Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 7, 2010
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 947 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
522
Mixed:
344
Negative:
81
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
AustinTMay 22, 2010
I found this film to be highly disappointing. When I saw the first Iron Man, I was blown away by it. It was an epic, action packed adventure. Which included an excellent, easy to follow script and a great, entertaining story. One of the best I found this film to be highly disappointing. When I saw the first Iron Man, I was blown away by it. It was an epic, action packed adventure. Which included an excellent, easy to follow script and a great, entertaining story. One of the best super hero movies I had ever seen. This movie however couldn Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
zombiehampsterNov 15, 2010
I was pretty bored to tears while watching this movie. It's a real shame since the first one had some nice moments to it, the film just stays within the constraints of those people who would be satisfied with classifying everyI was pretty bored to tears while watching this movie. It's a real shame since the first one had some nice moments to it, the film just stays within the constraints of those people who would be satisfied with classifying every no-brain-required movie as "hey, it's just entertainment". Once again it could have more than the sum of its highly expensive parts and give us something other than by-the-book action sequence after sequence. Stark is pretty much the same except that now he has a bit of angst, but don't worry that's quickly solved by some BS that the writers threw in to wrap things up quite nicely. Nothing has importance or impact, and I was just waiting for the happy ending that inevitably followed. The only glimmer of light in the whole movie was Mickey Rourkes and Sam Rockwells performance. Let's end these superhero movies while we still have some diginity...or take a freakin leap of faith and someone start writing better ones instead. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
BillMay 30, 2010
Felt promising for the first 15 minutes or so, then it just didn't go anywhere. There was absolutely no suspense, no payoffs, no real emotion, not even any good laughs. To top it all off the film had some of the most boring action Felt promising for the first 15 minutes or so, then it just didn't go anywhere. There was absolutely no suspense, no payoffs, no real emotion, not even any good laughs. To top it all off the film had some of the most boring action sequences I've seen in a recent superhero movie, and surprisingly few at that. It was as if the entire thing was just filler. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
santosxFeb 29, 2012
Its a 2 hour movie with what feels like 15 minutes action. Endless babbling plus a bad story. Waste of time except for kids. Great animations though. Its probably a good movie for the youngest.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
SteveMay 17, 2010
This movie was stupid. I dare anyone out there, including the script writers, to tell me what the point of the movie was. There are some dorky references to other super heroes, some things that seem like inside jokes to the geeks that think This movie was stupid. I dare anyone out there, including the script writers, to tell me what the point of the movie was. There are some dorky references to other super heroes, some things that seem like inside jokes to the geeks that think their comics are "good source material." The hero doesn't risk anything, nothing is lost, he's never really threatened by the villains, every problem was resolved easily and required no cleverness. SPOILER: Building a particle accelerator in your basement and creating a new element to fix his heart device is stupid - it's not even a level that Star Trek writers would sink to. Sam Jackson's side plot was distracting and pointless. The jokes were L-A-M-E...like tongue-in-cheek 1960's Batman lame. The only thing I can say good about Iron Man 2 is that Downy Jr. and Rourke are good at what they do. But I have a feeling if they weren't recovering drug addicts, we wouldn't be rooting for a 45 year old alcoholic corporate superhero fighting a 58 year old vodka-drinking villain. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JmieCMay 26, 2010
The movie was almost totally devoid of true excitement and tension. The closest it came to a a thrilling scene was the Monaco face off with Whiplash but that was over very quickly and what follows is largely a CGI-fest that was silly and The movie was almost totally devoid of true excitement and tension. The closest it came to a a thrilling scene was the Monaco face off with Whiplash but that was over very quickly and what follows is largely a CGI-fest that was silly and boring. Very disappointing sequel. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
moviefanOct 4, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a let down, I thought the first movie was pretty good (except for the fact that Iron man gets his %$# kicked by the bad guy and then defeats him without the need of his iron man powers!). The action scenes were boiler plate stuff, nothing special, the final battle was short and lame, and Downy's character was just plain annoying throughout the movie, and yes, once again Iron Man could not beat the bad guy with his Iron Man suit, he needs help this time around. Glad I waited to rent it! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
chachiOct 6, 2010
a big disappointment yet again all the summer blockbusters are overhyped rubbish as usual the sequel is not nearly as good as the first.All of us wait in anticipation and for what?
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
bubbaOct 8, 2010
terrible, just awful. the clever discovery and good action and characters and humor and everything else from the great first movie is replaced by pure stupidity and disappointment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
Robbie111222Mar 5, 2011
When ironman 2 started I thought wow impressive, the effects were quite impressive, but then the story ends up spoiled, like a pair of spiked pants. The whole it becomes alot disorientational and uninspiring, I mean what the hell is going
On
When ironman 2 started I thought wow impressive, the effects were quite impressive, but then the story ends up spoiled, like a pair of spiked pants. The whole it becomes alot disorientational and uninspiring, I mean what the hell is going
On here.
Stark himself is a **** guy, suit gets robbed, drones, the wrestler with whips lmao seriously get a grip.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKE: After the success of their first Iron Man, Marvel rushed to make a sequel - and it shows. What's good? The action scenes are okay (especially the Monaco scene), as is the overall plot, and the same cast appear on point andWHAT I LIKE: After the success of their first Iron Man, Marvel rushed to make a sequel - and it shows. What's good? The action scenes are okay (especially the Monaco scene), as is the overall plot, and the same cast appear on point and excellent again.
