New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 8, 2014
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 174 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
74
Negative:
42
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MovieGuysAug 12, 2014
Into the Storm is exactly the movie I expected it to be- no more, no less. It is 90 minutes of a tornado ripping crap apart in the Midwest. It has flat characters that show no development, cliché after cliché, and a boring script. But whoInto the Storm is exactly the movie I expected it to be- no more, no less. It is 90 minutes of a tornado ripping crap apart in the Midwest. It has flat characters that show no development, cliché after cliché, and a boring script. But who cares? That's not what this movie is about. It's about destruction, thrills, and good CGI, all of which it delivers on. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
C3realkillahAug 10, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off let me say don't let the reviews fool you this is a good movie. In no possible way is it bad though some of the actors act a little camera shy at times. The effects and damage looks amazing the tornados are frightening and the "big one" is unbelievably jaw dropping! Also the movie has a few funny moments with Nathan Kress (icarly) being a funny like able character as well as the redneck dynamic duo who offer a few laughs as well. Overall I liked the characters but the main reason to see this movie is the special effects and destruction this movie has. These tornados are killers and they destroy everything from planes, oil tankers, schools and of course houses and cities. This movie has the best looking tornados I've ever seen! They are terrifyingly real looking! Overall I loved this movie it's a great summer blockbuster and the best disaster film since "day after tomorrow and twister!" So If your a fan of disaster movies or wanna see tornados destroy everything in their path you should definitely check it out. 9/10 Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
diedmarozasAug 20, 2014
Just seen it and from my point of view it's very well made disaster movie. I have no idea why it has bad reviews from some viewers as it has decent story line, good special effects and keeps the tension all the way through the film. WouldJust seen it and from my point of view it's very well made disaster movie. I have no idea why it has bad reviews from some viewers as it has decent story line, good special effects and keeps the tension all the way through the film. Would definitely recommend for anyone who is looking for decent disaster movie. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
anigmeroseAug 12, 2014
A fun and suspenseful film that was much better than Twister! I wasn't sure if I wanted to see it because I dislike movies like these but I'm glad that I did. I wouldn't suggest taking the movie too seriously. I will buy it when it comes outA fun and suspenseful film that was much better than Twister! I wasn't sure if I wanted to see it because I dislike movies like these but I'm glad that I did. I wouldn't suggest taking the movie too seriously. I will buy it when it comes out on DVD/Blu-Ray. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
Humza5Aug 8, 2014
This has the best Effects anyone could ask for, it could make you be afraid of storms like it did to me :) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
10
R6exOct 30, 2014
Wow! Some awesome special effects there! Impressive visuals. Story started off slow, in a cheezy, low-budget first-person view manner. Slowly but surely, things gets exciting. The storm looks real and threatening. The destruction terrifying.Wow! Some awesome special effects there! Impressive visuals. Story started off slow, in a cheezy, low-budget first-person view manner. Slowly but surely, things gets exciting. The storm looks real and threatening. The destruction terrifying. A rather basic story, but was a good disaster film overall. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
NovastreamSep 16, 2014
Take the director of Final Destination 5, add in the writer of Step Up 5 , some actors from television and a large list of unknowns and you have a disaster on your hands. Sounds like I’m taking the piss but I’m actually serious, Into TheTake the director of Final Destination 5, add in the writer of Step Up 5 , some actors from television and a large list of unknowns and you have a disaster on your hands. Sounds like I’m taking the piss but I’m actually serious, Into The Storm made me cringe in the previews and I begged for its big scale disaster and it delivered on every level. The special effects are so catacalysmically astounding, I don’t understand how the movie bombed at the box office…I mean audiences bought horrific acting and story in Transformers 4…and 3….and 2….and to some extent 1…and teenage mutant ninja turtles…and battleship…but still you walk into this movie knowing 100% that the acting is going to be average, the story is going to suck and barely be there, we are here for big screen twisters with an alarmingly high level of destruction and boy did this deliver!

So the plot inverted commas is based around a couple of different groups of people, a couple of redneck goofballs who spend the movie filming crazy stunts to try and get famous on youtube, a group of film students trying to record a college essay video, a group of storm chasers filming a documentary and an entire graduating class. Together their stories intertwine as they try to stay out of fire from the tornados (and yes I say tornados!) as well as flying cars, planes, trucks, wreckage and houses that are tossed around in an epic CGI impress-fest. This movie suffers with its story but makes up for it with groundbreaking CGI work that looks so real you would almost believe it.

he special effects are so masterfully detailed it makes it so hard to criticize this film, it is littered with tornados, including the dreaded firenado, the whole CG looks so real it actually provides a real sense of danger and fear that Twister seemed to really miss.

Now cast wise there are a couple of big names in here Richard Armitage from The Hobbit films, Sarah Wayne Callies from The Walking Dead and Scott Lawrence from Avatar and Star Trek Into Darkness are the standouts for this, the rest are a bunch of fresh faces that don’t provide anything substancial to the role, but given what limited material they are given, it is hardly surprising. Sure its full of characters doing dumb things like running into abandoned factories full of hazardous chemicals and running into the school for shelter and hiding in the hallways and then saying that the school has a storm shelter later on after the tornado has passed, but for all of its misgivings this movie is just pure fun.

Critics have been panning this movie as the worst thing since Transformers 4, but if you simply walk in, switch your brain off and relax, you will find that this 90 minute piece of escapism is a lot of fun and is a great example of how special effects have come.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerDec 18, 2014
It starts off slow with way too much of an emphasis on character drama and whatnot. You've got the high-school guy finally getting up the courage to talk to the girl he likes, the brothers with daddy issues, and a team of tornado chasers whoIt starts off slow with way too much of an emphasis on character drama and whatnot. You've got the high-school guy finally getting up the courage to talk to the girl he likes, the brothers with daddy issues, and a team of tornado chasers who haven't seen a tornado in a long time.

The film tries to get us to like and care about these characters before the chaos starts, but it isn't until the tornadoes show up that things get interesting. The tornadoes look amazing and so does the insane destruction they cause. It really is a treat for the eyes and honestly it's hard to believe that what you're seeing isn't real at times.

It's amazing and kept me on the edge of my seat. It feels like you're watching an apocalypse movie, and a really good one at that. It tries hard to stir up some emotions amongst the storm, but mostly falls short. These characters aren't bad, but the tornadoes are the real stars here. Still it is entertaining to watch them try and survive.

"Into the Storm" packs some insane thrills. Unbelievably great looking sights are brought to life by some of the best CGI I've ever seen. Seriously it puts the works of Peter Jackson to shame in this category. Overall it is definitely worth the watch and will provide for one awesome movie night.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Nov 30, 2014
Into the Storm was a very surprising movie for many reasons. The first surprise is that Max Deacon, who plays one of the main characters named Donnie, carries the film from an acting perspective. Sarah Wayne Callies was marketed as the bigInto the Storm was a very surprising movie for many reasons. The first surprise is that Max Deacon, who plays one of the main characters named Donnie, carries the film from an acting perspective. Sarah Wayne Callies was marketed as the big get but Max Deacon steals the show. The second surprise was how well the special effects were, especially considering the relatively modest $50 million budget. Also, the shorter duration of 89 minutes didn't prevent Steven Quale from delivering plenty of character development. Actually, I'd say the shorter time helped the movie as it was able to dive into the action fairly quickly and make for almost a beginning to end, edge-of-your-seat tornado thriller. Lastly, and maybe the biggest surprise of all, the movie was very funny. Jon Reep and Kyle Davis, playing stereotypical rednecks named Reevis and Donk, respectively, added a great deal of comedic relief and the timing for their wacky humor was perfect and contrasted with the devastation of the town around them well. There were still some flaws. There was a void of anything scientific whatsoever, which is something that Twister, a film that all tornado movies are compared against, at least attempted. There also was a missed opportunity on some of the emotion. I thought this last bit could've made the movie leap from exciting and somewhat terrifying nature environmental thriller to deep and insightful catastrophe movie. A leap almost all of the movies in this genre seem to fail at achieving. Nonetheless, I felt that it was more than worth my time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Jan 11, 2015
Many people say that Into The Storm was too much like Twister, but that is only partially correct. Twister was the story of storm chasers, trying to beat another team to the punch in getting data from inside a tornado. Into The Storm also hasMany people say that Into The Storm was too much like Twister, but that is only partially correct. Twister was the story of storm chasers, trying to beat another team to the punch in getting data from inside a tornado. Into The Storm also has storm chasers, but they're only a part of the story, as it also features the town caught in a super storm, and a family caught in the middle. If you want to compare this film to twister, simply because of tornadoes and storm chasers you can, but Into The Storm still wins, as it features a better background story, better special effects, and is overall much more intense. Richard Armitage stars as the High School's assistant principle, that goes into the storm to find his missing son, and save other people in the path. While the British Actor isn't known for anything more than The Hobbit, he showed real intensity and fortitude, making the film so much more exciting. He's paired with storm chaser turned rescuer, Sarah Wayne Callies, best known for her roles in Prison Break and The Walking Dead. Callies usual plays the strong female character with great ideas, the leaders right hand if you will. In this film however she is little more than a follower, leading to a performance that wasn't nearly as good as I thought it would be. When you have a film with the popularity of Twister, anything else that features anything even remotely similar is going to be compared to that film and ultimately called a rip off, and parts of it could be considered that. When watching the film and now reflecting on it, I prefer to think of it as updating a great idea with a new cast, story, and effects. You are free to disagree and if you're one of those people who think of it as just another rip off, I'd still recommend seeing it for the special effects, if nothing else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oblique15Mar 29, 2015
It starts off slow introducing you to the characters. I was starting to dislike the movie at this point, but than it picks up and turns into an entertaining movie. I don`t get the low ratings. This movie had flaws, but was fun to watch.ItIt starts off slow introducing you to the characters. I was starting to dislike the movie at this point, but than it picks up and turns into an entertaining movie. I don`t get the low ratings. This movie had flaws, but was fun to watch.It doesn`t have the story that Twister did, but I didn`t expect it to be that good anyways. If your expectations are through the roof you will be disappointed, but this is a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SergeantSozAug 11, 2014
They should have just called it Twister 2. I watched both for comparisons sake and there's a ton of recycled plot. One big difference is 18 years in progress of special effects. They're great. The tornados look and feel real (when I say feel,They should have just called it Twister 2. I watched both for comparisons sake and there's a ton of recycled plot. One big difference is 18 years in progress of special effects. They're great. The tornados look and feel real (when I say feel, watch the movie with a high-end speaker system and you'll see). Of course there are the storm chasers, but there are also other story lines. There's a family story and then there's the two idiots running around trying to become famous on the internet. You'll either love them or hate them. Overall it was an ok movie. VERY INTENSE. This is the kind of movie that doesn't let up and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The story is very predictable. Like I said, its Twister 2. Its all about a storm system thats the biggest the state has ever seen (sound familiar). There's an eventual F-5 and bla bla bla. If you liked Twister, you'll like this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
francisjairam12Aug 10, 2014
I just went to see this movie in theaters and I gotta say this is one of the most intensive movies I've ever saw. At first it was slow with the interviewing and other things but as it goes on it becomes interesting. The Tornados themselvesI just went to see this movie in theaters and I gotta say this is one of the most intensive movies I've ever saw. At first it was slow with the interviewing and other things but as it goes on it becomes interesting. The Tornados themselves look amazingly great and they had great effects. Well some of the effects were a little off but at the same time I still thought it was great. Action movies like this get me really intrigued. So I will give this movie a 8.5/10. Only gave it that score because some of the characters were boring and not too interesting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CherryxldApr 11, 2015
Into the Storm, si bien no logra impulsarse de una forma muy inteligente que se diga, logra ofrecer un gran entretenimiento.

Esta película logra resultar bastante impresionante en el aspecto visual, con varios tornados y destrucción que se
Into the Storm, si bien no logra impulsarse de una forma muy inteligente que se diga, logra ofrecer un gran entretenimiento.

Esta película logra resultar bastante impresionante en el aspecto visual, con varios tornados y destrucción que se podría decir que son el punto principal de su atmósfera. Además, a pesar de que a veces tiende a volverse en algunos momentos algo tonta, evoca su trama de tornados en puntos de una fuerte acción que pueden llegar a sentir al espectador sorprendido, con suspenso y con nervios de que pasará.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
inaneswineNov 14, 2017
Occasionally, you need to just take a film with a pinch of salt. With this one, devoid of a coherent style and interesting characters, close your mind and open your eyes and ears to the truly stunning and frightening visuals and sheer noise,Occasionally, you need to just take a film with a pinch of salt. With this one, devoid of a coherent style and interesting characters, close your mind and open your eyes and ears to the truly stunning and frightening visuals and sheer noise, and you should enjoy yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
joesfiddleAug 26, 2014
Incredible film with a fantastic ending! The special effects will have you on the edge of your seat. Great story line too involving a documentary and some funny guys doing stunts. Dunno what the problem is with some people giving it a badIncredible film with a fantastic ending! The special effects will have you on the edge of your seat. Great story line too involving a documentary and some funny guys doing stunts. Dunno what the problem is with some people giving it a bad review!!!!!!!! It's one of those films you know you are going to enjoy watching again at a later date. I actually found it very original. Just because it's in the genre of disaster movie does not make it boring at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ElineBOct 14, 2014
I checked this movie together with a friend of mine and we both found it very spectacular. All the effects in the movie 'Into the storm' seem so real. Is there anyone who can propose other great movies? Thanks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
intothestormfanJan 6, 2015
I watched this movie on release ate, and I thought it was awesome. I personally loved the Twista Huntas, and thought it added a great touch to the movie. although it did have some ridiculous moments (the manhole flying off twice), I stillI watched this movie on release ate, and I thought it was awesome. I personally loved the Twista Huntas, and thought it added a great touch to the movie. although it did have some ridiculous moments (the manhole flying off twice), I still thought it was a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DokaluJan 24, 2015
Ok, it doesn't have a great story, or a great plot, or anything similar to that. But if you are not looking for those this, this movie is very exciting, it has great special effects, is very realistic and you are going to really feel attachedOk, it doesn't have a great story, or a great plot, or anything similar to that. But if you are not looking for those this, this movie is very exciting, it has great special effects, is very realistic and you are going to really feel attached to the characters. This is the most intense storm film ever made, it has destruction everywhere and the first person camera is really perfect for it. Watch it if you don't want to see a great story or awesome characters, but a really suspenseful, intense and exciting film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cleiJan 7, 2018
This is the kind of movie I like, less story and more destruction. The only flaw I see is the lack of emotion in 80% of the cast, considering the magnitude of the events.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
katharris417Nov 17, 2015
Great tornadoes, as if they are really real. I enjoyed watching the movie.

Check out the movie here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29f2c5-Into-the-Storm-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bestreviewereveSep 1, 2016
This movie is exactly what I wanted. A bunch of epic and huge tornadoes tearing about Tornado Alley. Characters are dry. But that is not what I was watching the movie for. I watched it for intensity, action, and a thriller, and this film didThis movie is exactly what I wanted. A bunch of epic and huge tornadoes tearing about Tornado Alley. Characters are dry. But that is not what I was watching the movie for. I watched it for intensity, action, and a thriller, and this film did it perfectly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews