Pantelion Films | Release Date: August 30, 2013
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 81 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
60
Mixed:
9
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
websweverSep 1, 2013
This movie has the emotional intensity of BELLA, the humor of JUNO, and the social ramifications of KRAMER vs KRAMER. (I know I have watched a good movie when a year later, I scan the video store shelf and I can remember the plot of theThis movie has the emotional intensity of BELLA, the humor of JUNO, and the social ramifications of KRAMER vs KRAMER. (I know I have watched a good movie when a year later, I scan the video store shelf and I can remember the plot of the movie. Trust me,you will remember everything from this film.) Loved the line sincerely expressed by a friend to the new Mexican father, "You better learn English so you can understand your American baby when she starts speaking." Don't let the subtitles keep you away. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
babiboo23Sep 10, 2013
This movie is such a great movie, I loved it. It made me laugh so much and cry towards the end. Very good story line, la la loved it. No one walked out of that movie disappointed they all agreed it was a fantastic movie. P.s dont forget your tissues
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
beinghumanSep 19, 2013
Comedy drama and the whole range of emotions in between; the story has definite cultural characteristics that make it more powerful if understood.

However, the conflict of values generated by the plot -a single, freedom loving beach bum in
Comedy drama and the whole range of emotions in between; the story has definite cultural characteristics that make it more powerful if understood.

However, the conflict of values generated by the plot -a single, freedom loving beach bum in Acapulco faced with the responsibility of raising a daughter, traveling to a country he does not understand, and forging a happy life in the face of the most devastating adversity, is universal and should touch everyone's heart.

When an artist has the inspiration to move the audience from laughter to tears he has accomplished his goal of touching people's lives.

The critics have spoken, now the public is raving! A masterpiece of a great comedian.
Go see it for yourself. Highly recommend it.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
salart50Aug 31, 2013
This movie is really good hope you guys can see it. Just the end is a bit different but is really good and sometimes is going up and down to fast from laugh to a drama but is super good
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
lidiav15Sep 1, 2013
This movie was good from beginning to end. I love it. I hope everybody enjoys it as mush as me and my family did. Don't forget to take some tissue ur going to need it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RUSOFAPGAR2001Oct 1, 2013
Great movie, very few movies make me cry an laugh at the same time, if you consider the $5 million budget, this movie is great hit, its a "must see" movie, in any language, in any country, you will get the message, Highly recomended.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
EdgarSep 21, 2013
This film works in so many ways. Although it has one or two moments that are melodramatic, even those moments work well. The ending is truly impressive and it has several themes and messages that are very positive such as confronting fear andThis film works in so many ways. Although it has one or two moments that are melodramatic, even those moments work well. The ending is truly impressive and it has several themes and messages that are very positive such as confronting fear and the power of love. I would love to share this film with as many family members as possible. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
marcogonzalezSep 24, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ESTA PELICULA ES SUPER RECOMENDADA, YA QUE LA PELÍCULA NARRA UNA HISTORIA SORPRENDENTE QUE MANTIENE ENTRETENIDO AL RECEPTOR! ADEMAS QUE NO ES UNA PELÍCULA MUY COMUN COMO LAS QUE ESTAMOS ACOSTUMBRADOS A MIRAR!| SINO QUE ES DIFERENTE POSITIVAMENTE HABLANDO! MUCHAS FELICIDADES A MÉXICO, PERO SOBRE TODO AL GRAN EUGENIO DERBEZ! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Carlin77Sep 24, 2013
It is a movie to remember. It is one of the greatest comdys of all time. It will become a classic instantly.
Eugenia Derbez is in one of his best performances of all time and the best since he ended the show la familia P. Luche. If you are
It is a movie to remember. It is one of the greatest comdys of all time. It will become a classic instantly.
Eugenia Derbez is in one of his best performances of all time and the best since he ended the show la familia P. Luche. If you are going to the movies soon, I recommend you to see it you will not retreated.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
purepecha11Sep 28, 2013
Congratulations Mr. Eugenio Dervez. “Instructions Not Included’ turned out to be a good job. The Oscar for Best Foreign Film will be a good prize.

Widely recommend it because the person can go to the movies, spending time enjoying the
Congratulations Mr. Eugenio Dervez. “Instructions Not Included’ turned out to be a good job. The Oscar for Best Foreign Film will be a good prize.

Widely recommend it because the person can go to the movies, spending time enjoying the comedy. Good job!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FamousHorse7011Nov 8, 2013
Si.
Yes.
Oui. Ja. Imo. Etc. This movie is the best I have seen so far. It is actually the FIRST movie to actually make me laugh. it was a masterpiece beginning to end. and the ending. What a mind-twist. Those few bucks for that
Si.
Yes.
Oui.
Ja.
Imo.
Etc.

This movie is the best I have seen so far. It is actually the FIRST movie to actually make me laugh.
it was a masterpiece beginning to end.
and the ending. What a mind-twist.
Those few bucks for that ticket are all worth it for this film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TerribleFateSep 24, 2013
This movie is just amazing, it has a lot of funny moments, but still, the story is really nice, and has nicely developed characters, it even made me cry... Still, has a lot of issues, but overall it's a really good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
janeth1Oct 3, 2013
I loved the movie it was funny, sad and unexpected situations in life. Most of this movie is fantastic to relate to with the charector at least me. Is a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AGarcia732Oct 4, 2014
This movie surpassed all expectations I had and was a great surprise. Even with the linguistic barriers involved, it was still enjoyable. If some things in the movie (such as becoming a man by jumping off a cliff) sound unrealistic or stupid,This movie surpassed all expectations I had and was a great surprise. Even with the linguistic barriers involved, it was still enjoyable. If some things in the movie (such as becoming a man by jumping off a cliff) sound unrealistic or stupid, people really do things like that in other cultures. I especially like this movie because in the US, there aren’t many films aimed toward minorities.

The story starts funny but becomes more "deep" as the film progresses. The unexpected shocks and twists near the end are heartbreaking, and only make the ending sadder. One thing I think is weird is the transition between comedy to family drama. It's a bit awkward and could’ve been done better, but this doesn’t ruin the film. We've heard this story before, but this movie seems to tell it in a different, original way. Don't let the subtitles keep you away! Eugenio Derbez is great and his daughter is sweet and funny; they have great chemistry. Overall, this is just a fun movie and I recommend that Hispanics families watch it!

(Keep in mind that knowing Spanish or understanding Hispanic culture wouldn't when watching the movie.)

Score: 8.8

If you liked this review, please read my other ones on movies, TV shows, and videogames. I have reviewed 30 movies, including the 2014 films: The Maze Runner, The Expendables 3, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Guardians of the Galaxy, Sharknado 2, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Transformers: Age of Extinction, Edge of Tomorrow, X-Men Days of Future Past, Godzilla, Blended, The Amazing Spider-Man 2, Divergent, Transcendence, Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit, Blended, The Lego Movie, and more. I also review TV shows, such as: TNT’s The Last Ship, Fox's Sleepy Hollow, ABC's Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, CW's The 100, Fox's I Wanna Marry Harry, NBC's Crisis, Fox's Gang Related, and more. I also have reviewed the mobile game Minecraft-Pocket Edition.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jaimejoseJan 22, 2014
This review contains spoilers. una película muy buena y especial, con mucha intensidad emocional, pasa de la tristeza a la risa, la dirección es muy buena como la fotOgrafia, el mismo director es el actor principal, una de las mejores peliculas que he visto, te la recomiendo Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pyrodin322Jan 26, 2014
One of the best family movies I have ever seen. Eugenio Derbez has directed and starred what I feel to be one of his best movies. As a father I would recommend this movie to any father out there no matter what language you speak. TheOne of the best family movies I have ever seen. Eugenio Derbez has directed and starred what I feel to be one of his best movies. As a father I would recommend this movie to any father out there no matter what language you speak. The underlying message can be appreciated by all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
maveLMar 7, 2014
Derbez combined humor and drama in this movie, if you have some knowledge of Spanish, then you'll understand a bit, but if you are following Derbez career then is a must have in your DVD collection, this is a nice job... I'm pretty sureDerbez combined humor and drama in this movie, if you have some knowledge of Spanish, then you'll understand a bit, but if you are following Derbez career then is a must have in your DVD collection, this is a nice job... I'm pretty sure poorly reviews here will be different if Sandler were the actor on this, definitely is a good start from Derbez... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
eli_de101Mar 8, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. . “Instructions not included” has become one of my favorite movies by just watching it once. It’s a great family movie about a Mexican single father raising his American daughter that was abandon by her mother in Mexico. The movie will make you laugh hysterically, cry, and think. Watching this movie with my family was a really nice because everyone enjoyed the movie just as much as I did.
The movie starts out in Acapulco Mexico where a young single bachelor is surprised at the door by one of his American flings. She showed up at the door with a baby girl in her arms saying that it was their love child. While he was trying to take it all in she asked for money to go pay the taxi and never came back. He tried to go look for her and saw her board a plane to the U.S. So then he went and hitch hiked all the way to L.A with the baby to go find her mom. He went to look for her at a hotel where babies weren’t allowed and he left the baby down stairs. He went looking in a suit where a movie director was having auditions for a stunt man. When he barged in the room he saw the baby about to fall in the pool and jumped from the balcony to save her. The director offered him a job and told him he would get the baby taken away if he tried to take her back to Mexico. So he decided to take the job as a stunt man and start a new life for himself and his daughter.
He was an excellent dad he gave his daughter everything she wanted. He struggled being a single dad but he made it all work out in his own creative ways. The two were like two peas in a pod nothing could keep them apart. The dad had doctor appointments and was always nervous to go to and so his daughter would always go with him. She would even take shots with her dad so he wouldn’t be scared. He seemed to be very worried since the doctor told him that the treatment they had tried hadn’t worked. Soon after that the long lost mother came around asking to see her daughter. When she came to see her she couldn’t get enough of the daughter she had once abandon. She then took the dad to court to fight for full custody so she could take her with her to New York. The dad won the full custody and the mom couldn’t believe it. She then asked to get a DNA test to check her daughter’s paternity and it showed that he wasn’t her real dad. The daughter and dad then walked all the way back to Acapulco where their journey first started. When the mom went to go look for them the dad’s boss told him that she had to find out what was really going on and she had to go look for them in Acapulco. She got there and found them playing in the beach. They were a happy family for about two weeks. One day on the beach when they were looking at the sunset the little girl fell asleep and never woke up. She had a rare disease that made her fall asleep almost instantly and one day she wouldn’t wake up from it. On her last days she was the happiest and had all she wanted and that was being by her parent’s side happily ever after.
This movie really touched me just because you never know what can happen. After all the things the dad did for his little girl he was about to lose her in a blink of an eye. Nothing could stop him from being by his daughter and so he just walked away with her and was ready to start all over in another country. The love of a father is so big and sometimes it can be unappreciated as you grow up and that really made me think about my dad. A father’s love can never be out grown or replaced. This movie has me that things can happen unexpectedly and you have to figure out how to overcome it on your own. It will have you laughing from the beginning and through the entire move and in a second it will have your eyes watery. The title “Instructions not included” tells you that in life things can be thrown at you at any time and you have to figure out a solution on your own. The chemistry between the father and his daughter is so powerful and seems so real. It’s an excellent family movie with a great message. The overall story and how the plot all falls together just made it impossible to not watch. I recommend this movie to everyone and especially for a family night.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ApexmmFeb 23, 2015
This movie honestly took me by surprise. I wasn't expecting it to be so good, given that I don't really enjoy or understand Mexican "humor" (and yes, I am Mexican-American). It started off a little wacky as I expected from having EugenioThis movie honestly took me by surprise. I wasn't expecting it to be so good, given that I don't really enjoy or understand Mexican "humor" (and yes, I am Mexican-American). It started off a little wacky as I expected from having Eugenio Derbez as an actor/director. Also, the first 30 minutes or so felt a little bland and slow in the story and made me think it wasn't going to be anything special. However, it managed to pick up quite a lot, and kept doing so until the very end. I liked it so much I told my family to watch it, and they really liked it as well. All in all, this is a great movie to watch, only thing I think might hinder the full "feel" for it might be in someone that doesn't understand Spanish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DavidTejadaFeb 13, 2017
Eugenio Derbez, making its own movie, surpised us with a touching story about a dad trying to raise up his little daughter in the USA. Which, perhaps is a real situation about foreign persons getting use to it, is beautiful and genuineEugenio Derbez, making its own movie, surpised us with a touching story about a dad trying to raise up his little daughter in the USA. Which, perhaps is a real situation about foreign persons getting use to it, is beautiful and genuine leaving us satisfied from a work by a latin-american person Mr. Derbez. And frankly I, as a South American, was totally proud about it. So this isn't just a good movie; otherwise is a thing to behold and some of the best movies ever made by spanish speakers (self-opinion :P) . So because of all the effort put here, and the good vibes also, it will definitely catch your attention and feelings :) (75%) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews