New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 8, 2014
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 162 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
54
Mixed:
70
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
5
TVJerryAug 14, 2014
A whole slew of twisters ravages a small rural area, while some people run to avoid them and others chase them down. The story is about as trite as a disaster plot could be, but it's so poorly written that there's no sympathy for the familyA whole slew of twisters ravages a small rural area, while some people run to avoid them and others chase them down. The story is about as trite as a disaster plot could be, but it's so poorly written that there's no sympathy for the family and the TV crew. I lost count of how many times somebody screamed "Hold on!" However, the tornado effects are FANTASTIC. Special effects have gotten to the point where it's a completely convincing spectacle. That's the only reason to go. If you can ignore the irrational moments (a large airport in a rural town is just one) you'll be in for several whirlwinds of massive destruction. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
Compi24Aug 17, 2014
Predictability and ridiculousness runs rampant in "Into The Storm," a turn-off-your-brain film with filled with lame dialogue and characters, but some promising thrills/effects.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ThegodfathersonAug 13, 2014
Into The Storm is the most intense storm film ever. Seriously. Gus Van Sant's Twister was a great achievement, a wonder for films. But Into The Storm is even better looking. But, it doesn't mean its good though. Steven Quale directs this filmInto The Storm is the most intense storm film ever. Seriously. Gus Van Sant's Twister was a great achievement, a wonder for films. But Into The Storm is even better looking. But, it doesn't mean its good though. Steven Quale directs this film about people who get trapped inside a mind bending storm. The characters are something you don't care about in this movie. In fact you don't care about anything except the storm itself, destruction and the damn awesome special effects. This movie isn't excellent. Believe me. But it's good enough to keep you on the edge of your seat. Into The Storm is a gut wrenching ride. It's worth watching in IMAX 3D. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
ShonsuAug 8, 2014
About what I expected...
Ok so I had a fairly open mind going into this. I wasn't expecting a blockbuster, wasn't expecting Othello or Godfather. Just a bit of mindless fun with impressive special effects. And the special effects did not
About what I expected...
Ok so I had a fairly open mind going into this. I wasn't expecting a blockbuster, wasn't expecting Othello or Godfather. Just a bit of mindless fun with impressive special effects. And the special effects did not disappoint. They have really awesome tornadoes that are truly impressive in pretty much everyway.

But somehow I thought it would be better. Maybe I'm spoiled from seeing so many Imax films lately that I expected the sound to be more... full I guess. There were too many times where the theatre was really quiet.

If you're looking for a Twister sequel, you'll like it. If you're expecting a great movie, you won't.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
MetaomarsamAug 28, 2014
This film was just ok. I thought some of the language used in the film " bang her good" , pissed, **** screw was not really appropriate for a 12 film.
The story line running through it, filming short videos to be watched back in 25 years
This film was just ok. I thought some of the language used in the film " bang her good" , pissed, **** screw was not really appropriate for a 12 film.
The story line running through it, filming short videos to be watched back in 25 years time, especially the yucky sentimental bit where two of the characters are trapped and giving last speeches was really crap and puke-worthy. They should have just stuck to stuff being sucked up and blown around.
I'd definitely not recommend this, nor would I buy the DVD. The only mildly exciting thing was the sound of cars and trucks smashing to the ground, apart from that not thrilling at all.
I can only imagine how totally mediocre it would be without loud stereo sound.
Don't bother to waste your money.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
quincytheodoreAug 8, 2014
Deceptively looking as if it's a straight to DVD B-movie, Into the Storm is actually a fairly good disaster movie with decent acting and effect. The buildup takes quite a while as it switches back and forth between into mockumentary and usualDeceptively looking as if it's a straight to DVD B-movie, Into the Storm is actually a fairly good disaster movie with decent acting and effect. The buildup takes quite a while as it switches back and forth between into mockumentary and usual catastrophic shot. It is a different kind of style that tries to establish more authenticity, which to its credit, work adequately in some scenes. Upon first glance it highly resembles Twister, though effort has been made to avoid such resemblance, and it still treads the line between absurdity and timely coincidence, but surprisingly the movie entertains well enough to breathe some fresh air to audience.

Frankly speaking, the most notable actors in the movie are Richard Armitage (Thorin from The Hobbit) as Gary and Sarah Wayne Callies (Lori from Walking Dead) as Allison. They fit their roles which are both single parents accidentally trapped in a dire situation, Armitage in particular looks believably parental. While a bit hard to discern without costume and beard, he's strikingly a bit like Jeremy Renner here, his echoing voice might be familiar to some. The movie delivers more in acting department with some good scenes, while its characters are pretty likeable and easy to sympathize with.

It's not a slouch on special effect either, although most movies these days possess some degree of blockbuster effect. Into the Storm is at its best when the disaster happens in first person or documentary style, since these types of spectacles usually provide typical grandiose crash and mayhem. While it's not a big budget or metropolis level carnage, the movie produces the scenes effectively. However, it still confusingly drags a couple of dumb countryside show-offs who miraculously stick in the movie for Youtube fame, a missed comical attempt there. Some law of physics and remarkably timing are seen as well to get the plot going, albeit they are the somewhat expected and understandable.

Despite some setbacks and its moderate production value, it brings enough to warrant a decent disaster movie.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
devo-ncAug 9, 2014
Intense jaw-dropping feats in the visuals that dazzle, the twisters are captured as horrifying and realistically as they could. I'm glad we get a storm-related movie that actually pushes the limit in the effect sequences, you feel right inIntense jaw-dropping feats in the visuals that dazzle, the twisters are captured as horrifying and realistically as they could. I'm glad we get a storm-related movie that actually pushes the limit in the effect sequences, you feel right in the storm. So I give the movie credit for accomplishing it's vision and holding me down in thrill, but the tremendously horrible script and most forgettable characters makes this a lower-tier movie. In 5 months you could probably watch clips on youtube of the four best scenes in the movie and then walk away, to watch the full thing would be less engaging. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
glaspeylawsonAug 8, 2014
Another Generic Disaster movie made for teens, Twister is a better watch. Reasons are is because this one is filled with abysmal acting and some of the scenes just make no sense and or drag on for too long.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
FleshWorldAug 13, 2014
Much like the Burt Reynolds character in boogie nights, i've always wondered why Pornos don't have legitimate acting sequences prior to the goods. In the same way, I can't figure out why these found footage movies have such terribleMuch like the Burt Reynolds character in boogie nights, i've always wondered why Pornos don't have legitimate acting sequences prior to the goods. In the same way, I can't figure out why these found footage movies have such terrible beginnings. I mean the disaster sequences in the second half of this film are pretty darned impressive. But the introduction is just so repugnant that I can't imagine anyone wanting to last past the first 30 minutes or so. And Walsh. I can't figure out why he took all of his stored up goodwill from the TV show Veep and tried to use it on this relative disaster. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
busbfranSep 16, 2014
Into the Storm is very similar to the popular movie Twister. Basically a group of tornado hunters chase twisters to record useful data to help prevent the destruction of which they do to buildings etc. Into the Storm has excellent actionInto the Storm is very similar to the popular movie Twister. Basically a group of tornado hunters chase twisters to record useful data to help prevent the destruction of which they do to buildings etc. Into the Storm has excellent action sequences that really satisfied the audience, however it's overshadowed by a mediocre script and acting. Its quiet an useless and really unneeded movie that will not completely entertain. I would recommend a rent a best. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
NotFirePumpkinsAug 8, 2014
One word terms that come to mind when describing this movie are: generic, cliche, average, unoriginal, etc. It's like they had a checklist of every disaster movie cliche. If you've ever once seen a disaster movie in the past 30 years, you canOne word terms that come to mind when describing this movie are: generic, cliche, average, unoriginal, etc. It's like they had a checklist of every disaster movie cliche. If you've ever once seen a disaster movie in the past 30 years, you can tell who's going to die and who's not right from the start. The acting in this movie is painful. This is one of the softest disaster movies I've seen. Almost no one dies that we follow. A few background characters die who you didn't really care about. Only one main character dies, and you could tell throughout the whole movie that he had it coming to him. For how bad this movie was, I do have to give credit where credit is due. The special effect was cool to watch. The tornado at the end looked amazing. The effects are to only thing keeping me from giving this movie a 2/10. Should you see this move? Well, if you like special effects and destruction, you will be pleased. If you like developed characters, good acting, plot, etc. Stay away from this movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
alexahill716Aug 13, 2014
This is just bad. What you just need to know is that the actors feel like they don't know how to act at all. Confusing storyline... tornado here, tornado there, maybe add some sharks to make it interesting?

CGI is good though. Hype was
This is just bad. What you just need to know is that the actors feel like they don't know how to act at all. Confusing storyline... tornado here, tornado there, maybe add some sharks to make it interesting?

