Paramount Vantage | Release Date: September 21, 2007
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 381 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
318
Mixed:
34
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LizV.Oct 1, 2007
Fantastic. a story that grabs your heart and makes you think.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
marki-t_39Jul 3, 2011
This is one of those rare films which leaves a profound impact on you. The beauty of the landscape, the compelling acting from all, the terrific music and Penns great work in the director/writers chair make the film as engaging as can be. ItThis is one of those rare films which leaves a profound impact on you. The beauty of the landscape, the compelling acting from all, the terrific music and Penns great work in the director/writers chair make the film as engaging as can be. It really makes you want to enjoy the simple things in life and get out there.
spellbinding stuff indeed Mr. Ebert.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MikeS.Mar 4, 2008
A very well acted and directed film. Emile Hirsch plays a character who is likable yet strange. He is a consummate conundrum -a loner, yet at times the life of the party. The movie evoked a wide range of emotions from me, part of me wanted A very well acted and directed film. Emile Hirsch plays a character who is likable yet strange. He is a consummate conundrum -a loner, yet at times the life of the party. The movie evoked a wide range of emotions from me, part of me wanted to be like him and part of me thought he was crazy. His interaction with Hal Holbrook was especially touching. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SebastianM.Sep 28, 2007
It's an amazing story about an usual character who finds himself over his head in the wilderness. Poetic direction and excellent acting by the brilliant Emile Hirsch make it one of the best films of this year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KimLMar 21, 2009
A bit slow at first, too long as well. The acting was good. I found it hard to be sympathetic to Chris. I was more sad for the people he encountered.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JayHansmaJul 20, 2009
This film is so much more than something meant to entertain the audience. The film is filled with conflicts that everyone deals with. Philosophical ideas and views are filled throughout. Why are people so cold to each other? Human adventureThis film is so much more than something meant to entertain the audience. The film is filled with conflicts that everyone deals with. Philosophical ideas and views are filled throughout. Why are people so cold to each other? Human adventure is through travel and meeting new people not simply standing still living in society. You see how cold the world can be. But at the same time you see how good people can be without living in the "American Dream" with a house and job. The main character has parents that were not happy even though they were very wealthy. This impacted his life heavily and help cause his adventure. With an outstanding lead performance by Emile Hirsch along with an amazing supporting cast. Beautiful direction by Sean Penn and the enviroment is breathtaking while it takes an older style of film. The film will leave you inspired and heartfilled while part of you may feel some depression. If you don't enjoy the film maybe you should watch it again because you probably missed it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JennetPMay 6, 2011
This film is painful to watch and, once seen, hard to forget. Both of the perspectives visible in the user reviews--McCandless as fool AND McCandless as visionary--inform Penn's directorial choices, from the retrospective structure of theThis film is painful to watch and, once seen, hard to forget. Both of the perspectives visible in the user reviews--McCandless as fool AND McCandless as visionary--inform Penn's directorial choices, from the retrospective structure of the film to its dense, emotionally complex episodes, each a gem of casting and ensemble acting. Emile Hirsch so inhabits McCandless that it's almost spooky, and, though the entire cast is strong, Holbrook and Keener give performances of exceptional sweetness and dignity. "Into the Wild" is, on one level, about a young man who starves to death amid abundance, and so is the story of an idiot. At the same time, it is the story of a man beginning to see the psychic and social costs of abundance and to yearn for a time when enough was enough, a true idealist who walks his talk. His tragic flaw is not his longing for vanished frontiers but his attempt to recreate them in his own mind, believing individual ignorance a fair approximation of their mysteries. Those who have lived in Alaska (or any extreme environment) may ridicule or condemn him, but McCandless grew up in Virginia, where nature is more pastoral theme park than "red in tooth and claw." Moreover, he is exactly the age at which many of us indulge in foolish, life-threatening behavior, as the cost of auto insurance for 20-somethings attests. What's sad is the waste: though his folly is more principled than the average youth's bender or car crash or fall from a Daytona Beach balcony, he doesn't get the second chance that most of us enjoy, the chance to learn, say, the difference between independence and isolation. Or--and this is for the users who profess simple amusement at the film--the difference between ignorance accepted as a cognitive stage and ignorance celebrated as a cognitive goal. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TylerWestmanJun 20, 2011
Into the wild is a story of an inspired, adventurous young man who grows tired of societal customs and relationships around him as he sees them to be insincere and unnecessarily comfortable. He leaves behind the comforts society has offeredInto the wild is a story of an inspired, adventurous young man who grows tired of societal customs and relationships around him as he sees them to be insincere and unnecessarily comfortable. He leaves behind the comforts society has offered him and begins an unpredictable, yet passionate journey into the wild. After many lessons learned from being so intimate with nature and it's habitants he learns that "happiness is only real when shared" making this expectedly cynical story a heartwarming perspective of the importance of intimacy with everything and everyone around us. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BelmsherAug 10, 2011
I've seen this movie 5 times and it always gets me crying. The plot surely isn't original but the performance of Emile is deeply moving and makes every person who might have thought about breaking away lose some sleep over the affair. One ofI've seen this movie 5 times and it always gets me crying. The plot surely isn't original but the performance of Emile is deeply moving and makes every person who might have thought about breaking away lose some sleep over the affair. One of the best movies ever. Oh, and beautiful scenery, unforgettable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AdanedhelNov 25, 2011
I love the movie from the beginning with Eddie vedders music. the landscapes and the whole story of this young boy and his journey.
I think many of us who like going into the wild and run from the cities are going to love this movie.
Full of
I love the movie from the beginning with Eddie vedders music. the landscapes and the whole story of this young boy and his journey.
I think many of us who like going into the wild and run from the cities are going to love this movie.
Full of catharsis and wise advises
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CrystopsyMar 10, 2013
The other day I took a chance on the film Into The Wild and I was absolutely blown away by how powerful it was. It depicts the real-life events of Christoper McCandless, who disposed of his cash, assets and personal belongings and spent twoThe other day I took a chance on the film Into The Wild and I was absolutely blown away by how powerful it was. It depicts the real-life events of Christoper McCandless, who disposed of his cash, assets and personal belongings and spent two years hiking around the American Southwest before heading to Alaska in search of a great adventure. This journey of self-discovery is both moving and inspiring on so many levels. Such an endeavour is often of no interest to anyone but the individual themself; however, this is a story that had to be told. In this day and age of motion pictures that overkill with CGI, have mundane plots, and no real heart, this film was a welcome breath of fresh air.

Director and adapter, Sean Penn, did a great job of transforming Jon Krakauer's words and depicting them onscreen. Yes, that's right, Sean Penn. I would have never thought I'd see him creating a screenplay so moving and heart-wrenching. This work is so far removed from anything I've personally seen him do in the past, but he did an exceptional job. He really focuses hard on the main character, Christoper McCandless, and the people he touches and inspires along his journey.

The movie can be a little slow-paced at times that's really the only negative aspect I took away from it but there's always something around the corner that lifts your spirits.

Anyway, I truly believe this is a film everyone should see at least once in their lifetime. I implore you to give it a shot.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Enforcer122Jul 18, 2013
What an incredible story. I never would of thought this was a true story untill I actually did research in to it and realised that all of it is infact true. It's one of those rare films that ALL people should see because no matter who youWhat an incredible story. I never would of thought this was a true story untill I actually did research in to it and realised that all of it is infact true. It's one of those rare films that ALL people should see because no matter who you are, it'll have some form of positive impact on you. Brilliant summerization of things like happiness, freedom and materialism. Watch this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
arminm1Sep 13, 2013
This is the best movie of 2007. Who cares whether or not it is faithful to the book. Judged on the merits of the movie only it deserves the highest rating
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
boneNov 18, 2010
The film repects the true story as expressed in Jon Krakauer's book. I can't overstate how good Emile Hirsch is as the lead. Every supporting actor plays their part to near perfection. Sean Penn is as good a director as he is an actor. TheThe film repects the true story as expressed in Jon Krakauer's book. I can't overstate how good Emile Hirsch is as the lead. Every supporting actor plays their part to near perfection. Sean Penn is as good a director as he is an actor. The music goes really well with the film. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
WiebeOct 11, 2008
Loved it. Very thoughtful, inspiring and scenic. You will like the movie depending on whether you sympathize with or criticize the main character? There's something to be said for both sides. But remember this is just one person dealing Loved it. Very thoughtful, inspiring and scenic. You will like the movie depending on whether you sympathize with or criticize the main character? There's something to be said for both sides. But remember this is just one person dealing with his struggles. Great soundtrack too Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexK.Aug 5, 2008
Great movie and great insight into the different characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TracyROct 20, 2007
The movie is well-done. The life it's about is not as well-done, but lets not confuse the two. You can't take a measure of someone else's emotional pain: they feel it so its real enough to them. Not the first and not the last The movie is well-done. The life it's about is not as well-done, but lets not confuse the two. You can't take a measure of someone else's emotional pain: they feel it so its real enough to them. Not the first and not the last to kill themselves trying to heal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
benjamindDec 6, 2007
Never before has a film touched on so many levels; in particular man's journey through young adulthood. Sean Penn's ability to capture raw emotion and transcend it through seemingly "real-life" experiene has left me breathless. For Never before has a film touched on so many levels; in particular man's journey through young adulthood. Sean Penn's ability to capture raw emotion and transcend it through seemingly "real-life" experiene has left me breathless. For anyone who wants to take a journey which may help re-define your own life, you must see this film:) Thank you to all who played a part in the making of this masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Oct 20, 2007
Into The Wild is not just a movie, it marks the arrival of Sean Penn into the league of Eastwood, Beatty and Redford as actors who have found their niche as writer/directors. Into The Wild is cinematic poetry with enough heart and soul to Into The Wild is not just a movie, it marks the arrival of Sean Penn into the league of Eastwood, Beatty and Redford as actors who have found their niche as writer/directors. Into The Wild is cinematic poetry with enough heart and soul to inspire everyone who sees it. You can go ahead and put Sean Penn on your Oscar Ballot for Best Director and Adapted Screenplay, he's moved up to the Big League now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaylaD.Mar 14, 2008
I thought the movie was excellent. And how about giving some of the credit to Emile, I couldn't have asked for a better leading character than him. Emile plays Christopher in such a way that I felt as if I knew him. It was spectacular, I thought the movie was excellent. And how about giving some of the credit to Emile, I couldn't have asked for a better leading character than him. Emile plays Christopher in such a way that I felt as if I knew him. It was spectacular, and incredibly moving because I could feel Emile's emotion while in character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkoD.Mar 30, 2008
While I may not have agreed with the way this movie says is the best way to find happiness, it makes you think, which is what humanity is all about. Other than that it was funny at times, daring, and a fun journey to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
hollyccMar 5, 2008
Lovely film, given most people know how it ends. I was thinking it was going to be sappy from the get-go--but it wasn't---only towards the end, when the inevitable starts to creep in. Emile Hersh was excellent--as was Hal Holbrook. TheirLovely film, given most people know how it ends. I was thinking it was going to be sappy from the get-go--but it wasn't---only towards the end, when the inevitable starts to creep in. Emile Hersh was excellent--as was Hal Holbrook. Their scenes together were some of the most heart wrenching moments in film I've seen in awhile.
I admire how Penn directed this film--both in landscape and feeling regarding the main character. Bittersweet is possibly the best adjective for it. You both want to knock some sense into him and cheer him on--and you're left feeling the loss of his life at the end. Very good movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AustinS.Apr 6, 2008
This is the best movie I have ever seen. I could not go ten minutes without crying. Thank you so much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErikP.Apr 9, 2008
Money means nothing, find yourself is the only way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
THWOct 18, 2007
An interesting story of a young guy disgusted and repulsed by our modern world and our selfish ways who wanders out to Alaska to find solace and insight. Although I never lost interest in the storyline, it plodded along with the speed of a An interesting story of a young guy disgusted and repulsed by our modern world and our selfish ways who wanders out to Alaska to find solace and insight. Although I never lost interest in the storyline, it plodded along with the speed of a sleepy elephant. And with a running time close to 2.5 hours, I felt some additional editing would have helped make this movie feel less aloof and more focused. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobD.Oct 2, 2007
It was an amazing and inspiring movie that changed me forever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulA.Oct 21, 2007
A triumph! Lyrical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DougN.Oct 23, 2007
The film is not "spellbinding" as the Chicago Sun-Times claims. But it is interesting, especially as it's based on a true life case. It reminded me of "Grizzly Man", by Werner Herzog except this one is more happy. I have to say, I think The film is not "spellbinding" as the Chicago Sun-Times claims. But it is interesting, especially as it's based on a true life case. It reminded me of "Grizzly Man", by Werner Herzog except this one is more happy. I have to say, I think Sean Penn is really growing as a director - great job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimB.Oct 26, 2007
Even better than the book. Great acting, great story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AS.Oct 27, 2007
For 2.5 hours could not hear a pin drop. Read the book and thought the movie was excellent. Movie was very true to book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavisRSep 22, 2007
The description of this movie says it all. I heard about this rice-packing genius about a year ago, read the book and laughed all the way through. The movie has it's side-splitting moments but just doesn't do justice to it's The description of this movie says it all. I heard about this rice-packing genius about a year ago, read the book and laughed all the way through. The movie has it's side-splitting moments but just doesn't do justice to it's real life brain-dead hero. A classic hippy reads Walden then decides to throw away his life savings and die alone in misery story. I loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EoinOct 1, 2008
Like me, if you didnt know the story beforehand youll probably love it. The twist and turns in the journey are enjoyable, but moreso the characters on the journey and the dialogue are what kept me entertained till the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CindyN.Jan 21, 2008
This was a well done realistic movie that got to all your emotions. He was immature in many ways. Not contacting his parents. Many young people rebel against their parents usually earlier than 23 just after graduating from college. He showed This was a well done realistic movie that got to all your emotions. He was immature in many ways. Not contacting his parents. Many young people rebel against their parents usually earlier than 23 just after graduating from college. He showed his non acceptance of the norm and carried it too far and led to his death. It was haunting and a movie that will stay with me for a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesR.Feb 24, 2008
I read this book 10 years ago during my senior semester of college. It validated a lot of feelings I was having at the time that are impossible to examine in a film. Yet Penn's film still succeeds in telling Chris' story uniquely I read this book 10 years ago during my senior semester of college. It validated a lot of feelings I was having at the time that are impossible to examine in a film. Yet Penn's film still succeeds in telling Chris' story uniquely and beautifully IF you can avoid the basic human need to judge a person living life in ways personally hard to imagine or fully understand. I'm impressed with Penn's screenplay, including the scrolling passages from Chris' journal and the way Penn avoids a strictly linear telling, more in line with the way the book's author (Krakauer) pieced the story together during several years of research. There were a few lines of dialogue that bothered me ("If you want something, reach out and grab it!" for example), but otherwise I can't praise Penn enough for his vision here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnMar 20, 2008
The story is good though I found the direction a bit distracting and self indulgent at times, with needless slow motion, unnecessary narration, and other such repetitive techniques.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ThatemWMar 24, 2008
Great movie. Really followed the book well. Also some great shots of Alaska. Highly recomend this to anyone. Little slow, but leaves a lot to the imagination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
katM.Mar 25, 2008
i've watched the movie few days ago but until now i still can't stop thinking about the movie, mccandless, emile hirsch... everything. i still cry about the loss and inspiration that one person can give. he would never have thought i've watched the movie few days ago but until now i still can't stop thinking about the movie, mccandless, emile hirsch... everything. i still cry about the loss and inspiration that one person can give. he would never have thought during those dark, silent nights in the magic bus, alone and yet free that he could have an effect though sad but beautiful understanding of one's need to find hapiness and freedom to conform and yet realizing also in the end that God did not create only one person because "happiness is only real when shared". Thank you to all those involved on this, appreciate it! Great Job Emile Hirsch, Sean Penn... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdevApr 1, 2008
outstanding film which takes away day to day hassles in the modern world and shows it that money means nothing its the experiences that last with you forever its quite sad at times, and its a very well made film and jumps from highs to lows outstanding film which takes away day to day hassles in the modern world and shows it that money means nothing its the experiences that last with you forever its quite sad at times, and its a very well made film and jumps from highs to lows throughout. Enjoyed every minuite of this relatively long film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PamelaR.Apr 5, 2008
i loved this movie - it moved me in ways i didn't know were possible - maybe because it captured the spirit of a 22 year old and the freedom that was possible then... and the indestructible nature of youth - Emile was amazing as was Hal i loved this movie - it moved me in ways i didn't know were possible - maybe because it captured the spirit of a 22 year old and the freedom that was possible then... and the indestructible nature of youth - Emile was amazing as was Hal Holbrook- I truely cared about the characters - and enjoyed the journey and people along the way - Sean well done!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaleyA.Apr 7, 2008
One of the best and most underrated films of last year! Emile Hirsch is brilliant as Christopher McCandless, and really captured the essence and spirit of the character. Sean Penn's screenplay and direction were wonderful, and was One of the best and most underrated films of last year! Emile Hirsch is brilliant as Christopher McCandless, and really captured the essence and spirit of the character. Sean Penn's screenplay and direction were wonderful, and was completely snubbed through all award season. The ensemble in this film is outstanding! Catherine Keener was perfect, Hal Holbrook was heartwrenching and sweet, and Jena Malone, Vince Vaughn, and Kristin Stewart all help round out the performances which help make this film so great. I can't believe that this film only received a few Academy Award nominations, and barely won any awards through out the award season. This is such a beautiful film, from the cinematography to the acting to the script, and needs to be seen by everyone!! The spirit and the chemistry of the film will captivate audiences, and will surely make people appreciate the beauty of the world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronFidlerApr 7, 2008
By far, one of the most gripping film adaptations I've ever seen. McCandless' story will inspire and anger you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
unhotGJun 12, 2008
The unbalanced perspective works against the movie even though it was compelling to watch. A deeper view of a complex personality is possible in a movie form, just watch 'Grizzly Man' by W. Hertzog. My view is summed up by this: The unbalanced perspective works against the movie even though it was compelling to watch. A deeper view of a complex personality is possible in a movie form, just watch 'Grizzly Man' by W. Hertzog. My view is summed up by this: Alaskan Park Ranger Peter Christian wrote: Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkR.Oct 12, 2007
I was deeply moved by Penn's film, and believe it to be one of the best of this decade. The story of McCandless is not so easily reduced to 'stupidity' as so many continue to believe. By all accounts, McCandless was bright, I was deeply moved by Penn's film, and believe it to be one of the best of this decade. The story of McCandless is not so easily reduced to 'stupidity' as so many continue to believe. By all accounts, McCandless was bright, driven, idealistic, deeply troubled and flawed. But what makes his story compelling is the contrast of a modern human being and primal forces. For McCandless' the most powerful primal forces were inside his mind, not the elements surrounding him. We may never know what happened psychologically to him out there in an intensely unforgiving wilderness, but only 22 miles from help. But Penn doesn't try to know. Instead, he celebrates the messy business of being a human being seeking enlightenment. McCandless was committed to finding it in nature, but along the way he found love, forgiveness and friendship. His commitment cost him his life, but this beautiful film honors the journey there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaleA.Oct 13, 2007
Captivating story, acting, directing, filming, etc... A MUST SEE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
bobj.Nov 7, 2007
Gorgeous filming of the Midwest and Alaska and good pacing, but Chris was as flat as a run over cat as a sympathetic character. Not believable as a deeply affected young man whose parent's "ruined" his life, I felt no connection with Gorgeous filming of the Midwest and Alaska and good pacing, but Chris was as flat as a run over cat as a sympathetic character. Not believable as a deeply affected young man whose parent's "ruined" his life, I felt no connection with him whatever. He seemed about 13 years old in appearance and nto very handsome. It was a relief to see him face up in the "magic bus" staring at Jesus. A waste of good money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
gozerr.Oct 18, 2007
I think it is the best film i have seen this year. i love its honesty, for some reason it confronts you with the choices you make in life, in your own life.... which film does that? The film must also speak to Mr Penn, because it answers I think it is the best film i have seen this year. i love its honesty, for some reason it confronts you with the choices you make in life, in your own life.... which film does that? The film must also speak to Mr Penn, because it answers what that kind of detachment leads to. It would have been tempting to dive into the psychology of the the main character, but the true beauty of the film is, i think that it doesn't and there with it resonates for hours, days and as i notice now, even weeks after i have seen it. a true masterpiece Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamL.Oct 23, 2007
A savagely beautiful, poignant masterpiece. Strong and emotional, and yet subtle as well. Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleC.Oct 28, 2007
Sean Penn at his finest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielW.Oct 30, 2007
With this film, Penn vaults himself into the head of the pack. Nothing in his oeuvre heretofore (well, really just two movies prepared you for this. Sure, he wears his influences on his sleeve (Inarritu in particular) but there is nothing With this film, Penn vaults himself into the head of the pack. Nothing in his oeuvre heretofore (well, really just two movies prepared you for this. Sure, he wears his influences on his sleeve (Inarritu in particular) but there is nothing derivative about this beautiful, deeply felt film. Penn consistently swings for the fences and connects with almost every attempt. The scenes with Holbrook are among the most deeply affecting in recent memory. If Holbrook doesn't win the Oscar for best supporting actor, call your senator. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DidiOct 4, 2007
Stunning movie - excellent acting from Emile Hirsch, breathtaking cinematography, and terrific directing from Sean Penn, who knows when to let the images speak for themselves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobS.Oct 5, 2007
I was deeply moved by this film. I saw it as a chance to live vicariously through someone who made an extreme choice motivated by a desire to break free of an identity he felt was put on him and to truly find himself. Yes he was I was deeply moved by this film. I saw it as a chance to live vicariously through someone who made an extreme choice motivated by a desire to break free of an identity he felt was put on him and to truly find himself. Yes he was narcissistic, but he was also brave, brave in a way I wish I could be. And come Oscar time Emile Hirsch and Hal Holbrook deserve nominations. Hell, they should just give the Supporting Actor Oscar to Holbrook right now. He was heartbreaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
roberti.Oct 6, 2007
Dramatically powerful, this portrait of a morally earnest, troubled young man shows that he could have been one of ours. Hal Holbrook's performance captures loss with intelligent dignity. The protagonist's death serves as an Dramatically powerful, this portrait of a morally earnest, troubled young man shows that he could have been one of ours. Hal Holbrook's performance captures loss with intelligent dignity. The protagonist's death serves as an indictment of our culture, and the gulf that separates generations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisR.Oct 7, 2007
Good acting and a unique story. If you have a free soul this movie will reach you. Pretty good book as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JRI.Sep 22, 2007
Great, Awesome, Spectacular rendition of the book that capturers the very essence that Chris McCandless was all about. See this movie. Please!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobM.Sep 22, 2007
Emotionally gripping. Hirsch is exceptional, and Holbrook in a stunning cameo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JM.Sep 24, 2007
Unusually emotionally powerful. One of the most memorable movie-going experiences in recent memory.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelL.Sep 30, 2007
The best movie I've seen all year. Heartbreaking, beautiful, frustrating, and true. How sad that some viewers can't accept that some people march to a different drum--Christopher McCandless is not Jack Kevorkian. There is no The best movie I've seen all year. Heartbreaking, beautiful, frustrating, and true. How sad that some viewers can't accept that some people march to a different drum--Christopher McCandless is not Jack Kevorkian. There is no comparison. McCandless' story is about a young, hurt, hopeful man's search for something greater than himself. And Sean Penn has turned my favorite book into my favorite film. In anyone else's hands, "Into The Wild" might have failed--Penn clearly understands McCandless' struggle. His direction is superb, as is his screenplay. There are so many Oscar-worthy performances--chief among them Hal Holbrook's and Catherine Keener's--it boggles the mind. But it is Emile Hirsch's fearless, doe-eyed McCandless that is the heart and soul of this exceptional film. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FranciscoP.Dec 30, 2008
Sometimes heroes inspire something unreachable... an extension of fisical and mental faculties unexpected to any mortal. In this movie Sean Penn show us a character worthy of admiration: how many of us will have the courage to leave all Sometimes heroes inspire something unreachable... an extension of fisical and mental faculties unexpected to any mortal. In this movie Sean Penn show us a character worthy of admiration: how many of us will have the courage to leave all behind to just follow the unusual path, to just follow the essence of being? We are in front of another kind of hero: more real, nevertheless unreachable. Unforgettable movie... Impressive sountrack and cinematography!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterM.Jan 26, 2008
A great film. even though i loved penn's other three films i wasn't that excited about this; but its a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamCOct 26, 2008
As somebody facing a similar journey in 2010, I was Awe-struck by this film as I preparing to trek the appalachain trail for similar reasons. this at that first sitting became my favorite film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
C.B.Feb 13, 2008
Unbelievable performance by Emile Hirsch. A true star turn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
frryl.Feb 14, 2008
This movie is a story of how most people want to live there there lives, yet vary few have the courage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Feb 23, 2008
Beautifully filmed, with outstanding characters that are so well defined and developed. The film has substance. It is deep and moving. The acting by the entire cast is superb, standing out is Emile Hirsch, Catherine Keener and Hal Holbrook. Beautifully filmed, with outstanding characters that are so well defined and developed. The film has substance. It is deep and moving. The acting by the entire cast is superb, standing out is Emile Hirsch, Catherine Keener and Hal Holbrook. Director Sean Penn does an amazing job. Great score, excellent editing and the writing is outstanding. Certainly of of the best films of 2007. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexSupertrampMar 12, 2008
Wow, what a great movie. I read some of the negative reviews above and below and think "man, these people need to open their minds a bit." It's those people exactly that Chris was trying to get away from. A long movie that I wish would Wow, what a great movie. I read some of the negative reviews above and below and think "man, these people need to open their minds a bit." It's those people exactly that Chris was trying to get away from. A long movie that I wish would have lasted 2 more hours!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenniferK.Mar 27, 2008
Incredibly filmed and acted. One of the most stunning films I have seen in a long time. There were some scenes that were a little too long, but it quickly picked up. Awesome soundtrack by Eddie Vedder too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomD.Mar 28, 2008
Well made, ultimately sad story about an idealistic young man who eventually realizes his mistaken assumptions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Mar 5, 2008
Had Christopher McCandless(Emile Hirsch) forgiven mom and dad before that fateful nature hike and returned to civilization, his experiment in ascetic living would've been exposed as merely an extreme adventure disguised as a Had Christopher McCandless(Emile Hirsch) forgiven mom and dad before that fateful nature hike and returned to civilization, his experiment in ascetic living would've been exposed as merely an extreme adventure disguised as a protestation against materialism. Like the woman in Pulp's "Common People", Christopher, at any time, could've returned to his upper-middle class roots, once came to terms with his crummy childhood. Real poor people, however, if you asked them, would love to have a crummy childhood like Christopher's. But because this young man died, horribly, these projected criticisms about his so-called heroism, fall by the wayside. "Into the Wild" demonstrates how literature, not just populist music, can influence young people to make bad choices. What's the difference between Silverchair and Jack London if you're the sort of person who turns to external forces as the culprit each time tragedy strikes somebody down prematurely? Since "Into the Wild" uses a lot of flashbacks and voiceovers, the depiction of Christopher's death, albeit somewhat distasteful and exploitative, finally captures the isolation and loneliness that this young man encountered. It's hard to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlaMar 5, 2008
The first bit of the film I felt a bit bored with but the last 2/3rds of it I dug a lot. The narration done by his sister is at best brief and at worst melodramatic and intrusive to the film's flow. Thankfully these narrating bits were The first bit of the film I felt a bit bored with but the last 2/3rds of it I dug a lot. The narration done by his sister is at best brief and at worst melodramatic and intrusive to the film's flow. Thankfully these narrating bits were left alone for a long while in the film, and allowed the story to progress without her weepy interjections. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpellBoundApr 20, 2008
A brilliant movie. Wonderful scenery, acting, and heartwrenching story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisLJul 26, 2008
A beautiful movie - tragic, though. I'd never heard of Emile Hirsch before, and I must say his acting astounded me. Call a thing by its right name....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jul 6, 2008
I guess if you can see yourself in him (McCandless) you would like the movie. I like it alot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Aug 2, 2008
This movie was in my thoughts for months after seeing it. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlosLoayzaJul 21, 2009
this movie is right on target on the hipocrisy all around us and how somwtimes nature is the answer to bring a man's soul down to earth and realised what's really important.. I think Sean Pean capture this message brilliantly.

I
this movie is right on target on the hipocrisy all around us and how somwtimes nature is the answer to bring a man's soul down to earth and realised what's really important.. I think Sean Pean capture this message brilliantly.

I think those who critizice this message have obviously never been in a situation of extreme discomfort and have life a secure, rouitine, and danger free life. book smart "intelegent" people who are scare to live and who have played it safe all their life.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChangeAmericaNov 11, 2007
Even after two hours I was wishing this movie would never end. This story will lift you higher than you've been and then break your heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FallonD.Nov 20, 2007
This movie was inspiring and made me too want to take a chance and explore my wild side.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
desmondp.Nov 6, 2007
This is the best movie of the year. Who cares whether or not it is faithful to the book. Judged on the merits of the movie only it deserves the highest rating
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonJ.Oct 24, 2007
The movie is enjoyable and follows the book faithfully. Chris McCandless does what we all dream about - leaving our lives behind for adventure. But, most of us are smart enough just to take a few weeks of vacation to shake-off that urge. The movie is enjoyable and follows the book faithfully. Chris McCandless does what we all dream about - leaving our lives behind for adventure. But, most of us are smart enough just to take a few weeks of vacation to shake-off that urge. Everything gets old after a while and adventuring is not immune. McCandless is a good example for the saying, "be careful what you look for, because you just might find it." He wanted the ultimate getaway and he got it. He was so far away from humanity, that he lost touch with the very thing that societies provide: guaranteed subsistence (nearly) and mutual experience. The subject of the movie is great in it's idealism and escapism, but you have to temper those feelings with the mistakes and the unnecessary risks the protagonist takes to be our martyr. And let's be honest, the story of his conception (the supposed source of his angst) was hardly tragic. It's the upbringing that most of us had, without all the privilege. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Dec 5, 2007
I just got back from the movies and have definitively decided Into the Wild is my kind of movie. It was intelligent, thoughtful, well acted stimulating the viewer to look within and ask all the right questions. Into the Wild is so needed and I just got back from the movies and have definitively decided Into the Wild is my kind of movie. It was intelligent, thoughtful, well acted stimulating the viewer to look within and ask all the right questions. Into the Wild is so needed and down to earth real that it was an extra joy and surprise to see this type of movie come out of Hollywood. I cannot recommend seeing this movie enough. In fact I plan to buy it and lend it out to all those who are interested. This movie had real soul. And if we only have but a glimmer of wakefulness within we will see the beauty and the healing this film can bring. The less you know about this movie before going the better. What I can tell you though is that there are some insightful revelations and lasting bonds that are made along his journey that can only be created by being truly in the present. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickySep 21, 2007
A fantastic film about true freedom and spirituality, finding oneself. So beautiful, meaningful and exciting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NusiN.Nov 30, 2008
Sean, the family members, Jon Krakauer and the whole crew put their whole heart into making it what it has become, a perfect reflection of what Chris could have been like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PeterK.Mar 21, 2008
Brilliantly filmed, but yet another sad (true) tale of a fearless romantic off on an adventure for which he is vastly unprepared, with serious consequences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamianA.Sep 22, 2008
Nolan R? Have a heart, man.. you posted a very disrepspectful and just overall mean comment. I am disgusted. By the way, This is a fantastic film with a great soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WalsheKNov 22, 2007
What a wonderful film. I'm sure many seasoned movie goers are familair with the tug of war between you're critical faculty (have seen this before, genre expectations, cynicism) and the simple pleasure/displeasure ( do I like What a wonderful film. I'm sure many seasoned movie goers are familair with the tug of war between you're critical faculty (have seen this before, genre expectations, cynicism) and the simple pleasure/displeasure ( do I like it/believe it, buy into it etc) that occurs evertime you visit a cinema. For me this film transcended all of this nonsense becaue it makes you feel, it by-passes rationality cynicism, and moves you. This is why even though I only just saw it today, I can safely say it is one of the best movies I've ever seen. It is art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Dec 16, 2007
Beautiful cinematography and overall one of the better movies of the year imo. And to all those who are crucifying this movie for having a flawed main character; a flawed character doesn't mean a flawed movie or plot (go read any Greek Beautiful cinematography and overall one of the better movies of the year imo. And to all those who are crucifying this movie for having a flawed main character; a flawed character doesn't mean a flawed movie or plot (go read any Greek tragedy you under-cultured C.H.U.D.s) I'm not undervaluing the opinion of those who didn't think this movie was fabulous, but please find a better reason to dislike it than, 'the main character was a jerk to his family'... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
drownsodaAug 27, 2010
From the beginning, Into the Wild reels in the viewer in to an alternate form of thought. A mind-awakening tale with an ethereal aesthetic, cultivating freedom, escapism and human's most innate desires, it not only inspires but reaches in toFrom the beginning, Into the Wild reels in the viewer in to an alternate form of thought. A mind-awakening tale with an ethereal aesthetic, cultivating freedom, escapism and human's most innate desires, it not only inspires but reaches in to the souls of those who allow it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mrjackwhiteOct 11, 2010
a beautiful movie filled with wonderful acting from the whole cast, but emile hirsh may have even his best for this movie, a must watch for anyone who wants to finish a movie and still be thinking about it days later.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NasNov 15, 2010
A mind freedom, wisdom and human nature is what this movie is about. The heart wants what it wants and nothing is going to stop it. A movie you need to feel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JasonGMar 16, 2011
What starts off as a slow-paced bore becomes a meaningful (if not altogether-too-perfect) tale of a young educated man who transcends the boundaries of materialism and consumerism and escapes to the complete wild of frozen Alaska. WhileWhat starts off as a slow-paced bore becomes a meaningful (if not altogether-too-perfect) tale of a young educated man who transcends the boundaries of materialism and consumerism and escapes to the complete wild of frozen Alaska. While Hirsch's character is at times sickly sweet, this is toned down through the vast array of characters he meets. The mature and intelligent encounters transform this film from a simple travelogue to a much deeper study of human nature. The protagonist promotes a rejection of greed, glamour and materialism and their substitution with a naturalistic noble-savage-esque love of life. What the film fails to achieve however is the power that will change our ideals indefinitely - or perhaps that wasn't the intention. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFAug 22, 2013
There are many arguments, theories, stories and life lessons that surround the much divided opinion of Christopher McCandless, but as a film, Sean Penn has masterfully captured the essence and spirited nature of the young college student whoThere are many arguments, theories, stories and life lessons that surround the much divided opinion of Christopher McCandless, but as a film, Sean Penn has masterfully captured the essence and spirited nature of the young college student who gave up everything, or rather left it all behind. Penn, along with the captivating performance of Emile Hirsch, who portrays an individual who has all the answers yet doesn't seek to be questioned, many would say he was a spoilt kid who was proving a point, but its the relevance of his adventure that truly means the most, his impact on other peoples lives in the simplest form are inspirational and heartfelt.
Christopher drops everything, including contact with his family, and goes as far as he can with his car and then hits the road, with the intent of reaching Alaska, his dream, his ambition but something he believes is where he will find solitude. His interesting interactions along the way with Rainy (Brian Dieker) and Jan (Catherine Keener), free-spirited hippies who reject society and welcome Christopher, who now goes by the name of Alexander Supertramp, with open arms. He begins to take on various jobs to fund his lifestyle and restock his dwindling supplies, the wild can be a harsh place, something our young dreamer finds out in Alaska, for all the beauty that there is to behold, irony can hit hard in the most heartbreaking of ways.
Sean Penn, along with the masterful cinematography of Eric Gautier, who captures a landscape so beautiful, but out of control, they have created a film that is meant to reach out and pull you in, open your eyes and tell you a story that has many problems and character defects, but is ultimately an inspiring and engaging from start to finish, something that Emile Hirsch truly pours himself into, not showing a person who is running away, but a person who is free. He lives within the confines of his books, and we see various glimpses of his childhood, with a narration of the film from his sister (Jena Malone) who tells the viewer about her surprise at his lack of contact, something we do see the young man struggling with, but which he ultimately gives up on.
The film is a statement, it isn't a romanticism of a man who stumbles into the wild to prove something to other people, he is there to find his own bearings, and wished that others would do the same, Sean Penn takes a neutral stance in his film wherein we realise the mistakes that this young person made, but we also realise the meaning of it all, with the closing moments of the film showing some of the finest skill in film, combining an accomplishment with tragic consequences, nature will always be unforgiving, but a story like this is hard to ignore. There is certainly no denying that Christopher McCandless/Alexander Supertramp was a unique individual, and this charasmatic and wonderful film encapsulates this from his comfortable home to his broken down old bus.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
Into the Wild a cinematic adventure that has never quite been achieved before. We are taken through the wilderness with an above-average Emile Hirsch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
erick_vtkSep 5, 2012
Everyone should watching this film. Have a rich acting, direction, photography and a poetic tom, make you think about the little things, the simple life. Although he died, he said a phrase that make all sense: "happiness is full when is shared".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sid12Nov 27, 2012
best movie i have ever seen, this movie made me cry and not just chris, but other things like ron's life made me more emotional
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticJun 7, 2014
Visually stunning-excellent cinematography-with a well written screenplay and beautiful direction from Sean Penn, 'Into the Wild' has some of the finer essences of film technique, the subtle yet powerful acting simply one trait of the film'sVisually stunning-excellent cinematography-with a well written screenplay and beautiful direction from Sean Penn, 'Into the Wild' has some of the finer essences of film technique, the subtle yet powerful acting simply one trait of the film's persuasion of life and how we should live it. Not in the literal meaning of course; I would never do what McCandless did, even if I was mad at my parents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sidj96Feb 12, 2014
Great movie (y)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
googolendtimesJan 3, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A mesmeric adaptation of Jon Krakauer's fine non-fiction book of the same name, "Into the Wild" is directed by Sean Penn, who also penned (pun intended) its screenplay, about adventurer Christopher McCandless and his travels across America under the moniker "Alexander Supertramp", culminating in his death in the Alaskan wilderness.

While it may run a tad overlong, "Into the Wild" is nonetheless a soaring masterwork of survival drama, expansive and epic: simultaneously an illumination of nature's beauty and a harsh evocation of its cruelty. It is also richly, deeply human, unbinding McCandless' multi-faceted character and poignantly showing the lasting effect on those he left behind. The acting in "Into the Wild" is a fine assembly of performances, particularly William Hurt and Marcia Gay Harden, who are brief but brilliant in their wrenching portraits of Supertramp's parents, and Hal Holbrook, whose sensitive portrait of an elder man whom McCandless befriends is even more heartrending in retrospect, as you realize just how deeply McCandless touched the lives of those he encountered on the road to his Alaskan Odyssey.

And Emile Hirsch as McCandless is fantastic, flawlessly embodying McCandless' earlier exuberance at being free to enact his fantasies of liberty in the wild, and then later his lonely, broken despair as he faces the onset of an emaciated, solitary death in the wild. McCandless' passing at the film's climax is such a raw, tragic scene, cemented by a moving hallucinated sayonara to his family.

Some accuse "Into the Wild" of romanticizing an foolish, inconsiderate whose fate was both pitiful and inevitable. I myself have conflicting views on McCandless. I'll leave you to make your own mind up about the man, but ultimately my feelings are aptly summarized by the American Film Institute: ""Into the Wild" celebrates the dreamer in all of us and the danger of dreaming alone."

Harrowing. Haunting. Unforgettable.

"Into the Wild" deserves to be seen.

Also, the book by Krakauer is great.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oDjentoJan 29, 2015
This film is great and i love the overall message, tone and effectiveness of the film - but i cannot help but find this film gets so messy at some points. This acting varies from being great to below average from scene to scene, and theThis film is great and i love the overall message, tone and effectiveness of the film - but i cannot help but find this film gets so messy at some points. This acting varies from being great to below average from scene to scene, and the directing can go from being wonderous specatcles and delicate character followings to just feeling like an artsy college student film project. However, the main thing that brings this film up for me is how genuinely inspirational it is, and i loves it for that. Overall a fine job and i'd recommend it for people to watch to see if it inspires and enlightens a few people on how their perspective of their life should be. I know that after watching this i actually want to take a few months out and spend it alone in the wilderness somewhere, and i intend to do it in a few years time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FishynmnMar 29, 2014
Into the Wild is a beautiful movie based on a true story about a young man's search for beauty and purpose. The scenery is breathtaking and while some may find the pace slow, I found it to be perfect. Besides being a masterpiece in modernInto the Wild is a beautiful movie based on a true story about a young man's search for beauty and purpose. The scenery is breathtaking and while some may find the pace slow, I found it to be perfect. Besides being a masterpiece in modern film making, Into the Wild truly captures the beauty of the outdoors and the depth of the human soul. My personal favorite movie, though not all will adore this movie as much as I. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jerseylicious88May 13, 2014
Into the Wild is a great, great movie. It had great acting and a great score. And I love how the atmosphere starts out lively and free but slowly starts to feel lonely and isolated. It's an outstanding movie and I would highly recommend it, 7/8.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
root_Nov 30, 2014
Beautifully executed by Sean Penn ,great work ,great soundtrack , definitely going for the book.

one song dedicated to Christopher McCandless / Alexander Supertramp

*Alexi Murdoch - All My Days.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ashen12Jul 11, 2015
It's about a boy who disappointed and can't find his place on society. Runaway to the wild is the choice that he made.
Hirsch acting helped me imagine emotions that Chris/ Alex felt.
Overall, it has a good actors/actresses, beautifull
It's about a boy who disappointed and can't find his place on society. Runaway to the wild is the choice that he made.
Hirsch acting helped me imagine emotions that Chris/ Alex felt.
Overall, it has a good actors/actresses, beautifull scenery and music. Worth to watch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews