Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 687 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In Iron Man 2, the world is aware that billionaire inventor Tony Stark is the armored super hero, Iron Man. Under pressure from the government, the press and the public to share his technology with the military, Tony is unwilling to divulge the secrets behind the Iron Man armor because he fears the information will slip into the wrong hands. With Pepper Potts and James "Rhodey" Rhodes at his side, Tony forges new alliances and confronts powerful new forces. (Paramount Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Iron Man 2 sets gold standard for sequels thanks to Robert Downey Jr.'s Stark performance.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Starkey
    75
    Like the original, Iron Man 2 is a good time from start to finish.
  3. Fans of the first will not be bored. This Iron Man may not be the Godfather II of comic book movie sequels critics hope for but it is a complete blast anyway.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    60
    Rourke and Rockwell make satisfying, complementary villains, while Downey Jr. delivers again. Shame this sequel feels inessential, over-busy and a little, well, mechanical. Nothing they can’t put right for Iron Man 3.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    50
    A better-than-average follow-up, but Tony doesn't suit up enough.
  6. 50
    Yes, yes, yes, Downey is blasé, intelligent and hilarious as Tony Stark -- what do you expect me to say? -- but I'm convinced that sticking with this character much longer won't be good for him.
  7. Well, that didn't take long. Everything fun and terrific about "Iron Man," a mere two years ago, has vanished with its sequel. In its place, Iron Man 2 has substituted noise, confusion, multiple villains, irrelevant stunts and misguided story lines.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 153
  1. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Sure, it isn't The Dark Knight, but its the near-perfect blend of action, drama and humor that makes Iron Man 2, one of the best comic-book films of all-time, and undoubtedly, one of this year's best films as well. A 10/10. Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2010
    9
    I quite liked it. A couple of plot holes (like, if Scarlet Johanssen could hack Rhodey's suit from the Hammer terminal, why couldn't she call off the drones, etc), but all in all a fun, enjoyable movie, and I thought everyone onscreen turned in great performances.

    The complaints about confusing plots and multiple villains are really pretty laughable. The first had multiple villains, and the plot is pretty straightforward assuming you were kind enough to leave a little paste uneaten in grade school.
    Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    Although the first movie was much better, this was still a lot of fun! Highly recommended for all to see. Don't forget to see Robert Downey Jr. in Sherlock Holmes, too! Expand
  4. JacobL
    Jun 5, 2010
    7
    I like super hero movies and I liked the first Iron man. After hearing all the hype and after numerous interferences I was finally able to check Iron Man out. AFter seeing it all I can say is that it was worth seeing but it wasn't as gripping as the first one. Iron Man 2 picks up shortly after the previous film The government is either considering Iron Man a threat or they want him to hand over the suit;but that's not that important. Also, there is a new villain on the scene called Ivan. On top of that Tony is dying. Here's my take on the story. The whole dying thing is interesting but it never really feels that critical. Now that the bad is out of the way lets talk about the good. Ivan is an awesome villain. The actor who plays him does a great job at bringing the character to life and making him interesting. On top of that, the villain's motivation is much more clear that the previous one's. As far as action goes the movie does not disappoint. All the action was awesome. However, I couldn't really get into. This was due either to the fact that I'm more mature or the fact that people were talking during the movie. Either way I was still able to enjoy the action but wasn't fully engrossed in it. One final thing I'd like to bring up is as always Robert Downey Jr. gives a spectacular performance creating a like able protagonist thats interesting. All and all Iron Man 2 is a good movie. The characters are interesting and the action is good. What prevents it from getting the solid 10/10 is the fact that it didn't suck me in as well as the first. Long story short if you liked the first Iron Man go see this one;but, if you didn't like the first one then don't see the sequel because it won't change your mind. P.S. For those of you who decide to see it, make sure that your expectations aren't set too high because if they are then this movie will probably disappoint you 5x more than it did for me. Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2011
    6
    I find exactly what I expected, and that was exactly what I found in the first part. It's fun, entertaining, and compared to other recent action movies of this kind, has much more sense and not having that many absurd action scenes of those you sometimes don't even know what's happening. Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    5
    I was so bored when I went to see this at the movie theatre. It never really caught my interest or kept me entertained the whole time and the only really cool part was when Micky Rourke was attacking the race cars with his scorpion whips. Other than the boredom of it, everything else was fine. The acting, dialogue, and the special effects are why I did not give it a 4. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a let down, I thought the first movie was pretty good (except for the fact that Iron man gets his %$# kicked by the bad guy and then defeats him without the need of his iron man powers!). The action scenes were boiler plate stuff, nothing special, the final battle was short and lame, and Downy's character was just plain annoying throughout the movie, and yes, once again Iron Man could not beat the bad guy with his Iron Man suit, he needs help this time around. Glad I waited to rent it! Expand

See all 153 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Iron Man 2 vs. Other Superhero Sequels

    Iron Man 2 vs. Other Superhero Sequels Image
    Published: May 6, 2010
    How does "Iron Man 2" compare to the first "Iron Man," and how have other superhero sequels performed in the past?