User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 103
  2. Negative: 29 out of 103
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BarryB.
    Nov 13, 2003
    0
    Couldn't agree more with the nonprofessional critics. You know the ones like you and I who pay to see this crap. No chemistry at all between the two visons of pulchritude. Were they acting or playing themselves?
  2. CharlesH.
    Dec 8, 2003
    1
    This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I think I laughed a total of 3 times. Halfway though it I asked myself "Am I supposed to LIKE any of these people?" All the characters were detestable. It's hard to get involved when I hate every character. I like most of the Coen Brothers films. But I'm wondering if a lot of the praise this movie is getting is because This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I think I laughed a total of 3 times. Halfway though it I asked myself "Am I supposed to LIKE any of these people?" All the characters were detestable. It's hard to get involved when I hate every character. I like most of the Coen Brothers films. But I'm wondering if a lot of the praise this movie is getting is because it's just fashionable to like whatever they put out. And I also need to say that Clooney's performance here has finally proven to me that he is probably the worst actor in Hollywood. Expand
  3. PatrickF.
    Oct 10, 2003
    7
    This was the best silly movie I've seen in a while. Sure, it wasn't going to change cinema, but for a person that sees predominatly artsy fartsy films, this was a good change of pace. The Dialouge is shotgun speed, the wit is scathing, and unrelenting, and the acting is fun. Although it isn't by any imagination the best film of any the parties involved, It was sure a lot of This was the best silly movie I've seen in a while. Sure, it wasn't going to change cinema, but for a person that sees predominatly artsy fartsy films, this was a good change of pace. The Dialouge is shotgun speed, the wit is scathing, and unrelenting, and the acting is fun. Although it isn't by any imagination the best film of any the parties involved, It was sure a lot of fun to watch. Expand
  4. RalphR.
    Oct 12, 2003
    2
    This is the worst movie i've seen in a while. it is NOT a coen bros. movie...they didn't write it! and really, how can you have a coen bros. movie without their signature characters and dialogue. its boring, its long, its unfunny, and i want my money back.
  5. MikeF.
    Oct 13, 2003
    10
    Brilliant dialogue, as usual - plus the ravishing la Zeta Jones. So what's not to like? The Coens don't make films for stupid people. Unlike most modern filmmakers, their movies are directed at the smart, culturally literate minority, hence the mixed reviews. The hayseeds don't always "get" it. No matter, there's always some ignorant Julia Roberts movie for the Brilliant dialogue, as usual - plus the ravishing la Zeta Jones. So what's not to like? The Coens don't make films for stupid people. Unlike most modern filmmakers, their movies are directed at the smart, culturally literate minority, hence the mixed reviews. The hayseeds don't always "get" it. No matter, there's always some ignorant Julia Roberts movie for the unwashed masses. Bravo, Ethan and Joel! Expand
  6. Triniman
    Oct 16, 2003
    7
    This film will be seen by movie buffs who recognize the producer/ director team known as the Cohen Brothers. These are the same folks who brought us Fargo and the smash O, Brother Where Art Thou? In comparison, Intolerable Cruelty lacks the edge and sophistication of their previous work. There are some impossibly absurd characters that add color, but overall this is light-weight fare that This film will be seen by movie buffs who recognize the producer/ director team known as the Cohen Brothers. These are the same folks who brought us Fargo and the smash O, Brother Where Art Thou? In comparison, Intolerable Cruelty lacks the edge and sophistication of their previous work. There are some impossibly absurd characters that add color, but overall this is light-weight fare that doesn't quite satisfy. Expand
  7. MaxC.
    Oct 10, 2003
    7
    Though definitely not the Coen's best film, it shows that you can take "A-List" stars and familiar territory (screwball/farce) and still make an entertaining picture where the audience can respect itself in the morning. I did miss the Coen's darker sensibilities, which they have toned down, however they prove once again that they are among the elite in the filmmaking community.
  8. ThomasS
    Oct 25, 2003
    2
    Stupid, not funny.
  9. D.M.
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    Laugh out loud funny, something few comedies are anymore. The usual outstanding cohesion and film chemistry that makes everything the Coen Brothers do worth the trip to the theatre. The banter between the characters is fast paced and biting, and where has Paul Adelstein (Wrigley) been, this guy can give Mary Tyler Moore a run for her money when it comes to crying on cue. And I missed most Laugh out loud funny, something few comedies are anymore. The usual outstanding cohesion and film chemistry that makes everything the Coen Brothers do worth the trip to the theatre. The banter between the characters is fast paced and biting, and where has Paul Adelstein (Wrigley) been, this guy can give Mary Tyler Moore a run for her money when it comes to crying on cue. And I missed most of the dialogue following the comedy climax of "Wheezy Joe's" demise (in tears, crippled in the aisle, laughing). Great dialogue and physical comedy, A+ Expand
  10. MichaelM.
    Oct 2, 2004
    8
    A fun, inventive and hip romantic comedy that never sags or never falls apart. With a brilliant performance by Clooney, this film is definitely one of the funniest films of 2003. Zeta Jones and him have perfect chemistry. The film is definitely a gem and ranks as one of the top films of 2003.
  11. SaerA.
    Feb 24, 2004
    5
    This is the funniest movie ever.
  12. VivianD.
    Mar 19, 2004
    4
    A major disappointment. The Coen Brothers make strange, smart films that show us our world slightly inverted. Intolerable Cruelty is occasionally hilarious and George Clooney gets to display his underappreciated comic gifts. But the film lacks the mad creative zest that pulses through the rest of the Coens' work. We'll just have to wait for the next one.
  13. PatG.
    Oct 11, 2003
    6
    Very funny in parts. Always nice to watch the gorgeous Catherine and George. (Has anyone else noticed that she has man hands?! A small price to pay for that face, I guess.) The ending is lame, and the depiction of the old man is in pretty poor taste. But it is a mostly entertaining two hours.
  14. RichardS.
    Nov 1, 2003
    0
    Sorry, not funny. Stupid is more like it. I go to the movies to be entertained not to see someone's genius. If you need to find excuses to explain a movie then the flick missed the mark.
  15. John
    Nov 2, 2003
    9
    Better than I expected ... a slick, witty, and wonderfully acted screwball comedy that always has its tongue in its cheek.
  16. ErwinK.
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    Absolutely brilliant!!! Hilarious!!! I just loved it! Can't understand why this movie has been getting such luke warm reviews.
  17. BobT.
    Oct 13, 2003
    8
    The movie is witty, clever, eccentric, and very funny. Both Clooney and Zeta Jones are delicious, but the dialogue is what makes this movie well worth the $8.50.
  18. AliceZ.
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    Personally, I thought this movie was great! And for all of those who say it "isn't a Coen brothers movie" i say, "were you even watching the movie?" This movie includes the coen's ingenious touch at making a could be "normal movie" into a hilarious classic. If you are a Coen fan, you'll love this movie, too.
  19. RobertH
    Oct 17, 2003
    0
    Blah, Blah, Blah. Yeah, these are the Coen brothers! So what? This movie is ridiculous and a total waste of time. Sorry, but it is not funny; especially to those who have lived through the pain of divorce. In simple words, divorce attorneys are blood sucking maggots who derive their income from the suffering of the victims they allegedly represent. They incite, lie and embellish their Blah, Blah, Blah. Yeah, these are the Coen brothers! So what? This movie is ridiculous and a total waste of time. Sorry, but it is not funny; especially to those who have lived through the pain of divorce. In simple words, divorce attorneys are blood sucking maggots who derive their income from the suffering of the victims they allegedly represent. They incite, lie and embellish their victims to continue on while billing by the hour. In the end, the attorneys get it all. Not funny - just a very SAD commentary on real life! Expand
  20. AdamE.
    Dec 2, 2003
    7
    What are U guys on about? That film was excellent! It was very funny and , I never thought I'd ever say this but, Clooney was hilarious!
  21. John
    Dec 25, 2003
    8
    Shocked to see the 0's as it was very good.
  22. Leslie
    Oct 24, 2003
    0
    Painful subject that portrays women as baracuda's and men as stupid rich playthings who are on this Earth to have their toys taken away. Not funny at all. Very demeaning to both genders.
  23. [Anonymous]
    Oct 25, 2003
    9
    A fun and clever movie. Clooney & Zeta-Jones on the mark.
  24. JaredH.
    Oct 26, 2003
    2
    Catherine Zeta Jones in one cute hottie. As for the movie it sucked. Did I mention the CZJ is hot?
  25. JanetT.
    Oct 28, 2003
    0
    Not funny at all! Hell, I've been married and divorced 5 times already. I'm so sick of these money grubbing broads. Hell, I have the word annuity stamped on my forehead. Left the theater and dumped the date who brung me.
  26. StephenS.
    Oct 30, 2003
    5
    If you?re a big Coen Bros fan, be vewy, vewy afwaid. After a return to form in The Man Who Wasn?t There, this one makes Fargo look like the masterpiece it never was. In trying to accommodate three different films, Intolerable Cruelty ends up in no-man?s land. There is the (increasingly numbing) homage to Hollywood greats, plus the Coen signature movie, plus an insipid nod (two happy If you?re a big Coen Bros fan, be vewy, vewy afwaid. After a return to form in The Man Who Wasn?t There, this one makes Fargo look like the masterpiece it never was. In trying to accommodate three different films, Intolerable Cruelty ends up in no-man?s land. There is the (increasingly numbing) homage to Hollywood greats, plus the Coen signature movie, plus an insipid nod (two happy endings) to commercialism. Apparently, the concept of the gold-digging Marylin (Catherine Zeta-Jones) hunting the ultimate divorce payout is several years old, long predating the recent sideswipe at Catherine from Michael?s first wife. It should have stayed in the vault. There are delightful Coen gags, notably in divorce lawyer Miles?s (George Clooney) tiptoe hunt through the mansion for Marylin?s would-be assassin. Other unmistakably Coen elements fall flat, with too many unamusing showings from Miles?s disgusting colostomy-bagged legal paterfamilias. Clooney eats up the quick-fire repartee he?s given, but these sequences sound ponderously studied from other movies. This is the first Coen collaboration that almost discards the brothers? visual flair and forgets to capture the audience. It?s too easy for whiskery George to steal the show. Expand
  27. AlexK.
    Feb 10, 2004
    10
    As usual, another intelligently hilarious movie by the Coen brothers. If you like their style, then you will definitely like Intolerable Cruelty.
  28. Uter
    Feb 15, 2004
    0
    This DVD deserves a zero b/c it forces you to sit through 5 minutes of ads everytime you pop the dvd in. That is just cruel to the people who shelled out 20$ to buy it (like me). It makes me really angry.
  29. EDH.
    Feb 23, 2004
    0
    That is too high! The leads are ugly people. The characters are so far over-the-top that they are the equivalent of a magnum of champagne being poured into a thimble in one pouring. The facts are not applicable for any state, country or planet. No-Fault divorce exists in almost every state. Separate property (that which you receive from an inheritance) is never (unless you actively make That is too high! The leads are ugly people. The characters are so far over-the-top that they are the equivalent of a magnum of champagne being poured into a thimble in one pouring. The facts are not applicable for any state, country or planet. No-Fault divorce exists in almost every state. Separate property (that which you receive from an inheritance) is never (unless you actively make it so) the property of the other spouse. So in addition to being unfunny this movie was not credible. If the two stars had not agreed to do it it would have saved many some money and only the environmentalists would have a beef because of the waste of paper. Expand
  30. BarbaraW.
    Mar 14, 2004
    1
    Boring and stupid. It is supposed to be comedy, but it was so inane and trite that it only become stupid, not funny.
  31. DennisP.
    Mar 21, 2004
    3
    I still cannot believe that the normally reliable Coen Bothers had anything to do with this unfunny mess. Clooney and Zeta-Jones are fine, as is the rest of the talented cast, but nobody could have saved this bland, humorless script. Some scenes, like Clooney's speech at the divorce lawyer convention, are simply painful. When I see the Coen's names in the credits of a film, I I still cannot believe that the normally reliable Coen Bothers had anything to do with this unfunny mess. Clooney and Zeta-Jones are fine, as is the rest of the talented cast, but nobody could have saved this bland, humorless script. Some scenes, like Clooney's speech at the divorce lawyer convention, are simply painful. When I see the Coen's names in the credits of a film, I expect much, much more than "Intolerable Cruelty" delivered. Expand
  32. AllanT.
    Mar 23, 2004
    6
    I got the feeling that the Coen Brothers were trying to do something out of the the ordinary.When the Coen Brothers try to do something out of the ordinary, it comes across as extremely ordinary.
  33. PatC.
    Apr 12, 2004
    3
    Another Coen project that turns brillance into ineptitude. Spectacular start and presentation of characters in the zany Coen fashion. Proceeds to go over the top, asking us to cheer on the conversion of a lawyer into a human when his elevated testosterone turns on him. While the practice of law attempts to bring about justice and fairness, it is primarily the enforcement of sociopolitical Another Coen project that turns brillance into ineptitude. Spectacular start and presentation of characters in the zany Coen fashion. Proceeds to go over the top, asking us to cheer on the conversion of a lawyer into a human when his elevated testosterone turns on him. While the practice of law attempts to bring about justice and fairness, it is primarily the enforcement of sociopolitical assumptions. If this reality had been followed to the end, the Coens would not have snatched defeat from the jaws of victory. In the end, like the law firm's senior partner, this film has no guts. The only insight the Coens had was refraining to turn this project into a holocaust by involving the children of divorce. Expand
  34. DanB.
    Dec 1, 2005
    8
    Plot was a little hackneyed and smooth but Clooney gives such a great performance... and anyway, come on: everybody likes berries!
  35. JaredB.
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    A laugh riot. Also, a great looking film, resembling the romantic comedies of the 50's. George Clooney and Catherine Zeta-Jones make a wonderful pair. Cedric the Entertainer was hysterical. Good job, Coen brothers
  36. ricardod
    Apr 13, 2009
    9
    Extremely funny, extremely smart and extremely well performed. worth it all the way. coen brothers, you did it again.
  37. LarryL.
    Nov 10, 2003
    0
    Two beautiful people to look at but they just did not mesh. The chemistry was simply not there. The satire was not funny. Sorry but I thought it was a bomb.
  38. BarryB.
    Nov 13, 2003
    0
    Couldn't agree more with the nonprofessional critics. You know the ones like you and I who pay to see this crap. No chemistry at all between the two visons of pulchritude. Were they acting or playing themselves?
  39. CarolAnnC.
    Nov 28, 2003
    0
    Intolerably BAD!
  40. Fantasy
    Oct 16, 2003
    0
    Two big stars drawing a paycheck - nothing more, with a couple of predictable chuckles. Dumb, dumber and dumbest. If you must see it rent it as you will be disappointed.
  41. MikeM.
    Oct 16, 2003
    9
    Intolerable Cruelty will be near the top of the list of favorite Coen Brothers movies. George Clooney carries the comedic lead well but, the movie, may be hindered by major studio backing. It seems at times like they held back just a little. It's filled with with the trademark memborable characters as with all Coen brothers movie (the old man, Whezzy Joe) and the humor that not Intolerable Cruelty will be near the top of the list of favorite Coen Brothers movies. George Clooney carries the comedic lead well but, the movie, may be hindered by major studio backing. It seems at times like they held back just a little. It's filled with with the trademark memborable characters as with all Coen brothers movie (the old man, Whezzy Joe) and the humor that not everyone might not get but should enjoy. I was dissapointed they couldn't find parts for Turturro or Buschemi but I'll deal with it. This is not quite a Coen classic but it's close. Expand
  42. WACKOJAKO
    Oct 17, 2003
    8
    So far the must-see comedy of the season. My girl, Zeta-Jones, is as yummy as ever, and Clooney is as looney as in his better parts. The dialoge zizzles and the chemistry between the leads will leave you longing for a rematch.
  43. XiongC.
    Oct 18, 2003
    9
    Full of the little touches that make great comedy -- the ball is always rolling. Z-J is looking good, and Clooney is devastating. The plot is authentic screwball, and if transparent, so what? It won't surprise you, but will make you laugh. Has the kind of polish you don't often see anymore.
  44. PaulaD.
    Dec 13, 2003
    0
    Quite possibly one of the worst films of the year. Not funny in the least and the acting was terrible. Avoid at all costs.
  45. Lara
    Oct 24, 2003
    6
    It was pretty good as far as contemporary movies go, but I'm surprised at how many people found the dialogue snappy and witty. I thought it was sorta lackluster, and way too plodding for this kind of movie. In those old screwball comedies the actors talk so fast, and the plot twists get so improbable, that you barely have time to think. Here there was plenty of breathing space for It was pretty good as far as contemporary movies go, but I'm surprised at how many people found the dialogue snappy and witty. I thought it was sorta lackluster, and way too plodding for this kind of movie. In those old screwball comedies the actors talk so fast, and the plot twists get so improbable, that you barely have time to think. Here there was plenty of breathing space for you to sort out in your head where it was going before it got there, so that there weren't many fun surprises. Expand
  46. JoeP.
    Feb 16, 2004
    7
    A solid screwball comedy, reminscient of the 30's movies starring Carole Lombard or Cary Grant. The Coen brothers have done better but still accomplish their goal, a good movie.
  47. OnlySullivan
    Apr 29, 2004
    0
    Simply intolerably boring.
  48. DavidD.
    Nov 11, 2003
    0
    Sterile movie devoid of any chemistry. A waste of time and money. If you must see it, rent it.
  49. PaulA.
    Nov 29, 2003
    3
    It just wasn't funny. Admittedly I'm not a chick flick person, but I felt it was overdone and very bland. Plus the whole idea of prenuptial agreements makes me angry. And Zeta Jones, she makes me angry too. Not sure why, she just does
  50. DeonT.
    Nov 29, 2003
    0
    This was really a disappointing movie. Beautiful stars doing nothing. Not funny at all.
  51. KarlK.
    Dec 25, 2003
    9
    We laughed so hard we almost cried, and were still laughing two hours later in the pub...
  52. Mar 8, 2011
    6
    It is safe to say that this film is not what I expected at all but it did have some elements that make it worthy of having a higher end score; those being George Clooney showing his comedic side and the addition of Catherine Zeta Jones. I would perhaps rate it slightly higher if I didn't get distracted half way though.
  53. Dec 9, 2014
    8
    There are some nice laugh-out-loud moments in this and it's good to see Catherine ZJ with her Welsh lilt counterbalancing the grey wolf :) A fun film with some pointed comments to make.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Jean Oppenheimer
    50
    The Coen brothers had a golden opportunity to make a darkly humorous, deliciously clever battle of the sexes, and they let it slip through their fingers. Instead, the duo... settled for a broad farce that is long on manic, cartoonish behavior and short on intelligence and wit.
  2. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    70
    A thoroughly entertaining comedy about love, lawyers and fat divorce settlements. While a slight imbalance in the romantic formula stops it just short of truly soaring, the crackling dialogue and buoyant wordplay make this a delightful throwback to classic screwball comedies.
  3. Zeta-Jones is merely ravishing, but Clooney owns the film. Ordinarily best at sardonic, man's-man confidence, he strides through Intolerable Cruelty with fantastic screwball zest. To see Clooney tenderize, season, grill, and serve this ham hock of a role is to see an old-fashioned virtuoso in perpetual motion.