Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 10, 2003
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 63 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
22
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Pablo6120Apr 21, 2016
Not many films make me belly-laugh, but this gem from the Coen brothers is what satire should be. Great casting, slick writing and a perverse slant all point at a superb flick; well worth seeking out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleFeb 20, 2016
I loved Intolerable Cruelty. Though the mass public was more mixed on this charmer from the Coen Brothers, I found it to be absolutely hilarious. It was an absolute riot and is yet another fantastic film from the duo. George Clooney andI loved Intolerable Cruelty. Though the mass public was more mixed on this charmer from the Coen Brothers, I found it to be absolutely hilarious. It was an absolute riot and is yet another fantastic film from the duo. George Clooney and Catherine Zeta-Jones are both great, as are Richard Jenkins, Paul Adelstein, and Cedric the Entertainer. Honestly, though not as great as Coen Brothers classics, such as Fargo or No Country for Old Men, the film still reaches for some serious highs by riding on the great writing and charming leads. While they have done better, this one is still highly enjoyable and absolutely hilarious as it touches on themes such as deceit, love, and marriage. Overall, a well made and well acted comedy that had me in stitches. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TovenaarDec 9, 2014
There are some nice laugh-out-loud moments in this and it's good to see Catherine ZJ with her Welsh lilt counterbalancing the grey wolf :) A fun film with some pointed comments to make.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JamesNWAMar 8, 2011
It is safe to say that this film is not what I expected at all but it did have some elements that make it worthy of having a higher end score; those being George Clooney showing his comedic side and the addition of Catherine Zeta Jones. IIt is safe to say that this film is not what I expected at all but it did have some elements that make it worthy of having a higher end score; those being George Clooney showing his comedic side and the addition of Catherine Zeta Jones. I would perhaps rate it slightly higher if I didn't get distracted half way though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ricardodApr 13, 2009
Extremely funny, extremely smart and extremely well performed. worth it all the way. coen brothers, you did it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 26, 2007
A laugh riot. Also, a great looking film, resembling the romantic comedies of the 50's. George Clooney and Catherine Zeta-Jones make a wonderful pair. Cedric the Entertainer was hysterical. Good job, Coen brothers
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanB.Dec 1, 2005
Plot was a little hackneyed and smooth but Clooney gives such a great performance... and anyway, come on: everybody likes berries!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BarryB.Nov 13, 2003
Couldn't agree more with the nonprofessional critics. You know the ones like you and I who pay to see this crap. No chemistry at all between the two visons of pulchritude. Were they acting or playing themselves?
0 of 1 users found this helpful