Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 375 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "Insidious" is about a young family that makes the terrifying discovery that the body of their comatose boy has become a magnet for malevolent entities, while his consciousness lies trapped in the dark and insidious realm known as "The Further." (FilmDistrict)

Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 30, 2011
    91
    A haunted-house movie that has some of the most shivery and indelible images I've seen in any horror film in decades. Yes, it's that unsettling.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    Nicely acted by all and photographed in creepy, cold, under-lit tones.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Mar 30, 2011
    70
    No blood, no gore, no hacked-off arms and legs, but plenty of creepy set pieces, quick cuts and blasts of music that will have you both squirming in your seat and jumping out of it. Until the bone-headed part kicks in.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 31, 2011
    60
    The pleasant surprise when you actually watch Insidious is that it turns out to be a moderately effective suburban-family creep show, majorly in debt to "Poltergeist" and "The Exorcist" and capturing at least a little of their spirit.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    Throughout, Wilson and Byrne play these parts straightforward and there's an undercurrent of real anguish in the struggle of parents coping with a child's long-term care.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    The strongest analogue for the second half of Insidious is one that the filmmakers probably weren't trying for: it feels like a less poetic version of an M. Night Shyamalan fairy tale.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Mar 31, 2011
    0
    The only remotely entertaining aspects of Insidious come from Whannell and Sampson as a comic pair of hypercompetitive hipster ghost hunters, and even that schtick is repeated ad nauseam.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 143
  2. Negative: 14 out of 143
  1. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    I have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that becauseI have not seen a movie that has scared me soo bad in a long time. Horror movies are my favorite types of movie. This one is one that because of its uniqueness is much more deserving of a higher score than it received. It may not have the best plot, acting, or consistency but damn was it scary and fun. I was clenching the seat and my kness hurt after from pressing on the floor. One of my top recent scary movies along with The Others, Drag me to Hell and Cabin Fever. Collapse
  2. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    No movie has ever scared me as much as this one did!!! If you like horror movies, this is a must see!! Insidious is the new Poltergeist. GetNo movie has ever scared me as much as this one did!!! If you like horror movies, this is a must see!! Insidious is the new Poltergeist. Get ready for a scare!! Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    Genuinely frightening film that really scared me. I've become desensitized to horror films, so I was shocked at how scary Insidious reallyGenuinely frightening film that really scared me. I've become desensitized to horror films, so I was shocked at how scary Insidious really is. Eerie, well acted, directed and written. A winner of a ghost story! Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    The movie itself is okay, but I give it credit for managing to get me scared, however seeing the main villain leaves me to believe to lack ofThe movie itself is okay, but I give it credit for managing to get me scared, however seeing the main villain leaves me to believe to lack of creativity it has; Mixing Darth Maul and Freddy Kruger seems oddly not scary to me. Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2011
    7
    Not being a horror fan, I wasn't expecting much from this film. Really, I was expecting Paranormal Activity. I was pleasantly surprised. ThisNot being a horror fan, I wasn't expecting much from this film. Really, I was expecting Paranormal Activity. I was pleasantly surprised. This doesn't break molds in the horror genre and uses a lot of cliches and music cues that are more annoying than scary, but it still was creepy, which a movie hasn't done to me since I was a kid. There was a pair of characters that add comic relief to the film, relieving any possible tension, that come in halfway through, and though I enjoyed them, in my opinion, they don't fit, but I've heard others say they were glad they were there. As usual with James Wan, there is a nod to Billy the puppet (from Saw, James Wan's first major horror film) in the background of one of the scenes. Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2015
    0
    Terrible movie. The first 30 minutes was great. Once they moved out of the house, the rest was awful. Too many blatant ripoffs of Poltergeist;Terrible movie. The first 30 minutes was great. Once they moved out of the house, the rest was awful. Too many blatant ripoffs of Poltergeist; if you're going to borrow ideas from a great movie, don't do a horribly crap job of it, otherwise you just make an inferior version of that movie. Not scary at all in the last hour of the movie, just boring and ridiculous. Expand

See all 143 User Reviews

Trailers