Paramount Vantage | Release Date: September 21, 2007
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 383 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
320
Mixed:
34
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
samaMar 29, 2009
I did not sympathize with the main character at all. He was unusually cruel in his view towards the ones closest to him, his family, yet all the time created these holier than thou ideals about what man and society should be like. Probably I did not sympathize with the main character at all. He was unusually cruel in his view towards the ones closest to him, his family, yet all the time created these holier than thou ideals about what man and society should be like. Probably the smartest "character" in the movie was nature, which in the end coldly dispatched of this boy and his silly, overstuffed ideals. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NolanR.May 23, 2008
It's a bad movie about a stupid person who died about an hour's walk from Healy. Look, I live in Alaska. It's not this mystical land unspoiled by civilization. We've got cities, roads, all sorts of modern conveniences. If It's a bad movie about a stupid person who died about an hour's walk from Healy. Look, I live in Alaska. It's not this mystical land unspoiled by civilization. We've got cities, roads, all sorts of modern conveniences. If the guy wanted to go "find himself" why not go to Siberia? Less people there than in Alaska. Or maybe he could've just enjoyed the life that most of us wish we had and quit complaining about how rich he is. Anyone who thinks that this guy is a hero is an idiot. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RwichardW.Apr 13, 2008
Like a godawful cross between Forrest Gump, Catch me if you can, rambo and, I don't know, Psycho? A truly appalling filum.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
BadFilmSep 2, 2009
All Sean Penn's unforgivable portrayal of this story lack's is twelve disciples and a cross. The lead character is entirely undeserving of the sympathy, respect and philosophical status he is granted. The Alaskan climax aims toAll Sean Penn's unforgivable portrayal of this story lack's is twelve disciples and a cross. The lead character is entirely undeserving of the sympathy, respect and philosophical status he is granted. The Alaskan climax aims to serve as an indication of the freedom he has achieved but in actuality just demonstrates his lack of respect for the wild. Meanwhile the justification for this pilgrimage remains as the void between himself and his parents, a problem he has run away from, a problem his sister has equally endured and yet he, not she, is portrayed as the hero. Accompanied by uninspiring and tedious cinematography and a narrative so forcefully littered with imagery that it constitutes nothing more that a painfully transparent attempt to promote the poetic nature of the lead character, this has to be the worst film I've seen this year. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
boofAug 18, 2013
Mr Penn has given us an even handed view of a self centered upper middle class kid. He is attractive with a charming smile and an amorphous personality. What's not to like? So he's left his family and lives off charity. He is a nondescriptMr Penn has given us an even handed view of a self centered upper middle class kid. He is attractive with a charming smile and an amorphous personality. What's not to like? So he's left his family and lives off charity. He is a nondescript catalyst allows people to solve their problems by just being there and smiling. Fortunately he carked it. Otherwise he would have turned into another Messiah the same old same old leave your family, go to wilderness, meet nobodies and impress them, talk to invisible friends, start telling everyone they are wrong he jumped the gun there and was already doing this)....I wonder how many potential Messiahs have been dispatched through their own stupidity. Not enough. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
chrisvbJul 2, 2013
Terrible, terrible movie, about a very dumb kid. They really attempt to romanticize this as some sort of existential journey, blah blah blah... Basically a rich kid gets bored when mommy and daddy don't pay him enough attention, and decidesTerrible, terrible movie, about a very dumb kid. They really attempt to romanticize this as some sort of existential journey, blah blah blah... Basically a rich kid gets bored when mommy and daddy don't pay him enough attention, and decides that in order to get more attention he will wander around aimlessly and squander the things he was given. Then even though everyone warns him not to, he goes out into the woods and dies of starvation. They really should have let this story whimper away and just use it as a cautionary tale. Nothing extraordinary here. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
BuzzK.Apr 7, 2008
A privileged middle-class white kid with a college degree decides his life sucks, so he does the only logical thing: burns his money, turns his back on his family, and heads to Alaska for self-enlightenment. Meanwhile, the rest of the world A privileged middle-class white kid with a college degree decides his life sucks, so he does the only logical thing: burns his money, turns his back on his family, and heads to Alaska for self-enlightenment. Meanwhile, the rest of the world struggles with real problems like hunger which isn't self-inflicted. A tedious, self-absorbed, adolescent fable. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful
1
PaulR.Oct 2, 2007
I couldn't wait for this movie to end. The dialog was awful, the acting was uninspiring. I can't believe this movie is getting such good reviews. I haven't disliked a movie this much in a long time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoshuaW.gSep 26, 2007
This movie is very simple. It's a 2 hour and 20 minute glorification and romanticization of a guy who wasn't playing with a full deck, mentally speaking, who (perhaps somewhat inadvertently) committed suicide in the wild. He died This movie is very simple. It's a 2 hour and 20 minute glorification and romanticization of a guy who wasn't playing with a full deck, mentally speaking, who (perhaps somewhat inadvertently) committed suicide in the wild. He died ONLY because he didn't bother to take basic provisions like a map. Sean Penn admitted on Charlie Rose that if he simply had a map, he easily could have walked out of the area where he died instead of dying. But he was too crazy to take a map or basic survival provisions, or learn basic survival training, and thus wasted his life for no reason. His death was completely senseless, stupid and unnecessary. He was not a hero. He was not an inspiration. Therefore this movie has no reason to exist, because glorifying and romanticizing a guy who committed suicide is bad for society and mankind as a species. If you really are desperate to see a glorification of suicide then it's much cheaper to watch the old clip of Dr. Jack Kevorkian from the news show "60 Minutes" instead of buying a ticket to "Into the Wild". Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
HowardW.Dec 2, 2007
This is one of those movies that most critics love and many customers dislike. Main objection: the movie treats McCandless as a sort of heroic pilgrim, when he really is a selfish, irresponsible, world-class naif, who runs out on anyone who This is one of those movies that most critics love and many customers dislike. Main objection: the movie treats McCandless as a sort of heroic pilgrim, when he really is a selfish, irresponsible, world-class naif, who runs out on anyone who shows him caring, love and affection. Who but a jerk would subject his sister and parents to such pain because the old folks aren't perfect. I hated this guy, hoped the bear would eat him. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
MattRJan 1, 2008
This movie was worse than Gus Van Sants' Gerry. Anyone who considers this kind of crap art needs to put down their macbook and starbucks and step into a museum.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MartinD.Feb 18, 2008
This movie is much too long. The lead character's exuberance was intermittently engaging, but none of the other characters came to life. There was no plot; the story of the rambling adventures of Alexander Supertramp went repeatedly to This movie is much too long. The lead character's exuberance was intermittently engaging, but none of the other characters came to life. There was no plot; the story of the rambling adventures of Alexander Supertramp went repeatedly to Alaska but didn't arrive anywhere else. The movie sorely needed a script-writer and an editor. I wish the bear had killed Chris/Alex and brought an end to this tedium sooner. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
CoreyC.Nov 16, 2007
Beautifully shot and well-directed. The character, however, confuses self-actualization with simple selfishness. At his core, McCandless was weak-minded and sought to flee rather than face his problems; everyone has a childhhod with Beautifully shot and well-directed. The character, however, confuses self-actualization with simple selfishness. At his core, McCandless was weak-minded and sought to flee rather than face his problems; everyone has a childhhod with difficulties, many far, far worse than poor Supertramp's. Forgiveness is a truly arduous challenge that he never bothered to face. What a shame. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
csw12Apr 10, 2013
Movies are suppose to a form of entertainment through comedy, drama, romance, action and suspense and Into the Wild is only but a massive bore. I found more interest in watching a nature show on the Discovery Channel. Into the Wild is nothingMovies are suppose to a form of entertainment through comedy, drama, romance, action and suspense and Into the Wild is only but a massive bore. I found more interest in watching a nature show on the Discovery Channel. Into the Wild is nothing but a monotonous, self-centered, adolescent fable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MarieCBTApr 10, 2008
Penn ruined the man's life story. What a sappy, predictable liberal-ass treatment of something deeper than Penn could ever comprehend. We know that father never beat his wife - hwe do know he was jerk - not a beater, though. Chris never Penn ruined the man's life story. What a sappy, predictable liberal-ass treatment of something deeper than Penn could ever comprehend. We know that father never beat his wife - hwe do know he was jerk - not a beater, though. Chris never rafted the upper Colorado - never siad he did - but Penn has him super staring doen Clss 4 rapids - didn't happen. Chris did not ever say he climbed the peaks near bus 142 - Penn, of course, showed us otherwise. Penn lies you int the Supertramp myth that even Chris denied in the end. Read the book and believe. Avoid the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MagH.Apr 4, 2008
Pointless nagging story about a selfish boy and his struggles to find "his own way" in the world. The irritating voice over by his sister ruins the film with her idolizing of her brother. The cinematography could have been great, but the Pointless nagging story about a selfish boy and his struggles to find "his own way" in the world. The irritating voice over by his sister ruins the film with her idolizing of her brother. The cinematography could have been great, but the constant close ups wrecks the images in a futile attempt to get a more personal view of the character. Eddie Vedder's soundtrack is only useful to the audience who falls asleep in the middle of the movie so they can wake up and hear Vedder sing something like "I'm crossing the river... I'm alone, so alone" when the protagonist is walking over a river - alone. Instead of seeing the film, send the admission fee to Oxfam or something. That will give you a greater happiness than Penn is able to provide. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RoseLOct 19, 2007
Overlong, self-indulgent and pretentious. The central character was selfish and patronizing beyond belief. Wank of the highest caliabre. 'Art' for people who think that Jerry Maguire was 'Drama' akin to Hamlet. Only watch Overlong, self-indulgent and pretentious. The central character was selfish and patronizing beyond belief. Wank of the highest caliabre. 'Art' for people who think that Jerry Maguire was 'Drama' akin to Hamlet. Only watch if you want to spend 2 and a half hours of your life wishing you were somewhere else, namely (the beautifully shot) Alaska. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DMSep 29, 2007
Beautifully photographed, interesting direction, but ponderous, romanticized and tonally inept. This movie takes itself so seriously that it lands in the absurd. Oh Society! indeed. Come on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BillS.Mar 29, 2008
Disjointed, dragging, lifeless,.The most exciting thing in this wildlife adventure is a Grizzle sniffing Hirsch's crotch then moving on. I wasted 21/2 hours for the pay off: "Happiness is only real if it is shared." I could have saved Disjointed, dragging, lifeless,.The most exciting thing in this wildlife adventure is a Grizzle sniffing Hirsch's crotch then moving on. I wasted 21/2 hours for the pay off: "Happiness is only real if it is shared." I could have saved everybody $15 million bucks. If they had just called me, I would have told them: "Happiness is only real when it is shared." I'd save them the price of admission and 21/2 hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChristianP.Sep 22, 2008
The protagonist is obnoxious in his college freshmen philosopher hat. By the end, I didn't feel I had learned anything. I was just glad that it was over. The direction is spotty and awkward in all the zooms and ugly titles and cheesy The protagonist is obnoxious in his college freshmen philosopher hat. By the end, I didn't feel I had learned anything. I was just glad that it was over. The direction is spotty and awkward in all the zooms and ugly titles and cheesy slow motion. The candid shots are contrived. The only thing positive about this film is the supporting cast and the beautiful scenery. Other than that, it's just kind of annoying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AlistairP.Nov 14, 2007
Started out OK but never really gathered speed, apparently relying on the beautiful cinematography to tell the story. The central character never felt fleshed out enough to sympathise with, and his constant 'deep and meaningful' Started out OK but never really gathered speed, apparently relying on the beautiful cinematography to tell the story. The central character never felt fleshed out enough to sympathise with, and his constant 'deep and meaningful' conversations with strangers began to drag by half way through. Not having read the book (or ever heard of McCandless before) I was almost relieved that his naive spirit of adventure eventually proved to be his downfall and wasn't rewarded with a miraculous escape (after the ridiculous rapids trip). Still made me want to drop everything and go traveling though! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
raykDec 4, 2015
Forget the map, the trail was a couple hundred feet away. He was camped in a bus (some "wilderness" if somebody drove a bus to it?) 250 feet away from the trail between 2 towns (that the bus driver had used). Oh...and don't forget the highwayForget the map, the trail was a couple hundred feet away. He was camped in a bus (some "wilderness" if somebody drove a bus to it?) 250 feet away from the trail between 2 towns (that the bus driver had used). Oh...and don't forget the highway nearby. I call it "Wilderness story in a can"...(or a bus). Might as well have been living beneath an underpass.

Or maybe it could have been written about Micky Mouse and Pluto "In the Wild". There was obviously no way to interview the dead man, so the stories of the trip that the author used were just a few scraps of information, mixed in a big bowl of his personal imagination.

Trust me Jon, there are plenty of places to go in Alaska where none have been before. I have been to some of them in the real Alaskan wilderness. Save your stories for those real people that had no choices, not those that chose to kill themselves on purpose.

The sad part is the book is just a contrived story to sell books and the movie is just a contrived story to sell movie tickets. Great story if you like people to make up stories for you.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews