User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 76
  2. Negative: 21 out of 76

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2014
    6
    Into The Storm is the most intense storm film ever. Seriously. Gus Van Sant's Twister was a great achievement, a wonder for films. But Into The Storm is even better looking. But, it doesn't mean its good though. Steven Quale directs this film about people who get trapped inside a mind bending storm. The characters are something you don't care about in this movie. In fact you don't care about anything except the storm itself, destruction and the damn awesome special effects. This movie isn't excellent. Believe me. But it's good enough to keep you on the edge of your seat. Into The Storm is a gut wrenching ride. It's worth watching in IMAX 3D. Expand
  2. Aug 10, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off let me say don't let the reviews fool you this is a good movie. In no possible way is it bad though some of the actors act a little camera shy at times. The effects and damage looks amazing the tornados are frightening and the "big one" is unbelievably jaw dropping! Also the movie has a few funny moments with Nathan Kress (icarly) being a funny like able character as well as the redneck dynamic duo who offer a few laughs as well. Overall I liked the characters but the main reason to see this movie is the special effects and destruction this movie has. These tornados are killers and they destroy everything from planes, oil tankers, schools and of course houses and cities. This movie has the best looking tornados I've ever seen! They are terrifyingly real looking! Overall I loved this movie it's a great summer blockbuster and the best disaster film since "day after tomorrow and twister!" So If your a fan of disaster movies or wanna see tornados destroy everything in their path you should definitely check it out. 9/10 Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2014
    7
    Into the Storm is exactly the movie I expected it to be- no more, no less. It is 90 minutes of a tornado ripping crap apart in the Midwest. It has flat characters that show no development, cliché after cliché, and a boring script. But who cares? That's not what this movie is about. It's about destruction, thrills, and good CGI, all of which it delivers on.
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    This has the best Effects anyone could ask for, it could make you be afraid of storms like it did to me :) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  5. Aug 12, 2014
    8
    A fun and suspenseful film that was much better than Twister! I wasn't sure if I wanted to see it because I dislike movies like these but I'm glad that I did. I wouldn't suggest taking the movie too seriously. I will buy it when it comes out on DVD/Blu-Ray.
  6. Aug 14, 2014
    5
    A whole slew of twisters ravages a small rural area, while some people run to avoid them and others chase them down. The story is about as trite as a disaster plot could be, but it's so poorly written that there's no sympathy for the family and the TV crew. I lost count of how many times somebody screamed "Hold on!" However, the tornado effects are FANTASTIC. Special effects have gotten to the point where it's a completely convincing spectacle. That's the only reason to go. If you can ignore the irrational moments (a large airport in a rural town is just one) you'll be in for several whirlwinds of massive destruction. Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2014
    6
    About what I expected...
    Ok so I had a fairly open mind going into this. I wasn't expecting a blockbuster, wasn't expecting Othello or Godfather. Just a bit of mindless fun with impressive special effects. And the special effects did not disappoint. They have really awesome tornadoes that are truly impressive in pretty much everyway.

    But somehow I thought it would be better. Maybe I'm
    spoiled from seeing so many Imax films lately that I expected the sound to be more... full I guess. There were too many times where the theatre was really quiet.

    If you're looking for a Twister sequel, you'll like it. If you're expecting a great movie, you won't.
    Expand
  8. Aug 9, 2014
    1
    This film is so terrible I don't even feel like going into detail with a long review on this one. Basically all you need to know is that the acting sucks and there's basically no storyline other than tornadoes destroying a whole town the day of a high school graduation. I give it a generous 1 just for some of the impressive effects. I thought I was saving myself by avoiding the new ninja turtles movie, but seeing this just convinced me that it's just a really bad week for new releases. Expand
  9. Aug 28, 2014
    5
    This film was just ok. I thought some of the language used in the film " bang her good" , pissed, **** screw was not really appropriate for a 12 film.
    The story line running through it, filming short videos to be watched back in 25 years time, especially the yucky sentimental bit where two of the characters are trapped and giving last speeches was really crap and puke-worthy. They
    should have just stuck to stuff being sucked up and blown around.
    I'd definitely not recommend this, nor would I buy the DVD. The only mildly exciting thing was the sound of cars and trucks smashing to the ground, apart from that not thrilling at all.
    I can only imagine how totally mediocre it would be without loud stereo sound.
    Don't bother to waste your money.
    Expand
  10. Aug 8, 2014
    6
    Deceptively looking as if it's a straight to DVD B-movie, Into the Storm is actually a fairly good disaster movie with decent acting and effect. The buildup takes quite a while as it switches back and forth between into mockumentary and usual catastrophic shot. It is a different kind of style that tries to establish more authenticity, which to its credit, work adequately in some scenes. Upon first glance it highly resembles Twister, though effort has been made to avoid such resemblance, and it still treads the line between absurdity and timely coincidence, but surprisingly the movie entertains well enough to breathe some fresh air to audience.

    Frankly speaking, the most notable actors in the movie are Richard Armitage (Thorin from The Hobbit) as Gary and Sarah Wayne Callies (Lori from Walking Dead) as Allison. They fit their roles which are both single parents accidentally trapped in a dire situation, Armitage in particular looks believably parental. While a bit hard to discern without costume and beard, he's strikingly a bit like Jeremy Renner here, his echoing voice might be familiar to some. The movie delivers more in acting department with some good scenes, while its characters are pretty likeable and easy to sympathize with.

    It's not a slouch on special effect either, although most movies these days possess some degree of blockbuster effect. Into the Storm is at its best when the disaster happens in first person or documentary style, since these types of spectacles usually provide typical grandiose crash and mayhem. While it's not a big budget or metropolis level carnage, the movie produces the scenes effectively. However, it still confusingly drags a couple of dumb countryside show-offs who miraculously stick in the movie for Youtube fame, a missed comical attempt there. Some law of physics and remarkably timing are seen as well to get the plot going, albeit they are the somewhat expected and understandable.

    Despite some setbacks and its moderate production value, it brings enough to warrant a decent disaster movie.
    Expand
  11. Aug 9, 2014
    5
    Intense jaw-dropping feats in the visuals that dazzle, the twisters are captured as horrifying and realistically as they could. I'm glad we get a storm-related movie that actually pushes the limit in the effect sequences, you feel right in the storm. So I give the movie credit for accomplishing it's vision and holding me down in thrill, but the tremendously horrible script and most forgettable characters makes this a lower-tier movie. In 5 months you could probably watch clips on youtube of the four best scenes in the movie and then walk away, to watch the full thing would be less engaging. Expand
  12. Aug 17, 2014
    4
    Predictability and ridiculousness runs rampant in "Into The Storm," a turn-off-your-brain film with filled with lame dialogue and characters, but some promising thrills/effects.
  13. Aug 8, 2014
    5
    Another Generic Disaster movie made for teens, Twister is a better watch. Reasons are is because this one is filled with abysmal acting and some of the scenes just make no sense and or drag on for too long.
  14. Aug 12, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. OK, so I went to see "Into The Storm". Wish I had been there with fellow storm chasers. I was nearly howling with laughter at certain points in the movie. They made all the same mistakes they made in Twister, but in some cases even more egregious. They totally ripped off Sean Casey and his TIV to the point where I'm shocked there wasn't legal action. Sure, the CGI in the tornadoes was miles better than Twister but the story and acting, if anything, was worse. And, once again, we have twisters appearing out of thin air at the bottom of stratus clouds and radar readings that show just nondescript cluster storms, moving in the WRONG DIRECTION. Their storms were heading SOUTHWEST in their screens. It wouldn't have taken much to get it right with the right consulting. The only storm that looked almost right was the first one and it looked as thought they ripped off the footage from a copter cam of a storm a few years ago. Honestly, Sharknado Two was better, at least that one knew it was low-rate and played on it. Still, glad I went to see it. The best part were the yahoos. I won't say more. Expand
  15. Aug 16, 2014
    0
    Easily one of the worst movies I've ever seen in my life. I kept sorta open minded when I went into the theater (not a big fan of found footage movies) but this movie was just horrible. To people wanting to go to the theater this year to see a movie, save your money. There isn't any blockbuster coming out this summer (except maybe Guardians of the Galaxy, though I'm not a big superhero fan).
  16. Aug 20, 2014
    8
    Just seen it and from my point of view it's very well made disaster movie. I have no idea why it has bad reviews from some viewers as it has decent story line, good special effects and keeps the tension all the way through the film. Would definitely recommend for anyone who is looking for decent disaster movie.
  17. Aug 25, 2014
    3
    Into the Storm is a disaster, no pun intended. The acting will have you cringing and the cliche ridden story bogs down the actually good visual effects. It seems like all the effort went into the effects and it shows, making this feel like an updated Twister with less likeable characters.
  18. Oct 28, 2014
    4
    When the tornados are on screen the moving is exciting with some impressive shots but any other time the film is dull, stupid, and corny all in one. Basically when you aren't seeing a tornado destroy something, the movie sucks.
  19. Aug 13, 2014
    4
    Much like the Burt Reynolds character in boogie nights, i've always wondered why Pornos don't have legitimate acting sequences prior to the goods. In the same way, I can't figure out why these found footage movies have such terrible beginnings. I mean the disaster sequences in the second half of this film are pretty darned impressive. But the introduction is just so repugnant that I can't imagine anyone wanting to last past the first 30 minutes or so. And Walsh. I can't figure out why he took all of his stored up goodwill from the TV show Veep and tried to use it on this relative disaster. Expand
  20. Aug 11, 2014
    7
    They should have just called it Twister 2. I watched both for comparisons sake and there's a ton of recycled plot. One big difference is 18 years in progress of special effects. They're great. The tornados look and feel real (when I say feel, watch the movie with a high-end speaker system and you'll see). Of course there are the storm chasers, but there are also other story lines. There's a family story and then there's the two idiots running around trying to become famous on the internet. You'll either love them or hate them. Overall it was an ok movie. VERY INTENSE. This is the kind of movie that doesn't let up and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The story is very predictable. Like I said, its Twister 2. Its all about a storm system thats the biggest the state has ever seen (sound familiar). There's an eventual F-5 and bla bla bla. If you liked Twister, you'll like this movie. Expand
  21. Sep 16, 2014
    6
    Into the Storm is very similar to the popular movie Twister. Basically a group of tornado hunters chase twisters to record useful data to help prevent the destruction of which they do to buildings etc. Into the Storm has excellent action sequences that really satisfied the audience, however it's overshadowed by a mediocre script and acting. Its quiet an useless and really unneeded movie that will not completely entertain. I would recommend a rent a best. Expand
  22. Sep 4, 2014
    6
    Whilst Into the Storm lacks an engaging narrative, believable characters, and a decent storyline, it is only saved by its first-class special effects which truly do thrill when witnessed.
  23. Aug 10, 2014
    8
    I just went to see this movie in theaters and I gotta say this is one of the most intensive movies I've ever saw. At first it was slow with the interviewing and other things but as it goes on it becomes interesting. The Tornados themselves look amazingly great and they had great effects. Well some of the effects were a little off but at the same time I still thought it was great. Action movies like this get me really intrigued. So I will give this movie a 8.5/10. Only gave it that score because some of the characters were boring and not too interesting. Expand
  24. Oct 29, 2014
    3
    This is a below average disaster movie. The characters are forgettable, and time between the appearances of the tornado are quite unwatchable. The films only strong point are the special effects, which are good rather than great.
  25. Aug 22, 2014
    5
    finally we get a movie that has a "hurricane" in the movie. I was amazed by the effects of the hurricanes and the destruction. but it was short to be honest. It should be long show more surviving make the movie long like Avatar. Grade A-
  26. Aug 22, 2014
    6
    THE GOOD: AWESOME VISUALS!, THUNDEROUS SOUND, INTENSE ACTION SEQUENCES(maybe a little ridiculous but.....intense), at least a few funny scenes.....and the acting is not bad but is not greatest.

    THE BAD: boring characters (THE REAL STARS ARE THE TORNADOES), storyline is very simple, tornadoes touching the ground in less than 5 seconds, the movie is so predictable and just like "TWISTER",
    the key is not just impressive visuals !.

    the movie is good to watch with friends, family even with your girlfriend this kind of movies always entertain you even if they are bad, the movie is not bad but its just another movie of the bunch, nothing new:
    Collapse
  27. Aug 14, 2014
    5
    The first 30 minutes of this movie was very boring it is trying to set everything up and introduce you to characters that you never really care much about at all during the whole movie. Once the tornado scenes started the movie finally started to pick up. Even then when it was not a tornado scene the movie was still boring. But I can say that the scenes during the storm/ tornado scenes they were really good. The effects of the tornados were really well done and did look life like to me. I am a fan of natural disaster movies this is not one of the best but the effects are really cool at parts. Expand
  28. Aug 22, 2014
    6
    Into the Storm would have been better in 3D, it would overshadowed the two dimensional characters and the so so story, thus I slightly enjoyed the movie, it was just fine.
  29. Aug 8, 2014
    4
    One word terms that come to mind when describing this movie are: generic, cliche, average, unoriginal, etc. It's like they had a checklist of every disaster movie cliche. If you've ever once seen a disaster movie in the past 30 years, you can tell who's going to die and who's not right from the start. The acting in this movie is painful. This is one of the softest disaster movies I've seen. Almost no one dies that we follow. A few background characters die who you didn't really care about. Only one main character dies, and you could tell throughout the whole movie that he had it coming to him. For how bad this movie was, I do have to give credit where credit is due. The special effect was cool to watch. The tornado at the end looked amazing. The effects are to only thing keeping me from giving this movie a 2/10. Should you see this move? Well, if you like special effects and destruction, you will be pleased. If you like developed characters, good acting, plot, etc. Stay away from this movie. Expand
  30. Aug 14, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie reminds me a lot of the movie Twister from 1996. The special effects were done well and the acting was good in my opinion. The good thing I liked about this movie was that there was two climactic scenes. I usually just expect one but the fact that they had two was pretty awesome. Some parts of the movie killed it for me though because I come from a medical background and it just didn't look believable.

    It was well worth a watch and had some heart wrenching scenes. There were no flying cows though which I was kinda hoping to see.
    Expand
  31. Aug 13, 2014
    4
    This is just bad. What you just need to know is that the actors feel like they don't know how to act at all. Confusing storyline... tornado here, tornado there, maybe add some sharks to make it interesting?

    CGI is good though. Hype was good due to a lot of marketing, I guess. I regret buying a ticket for this.
  32. Aug 23, 2014
    1
    Call me an insensitive person but the beginning of the movie was terribly boring. There were so much unnecessary talking that I just wanted to walk out if the theatre — too frustrated to register all of the jibber jabber. However, as it goes into the middle of the movie, it was mediocre... I was not that excited as I've been expecting. As it rolls into the end, it was just hands down weird... seriously. Yuck, yuck, yuck. Probably the worst movie of 2014? Expand
  33. Aug 26, 2014
    9
    Incredible film with a fantastic ending! The special effects will have you on the edge of your seat. Great story line too involving a documentary and some funny guys doing stunts. Dunno what the problem is with some people giving it a bad review!!!!!!!! It's one of those films you know you are going to enjoy watching again at a later date. I actually found it very original. Just because it's in the genre of disaster movie does not make it boring at all. Expand
  34. Sep 4, 2014
    5
    Not such a great movie I thought. I was expecting one of those big global storm things and all it was, was basically a rehash of the now classic disaster film from the 1990's called Twister. I don't like it when they make a movie thinking that many people probably didm't see the film it was based on because it had been made over ten years ago. The script was stiff and the acting was stiff also. Not to be overly critical of the cast on unknowns but I didm't feel a connection with any of them which is strange for me because there is usually someone in a film I can identify with. Kind of bleak fare. Two piehead hicks are in the film as if they gave the film credibility with 'people like me' or some such thing. A real ho hummer at best. Maybe don't bother-you might want to save up for a burger-since nothin's cheap no more. Expand
  35. Sep 16, 2014
    7
    Take the director of Final Destination 5, add in the writer of Step Up 5 , some actors from television and a large list of unknowns and you have a disaster on your hands. Sounds like I’m taking the piss but I’m actually serious, Into The Storm made me cringe in the previews and I begged for its big scale disaster and it delivered on every level. The special effects are so catacalysmically astounding, I don’t understand how the movie bombed at the box office…I mean audiences bought horrific acting and story in Transformers 4…and 3….and 2….and to some extent 1…and teenage mutant ninja turtles…and battleship…but still you walk into this movie knowing 100% that the acting is going to be average, the story is going to suck and barely be there, we are here for big screen twisters with an alarmingly high level of destruction and boy did this deliver!

    So the plot inverted commas is based around a couple of different groups of people, a couple of redneck goofballs who spend the movie filming crazy stunts to try and get famous on youtube, a group of film students trying to record a college essay video, a group of storm chasers filming a documentary and an entire graduating class. Together their stories intertwine as they try to stay out of fire from the tornados (and yes I say tornados!) as well as flying cars, planes, trucks, wreckage and houses that are tossed around in an epic CGI impress-fest. This movie suffers with its story but makes up for it with groundbreaking CGI work that looks so real you would almost believe it.

    he special effects are so masterfully detailed it makes it so hard to criticize this film, it is littered with tornados, including the dreaded firenado, the whole CG looks so real it actually provides a real sense of danger and fear that Twister seemed to really miss.

    Now cast wise there are a couple of big names in here Richard Armitage from The Hobbit films, Sarah Wayne Callies from The Walking Dead and Scott Lawrence from Avatar and Star Trek Into Darkness are the standouts for this, the rest are a bunch of fresh faces that don’t provide anything substancial to the role, but given what limited material they are given, it is hardly surprising. Sure its full of characters doing dumb things like running into abandoned factories full of hazardous chemicals and running into the school for shelter and hiding in the hallways and then saying that the school has a storm shelter later on after the tornado has passed, but for all of its misgivings this movie is just pure fun.

    Critics have been panning this movie as the worst thing since Transformers 4, but if you simply walk in, switch your brain off and relax, you will find that this 90 minute piece of escapism is a lot of fun and is a great example of how special effects have come.
    Expand
  36. Oct 14, 2014
    8
    I checked this movie together with a friend of mine and we both found it very spectacular. All the effects in the movie 'Into the storm' seem so real. Is there anyone who can propose other great movies? Thanks!
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Frankl
    Sep 22, 2014
    40
    When you're pining for Bill Paxton and the relative emotional realism of Twister, you know you're in trouble.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Sep 22, 2014
    40
    Its destructive setpieces may loose the odd popcorn kernel on to the multiplex carpet, but it's really just an effects reel: the weather – cloudy wisps turning to massive, fiery hellblasts – is considerably better developed than its quarry. Stick with Twister.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 11, 2014
    75
    Into the Storm is as straightforward a disaster film as you're likely to find.