Invictus

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 186

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. NikkoC.
    Feb 15, 2010
    1
    WOW!! Clint Eastwood's incomparable thirst for willful ignorance strikes again.... The real heroes of the 1995 world cup final were and always will be the All Blacks.... So much pressure (the only thing clint does get right) was indeed on mandela and the south africans that the heirachy of the SARFU and some government officials conspired to poison the all black rugby team. The food WOW!! Clint Eastwood's incomparable thirst for willful ignorance strikes again.... The real heroes of the 1995 world cup final were and always will be the All Blacks.... So much pressure (the only thing clint does get right) was indeed on mandela and the south africans that the heirachy of the SARFU and some government officials conspired to poison the all black rugby team. The food (at an 'event' organised for the team) was poisoned by a lady calling herself 'Suzie' - this is fact. To this day AB's coach Laurie Mains is haunted and bitter about it. Look at any footage of the game and you can see how ill the team was - jeff wilson visibly throwing up on the field as were others etc etc etc.... Lomu looked fine? He was..... he did not eat the dinner. But 12 of the team did. Yet somehow, courageously, the New Zealanders survived almost 100 minutes of rugby, away from home, in front of a crowd that only a decade earlier had not allowed Maori or people of colour to play for the all blacks in their country because they are hateful racists...and almost won it in extra time. Trust an american fool to see the story he would like to be true - and then make it as it suited him. When asked by a kiwi interviewer about this, clint interrupted and said, and I quote, "I have never even heard of this..... Iand suppose pigs are flying around the moon...".... What!!!??? He is not only a denier, but he had not even heard of it? That is appalling. It is general knowledge, unless you are, like a crooked cop, finding the evidence to suit the story you have in your head. I am genuinely disgusted. What else didn't happen Clint? The holocaust? Slavery? Hang your head old man. Expand
  2. JasonJ.
    Jan 26, 2010
    0
    They cheated and gave the All Blicks food posening. Shame on Cint for making such an untruth. its like making a movies where the enigma code was cracked by the yanks in WW2.
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    3
    Just reread William Ernest Henley's poem Invictus. Earnest indeed. It makes me think that the movie could just as well have been title Dickhead. I know that's unseemly but it does seem true.
  4. TonyN
    Jan 1, 2010
    3
    How could a movie about such an inspiring subject be so uninspiring? I'm not sure what critics and others are smoking, but I think the only reason this movie has received such good reviews is because Clint Eastwood directed it. I think the actors did whatever they could to save the movie (Morgan Freeman was great, and Matt Damon did the best he could to act despite his character How could a movie about such an inspiring subject be so uninspiring? I'm not sure what critics and others are smoking, but I think the only reason this movie has received such good reviews is because Clint Eastwood directed it. I think the actors did whatever they could to save the movie (Morgan Freeman was great, and Matt Damon did the best he could to act despite his character being highly underdeveloped), but ultimately Clint gave them no chance to shine or show the true depth of their characters. Overall, this movie had no dramatic elements to it, and it was very boring. Also, the rugby scenes were terrible and didn't really show the intensity of the sport at all. Way to jack this one up, Clint. Expand
  5. DonnieB
    Apr 3, 2010
    2
    (disappointed sigh) It is difficult to review these movies because if you say anything bad about a movie on racism, you are deemed a racist. I am not caucasian so I say this with all love of races in mind, this movie was terrible! The only bright spot was Morgan Freeman's performance as the president. He did phenominal! The movie was boring and the conflicts disapeared halfway (disappointed sigh) It is difficult to review these movies because if you say anything bad about a movie on racism, you are deemed a racist. I am not caucasian so I say this with all love of races in mind, this movie was terrible! The only bright spot was Morgan Freeman's performance as the president. He did phenominal! The movie was boring and the conflicts disapeared halfway throught the movie with no explanation. Nothing ever really changed on the Barney kids' (soccor team) part, but everyone celebrated as if something changed. They would extablish character traits and plot points that never paid off. Remember, I am not a racist, I just know that this movie was awful! Collapse
  6. KabirK
    Jan 5, 2010
    2
    The film did very little to educate us on the history of Mandela, and apartheid (it assumed the audience would know that already), and the performances were one-dimensional. I felt Damon and even Freeman to an extent were trying so hard to pull off the right accent, that the performance did not come through. I only wonder how many overdubs they had to do with the accents, but even so the The film did very little to educate us on the history of Mandela, and apartheid (it assumed the audience would know that already), and the performances were one-dimensional. I felt Damon and even Freeman to an extent were trying so hard to pull off the right accent, that the performance did not come through. I only wonder how many overdubs they had to do with the accents, but even so the performances were boring and there was hardly ANY real conflict shown. Visually underwhelming, and surprisingly amateur in its execution. I had high hopes and an open mind, but left feeling cheated and not entertained. Expand
  7. CaptainObvious
    Feb 3, 2010
    2
    A ham-fisted, Disneyfied, plodding, schmaltzy attempt at a film. The rugby scenes were very poorly done and lacked any excitement. 2 stars out of ten for the efforts from Freeman and Damon in the face of a terrible script and directing. Yes, we all got the message because the film was completely lacking in any sort of accuracy or subtlety. "Yay! Everyone's friends again. Kumbayah!"
  8. DecM
    Feb 4, 2010
    2
    Very disappointing, no real tension in the film, glossed over the facts of the time in South Africa. Freeman was made for this role, but Damon did not stand out at all. Really expected a more rousing performance, no stand out speech or team boosting outbursts. The actual games looked terrible as with the stadium, Eastwood shouldn't do sport, particularily sport he doesn't know. Very disappointing, no real tension in the film, glossed over the facts of the time in South Africa. Freeman was made for this role, but Damon did not stand out at all. Really expected a more rousing performance, no stand out speech or team boosting outbursts. The actual games looked terrible as with the stadium, Eastwood shouldn't do sport, particularily sport he doesn't know. Think this was too much aimed at an American audience that knows nothing about South Africa or rugby. Expand
  9. Myself
    Dec 11, 2009
    1
    Very pointless. That's all.
  10. PatH
    Dec 12, 2009
    3
    Bottom line is that everything besides Morgan Freeman's acting is average to awful. Matt Damon doesn't do a terrible job, but his character is utterly boring. The lines fail in their attempt to evoke emotions and are often cheesy. The movie often brings up certain information, such as Mandela's separation from his wife and family or him collapsing from exhaustion at one Bottom line is that everything besides Morgan Freeman's acting is average to awful. Matt Damon doesn't do a terrible job, but his character is utterly boring. The lines fail in their attempt to evoke emotions and are often cheesy. The movie often brings up certain information, such as Mandela's separation from his wife and family or him collapsing from exhaustion at one point, only once or twice and never goes in depth into any of it. The rugby stadium is so obviously fake that it should make you laugh. In general, the movie just didn't convince me that a rugby team could just singlehandedly unite a nation, probably because it can't. Expand
  11. michaeld.
    Dec 23, 2009
    3
    I have to say i thought this was just about the most conservative and reactionary take on mandela that i can imagine. mandela, a true revolutionary hero, is characterized as someone whose supreme accomplishment is to support a nearly all-white rugby team. i don't like the message of this movie. this sort of politics is why south Africa with all its resources, even after revolution, I have to say i thought this was just about the most conservative and reactionary take on mandela that i can imagine. mandela, a true revolutionary hero, is characterized as someone whose supreme accomplishment is to support a nearly all-white rugby team. i don't like the message of this movie. this sort of politics is why south Africa with all its resources, even after revolution, is still owned by foreign multinationals, and the people are dirt poor. i expected more of mr. eastwood, very glib and empty movie on nelson mandela. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    70
    The wonder of Invictus is that it actually went down this way.
  2. A temperate, evenhanded perhaps overly timid film about an intemperate time in South Africa.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    80
    Damon, beefed up for the occasion, makes Pienaar a stalwart yet courtly figure. Freeman infuses Mandela's speeches with the same gentleness and gravity he's brought to his numerous God roles and the Visa Olympics commercials. But the real deity here is Eastwood, still chugging away handsomely in his 80th year.