WHAT I DON'T LIKE: This is a genuinely poor film on so many levels. The first act is forgettable and only really serves to logistically set up seeds for the rest of the movie. The second? You get to see Iron Man protrayed in an oddly comical and horribble way, it actually makes you angry... Act 3? A long, dull action scene unfolds with a distinct lack of humour where it's needed, plus a distinct lack of Terrence Howard. Really Marvel, you should have taken the time to get this one right.
VERDICT: A completely soleless and dull sequel to the fantastic 'Iron Man,' the second film does little to impress. Shame - the trailers looked rather promising.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
egovirusOct 25, 2010
Paycheck movie extraordinaire.
Just awful. RDjr's and Don Cheadle's talents are utterly wasted on this exercise in big budget Hollywood garbage. Gwynth Paltrow has no talent, so she's well within her element here. The writing is so
Paycheck movie extraordinaire.
Just awful. RDjr's and Don Cheadle's talents are utterly wasted on this exercise in big budget Hollywood garbage. Gwynth Paltrow has no talent, so she's well within her element here. The writing is so uninspired, and the BIG part Jon Favreau plays is frankly lame, and not a little self serving. Where were the editors on this movie too, because it has massive balance problems, and endless filler scenes? This was no doubt a bridging movie to get us into the much vaunted trilogy territory. If there is an I.M.3, and it seems impossible there won't be, you can count me out.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DarthCriticNov 30, 2010
This movie is a dud. It's just as bad as "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen." Mickey Rourke as a Russian scientist? Give me a break, or at least my money back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CharlesthrowerMar 10, 2017
Iron Man 2 sucks. It is quite annoying to see Tony Stark drunk dancing around in the Iron Man suit that completely takes away from the vibe of Iron Man being a superhero. Also seeing Lieutenant Rhodes flying around in the Iron Man suit reallyIron Man 2 sucks. It is quite annoying to see Tony Stark drunk dancing around in the Iron Man suit that completely takes away from the vibe of Iron Man being a superhero. Also seeing Lieutenant Rhodes flying around in the Iron Man suit really sucks. They should have let Tony Stark be the only person in the movie wearing the Iron Man suit. Seeing other people in it really sucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
coloradosnowmanMar 28, 2016
Proof that while Downey deserves due credit for being the only actor who could take on the role of Tony Stark, Iron Man 2, much like Iron Man 3, shows that the franchise doesn't work well with Tony as a stand alone character, and there's onlyProof that while Downey deserves due credit for being the only actor who could take on the role of Tony Stark, Iron Man 2, much like Iron Man 3, shows that the franchise doesn't work well with Tony as a stand alone character, and there's only so many gimmicks a movie can throw at the audience before if gets tiring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
nahtan1244Feb 24, 2016
I didn't like this movie. Sorry guys. It just din't work for me. Robert downey junior was trying so hard to save this movie from the catastrophe it was but he just couldn't The war machine was cool but after a very good first movie this oneI didn't like this movie. Sorry guys. It just din't work for me. Robert downey junior was trying so hard to save this movie from the catastrophe it was but he just couldn't The war machine was cool but after a very good first movie this one is laughably bad. The villain is a joke and the story this movie was given didn't do much for me. The scrip and most of the acting is way off from the first This movie just was not very good. The fight scene with war machine was good but that and Robert downy juniors performance cannot save this movie. I think this movie will go down as one of the most hated iron man sequls Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
superbatAug 20, 2016
Everything that made the prequel great is thrown out of the window for the sequel. I began to dislike Downey Jr as an actor after watching this. His co-stars were able to outshine him, and at times the film is very boring. A very big disappointment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MovieLover123Jul 17, 2016
Incoherent plot, incredibly childish characters, and another generic villain that is bad simply because the plot needs one. And these "critics" say the plot in BvS are incoherent. What is coherent about this story? Seriously, can someoneIncoherent plot, incredibly childish characters, and another generic villain that is bad simply because the plot needs one. And these "critics" say the plot in BvS are incoherent. What is coherent about this story? Seriously, can someone explain the plot of this movie to me. The MCU: we create mediocre movies with a comedic edge and "critics" simply love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
NaanFreezerFeb 23, 2017
With the huge success of the first movie, you would've thought that this one could live up to that acclaim. WRONG. If Marvel is going to be a bunch of biased elitists and give the same character TWO solo movies before the first Avengers filmWith the huge success of the first movie, you would've thought that this one could live up to that acclaim. WRONG. If Marvel is going to be a bunch of biased elitists and give the same character TWO solo movies before the first Avengers film (which NO OTHER character in the MCU got), then they could at least try to make it enjoyable. Alas, IM 2 was a boring, inconsistent, cliche, bland film that I literally almost fell asleep in the middle of. If you are planning on doing an MCU marathon and watching all of its movies, make sure to skip this one for your own good and happiness. Thumbs down Marvel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
fadithebeastJan 19, 2017
Disappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess withDisappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess with not even half way through the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ammeooJan 20, 2017
This movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out ofThis movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out of amateur movie goers rather than make something that should critically make sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews