User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 150
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    My all-time favorite vampire film. A superbly scripted, beautifully shot and perfectly acted masterpiece. Call it a horror film or a period drama or a supernatural thriller... it doesn't matter. It fits all molds. It scares at a deep-down visceral level. It is a grown-up film about the dual-nature of certain life (or perhaps death) choices. What it is NOT is some idiotic,My all-time favorite vampire film. A superbly scripted, beautifully shot and perfectly acted masterpiece. Call it a horror film or a period drama or a supernatural thriller... it doesn't matter. It fits all molds. It scares at a deep-down visceral level. It is a grown-up film about the dual-nature of certain life (or perhaps death) choices. What it is NOT is some idiotic, throat-ripping, comic-book monster movie. Interview With the Vampire is a beautiful, sensual, frightening and memorable work of art. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is great, when tom cruise turns brad pitt and then everything just gets better and when you think tom cruise is dead he isnt he bit the interviewer who was interviewing brad pitt and i think theres going to be a number2 Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    I don't care about what the critics say for sometimes they try too hard to play the 'harsh' and favour mediocres films instead. I trust the users much more. Personally, I believe this is a great vampire movie! Different! One of the best vampire movies ever! A classic on its own! This movie doesn't want to emulate 'Dracula', or pretends to horrify us. It goes beyond that! It was not justI don't care about what the critics say for sometimes they try too hard to play the 'harsh' and favour mediocres films instead. I trust the users much more. Personally, I believe this is a great vampire movie! Different! One of the best vampire movies ever! A classic on its own! This movie doesn't want to emulate 'Dracula', or pretends to horrify us. It goes beyond that! It was not just the scrip, but the performances were great too! I loved seeing Tom Cruise portraying a character that was meant to be dark natured, despiteful, amoral, and physically unpleasant, too, I mean totally odious! A nice change! Finally, I think is disappointing to see how harsh the criticism is. This is not a horror movie, nor it is a drama neither it is a thriller...is all of them and in a way none! Visually is outstanding! To me it is a 10! Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    A man (Brad Pitt) who turned into a vampire way back in 18th century New Orleans tells his life (and afterlife) story to a skeptical modern-day journalist (Christian Slater) in novelist Anne Rice's unique take on the famed supernatural creatures of the night. Pitt goes into major details on how he became a vampire (thanks to vampire loon Tom Cruise in a wickedly wild over-the-top turn) andA man (Brad Pitt) who turned into a vampire way back in 18th century New Orleans tells his life (and afterlife) story to a skeptical modern-day journalist (Christian Slater) in novelist Anne Rice's unique take on the famed supernatural creatures of the night. Pitt goes into major details on how he became a vampire (thanks to vampire loon Tom Cruise in a wickedly wild over-the-top turn) and his run-ins with others like him (a very young Kirsten Dunst and a then-unknown Antonio Banderas). Opulently realized schizophrenic exercise that has a little bit of something for most audiences. Pitt is focused, Cruise is unbound and Dunst arguably does the work of her life. Director Neil Jordan (who is best known for films of similar style like "The Crying Game") knows exactly which buttons to push and when to push them. While flawed in many areas, "Interview With the Vampire" is still nevertheless a fun and entertaining venture that definitely has blood, teeth and wings. 4 stars out of 5. If you want to watch this movie visit http://www.viewster.com/movie/1192-15676-000/interview-with-the-vampire Expand
  5. DanniW.
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Awesome!!!
  6. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    Compared to the book, I found the movie's plot easier to relate to. It's a classic, one of the best vampire movies of all time, with so many great performances. Excellent.
  7. Sep 24, 2011
    7
    The movie is surprisingly well made, containing a chronologically organized structure the audience can easily understand. A definite thumbs up and a good movie to watch for fun.
  8. TroyP.
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    I have never read the book, and a lot of the disappointment from critics seems to stem from the fact that some of the characters (especially Lestat played by Tom Cruise) didn't live up to the characters portraited in the book. But since I didn't read the book, I had no expectations coming in and found the characters to be very interesting. Their interactions are amusing and I have never read the book, and a lot of the disappointment from critics seems to stem from the fact that some of the characters (especially Lestat played by Tom Cruise) didn't live up to the characters portraited in the book. But since I didn't read the book, I had no expectations coming in and found the characters to be very interesting. Their interactions are amusing and complex. I think all the characters were very well done and that the movie had a great atmosphere. A great movie that all must see. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. 67
    It is, however, a very satisfying film, and surely the first in a long franchise (it does, after all, bear the subtitle The Vampire Chronicles).
  2. 75
    A stronger plot engine might have drawn us more quickly to the end, but on a scene by scene basis, Interview with the Vampire is a skillful exercise in macabre imagination.
  3. 75
    When Interview with the Vampire works, it's as compelling and engrossing a piece of entertainment as is available on film today. When it falters, the weaknesses seem magnified.