Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 10, 2003
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 107 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
27
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
TovenaarDec 9, 2014
There are some nice laugh-out-loud moments in this and it's good to see Catherine ZJ with her Welsh lilt counterbalancing the grey wolf :) A fun film with some pointed comments to make.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
PatrickF.Oct 10, 2003
This was the best silly movie I've seen in a while. Sure, it wasn't going to change cinema, but for a person that sees predominatly artsy fartsy films, this was a good change of pace. The Dialouge is shotgun speed, the wit is This was the best silly movie I've seen in a while. Sure, it wasn't going to change cinema, but for a person that sees predominatly artsy fartsy films, this was a good change of pace. The Dialouge is shotgun speed, the wit is scathing, and unrelenting, and the acting is fun. Although it isn't by any imagination the best film of any the parties involved, It was sure a lot of fun to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeF.Oct 13, 2003
Brilliant dialogue, as usual - plus the ravishing la Zeta Jones. So what's not to like? The Coens don't make films for stupid people. Unlike most modern filmmakers, their movies are directed at the smart, culturally literate Brilliant dialogue, as usual - plus the ravishing la Zeta Jones. So what's not to like? The Coens don't make films for stupid people. Unlike most modern filmmakers, their movies are directed at the smart, culturally literate minority, hence the mixed reviews. The hayseeds don't always "get" it. No matter, there's always some ignorant Julia Roberts movie for the unwashed masses. Bravo, Ethan and Joel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TrinimanOct 16, 2003
This film will be seen by movie buffs who recognize the producer/ director team known as the Cohen Brothers. These are the same folks who brought us Fargo and the smash O, Brother Where Art Thou? In comparison, Intolerable Cruelty lacks the This film will be seen by movie buffs who recognize the producer/ director team known as the Cohen Brothers. These are the same folks who brought us Fargo and the smash O, Brother Where Art Thou? In comparison, Intolerable Cruelty lacks the edge and sophistication of their previous work. There are some impossibly absurd characters that add color, but overall this is light-weight fare that doesn't quite satisfy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MaxC.Oct 10, 2003
Though definitely not the Coen's best film, it shows that you can take "A-List" stars and familiar territory (screwball/farce) and still make an entertaining picture where the audience can respect itself in the morning. I did miss the Though definitely not the Coen's best film, it shows that you can take "A-List" stars and familiar territory (screwball/farce) and still make an entertaining picture where the audience can respect itself in the morning. I did miss the Coen's darker sensibilities, which they have toned down, however they prove once again that they are among the elite in the filmmaking community. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.M.Oct 30, 2003
Laugh out loud funny, something few comedies are anymore. The usual outstanding cohesion and film chemistry that makes everything the Coen Brothers do worth the trip to the theatre. The banter between the characters is fast paced and biting, Laugh out loud funny, something few comedies are anymore. The usual outstanding cohesion and film chemistry that makes everything the Coen Brothers do worth the trip to the theatre. The banter between the characters is fast paced and biting, and where has Paul Adelstein (Wrigley) been, this guy can give Mary Tyler Moore a run for her money when it comes to crying on cue. And I missed most of the dialogue following the comedy climax of "Wheezy Joe's" demise (in tears, crippled in the aisle, laughing). Great dialogue and physical comedy, A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelM.Oct 2, 2004
A fun, inventive and hip romantic comedy that never sags or never falls apart. With a brilliant performance by Clooney, this film is definitely one of the funniest films of 2003. Zeta Jones and him have perfect chemistry. The film is A fun, inventive and hip romantic comedy that never sags or never falls apart. With a brilliant performance by Clooney, this film is definitely one of the funniest films of 2003. Zeta Jones and him have perfect chemistry. The film is definitely a gem and ranks as one of the top films of 2003. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnNov 2, 2003
Better than I expected ... a slick, witty, and wonderfully acted screwball comedy that always has its tongue in its cheek.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErwinK.Nov 2, 2003
Absolutely brilliant!!! Hilarious!!! I just loved it! Can't understand why this movie has been getting such luke warm reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobT.Oct 13, 2003
The movie is witty, clever, eccentric, and very funny. Both Clooney and Zeta Jones are delicious, but the dialogue is what makes this movie well worth the $8.50.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliceZ.Oct 15, 2003
Personally, I thought this movie was great! And for all of those who say it "isn't a Coen brothers movie" i say, "were you even watching the movie?" This movie includes the coen's ingenious touch at making a could be "normal movie" Personally, I thought this movie was great! And for all of those who say it "isn't a Coen brothers movie" i say, "were you even watching the movie?" This movie includes the coen's ingenious touch at making a could be "normal movie" into a hilarious classic. If you are a Coen fan, you'll love this movie, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdamE.Dec 2, 2003
What are U guys on about? That film was excellent! It was very funny and , I never thought I'd ever say this but, Clooney was hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnDec 25, 2003
Shocked to see the 0's as it was very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Oct 25, 2003
A fun and clever movie. Clooney & Zeta-Jones on the mark.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexK.Feb 10, 2004
As usual, another intelligently hilarious movie by the Coen brothers. If you like their style, then you will definitely like Intolerable Cruelty.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanB.Dec 1, 2005
Plot was a little hackneyed and smooth but Clooney gives such a great performance... and anyway, come on: everybody likes berries!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 26, 2007
A laugh riot. Also, a great looking film, resembling the romantic comedies of the 50's. George Clooney and Catherine Zeta-Jones make a wonderful pair. Cedric the Entertainer was hysterical. Good job, Coen brothers
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ricardodApr 13, 2009
Extremely funny, extremely smart and extremely well performed. worth it all the way. coen brothers, you did it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeM.Oct 16, 2003
Intolerable Cruelty will be near the top of the list of favorite Coen Brothers movies. George Clooney carries the comedic lead well but, the movie, may be hindered by major studio backing. It seems at times like they held back just a little. Intolerable Cruelty will be near the top of the list of favorite Coen Brothers movies. George Clooney carries the comedic lead well but, the movie, may be hindered by major studio backing. It seems at times like they held back just a little. It's filled with with the trademark memborable characters as with all Coen brothers movie (the old man, Whezzy Joe) and the humor that not everyone might not get but should enjoy. I was dissapointed they couldn't find parts for Turturro or Buschemi but I'll deal with it. This is not quite a Coen classic but it's close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WACKOJAKOOct 17, 2003
So far the must-see comedy of the season. My girl, Zeta-Jones, is as yummy as ever, and Clooney is as looney as in his better parts. The dialoge zizzles and the chemistry between the leads will leave you longing for a rematch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
XiongC.Oct 18, 2003
Full of the little touches that make great comedy -- the ball is always rolling. Z-J is looking good, and Clooney is devastating. The plot is authentic screwball, and if transparent, so what? It won't surprise you, but will make you Full of the little touches that make great comedy -- the ball is always rolling. Z-J is looking good, and Clooney is devastating. The plot is authentic screwball, and if transparent, so what? It won't surprise you, but will make you laugh. Has the kind of polish you don't often see anymore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeP.Feb 16, 2004
A solid screwball comedy, reminscient of the 30's movies starring Carole Lombard or Cary Grant. The Coen brothers have done better but still accomplish their goal, a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarlK.Dec 25, 2003
We laughed so hard we almost cried, and were still laughing two hours later in the pub...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SpangleFeb 20, 2016
I loved Intolerable Cruelty. Though the mass public was more mixed on this charmer from the Coen Brothers, I found it to be absolutely hilarious. It was an absolute riot and is yet another fantastic film from the duo. George Clooney andI loved Intolerable Cruelty. Though the mass public was more mixed on this charmer from the Coen Brothers, I found it to be absolutely hilarious. It was an absolute riot and is yet another fantastic film from the duo. George Clooney and Catherine Zeta-Jones are both great, as are Richard Jenkins, Paul Adelstein, and Cedric the Entertainer. Honestly, though not as great as Coen Brothers classics, such as Fargo or No Country for Old Men, the film still reaches for some serious highs by riding on the great writing and charming leads. While they have done better, this one is still highly enjoyable and absolutely hilarious as it touches on themes such as deceit, love, and marriage. Overall, a well made and well acted comedy that had me in stitches. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pablo6120Apr 21, 2016
Not many films make me belly-laugh, but this gem from the Coen brothers is what satire should be. Great casting, slick writing and a perverse slant all point at a superb flick; well worth seeking out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews