Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1623 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Iron Man 3 pits brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark/Iron Man against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy’s hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible. This journey, at every turn, will test his mettle. With his back against the wall, Stark is left to survive by his own devices, relying on his ingenuity and instincts to protect those closest to him. As he fights his way back, Stark discovers the answer to the question that has secretly haunted him: does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man? [Marvel Studios] Expand
  • Director: Shane Black
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller, Fantasy
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 130 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 1, 2013
    91
    Iron Man 3 is an ominously exciting, shoot-the-works comic-book spectacular.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Iron Man 3 is smart, funny and spectacular.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 30, 2013
    80
    It sharply fuses the humor and heart of the earlier films with a satisfyingly heavy-metal strength — and a darkness that’s more than earned.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 1, 2013
    63
    The best scenes are when Stark just cuts impatiently through the claptrap.
  5. 63
    The real question for audiences isn’t whether Tony Stark/Iron Man defeats the latest supervillain (of course he does), but whether the movie itself rises above the dreaded third-in-a-sequel torpor of "Spider-Man" and "The Dark Knight." Spoiler alert: Yes, mostly, it does.
  6. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    May 1, 2013
    58
    Here, it’s hard not to wish Downey were sparring with his costumed comrades again, instead of trading barbs with the far-less-colorful cast members — old and new — of this busy, sporadically diverting sequel.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 30, 2013
    38
    The villains are all wrong, the motivations are muddy, even the gadgetry is off. And the swaggering genius at the center of it all has become a preening fool.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 442
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So first of all, I want to say that I loved this movie, but I do get the hate on it, for it's controversial plottwist.
    But there are some reasons why some fanboys shoud NOT be so angry about it;
    - first of all, the fake mandarin was set up, to not set up a racist stereotype and more of like a fun character.
    - aldrich killian revealed that he was the real mandarin, he even had some dragontattoos across his chest.
    - a big part of the fanbase was angry at Tony throwing his arc reactor away at the end, but Tony states that he is still Iron Man and he picks up one of the extremis holders, which will likely mean that he will build an extremis suit, powered by repulsor technology (which has also been confirmed as the new energysource for the suits.) and this will set up a suit that will allow Tony to go into space with it, and this will probably set up the bridge between guardians of the galaxy and avengers 2.

    so for me this was a very good movie, and I think they've done a great job with expanding the MCU even further
    Expand
  2. May 4, 2013
    9
    Iron Man 3 is an amazing, funny, and action-packed film that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Now, I never read any of the comics, so I don't know if they portrayed any of the characters wrong, so please forgive me. Iron Man 3 amazes and keeps you laughing your entire showtime, although it is over 2 hours, it never leaves you bored. Every thing is great from start to finish. Now the reason I don't give Iron Man 3 a full 10 is because a few scenes kind of felt like they were put in there just for laughs, although they were great and I laughed till I cried, it sort of drifted just a little away from the story and left you wondering why they put that in there. Iron Man 3 is a terrific movie and I want you to go see it today, if you've already seen it, see it again. Expand
  3. May 3, 2013
    8
    Iron Man 3 was an incredibly entertaining and clever movie. That said, like most superhero movies, it's a popcorn film, the kind where you simply sit back and enjoy the ride. And I3 certainly is a fun ride. Expand
  4. May 15, 2013
    6
    Iron Man 3 had a lot of expectations. The second sequel to a hugely profitable franchise, this movie had some big shoes to fill. And the shoe fits, but not very comfortably. Robert Downey Jr. is excellent as usual, playing Tony Stark with such ease and smoothness that he just might save this movie. Iron Man 3 has more packed into its running time than the other movies. More action (or more violent action), more family friendly-parts, and more about Stark. But I feel like the plot is missing too much... explanation. I felt really confused with what was going on at times. I wish that the screenplay was better, but Downey really saved this film. I would say that it's worth your time, but not if you're going into it with a negative connotation. Expand
  5. May 4, 2013
    6
    I am not gonna jump on here to disgrace this film in anyway what so ever. It was not a horrible movie, however it was not the best Iron Man, or comic based story for that matter. It began interestingly enough, then the story became weak throughout, and the character development was...lacking. I was really hoping they would build on Stark's problems a little more. I had also wished that they really played around with the relationship between Pepper and Stark more than they did. In the end it is a film worth seeing if you are a fan, but remember you aren't looking at a film masterpiece. In my personal opinion Iron Man, The Avengers, and X-Men: First Class were the best Marvel films as of recent. I felt Thor and Captain America were a little rushed. I didn't like the way they re-portrayed Spidey either. I hope they can come on top with another great marvel film soon enough. Expand
  6. May 6, 2013
    4
    This is a very entertaining movie. It may not follow the comic book story as much as people (fans) wanted it to but as far as an entertaining action packed summer movie is concerned, it actually lives up to the hype. Iron Man was better and obviously so was Avengers but this is definitely a huge step up from Iron Man 2. Most people will love the movie but i can see why fans are disliking it a bit.

    Overall for most movie goers, it is money well spent. Cant wait for Man of Steel in Imax though lol
    Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    This movie has the whole pack: comedy, action, plot, characters, etc. Unfortunately, it spreads too thin and a lot of it is felt forced (particularly the excessive jokes). Expand

See all 442 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More

    Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More Image
    Published: September 3, 2013
    Find out which summer movies were most liked by critics, and which performed best at the box office. Plus, we check on our users' Metascore predictions for the major summer films to see how accurate they were.
  2. Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium

    Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium Image
    Published: May 2, 2013
    Get the details (and watch trailers) for all of the key films heading to cineplexes between now and the end of August, including the latest Star Trek, Superman, and Hangover films, new features from Sofia Coppola, Joss Whedon, Noah Baumbach, Nicolas Winding Refn, and Edgar Wright, and much more.