Insomnia

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 426 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 426

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. SteveM.
    Jul 6, 2002
    10
    The acting was outstanding, especially by Swank and Pacino. Cristopher Nolan did an incredible job of presenting the moral dilemmas real cops are faced with everyday. If your looking for a fascinating human drama with a solid script, you cannot go wrong with this movie.
  2. PeterN.
    Sep 17, 2003
    10
    The cast is only upstaged by the spectacular scenery of Alaska. The closing minutes of the film leave you breathless with not one carcrash in sight.
  3. AragornE.
    May 24, 2002
    10
    Better than the Norwegian original! Once again Nolan packs a punch. Though it doesn't have any of the crazy backwards filming of Following or Memento, Nolan's unique way of making the viewer fatigued by following the protagonist is astonishing. Highly Recommended.
  4. MichaelF.
    May 25, 2002
    10
    The best film of the year, so far. It's very different from the brilliant original film. Williams, Pacino, and Swank are all amazing. Nolan's directing is amazing and it's more stylish than MEMENTO. It's VERY tense.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Aug 7, 2002
    10
    This film did anything but put me to sleep. The story was incredible but the thing that was most stunning was the acting. One performance in particular was really quite amazing. In all of these reviews people dont appreciate the brilliance of Williams. At first i was skeptical that about his ability to play a bad guy, becuase he so rarely plays anything but a comic. About halfway through This film did anything but put me to sleep. The story was incredible but the thing that was most stunning was the acting. One performance in particular was really quite amazing. In all of these reviews people dont appreciate the brilliance of Williams. At first i was skeptical that about his ability to play a bad guy, becuase he so rarely plays anything but a comic. About halfway through the movie my view of Williams' whole career changed. He had proven that he can play a phsycho masterfully. Also the cinematography of this film is stunning. Expand
  6. A.Stevens
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    An excellent director combined with amazing actors(williams and pacino in particular) and a compelling script combine to make a highly successful and thrilling film.
  7. ArnoldC.
    Sep 5, 2002
    9
    An extremely well constructed film. The feeling of a sleep deprivition is so well captured that you will understand the film instantly. Pacino gives his best performance in years and dominates every scene. No big explosions, no special fx or hype gone made just a very solid and well crafted movie.
  8. BeauF.
    May 25, 2002
    9
    Chris Nolan uncorked another gem with "Insomnia." The setting is perfect. It had that "Twin Peaks" pilot sort of feel, but the main crisis point of the movie is pretty damned original, and it plays out well. Definitely a satisfying flick.
  9. SusanS.
    Jul 21, 2002
    9
    Tense, rivoting character study that will leave you exhausted, but definitely not from boredom. The cinematography was amazing--beautiful land--but the constant daylight leaves you begging that night will fall so the poor detective can go to sleep--it achieves the effect it's going for. Very strong performances; always nice to see Robin Williams crossing sides, and Al Pacino carried Tense, rivoting character study that will leave you exhausted, but definitely not from boredom. The cinematography was amazing--beautiful land--but the constant daylight leaves you begging that night will fall so the poor detective can go to sleep--it achieves the effect it's going for. Very strong performances; always nice to see Robin Williams crossing sides, and Al Pacino carried the movie with his usual strength. I enjoyed the convuluted script that never really focuses on the mystery of solving the murder, but rather on the dissolution of Pacino's character. Go see this movie. But not during the day. Expand
  10. Rosemary
    Nov 4, 2002
    9
    The writing, directing and acting were excellent. This is what I go to the movies for. I can't believe people would give this a "1."
  11. MickeyM.
    Sep 26, 2002
    9
    It's a true thriller. A stunning script, one that holds on to you even after you leave the movie theater. Al Pacino's acting is truley like wine as it gets better over the years. His acting in this film should really be taught in drama schools. Only Robin Williams fails (at least in my mind) to make the switch from comedy to real thrillers. One of the best movies this year.
  12. JeanPaulM.
    May 25, 2002
    9
    For what it is, its very good. Pacino is the best he's been in a while.
  13. YoonMinC.
    Sep 26, 2003
    9
    A rare instance where the remake outshines the original (consider the shameful hollywood remake of the Vanishing), this film is a mental and physical journey away from the clarity of both morality and corruption into that twilight territory where things finally, if briefly--and at the ultimate cost--come into focus. Swank and Williams are both brilliant but it's Pacino who's A rare instance where the remake outshines the original (consider the shameful hollywood remake of the Vanishing), this film is a mental and physical journey away from the clarity of both morality and corruption into that twilight territory where things finally, if briefly--and at the ultimate cost--come into focus. Swank and Williams are both brilliant but it's Pacino who's truly remarkable with a new twist on his worldweary persona he perfected since Scent of a Woman. It's not just about a character but also about an actor coming to terms with his limitations. Expand
  14. gregors.
    Oct 31, 2005
    9
    A very well made movie: the progression of the plot, the rythm, the images, the music. A super note to Al Pacino's high acting. With Donnie Brasco and the Heat 'face_à_face' scene with De Niro, it's, imo, of his reallly best work here. Full of nuances, small things in the way he reacts to some lines, his intonation, ....Very impressive artist. Robin Williams A very well made movie: the progression of the plot, the rythm, the images, the music. A super note to Al Pacino's high acting. With Donnie Brasco and the Heat 'face_à_face' scene with De Niro, it's, imo, of his reallly best work here. Full of nuances, small things in the way he reacts to some lines, his intonation, ....Very impressive artist. Robin Williams offers a very convincing 'counterpart', and the dialogues between Pacino & him work totally. David Julyan's score is of great quality, following the tone of Memento. Insomnia and Memento have many links, besides (flashes, camera moves, music, the ambiguity of the 'hero', etc...) A real good work, anyway; Thank you Christopher Nolan. Expand
  15. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An exceptional film, but not "better than" the original Norwegian version. The original is creepier and more morally compromised than the American version. Pacino's Dormer is ultimately redeemed, whilst Skargard's Engstom is not. Expand
  16. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    Christopher Nolan knocks one out of the park again. Insomnia is everything you want in a crime thriller. He manages to cultivate and maintain an atmosphere of general dread, malice and suspense. Al Pacino is as great as we expect him to be and Robin Williams is something a bit more unexpected but completely welcomed. Filled with outstanding performances, beautiful cinematography, andChristopher Nolan knocks one out of the park again. Insomnia is everything you want in a crime thriller. He manages to cultivate and maintain an atmosphere of general dread, malice and suspense. Al Pacino is as great as we expect him to be and Robin Williams is something a bit more unexpected but completely welcomed. Filled with outstanding performances, beautiful cinematography, and terrific editing. Not to mention incredibly well written and directed, all thanks to Christopher Nolan. (With no small thanks going to the original short story written by Jonathan Nolan.) Expand
  17. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The humble beginnings of Christopher Nolan became quite popular after he took over the Batman reigns, 'Insomnia' offers a thoughtful and intriguing concept in a typical story of homicide. Al Pacino plays the gruff and seasoned detective sent to the mountainous regions of Alaska to investigate the murder of a young teen girl, but we immediately begin to understand the life of Pacinos character, Will Dormer. He knows the ins and outs of how to study a crime scene, looking for the little details, but he also seems exhausted, soaking up life through routine as a man who has seen it all, tired, possibly bored but still able to show up the young blood at any given turn. His younger partner Eckhart (Martin Donovan) respects the decisions of his superior, but he also has the opportunity to give evidence against his older counterpart to Internal Affairs, but their motive in the film is to help out with the murder, where Dormor finds a fan on young and motivated cop Ellie Burr (Hilary Swank), hangs onto every word of the ageing detective. But we he an unexpected and thrilling introduction to the person responsible for the crime, ***SPOILERS*** Dormor and his men stakeout a clue and tragedy strikes when Dormor shoots and kills his partner, this was an accident, right? Dormor is overcome with guilt to the point where he cannot admit his mistake, but one person knows what he did, that person is the man responsible for the young girls death. Robin Williams plays the calm and sophisticated writer, who tells Dormor that it was all an accident, we now have a cat and mouse game, the scenes Pacino and Williams share are excellent, two fine actors, Williams in particular, who proves his talent yet again for dramatic roles, but this style of storytelling is truly fascinating because of its revelations halfway through the film, which are brought down by simplistic and routine Hollywood chase sequences and silly throw-ins to give that blockbuster touch, which are unnecessary, especially when the thrill of the chase, all through dialogue and performances, is already so interesting. Pacino is excellent as the now sleep-deprived cop, who can't even rest away from the world, while Williams plays a cunning adversary who has it all worked out, as he keeps telling us, but its rough justice which wins out, Nolan sets it in remote parts to capture the essence of being alone with your thoughts, while still not escaping the ramifications of something that makes you run away. Expand
  18. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    It's brilliantly cast and stunningly effective.
  19. Feb 4, 2013
    9
    While this is definitely not the best Christopher Nolan film, this was still an amazing film. The cast was amazing and the story was amazing. Finally, we see Robin Williams doing something other than bad comedy.
  20. Apr 23, 2015
    9
    Brilliant acting, super interesting story, drama, mystery and action... what more could you wish for? Al Pacino and Christopher Nolan deliver one of the best criminal movies i've ever seen!
  21. May 16, 2016
    9
    Definitely not Nolan's best but probably my favourite (at least tied with 'Batman Begins') because I love the Norwegian original so much AND the subtle changes Nolan made with it, as well as what the three stars (Al Pacino, Robin Williams--in his first villainous role, I believe, and Hilary Swank--in probably my favourite performance of hers, next to the downright decadence and naughtinessDefinitely not Nolan's best but probably my favourite (at least tied with 'Batman Begins') because I love the Norwegian original so much AND the subtle changes Nolan made with it, as well as what the three stars (Al Pacino, Robin Williams--in his first villainous role, I believe, and Hilary Swank--in probably my favourite performance of hers, next to the downright decadence and naughtiness she displayed in 'The Black Dahlia') bring to the table here. I greatly enjoyed the five short extras on my DVD (a double-sided disc I bought years ago that has 'The Devil's Advocate' on the other side, yet unwatched): a conversation/interview of Nolan with Pacino; 'Day for Night: The Making of...'; 'In the Fog' (which interviewed cinematographer Wally Pfister); Nathan Crowley: production designer; and 'Eyes Wide Open' (which interviewed sleep disturbance experts), which thankfully I viewed before I watched the movie, to enhance my experience.

    Greatly recommended to fans of contemporary crime thrillers, regardless of whether you watched the Norwegian original or not. There are enough differences to still make it worth your while as a cinephile.
    Expand
  22. Jul 21, 2014
    9
    Al Pacino gives one of his best performances, and Robin Williams also gives one of his most innovative performances as well, Hilary Swank also gives a stellar performances but the key of this movie is Nolan's direction and writing
  23. Nov 2, 2015
    9
    Intense, riveting, spectacular, these are the words to describe Insomnia. Al Pacino, Robin Williams, and Hilary Swank all give great performances to make this movie exciting to watch.
  24. ChadS.
    May 24, 2002
    8
    "Insomnia" is a good major studio movie, which is the highest praise you can give to a Hollywood pic, since blue moons seem to be more common than Tinseltown classics these days. Like Catherine Denueve as a factory worker in "Dancer in the Dark", Hillary Swank looks very conspicuous as a cop in a small Alaskian town. She's still good, but miscast. Pacino is in fine form here, leaving "Insomnia" is a good major studio movie, which is the highest praise you can give to a Hollywood pic, since blue moons seem to be more common than Tinseltown classics these days. Like Catherine Denueve as a factory worker in "Dancer in the Dark", Hillary Swank looks very conspicuous as a cop in a small Alaskian town. She's still good, but miscast. Pacino is in fine form here, leaving the shouting to the cast of "The Practice", but it's Robin Williams, whom the movie belongs to. The audience will have no idea what's going on in his head. And finally, give credit to Christopher Nolan for not leaving his indie roots far behind. This is a real movie. Expand
  25. ShmooPatties
    May 28, 2002
    8
    Wow, a major Hollywood flick with A-list actors that doesn't require checking your brain at the door. Suspenseful and tense and very entertaining. Williams is perfectly cast as the weasly pervert, but Swank is far to gussied up to take seriously as a cop (or as smart, for that matter...come on, models ain't great analytic thinkers.) No reviews I've read mention the Wow, a major Hollywood flick with A-list actors that doesn't require checking your brain at the door. Suspenseful and tense and very entertaining. Williams is perfectly cast as the weasly pervert, but Swank is far to gussied up to take seriously as a cop (or as smart, for that matter...come on, models ain't great analytic thinkers.) No reviews I've read mention the symbolism of Pacino leaving his badge behind. Many reviews I've read mention how 'ironic' it is that someone with insomnia is named 'Dormer'. WHY? What am I missing? Is dormer Spanish for 'sleep' or something? It sure isn't English for anything to do with sleeping. Dorm room, dormitory perhaps? If that's what they're alluding to then that's simply the drastic grasping-at-straws of a reviewer's mind (or cribbing from other's reviews)...not irony or symbolism. Expand
  26. RayH.
    Jun 13, 2004
    8
    Director Nolan, using a different style than his prior two gems, shows us the impressive range of his talents. He takes past oscar winners Pacino and Williams and draws from them very fine performances in his first studio film. An engaging story, which is slow in spots, is driven by yet another memorable "flawed hero " performance by Pacino. Williams is more than game and Hilary Swank Director Nolan, using a different style than his prior two gems, shows us the impressive range of his talents. He takes past oscar winners Pacino and Williams and draws from them very fine performances in his first studio film. An engaging story, which is slow in spots, is driven by yet another memorable "flawed hero " performance by Pacino. Williams is more than game and Hilary Swank isn't really needed but is pleasant eye candy with skills. Breathtaking cinematography completes another stellar film by Nolan. Expand
  27. KumariH.
    Jun 19, 2002
    8
    I don't think Al Pacino is all that wonderful, and I personally have never been able to STAND Robin Williams. I went because I wanted to see what Hillary Swank would do (she was wonderful (AND ADORABLE)) and also I have loved Christopher Nolan since day one. But the guys really pulled it out in this one. Al was well - AL. Robin Williams surprised me because his character was really I don't think Al Pacino is all that wonderful, and I personally have never been able to STAND Robin Williams. I went because I wanted to see what Hillary Swank would do (she was wonderful (AND ADORABLE)) and also I have loved Christopher Nolan since day one. But the guys really pulled it out in this one. Al was well - AL. Robin Williams surprised me because his character was really quite intriguing. But THE BEST thing of all was the story. Christopher Nolan is a great film- maker. The tone of the story definitely had an overcast quality, but more importantly the audience isn't insulted by the idea that there is only one CLEARLY bad guy, and one CLEAR good guy. We all know that is not the way it works out in life, so why do we have to be subjected to that in the theaters? Chris did not stoop there where so many others have. Kudos to you! Expand
  28. AndriusB.
    Jun 22, 2002
    8
    Great to see a small scale production do so much with superb talent instead of the annual summer-formula mega-behemoths. As a bonus, the anxiety of insomnia shows through the editing and cinematography without any digital-dependency at all.
  29. raVen
    Jul 19, 2003
    8
    My friend and I saw this after driving home all day from a Dave Matthews Band concert, so maybe we were already sleepwalking. But this really was a good movie, and it makes you feel everything Pacino does...even exhaustion.
  30. Feb 22, 2013
    8
    Insomnia was the second major motion picture by acclaimed writer/director, Christopher Nolan. Even in the most early stages of his career, it's easy to see his genius, that's why so many big stars wanted to work with him right away. Insomnia is the least well known of all his films and does lack some of the things that have become Nolan's trademark, but it's still a terrific film. TheInsomnia was the second major motion picture by acclaimed writer/director, Christopher Nolan. Even in the most early stages of his career, it's easy to see his genius, that's why so many big stars wanted to work with him right away. Insomnia is the least well known of all his films and does lack some of the things that have become Nolan's trademark, but it's still a terrific film. The story follows two L.A. Detectives sent to a remote part of Alaska, where the sun doesn't set for six months and then doesn't rise for six months. They're there to solve a brutal and calculated murder, but circumstances lead them down a different path. Despite being one of the best Hollywood has to offer, I haven't really been much of a Pacino fan. To me, it seemed as though he had lost something with age, his performance in Insomnia proved me wrong. Terrific is not the word for what Al Pacino was and he's not the only genius Nolan surrounded himself with. This film is incredibly well written and being the perfectionist that he is, Nolan got only the best people to star in it. It's not the kind of Nolan film, we've been spoiled with over the past 10 years, but Insomnia is a great story, with an unbelievable cast and in my opinion is a must see. Expand
  31. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    Directed by Nolan and starring Al Pacino, Insomnia is nothing short of a thrilling masterpiece. This is a great film for lovers of psychological thrillers.
