Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 732 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In Iron Man 2, the world is aware that billionaire inventor Tony Stark is the armored super hero, Iron Man. Under pressure from the government, the press and the public to share his technology with the military, Tony is unwilling to divulge the secrets behind the Iron Man armor because heIn Iron Man 2, the world is aware that billionaire inventor Tony Stark is the armored super hero, Iron Man. Under pressure from the government, the press and the public to share his technology with the military, Tony is unwilling to divulge the secrets behind the Iron Man armor because he fears the information will slip into the wrong hands. With Pepper Potts and James "Rhodey" Rhodes at his side, Tony forges new alliances and confronts powerful new forces. (Paramount Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Iron Man 2 sets gold standard for sequels thanks to Robert Downey Jr.'s Stark performance.
  2. 75
    A polished, high-ozone sequel, not as good as the original but building once again on a quirky performance by Robert Downey Jr.
  3. It doesn’t come close to the emotional heft of those two rare 2s that outclassed their ones: Superman 2 and Spider-Man 2. But Iron Man 2 hums along quite nicely.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    60
    Rourke and Rockwell make satisfying, complementary villains, while Downey Jr. delivers again. Shame this sequel feels inessential, over-busy and a little, well, mechanical. Nothing they can’t put right for Iron Man 3.
  5. 50
    The first third is terrific...After that the movie settles into a series of ho-hum conflicts and complications, and the requisite slam-bang ending is perfunctory at best.
  6. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    50
    A better-than-average follow-up, but Tony doesn't suit up enough.
  7. Well, that didn't take long. Everything fun and terrific about "Iron Man," a mere two years ago, has vanished with its sequel. In its place, Iron Man 2 has substituted noise, confusion, multiple villains, irrelevant stunts and misguided story lines.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 164
  1. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Sure, it isn't The Dark Knight, but its the near-perfect blend of action, drama and humor that makes Iron Man 2, one of the best comic-bookSure, it isn't The Dark Knight, but its the near-perfect blend of action, drama and humor that makes Iron Man 2, one of the best comic-book films of all-time, and undoubtedly, one of this year's best films as well. A 10/10. Expand
  2. BKL
    Nov 5, 2010
    9
    Iron Man yet again rocks the house in this hair raising thriller when he faces his newest rival, Ivan Vanko. With better effects, sound,Iron Man yet again rocks the house in this hair raising thriller when he faces his newest rival, Ivan Vanko. With better effects, sound, picture, & action, Iron Man 2 will have you wanting more before the credits even roll. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    Iron Man 2 is a very good superhero film. The action scenes are pretty awesome,the story gets very well,but for my letdown size is that itIron Man 2 is a very good superhero film. The action scenes are pretty awesome,the story gets very well,but for my letdown size is that it gets too much corky scenes and it has dumbest dialogues for getting over the top. Mickey Rourke was so awesome as Whiplash,that will be my favorite villain in my top. Scarlett Johansson was awesome as Black Widow and she's kind of hot in the way,but far the hottest marvel chick ever! Don Cheadle did good,but the same person like Terrence Howard does,but I prefer Howard better. Robert Downey Jr. plays very good,but not much as good since the first one. I've just seen him every scene that gets more dumber and to be so stupid in the way and like I said it's more over the top and even gets weirder. So I really like this movie,but I heart times that I love is the first Iron Man movie that I always love to watch. But enjoy,not bad but in the good way. Expand
  4. JacobL
    Jun 5, 2010
    7
    I like super hero movies and I liked the first Iron man. After hearing all the hype and after numerous interferences I was finally able to I like super hero movies and I liked the first Iron man. After hearing all the hype and after numerous interferences I was finally able to check Iron Man out. AFter seeing it all I can say is that it was worth seeing but it wasn't as gripping as the first one. Iron Man 2 picks up shortly after the previous film The government is either considering Iron Man a threat or they want him to hand over the suit;but that's not that important. Also, there is a new villain on the scene called Ivan. On top of that Tony is dying. Here's my take on the story. The whole dying thing is interesting but it never really feels that critical. Now that the bad is out of the way lets talk about the good. Ivan is an awesome villain. The actor who plays him does a great job at bringing the character to life and making him interesting. On top of that, the villain's motivation is much more clear that the previous one's. As far as action goes the movie does not disappoint. All the action was awesome. However, I couldn't really get into. This was due either to the fact that I'm more mature or the fact that people were talking during the movie. Either way I was still able to enjoy the action but wasn't fully engrossed in it. One final thing I'd like to bring up is as always Robert Downey Jr. gives a spectacular performance creating a like able protagonist thats interesting. All and all Iron Man 2 is a good movie. The characters are interesting and the action is good. What prevents it from getting the solid 10/10 is the fact that it didn't suck me in as well as the first. Long story short if you liked the first Iron Man go see this one;but, if you didn't like the first one then don't see the sequel because it won't change your mind. P.S. For those of you who decide to see it, make sure that your expectations aren't set too high because if they are then this movie will probably disappoint you 5x more than it did for me. Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2011
    6
    I find exactly what I expected, and that was exactly what I found in the first part. It's fun, entertaining, and compared to other recentI find exactly what I expected, and that was exactly what I found in the first part. It's fun, entertaining, and compared to other recent action movies of this kind, has much more sense and not having that many absurd action scenes of those you sometimes don't even know what's happening. Collapse
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    5
    After the excitement that was the first Iron Man, the sequel contributes little of anything notable. The story is simply not as entertainingAfter the excitement that was the first Iron Man, the sequel contributes little of anything notable. The story is simply not as entertaining and the action not as captivating as before. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a let down, I thought the first movie was pretty good (except for the fact that Iron man gets his %$# kicked by the bad guy and then defeats him without the need of his iron man powers!). The action scenes were boiler plate stuff, nothing special, the final battle was short and lame, and Downy's character was just plain annoying throughout the movie, and yes, once again Iron Man could not beat the bad guy with his Iron Man suit, he needs help this time around. Glad I waited to rent it! Expand

See all 164 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Iron Man 2 vs. Other Superhero Sequels

    Iron Man 2 vs. Other Superhero Sequels Image
    Published: May 6, 2010
    How does "Iron Man 2" compare to the first "Iron Man," and how have other superhero sequels performed in the past?