Insidious

Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 395 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "Insidious" is about a young family that makes the terrifying discovery that the body of their comatose boy has become a magnet for malevolent entities, while his consciousness lies trapped in the dark and insidious realm known as "The Further." (FilmDistrict)

Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 30, 2011
    91
    A haunted-house movie that has some of the most shivery and indelible images I've seen in any horror film in decades. Yes, it's that unsettling.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    Nicely acted by all and photographed in creepy, cold, under-lit tones.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Mar 30, 2011
    70
    No blood, no gore, no hacked-off arms and legs, but plenty of creepy set pieces, quick cuts and blasts of music that will have you both squirming in your seat and jumping out of it. Until the bone-headed part kicks in.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 31, 2011
    60
    The pleasant surprise when you actually watch Insidious is that it turns out to be a moderately effective suburban-family creep show, majorly in debt to "Poltergeist" and "The Exorcist" and capturing at least a little of their spirit.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    Throughout, Wilson and Byrne play these parts straightforward and there's an undercurrent of real anguish in the struggle of parents coping with a child's long-term care.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    The strongest analogue for the second half of Insidious is one that the filmmakers probably weren't trying for: it feels like a less poetic version of an M. Night Shyamalan fairy tale.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Mar 31, 2011
    0
    The only remotely entertaining aspects of Insidious come from Whannell and Sampson as a comic pair of hypercompetitive hipster ghost hunters, and even that schtick is repeated ad nauseam.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 145
  2. Negative: 14 out of 145
  1. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    I have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that becauseI have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that because of its uniqueness is much more deserving of a higher score than it received. It may not have the best plot, acting, or consistency but damn was it scary and fun. I was clenching the seat and my kness hurt after from pressing on the floor. One of my top recent scary movies along with The Others, Drag me to Hell and Cabin Fever. Collapse
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Directed by a gifted director, Wan gives us an instant classic of modern horror! I am great fun of horror movies and i really loved this one!Directed by a gifted director, Wan gives us an instant classic of modern horror! I am great fun of horror movies and i really loved this one! This movie has a great atmosphere and it will keep you on the edge. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2015
    9
    Insidious is one of the most frightful and intricately crafted horror films I have ever seen. From providing vivid thrills to establishing oneInsidious is one of the most frightful and intricately crafted horror films I have ever seen. From providing vivid thrills to establishing one mesmerizing scene after another, it won't disappoint anyone looking for a genuine scare. Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    7
    I have seen lots of horror movies, and many scary ones. This movie is scary, but not mainly bu the theme as much. More by the random pop ups,I have seen lots of horror movies, and many scary ones. This movie is scary, but not mainly bu the theme as much. More by the random pop ups, that don't seem to fit in at the right time. They seem to appear out of nowhere and at bad points in the film. It doesn't have the best storyline ever, and the plot is a bit weak at parts. The movie seems to go off subject a lot too. However, it is a good movie. But not the best horror out there. Though it will scare you! Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2011
    7
    Overall definitely lacks in parts that it could have been creepy , some of the acting feels low budget. Even with all this disappointing flawsOverall definitely lacks in parts that it could have been creepy , some of the acting feels low budget. Even with all this disappointing flaws , it makes nice triumphs . Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2011
    6
    Ok first things first. This is not a 'serious' horror movie; it's suppose to be tongue-in-cheek and it has a really quirky atmosphere (andOk first things first. This is not a 'serious' horror movie; it's suppose to be tongue-in-cheek and it has a really quirky atmosphere (and sometimes even silly). It starts off as a standard haunted house flick but then devolves into an increasingly ridiculous B-movie romp with demons chasing people, and ghosts appearing all over the show. It definitely struggles with consistency, and by the end you will be like seriously WTF!? BUT its quirkiness definitely plays into its strengths and it does manage to keep you watching till the end (just about). If you have a light heart and dont go into this thinking you're going to be scared out of your minds, then its worth the watch. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2015
    0
    Terrible movie. The first 30 minutes was great. Once they moved out of the house, the rest was awful. Too many blatant ripoffs of Poltergeist;Terrible movie. The first 30 minutes was great. Once they moved out of the house, the rest was awful. Too many blatant ripoffs of Poltergeist; if you're going to borrow ideas from a great movie, don't do a horribly crap job of it, otherwise you just make an inferior version of that movie. Not scary at all in the last hour of the movie, just boring and ridiculous. Expand

See all 145 User Reviews

Trailers