Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 1, 2013
    70
    Downey is as funny as ever, if not more so. He ensures that Iron Man 3 is a solid installment in the franchise, and helps to make it seem, at least for a time, that it might be something more.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 1, 2013
    63
    The best scenes are when Stark just cuts impatiently through the claptrap.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 2, 2013
    75
    The balance between human interaction and mechanical mayhem works well until the end, when flying suits and exploding bodies fill the screen.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    May 1, 2013
    88
    Thanks to Downey’s genius, Iron Man 3 is equally terrific, whether Tony’s fending off an army of villains or bantering with a kid in a shed on a cold, snowy night.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    May 1, 2013
    63
    It's not without its payoffs; I enjoyed a lot of it. But overall last year's "Avengers" delivered the bombastic goods more efficiently than this year's Marvel.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Apr 25, 2013
    80
    Black proves the perfect blacksmith, forging smart new tech and scenarios for the swaggering super-genius. If this does turn out to be Downey Jr.’s final solo outing, it’s a very strong exit.
  7. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 1, 2013
    91
    Iron Man 3 is an ominously exciting, shoot-the-works comic-book spectacular.
  8. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Apr 28, 2013
    83
    Downey, Jr. remains a rightfully cherished smartass figure, having as much a ball with Black’s one-liners as he had in “KKBB,” and he sells Tony’s newfound post-traumatic vulnerability more credibly than the film does.
  9. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    May 2, 2013
    70
    Black and company throw all kinds of stuff at the audience, and though it doesn't all work, a lot of it does and the attempt to be different and create unguessable twists is always appreciated.
  10. 63
    The broad, goofy jokes and one-liners land — even if they feel a little winded, this time.
  11. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 2, 2013
    63
    Marvel Studios will only be able to draw from this well only so many times, though, before fatigue sets in.
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 30, 2013
    80
    It sharply fuses the humor and heart of the earlier films with a satisfyingly heavy-metal strength — and a darkness that’s more than earned.
  13. 70
    At least this time "Goopy" Paltrow gets to perform a few superheroics herself, along with enduring some heavy-duty torture that’s bound to please her haters — for whom the sight of the top of her face being peeled off in "Contagion" was like Christmas in July.
  14. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    May 2, 2013
    63
    A big, kabooming sequel that plays sleight-of-hand with its audience.
  15. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    May 2, 2013
    75
    It's solidly entertaining, with Downey's roguish charm as appealing as ever.
  16. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 2, 2013
    75
    Iron Man 3 has the stuff to please the devotees and divert everyone else, which is pretty much what's expected from the curtain-raiser of any summer season.
  17. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 11, 2013
    63
    Iron Man 3 builds on the first film's political cynicism by suggesting that politicians and arms dealers dream up foreign policy crises to consolidate power and make money, but it doesn't develop this notion in detail, because if it did, the audience would tune out.
  18. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    May 2, 2013
    63
    For all the clanking armies of iron knights on display to dazzle the eager kid in each of us, this summer epic rings hollow. There's no one home inside the suit.
  19. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    May 2, 2013
    70
    As far as bored and cynical, playing-out-the-string comic-book action sequels go – hey, Iron Man 3 is a pretty good one!
  20. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Apr 30, 2013
    88
    A madly creative, darkly comical, and fiendishly self-aware actioner with muscle to spare.
  21. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 2, 2013
    67
    Iron Man 3 is missing that old Tony Stark spark. Not from Robert Downey Jr., who is still the best thing about this overblown show.
  22. 63
    The real question for audiences isn’t whether Tony Stark/Iron Man defeats the latest supervillain (of course he does), but whether the movie itself rises above the dreaded third-in-a-sequel torpor of "Spider-Man" and "The Dark Knight." Spoiler alert: Yes, mostly, it does.
  23. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Iron Man 3 is smart, funny and spectacular.
  24. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Apr 23, 2013
    80
    Black and his co-screenwriter, first-timer Drew Pearce, have great fun reshuffling the deck, teasing about who might occupy what superhero suit and morphing the story along with identity revelations and expansions of the dramatic horizons; the well-chosen cast members respond in kind with virtually palpable glee.
  25. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Apr 23, 2013
    75
    For all the film's flaws, Black brings enough to the table that it's far from a chore, and if this level of ingenuity and surprise can be maintained, there'll be no need for Tony to hang up his Iron Man helmet any time soon.
  26. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Black has an instinctive feel for balancing action set-pieces against the passages of soap-opera that are required to make them matter.
  27. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    May 1, 2013
    80
    Besides rehabbing a hero who overcomes anxiety to save the world and defeat the terror-industrial complex by the simple matter of cloning his body armor, the movie proves that there’s still intelligent life on Planet Marvel. As you’re propelled out of the theater on IM3′s hydraulic lift of pleasures, you’re likely to say, “That is how it’s done.”
  28. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Apr 25, 2013
    80
    Funny, twisty and thrilling, this is shellhead’s most entertaining solo flight to date. It’s also an impressive pace-setter for this summer’s barrage of big movies.
  29. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 2, 2013
    75
    The rambunctious Iron Man 3 is a briskly paced thrill ride until about 90 minutes in, when the excitement wanes. A few late-breaking surprises re-invigorate the tale, however.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1749 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 466
  1. May 4, 2013
    0
    I've never felt so cheated after watching that trailer. I realise that a trailer is not an abridged version of a film, but when I seen theI've never felt so cheated after watching that trailer. I realise that a trailer is not an abridged version of a film, but when I seen the trailer to Iron Man 3 it set a certain expectation for the Mandarin, for Tony Stark but it totally does not deliver at all, and to be completely honest I almost walked out at the end such was the ridiculous finale. When I got home I watched the trailer again and it;s like it was made for a different film.

    If this is our first look at Phase 2 I'm concerned. Iron Man 3 shows franchise fatigue, it felt stretched, rushed, basically like a Brett Ratner film. Expect something more like Rush Hour than an Iron Man film.

    Credit to Marvel for at least trying to concentrate on Tony Stark's inner demons, the problem for me was how the film presents that. Instead of intertwining the action and human (Stark inner demon) elements into a finely crafted whole film it is more like each element is fighting for screen time, at odds with each other. There is another problem with the parts where Tony is trying to get over his experience in New York (Avengers), Robert Downey Jr has so many wise cracks and laughs the serious bits come off as funny, and not in a good way. I think these problems are less about RDJ's acting and more with how Marvel has marketed Iron Man from the first film; as family friendly entertainment, not the darker exploration of an alcoholic come hero from the comics (but hey they can always reboot right?).

    Now on to what they did with the Mandarin, I have no idea how they got Marvel to sign off on making one of Iron Man's greatest villains into a joke. I read that the Mandrin is to Iron Man what the Joker is to Batman, but after watching this you would never know that. I've never witnessed such a disregard for a property and disrespect than what Marvel has done to this character and fans about what Fox does to X-Men? This is on another level of insult lol

    A sorry excuse for a super hero movie, more an action comedy (Lethal Weapon, Rush Hour etc).
    Full Review »
  2. May 3, 2013
    9
    This is what i love about america... so many people hate our country but love our movies, music, and video games. Well this movie is gold, iThis is what i love about america... so many people hate our country but love our movies, music, and video games. Well this movie is gold, i loved it from start to finish. it is true that the mandarin isn't like the comic book one but in the dark knight rises bane isnt either so yeah shut up! please see this amazing movie this weekend so it proves that iron man is the hero and king of the american box office Full Review »
  3. May 3, 2013
    5
    This is a big disappointment, they totally ruined a beloved villain and a big slap in the face of fans. The movie has lots of issues, like whyThis is a big disappointment, they totally ruined a beloved villain and a big slap in the face of fans. The movie has lots of issues, like why can the extremis infused bad guys damage Iron Man so easily, while Thor had issues with it... He is the god of thunder! And the action is mostly just Tony Stark messing about, some of it is good, but what we really want to see is Iron Man in action, and not remote controlled.
    Even the best action scene in the movie is not done by Tony Stark as the Iron Man, it is done by Pepper.... There are some good parts, the story is more personal and there is a kid in it that is not annoying for ones. There is lots of humor, even the worst part of the movie is still funny and the special effects are good. I did sit through the whole movie, but it is the first Marvel movie I doubt I would want to watch again, as there is nothing really re watchable about it.
    Full Review »