  32. Oct 30, 2015
    8
    Insomnia is largely by-the-numbers when it comes to detective films, but that does not stop it from having truly great things that sets it above other thrillers of this ilk. First off, Al Pacino and Robin Williams are phenomenal. I love comedians doing roles that are completely against their type and boy oh boy did Williams do that here. He was phenomenal, creepy and unsettling all wrappedInsomnia is largely by-the-numbers when it comes to detective films, but that does not stop it from having truly great things that sets it above other thrillers of this ilk. First off, Al Pacino and Robin Williams are phenomenal. I love comedians doing roles that are completely against their type and boy oh boy did Williams do that here. He was phenomenal, creepy and unsettling all wrapped into one and he nails the role. Director Christopher Nolan shows incredible talent here as he manages to creepy a truly unsettling atmosphere that never scares you to be sure, but certainly keeps you on edge. The script is very good and the characters are very well done, to the point that you are never truly sure who is good and who is truly bad. Overall, Insomnia is a good, but not great thriller that is not Nolan's best work, but that certainly does not mean it is ever bad. Expand
  33. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    Good director, great actors, a story with some twists and a lot of moral dilemmas. The movie keeps in tension. Overall, a decent detective/thriller/drama movie.
  34. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Probably my least favorite Christopher Nolan movie, which says a lot for Nolan. Al Pacino and Hillary Swank give good performances, but the stand out is Robin Williams.
  35. Jul 1, 2014
    8
    Insomnia might be the most flawless movie from our beloved director Christoffer Nolan.

    Insomnia is an exiting and well made movie, which also has a gorgeous story and an awesome ending. It's also a highly unique movie, and combined with great actors couldn't the film been done better. The story in Insomnia is marvelous, because it's so mysterious. Insomnia is much better than it's
    Insomnia might be the most flawless movie from our beloved director Christoffer Nolan.

    Insomnia is an exiting and well made movie, which also has a gorgeous story and an awesome ending. It's also a highly unique movie, and combined with great actors couldn't the film been done better. The story in Insomnia is marvelous, because it's so mysterious.

    Insomnia is much better than it's predecessor Memento, and you can really feel that Nolan is on track to make the perfect movie.

    Insomnia gets a 8/10
    Expand
  36. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    A gimmick is only a gimmick if it's in service of nothing but its own gimmickry. The big twist in Christopher Nolan's astonishing Memento–a thriller that unfolds in reverse chronological order–is that the gimmick suddenly melts away, revealing a deeply considered and profound statement about the slippery nature of memory and the human capacity for self-deception. So it only follows thatA gimmick is only a gimmick if it's in service of nothing but its own gimmickry. The big twist in Christopher Nolan's astonishing Memento–a thriller that unfolds in reverse chronological order–is that the gimmick suddenly melts away, revealing a deeply considered and profound statement about the slippery nature of memory and the human capacity for self-deception. So it only follows that Nolan's next project, a compelling big-budget remake of the superb Norwegian "sunlit noir" Insomnia, would segue smoothly (and in reverse anatomical order, no less) from memory to perception, relishing the sometimes fuzzy connection between the eyes and the mind. Those who aren't familiar with Erik Skjoldbjærg's original will likely be immune to the remake's biggest flaw, which is the disappointing suspicion that Nolan, for all his talent and craft, never came up with a reason for the remake, other than to translate a great film into English and introduce it to a wider audience. But while his additions and subtractions are negligible, the premise still carries an ingenious metaphorical hook, centering on a man whose guilty conscience can never escape the light of day. In a role originally played by the much younger Stellan Skarsgård, Al Pacino looks haggard; his world-weary demeanor speaks volumes about his character, a veteran L.A. detective assigned to investigate the murder of a high-school student in small-town Alaska. As an internal-affairs unit prepares to mount a corruption case against him back home, Pacino and partner Martin Donovan track a methodical killer during summer in the Arctic Circle, under perpetual sunlight. A ruse to snare the suspect pays off, but a shootout on a foggy beach ends with Pacino accidentally shooting Donovan and then hastily covering it up, worried that his partner's cooperation in the internal-affairs case will make him the obvious culprit. While a local officer (Hilary Swank) collects evidence for a report on the incident, the sole witness (Robin Williams, in his best performance in about 18 years) blackmails Pacino to save his own hide. As Pacino endures day after day without a wink of sleep, Insomnia skillfully turns the screws, delving further into his troubled mind as it's haunted by past and present sins, as well as deceptive visions that seem to bleed out of his conscience. Nolan's solid, workmanlike direction doesn't strike any memorable grace notes, but he draws out the key ambiguities in the story with great precision, to the point where even Pacino himself isn't certain whether the shooting was an accident. Long on atmospherics and short on plot, the original Insomnia drifts so far away from the initial murder investigation that it nearly becomes incidental to the real story, about a crooked man deprived of the darkness he needs to conceal his secrets. Nolan reverses the emphasis–;no surprise from the director of a plot-driven film like Memento–but achieves the same end, bringing Hollywood noir under the harsh glare of permanent daylight. Expand
  37. SharonS.
    May 31, 2002
    7
    I found it a bit more talky than expected, and parts of the movie were less than realistic.
  38. MarcK.
    Jun 7, 2002
    7
    A pleasant surprise. Nolan gets very good performances from Pacino, Williams, and Swank, an impressive feat in and of itself. Beautiful shots of Alaska. And for the person who wanted to know what "Dormer" means, I know that it is similar for the French verb "to sleep".
  39. Richard
    Oct 29, 2002
    7
    Actually better in retrospect than when it's happening, with a good ending. Surprisingly old-fashioned, something Humphrey Bogart and Claude Rains might have done. Both Pacino and Williams are dependably good, but Swank is the standout, imbuing a stock role with much more heart and soul than expected. Both Maura Tierney and Martin Donovan register strongly in supporting roles. One Actually better in retrospect than when it's happening, with a good ending. Surprisingly old-fashioned, something Humphrey Bogart and Claude Rains might have done. Both Pacino and Williams are dependably good, but Swank is the standout, imbuing a stock role with much more heart and soul than expected. Both Maura Tierney and Martin Donovan register strongly in supporting roles. One too many gimmicky quick-edit flashbacks for my taste, but otherwise a solid offering. Expand
  40. Jul 8, 2013
    7
    Insomnia is a great thriller with a great plot and some fascinating actors like Al Pacino and Hillary Swank. It is not a masterpiece like Se7en but you will not get bored and you will like the film. It doesn´t have something special but it is just an entertaining crime film with some suspense in it
  41. Jul 24, 2016
    7
    Christopher Nolan's first test at a mainstream film is a fair accomplishment; it has genuine suspense, a captivating psychological theme of guilt and morality that is all the more gravitated by the duo of Al Pacino and the late Robin Williams, both of whom bore a range that seems to stretch far and wide. It has the merit of a good suspense film, one that I can enjoy without growing boredChristopher Nolan's first test at a mainstream film is a fair accomplishment; it has genuine suspense, a captivating psychological theme of guilt and morality that is all the more gravitated by the duo of Al Pacino and the late Robin Williams, both of whom bore a range that seems to stretch far and wide. It has the merit of a good suspense film, one that I can enjoy without growing bored of halfway through. Expand
  42. Mar 4, 2016
    7
    A good drama based on a murder. Although the plot was weak as at times it felt more like an inner conflict than an a external one. However the highlights of the film was Al Pachino performance and the amazing camera shots that straighten the film.
  43. Apr 20, 2016
    7
    It is a good thriller in the sense that the plot presents a decent twist with good reasoning behind it.

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2224-Insomnia
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. 100
    A rare case of an American remake that actually improves on a European movie.
  2. Nolan creates an effective thriller, although he keeps his stylistic pyrotechnics to a minimum.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    100
    A perfect fit between filmmaker (Memento's Christopher Nolan) and material (Norway's same-name psycho-chiller from 1997), this remake gets all there is to get out of a peculiar premise with promise.