror, and so I've slowly become desensitized to most horror movies. But this one seriously freaked me out.

    GO SEE THIS MOVIE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE...and if you want a bit more of a scare...go alone...>:D
    Expand
  11. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    This is a superb horror film. James wan makes fims that have familiar elements from the genre but he gives them a unique flavour with the use of harsh, punchy string music to accompany the shocks and some brilliantly imaginative imagery. the horror in this film is subtle at times and then very intense at others. James Wan is an inspired director that doesn't hold back. You're either gonnaThis is a superb horror film. James wan makes fims that have familiar elements from the genre but he gives them a unique flavour with the use of harsh, punchy string music to accompany the shocks and some brilliantly imaginative imagery. the horror in this film is subtle at times and then very intense at others. James Wan is an inspired director that doesn't hold back. You're either gonna accept his vision and feel the terror, or reject it - at which point it becomes comedic, hence some of the low scores. For me he's a true auteur, up there with Argento. I love old school horror, and this delivers for me. Expand
  12. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Definitely a must watch as Insidious goes "boss hogging" through Horror Street. The storyline itself is redundant, but Insidious does it its job right by frightening us pretty good. The horror genre hasn't been able to evolve, but Insidious came inches to it.
  13. May 30, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite horror movies in recent memory. The second act brought this from set-up to full on scary. The third act took this to a place I have seen in only a couple of other horror films. As soon as you feel like this movie is predictable, they take it to new heights. Great actors through out, and great directing. I am not a huge fan of the Saw franchise. The first SawThis is one of my favorite horror movies in recent memory. The second act brought this from set-up to full on scary. The third act took this to a place I have seen in only a couple of other horror films. As soon as you feel like this movie is predictable, they take it to new heights. Great actors through out, and great directing. I am not a huge fan of the Saw franchise. The first Saw movie was something new and exciting everything after that, not so much. James Wan won me over with this. I can't wait to watch this a few more times. I think it will hold up to repeat viewings. Expand
  14. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    No movie has ever scared me as much as this one did!!! If you like horror movies, this is a must see!! Insidious is the new Poltergeist. Get ready for a scare!!
  15. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    Anyone, and I mean, anyone who did not like this movie is a jerk. Or at least is desensitized. This was the best horror flick I have seen in years. Though I am surprised it came from the makers of **** Paranormal Activity. for my in depth review visit www.beesbadmoviereviews.com. Sorry to spam.
  16. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    Even though the writing and acting are a bit flawed, Insidious is all about old-fashioned thrills and chills that are both scary as hell and exhilarating.
  17. May 1, 2011
    9
    Insidious is a brilliant horror film with some of the freakiest moments seen in recent cinema. The plot is a tad convoluted and occasionally makes the film seem cheap, yet this is par for the course when watching any sort of supernatural horror, such as this. Some of the scares are perfectly executed, specifically those found earlier in the film. The second half of the film does drag aInsidious is a brilliant horror film with some of the freakiest moments seen in recent cinema. The plot is a tad convoluted and occasionally makes the film seem cheap, yet this is par for the course when watching any sort of supernatural horror, such as this. Some of the scares are perfectly executed, specifically those found earlier in the film. The second half of the film does drag a little, yet this is only because the first half is so brilliant. In tone the film is similar to Drag Me To Hell, without quite as many laughs which are replaced with more outright scary moments. It was also highly refreshing to watch a horror film of recent times that does not require an intense level of gore to keep viewers gripped. Insidious is certainly one of the best horror films of the last decade. Expand
  18. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    I love this movie. this is the only movie that ever scared me soo much. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie they scare me soo much sometimes.
  19. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    The movie was great I had chills during most of the movie. It had a great ending to I never expected the what happen. The director did a good job on this movie.
  20. Jul 25, 2011
    10
    I think people are too busy acting all brave and hard when watching a horror movie that they can't possibly enjoy it. This movie was at least a very decent horror flick. The plot and ending were well constructed, and there were plenty of scary/creepy scenes. It had a lasting effect on me to the point that I was a bit uneasy at night, but that's about it. The entities found throughout theI think people are too busy acting all brave and hard when watching a horror movie that they can't possibly enjoy it. This movie was at least a very decent horror flick. The plot and ending were well constructed, and there were plenty of scary/creepy scenes. It had a lasting effect on me to the point that I was a bit uneasy at night, but that's about it. The entities found throughout the movie are a bit creepy, but I'd say that they're not really scary. Over all, this movie was good even though it stumbled throughout the first hour. Expand
  21. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Amazing horror movie ! I can't remember the last time a movie scared the sh*t out of me. The third-person angle of the camera (similar to the game Resident Evil 4 & 5) puts you in a anything-can-happen perspective. This motion picture brings you something new and, mostly, something good in the horror genre. A genre who, I personally think, got over-abused and lost his essence.
  22. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i love this movie because everyone thought probably that it was a Haunted house but it was about Demon things and it was very Good :) And i want a second of this movie because it was so good :) it scared so much :) Expand
  23. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Insidious is a brilliant film. The story is enjoyable to learn, the actors did a great performance for their characters and the scares work in this film. When i heard the saw & paranormal activity producers were working on the film i had mix feelings about the film before i saw it but i was very impressed of what ive seen. There were two or three scenes that made me jump and i usually dontInsidious is a brilliant film. The story is enjoyable to learn, the actors did a great performance for their characters and the scares work in this film. When i heard the saw & paranormal activity producers were working on the film i had mix feelings about the film before i saw it but i was very impressed of what ive seen. There were two or three scenes that made me jump and i usually dont jump in horror films so this did a great job. Plus this is also a very creepy film. I would give this film a full price. Expand
  24. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This movie is a modern masterpiece. The first horror movie that has had this much of an effect on me in a long time. It has all the perfect elements to create a movie that will have you thinking about it when you are in the dark.
  25. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. por favor agan caso omiso de los detractores de esta gran pelicula de terror, en años , el cine americano no a tenido una pelicula de terror/horror que lo represente y adivinen que,.. insidious, la noche del demonio ( su nombre en español) lo es,.. no esta abarrotada con efectos especiales, su historia es envolvente desde un inicio, aunque debo aceptar, que se vuelve al estrepitosa para el final, las interpretaciones cumplen con su cometido, y la bien desarrollada narrativa solo te mantiene comiendote las uñas hasta el final. Pero lo que se lleva los aplausos son la vibra que el hambiente de la pelicula te transmite, una mezcla de los sustos clasicos de los 80 con lo nuevo del siglo 21, simplemente maravilloso, se los juro, el demonino con fuego en la cara es la criatura mas terrorifica que e visto en años, y eso gracias a que no se exedieron con tanto efecto estupido al que hollywood esta tan acostumbrado. El dream team del horro americano hizo un sublime trabajo, del cual me siento muy orgulloso. Esperen a que sean las 3 de la mañana, apaguen las lices, suban todo el volumen de su teatro en casa y disfruten de lo que puede ser el espectaculo de horror mas sabroso e ingenioso desde la primera parte del exorcista. Expand
  26. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    Insidiouse was a great movie. Scarery as hell. Literelly. I was in the movie theater watching it with my dad and he even scremed like a girl. It was hillariouse. I love my dad. What the hell is up with how scarehy they made this movie? After you have seen it once though it is not as f-ing scarey. What the hell is up with that? Ok well I have to go.
  27. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    INSIDIOUS is a fun, creepy, funny and entertaining ghost film that is way better than Paranormal Activity.
  28. Dec 5, 2011
    9
    this film is amazing, it was so scary i papped my self all the way through with scenes that were so smart and not only did it show scary scenes at night but also in daylight which i don't normally see in horror films was scared me even more. you don't know how it's going to end with a man entering some weird place where the devil lives. one of the most scary films i have ever seen. 9/10
  29. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Directed by a gifted director, Wan gives us an instant classic of modern horror! I am great fun of horror movies and i really loved this one! This movie has a great atmosphere and it will keep you on the edge.
  30. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    This is the scariest movie I have ever seen in my life. It's suspenseful, no blood or gore, which makes it far scarier. I myself have seen a lot of these kind of movies and this is honestly the scariest one I have seen yet.
  31. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This movie scared the absolute **** out of me. It was so bad that I had to turn on the lights at some points through out the movie. I had goosebumps so bad that the hair on my arms would stand up and wouldn't go back down until the movie was over. Ghosts freak me out and if they freak you out also I recommend this movie to you.
  32. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    Genuinely frightening film that really scared me. I've become desensitized to horror films, so I was shocked at how scary Insidious really is. Eerie, well acted, directed and written. A winner of a ghost story!
  33. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    It is probably one of the few movies that really go into the depths of ghost haunting and the reasons why it occurs. I actually believed that it might be the first horror movie with a happy ending. Besides, the original story, the sound effects and the apparitions will try to make you jump off the seat more than one time.
  34. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    This was one creepy film! Definitely up there as one of the scariest films I've seen thanks to being so damn jumpy, but the concept is just great as young Dalton falls into a coma when he is captured by evil spirits. There are so many subtle things in this movie that make it perfect, and so many scares along the way that are just so damn freaky! It's a Horror fans favourite type of filmThis was one creepy film! Definitely up there as one of the scariest films I've seen thanks to being so damn jumpy, but the concept is just great as young Dalton falls into a coma when he is captured by evil spirits. There are so many subtle things in this movie that make it perfect, and so many scares along the way that are just so damn freaky! It's a Horror fans favourite type of film and I'd find it hard to find someone that loves Horror that hates this film. Highly recommend this one! Expand
  35. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    I have never seen a movie as creepy, freaky, and unnerving as this one. It is without a doubt one of the best ghost movies in existence. After I first watched it, I couldn't sleep very well for days. Do not under any
    circumstances let any child under the age of 12 see it or he/she will be scarred for life. I know I was.
  36. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    Very scary. I really enjoyed that psychological thriller and do not miss it!! I do not think though that the second chapter will be as good as the first one.
  37. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    A genuinley terrifying movie. Very physcological and a few jumpscares. A very scary movie but although this doesn't give anything away I have spotted a plot hole about 2 thirds in the youngest and one other child aren't seen for the rest of the film. Still though very scary. Perfect for a scary sleepover.
  38. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    The eery feel of this film makes you want to think it's real. James Wan hit it out of the park with this film. There is nothing wrong about this movie you can't ask for more. No Blood, just a paranormal thriller/horror that leave you gasping for air
  39. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Terrifying film. This movie is a sterling example of what a ghost story should be like. Absolutely great movie. If you haven't seen it, I recommend this movie 100%.
  40. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    This movie scared me a lot. They have tensions scares, jump scares, and creep-you-out scares. I am very thankful that the writers made the ending a little more absurd than realistic, otherwise I'd have been traumatized for months.
  41. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ever since I saw the Saw short film by James Wan, I found a new favourite horror director! Brilliant style of horror cinema, with an amazing chilling ambiance, plus the cinematographers are perfect (David M. Brewer & John R. Leonetti). Huge props go to Leigh Whannell for writing a masterpeice. I love the whole concept behind the astral projection aspect, and the place called The Further intrigued me! I'm 'bout to watch Chapter 2, which Ii'll also review here. Expand
  42. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    "Insidious" is an insanely scary and fun haunted house ride. The score, soundtrack, and cinematography really help create a disturbing and creepy atmosphere for the film. There are quite a few jump scares in this movie, but there's also a lot of tension, especially in the first and third acts. Some people might not like the third act for its slower pace, but I personally really enjoyed the"Insidious" is an insanely scary and fun haunted house ride. The score, soundtrack, and cinematography really help create a disturbing and creepy atmosphere for the film. There are quite a few jump scares in this movie, but there's also a lot of tension, especially in the first and third acts. Some people might not like the third act for its slower pace, but I personally really enjoyed the entire film equally. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 3, 2011
    75
    If there's a complaint to be made about Insidious, it's that the film's second half is unable to live up to the impossibly high standards set by the first half.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 1, 2011
    38
    It feels more like a poor man's "Poltergeist, " minus the static-filled TV.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 1, 2011
    40
    Insidious doesn't feature the lazy, home-video-style terror of "Paranormal Activity," thankfully. But it's also pretty normal activity for a ghost story.