CGI is good though. Hype was good due to a lot of marketing, I guess. I regret buying a ticket for this.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
MattBrady99Mar 13, 2015
This movie is like Sharknado but if you take out the sharks. Okay let me name of the few good things in this movie: The visual effect's was well done and the acting wasn't that bad as I thought it will be. But there is a lot of bad things inThis movie is like Sharknado but if you take out the sharks. Okay let me name of the few good things in this movie: The visual effect's was well done and the acting wasn't that bad as I thought it will be. But there is a lot of bad things in this movie like the characters are mostly idiots or just **** The story is... oh wait, there is no story; just some idiots chasing wind and getting themselves killed. This is not the worst movie of the year but it seriously not good. with bad directing and it's a summer movie that nobody is going to remember. Overall Into the Storm as I said it's not a good movie, but not a terrible movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JacobJun 11, 2015
If you can get past the fact that this is a found footage film Into the Storm is surprisingly enjoyable. Using somewhat cliché characters the film is able to show human drama and tragedy caused by the storm. Rather than use this film as anIf you can get past the fact that this is a found footage film Into the Storm is surprisingly enjoyable. Using somewhat cliché characters the film is able to show human drama and tragedy caused by the storm. Rather than use this film as an excuse to show off the power of special effects of a storm, which similar to Twister was probably the intent, this film isn’t goofy. This film we are given people to care about the film actually acknowledges how dangerous and tragic storms will be. If you hate found footage movies and somewhat cliché characters this film will be a turnoff but if you thought Twister was dumb this might wash that out a bit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Oct 28, 2014
When the tornados are on screen the moving is exciting with some impressive shots but any other time the film is dull, stupid, and corny all in one. Basically when you aren't seeing a tornado destroy something, the movie sucks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
mugen_is_hereOct 9, 2016
"Tornado! Tornado!"

"Everyone move! Please move to safety! Please move!" "Not that way, take a right!" "Woo hoo! Twister!" "Nooo!...." "Let's go! Let's go!" "Woow!" "omg!" These sum up the whole movie. You just keep
"Tornado! Tornado!"

"Everyone move! Please move to safety! Please move!"

"Not that way, take a right!"

"Woo hoo! Twister!"

"Nooo!...."

"Let's go! Let's go!"

"Woow!"

"omg!"

These sum up the whole movie. You just keep hearing people shout all these dialogues over and over again. I was glad that I watched this on Netflix so I could keep skipping ahead instead of watching it in the hall.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LeZeeApr 8, 2015
Another version of the movie 'Twister'. Not because both the movies are about tornadoes, but takes place in a similar fashion where a group of twister/storm analyzers/chasers goes after their thing only to come out in a messed-up state.Another version of the movie 'Twister'. Not because both the movies are about tornadoes, but takes place in a similar fashion where a group of twister/storm analyzers/chasers goes after their thing only to come out in a messed-up state. Forget the 'Twister', lets talk about this film. It had better effects, but that did not give the visuals like the natural occurrence, mostly they over-used it. I can call it a display for commercial purpose than reality, that's what Hollywood is famous for, isn't it?

The fun part was, the tornado(es) behaved like it had a soul and conscious like any living organism. 'Final Destination 5' was one of the best digital 3D movie at that time, when it comes to the awesome pop-ups and very disappointed with this film which was crafted by the same director.

The plus point was, it mildly entertains with a merely good pace of narration. Definitely it is not a category-A movie, if you want, you can say it because of the actors. The real reason is the performances from the cast was not noticeable. If one, one person had a strong hold up on his role the movie might had clinched its success. Due to CGI rule, actors are not getting a better scope for their characters. That's very sad, but true. You can watch it for entertainment or timepass, but not expecting seriously.

5.5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sammurphy66Sep 4, 2014
Whilst Into the Storm lacks an engaging narrative, believable characters, and a decent storyline, it is only saved by its first-class special effects which truly do thrill when witnessed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lukechristianscAug 22, 2014
finally we get a movie that has a "hurricane" in the movie. I was amazed by the effects of the hurricanes and the destruction. but it was short to be honest. It should be long show more surviving make the movie long like Avatar. Grade A-
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SB9902Aug 22, 2014
THE GOOD: AWESOME VISUALS!, THUNDEROUS SOUND, INTENSE ACTION SEQUENCES(maybe a little ridiculous but.....intense), at least a few funny scenes.....and the acting is not bad but is not greatest.

THE BAD: boring characters (THE REAL STARS
THE GOOD: AWESOME VISUALS!, THUNDEROUS SOUND, INTENSE ACTION SEQUENCES(maybe a little ridiculous but.....intense), at least a few funny scenes.....and the acting is not bad but is not greatest.

THE BAD: boring characters (THE REAL STARS ARE THE TORNADOES), storyline is very simple, tornadoes touching the ground in less than 5 seconds, the movie is so predictable and just like "TWISTER", the key is not just impressive visuals !.

the movie is good to watch with friends, family even with your girlfriend this kind of movies always entertain you even if they are bad, the movie is not bad but its just another movie of the bunch, nothing new:
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
IMAX500Jan 18, 2015
This Movie feels like a second twister kind of movie. But the Special Effects and the sound mixing can better your experience. The Time pace is too fast, needs more time. Replay value:Between Moderate Low and Moderate
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Viper8787Aug 14, 2014
The first 30 minutes of this movie was very boring it is trying to set everything up and introduce you to characters that you never really care much about at all during the whole movie. Once the tornado scenes started the movie finallyThe first 30 minutes of this movie was very boring it is trying to set everything up and introduce you to characters that you never really care much about at all during the whole movie. Once the tornado scenes started the movie finally started to pick up. Even then when it was not a tornado scene the movie was still boring. But I can say that the scenes during the storm/ tornado scenes they were really good. The effects of the tornados were really well done and did look life like to me. I am a fan of natural disaster movies this is not one of the best but the effects are really cool at parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HaithamBAug 22, 2014
Into the Storm would have been better in 3D, it would overshadowed the two dimensional characters and the so so story, thus I slightly enjoyed the movie, it was just fine.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
paulwasthereAug 14, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie reminds me a lot of the movie Twister from 1996. The special effects were done well and the acting was good in my opinion. The good thing I liked about this movie was that there was two climactic scenes. I usually just expect one but the fact that they had two was pretty awesome. Some parts of the movie killed it for me though because I come from a medical background and it just didn't look believable.

It was well worth a watch and had some heart wrenching scenes. There were no flying cows though which I was kinda hoping to see.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SushiStonerDec 17, 2014
Convincing effects just won't cut it if the film is missing an intriguing plot, with forced development of uninteresting characters and wooden acting. The audience would have been left confused deciding whether this film was found footage or not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
emeraldcitySep 4, 2014
Not such a great movie I thought. I was expecting one of those big global storm things and all it was, was basically a rehash of the now classic disaster film from the 1990's called Twister. I don't like it when they make a movie thinkingNot such a great movie I thought. I was expecting one of those big global storm things and all it was, was basically a rehash of the now classic disaster film from the 1990's called Twister. I don't like it when they make a movie thinking that many people probably didm't see the film it was based on because it had been made over ten years ago. The script was stiff and the acting was stiff also. Not to be overly critical of the cast on unknowns but I didm't feel a connection with any of them which is strange for me because there is usually someone in a film I can identify with. Kind of bleak fare. Two piehead hicks are in the film as if they gave the film credibility with 'people like me' or some such thing. A real ho hummer at best. Maybe don't bother-you might want to save up for a burger-since nothin's cheap no more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
WJSApr 24, 2015
Visually exciting, but unfortunately very melodramatic if not downright corny. It's a made for TV style movie with made for TV stars. The directing is pedestrian and best and the only time the film actually works is when it's focussing on theVisually exciting, but unfortunately very melodramatic if not downright corny. It's a made for TV style movie with made for TV stars. The directing is pedestrian and best and the only time the film actually works is when it's focussing on the tornados. If you want to see a really great movie about storms, check out "Twister", which has sort of become a motion picture icon Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DCEdmondsApr 7, 2015
"Into the Storm" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ....

The Good: At times, the effects were well done ... especially when characters went inside the storm. Sarah Wayne Callies does a decent job in the film, despite a poor script. The Bad:
"Into the Storm" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ....

The Good: At times, the effects were well done ... especially when characters went inside the storm. Sarah Wayne Callies does a decent job in the film, despite a poor script.

The Bad: While the effects were great at times, other times they looked like cartoons. The story itself is forgettable and the acting is awful. The characters themselves are one dimensional cliches and I found myself caring very little about any of them. The overwhelming majority of the decisions made by the leads left me scratching my head.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MadMaxFuryRoadMay 17, 2015
Don't watch this piece of crap. Lame movie with terrible plot and okay visual effects. Don't waste your time on this movie. Go watch Twister instead!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
OzzieVikingOct 10, 2015
Not advisable for kids unless you like cleaning poo. There are a stupid amount of cliches and the characters are bland and recycled. But I like movies where something in the midwest gets completely destroyed. Liked it but the characters ruin it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RickyReviewsFeb 22, 2016
The special effects in Into the Storm are top notch. However, the storyline is extremely flawed, this film has every cliche and cheesy line a film can have. If it weren't for the horrible plot, characters, and acting, this would be an easyThe special effects in Into the Storm are top notch. However, the storyline is extremely flawed, this film has every cliche and cheesy line a film can have. If it weren't for the horrible plot, characters, and acting, this would be an easy 8-9, instead I'm giving it a sold 4/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews