Insidious

Insidious Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 439 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "Insidious" is about a young family that makes the terrifying discovery that the body of their comatose boy has become a magnet for malevolent entities, while his consciousness lies trapped in the dark and insidious realm known as "The Further." (FilmDistrict)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 30, 2011
    91
    A haunted-house movie that has some of the most shivery and indelible images I've seen in any horror film in decades. Yes, it's that unsettling.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    Nicely acted by all and photographed in creepy, cold, under-lit tones.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Mar 30, 2011
    70
    No blood, no gore, no hacked-off arms and legs, but plenty of creepy set pieces, quick cuts and blasts of music that will have you both squirming in your seat and jumping out of it. Until the bone-headed part kicks in.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 31, 2011
    60
    The pleasant surprise when you actually watch Insidious is that it turns out to be a moderately effective suburban-family creep show, majorly in debt to "Poltergeist" and "The Exorcist" and capturing at least a little of their spirit.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    Throughout, Wilson and Byrne play these parts straightforward and there's an undercurrent of real anguish in the struggle of parents coping with a child's long-term care.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    The strongest analogue for the second half of Insidious is one that the filmmakers probably weren't trying for: it feels like a less poetic version of an M. Night Shyamalan fairy tale.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Mar 31, 2011
    0
    The only remotely entertaining aspects of Insidious come from Whannell and Sampson as a comic pair of hypercompetitive hipster ghost hunters, and even that schtick is repeated ad nauseam.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 156
  1. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    I have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that becauseI have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that because of its uniqueness is much more deserving of a higher score than it received. It may not have the best plot, acting, or consistency but damn was it scary and fun. I was clenching the seat and my kness hurt after from pressing on the floor. One of my top recent scary movies along with The Others, Drag me to Hell and Cabin Fever. Collapse
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Directed by a gifted director, Wan gives us an instant classic of modern horror! I am great fun of horror movies and i really loved this one!Directed by a gifted director, Wan gives us an instant classic of modern horror! I am great fun of horror movies and i really loved this one! This movie has a great atmosphere and it will keep you on the edge. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2015
    9
    Insidious is one of the most frightful and intricately crafted horror films I have ever seen. From providing vivid thrills to establishing oneInsidious is one of the most frightful and intricately crafted horror films I have ever seen. From providing vivid thrills to establishing one mesmerizing scene after another, it won't disappoint anyone looking for a genuine scare. Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    The ghosts in "Insidious" are not the "Paranormal Activity" kind where you rarely ever see them. These ghosts definitely make their presencesThe ghosts in "Insidious" are not the "Paranormal Activity" kind where you rarely ever see them. These ghosts definitely make their presences known by running through hallways and wearing really creepy costumes. They're like a combination between the ghosts in "Carnival of Souls" and "The Shining." Because of this, "Insidious" might not be for everyone. But if you dig old-school horror films, you're in for a treat. James Wan takes his haunted house style of horror and runs with it. His film never lets up on movie atmospherics, and at times, it is truly terrifying. But with that said, the movie does get a little too hokey at times, and the characters aren't all that compelling aside from Lin Shaye as the psychic. But if you want to see a horror film that offers something different, check out "Insidious". Whether you laugh the whole time or you're scare straight from it; "Insidious" delivers the goods. Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2011
    7
    Not being a horror fan, I wasn't expecting much from this film. Really, I was expecting Paranormal Activity. I was pleasantly surprised. ThisNot being a horror fan, I wasn't expecting much from this film. Really, I was expecting Paranormal Activity. I was pleasantly surprised. This doesn't break molds in the horror genre and uses a lot of cliches and music cues that are more annoying than scary, but it still was creepy, which a movie hasn't done to me since I was a kid. There was a pair of characters that add comic relief to the film, relieving any possible tension, that come in halfway through, and though I enjoyed them, in my opinion, they don't fit, but I've heard others say they were glad they were there. As usual with James Wan, there is a nod to Billy the puppet (from Saw, James Wan's first major horror film) in the background of one of the scenes. Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2011
    6
    Insidious is a modern day portal of the Haunted House Movie. It's nothing we haven't seen before. Sprits linger around and everyone freaks outInsidious is a modern day portal of the Haunted House Movie. It's nothing we haven't seen before. Sprits linger around and everyone freaks out trying to save a young kid. It's really that simple. There are a few complex twists and turns but it's no wonder that the producer of Paranormal Activity would produce another film just like it. (Arn't the sequels enough to punish us with?) I will give credit where credit is due, but only where credit is due. Insidious did something that must horror films of today cannot, it made me jump. That's all it did though. For the first time sense The House of the Devil back in 2009 I felt scared watching a film. It surprised me at first and I was taken into the story line. However, the last forty minutes of this film were so random, out there and completely ridiculous that I could no longer enjoy the film. I sat through the last twenty minutes begging for it to just be over. James Wan the director of Saw has swam in the glory of the franchise ever since it launched his career in 2004, but after his last failed attempt with Dead Silence back in 2007 did any of us really expect anything more from James Wan with Insidious. Sure he successfully got Oren Peli to produce the film but after the success of Paranormal Activity this guy has been throwing himself at everything horror. The simple conclusion is that the names advertised with this film are a bunch of one hit wonders. The film was as cheesy as they come with a dumb down completely ridiculous story line. I could hardly even bare watching the last twenty minutes. However, for the first time in almost two years I was scared. It made me jump and if that's the only reason that you watch horror movies then this film is for you. That's all it's going to do though, it will just make you jump. Insidious is a film for the hardcore horror fans the love films like poltergeist. Everyone else this film is TRASH Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2016
    0
    This is the worse movie i have ever saw, the story makes no sense and that thing of going to another world is just the most RANDOM thing ever.This is the worse movie i have ever saw, the story makes no sense and that thing of going to another world is just the most RANDOM thing ever. I dont advise anyone to watch this movie. pls dont do the 4!!!! #respeito #CR7bestintheworld Expand

See all 156 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (3/20): This Week's New Movies & Trailers

    Film Friday (3/20): This Week's New Movies & Trailers Image
    Published: March 20, 2015
    Find a guide to this weekend's new theatrical releases and watch all of the week's new movie trailers, including new looks at Pixels, The Transporter Refueled, Insidious Chapter 3, Ex Machina, and much more.
  2. Film Friday (10/24): This Week's New Movies & Trailers

    Film Friday (10/24): This Week's New Movies & Trailers Image
    Published: October 24, 2014
    Find a guide to this weekend's new theatrical releases, browse the latest movie news, and watch all of the week's new trailers, including new looks at Avengers: Age of Ultron, Into the Woods, The Gambler, Insidious: Chapter 3, The Look of Silence, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.