Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1659 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Iron Man 3 pits brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark/Iron Man against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy’s hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible. This journey, at every turn, will test his mettle. With his back against the wall, Stark is left to survive by his own devices, relying on his ingenuity and instincts to protect those closest to him. As he fights his way back, Stark discovers the answer to the question that has secretly haunted him: does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man? [Marvel Studios] Expand
  • Director: Shane Black
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller, Fantasy
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 130 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 1, 2013
    91
    Iron Man 3 is an ominously exciting, shoot-the-works comic-book spectacular.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Iron Man 3 is smart, funny and spectacular.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 30, 2013
    80
    It sharply fuses the humor and heart of the earlier films with a satisfyingly heavy-metal strength — and a darkness that’s more than earned.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 1, 2013
    63
    The best scenes are when Stark just cuts impatiently through the claptrap.
  5. 63
    The real question for audiences isn’t whether Tony Stark/Iron Man defeats the latest supervillain (of course he does), but whether the movie itself rises above the dreaded third-in-a-sequel torpor of "Spider-Man" and "The Dark Knight." Spoiler alert: Yes, mostly, it does.
  6. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    May 1, 2013
    58
    Here, it’s hard not to wish Downey were sparring with his costumed comrades again, instead of trading barbs with the far-less-colorful cast members — old and new — of this busy, sporadically diverting sequel.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 30, 2013
    38
    The villains are all wrong, the motivations are muddy, even the gadgetry is off. And the swaggering genius at the center of it all has become a preening fool.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 449
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So first of all, I want to say that I loved this movie, but I do get the hate on it, for it's controversial plottwist.
    But there are some reasons why some fanboys shoud NOT be so angry about it;
    - first of all, the fake mandarin was set up, to not set up a racist stereotype and more of like a fun character.
    - aldrich killian revealed that he was the real mandarin, he even had some dragontattoos across his chest.
    - a big part of the fanbase was angry at Tony throwing his arc reactor away at the end, but Tony states that he is still Iron Man and he picks up one of the extremis holders, which will likely mean that he will build an extremis suit, powered by repulsor technology (which has also been confirmed as the new energysource for the suits.) and this will set up a suit that will allow Tony to go into space with it, and this will probably set up the bridge between guardians of the galaxy and avengers 2.

    so for me this was a very good movie, and I think they've done a great job with expanding the MCU even further
    Expand
  2. May 4, 2013
    9
    This was a great movie it was really good The was tons of action, it had some funny moments and Robert Downey Jr did a great job acting wise as well as Gwyneth Paltrow Don Cheadle, Ben Kingsley and Guy Pearce. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Iron Man 3 is another fantastic film from Marvel Studios, It's a good way to end the trilogy. The original Iron Man movie is great, Iron Man 2 was not that great, The Avengers was revolutionary and this is also great. Overall it had some great action and some good story elements in it. I really wish people would not be so hateful to this movie just because of how much they hated that plot twist with the Mandarin, even though I didn't care, I mean I guess it was pretty stupid but I am not going to judge the movie by that one point. That wasn't even the worst part about this movie, I say probably the worst thing in this film is the fact that this felt more like "Tony Stark: The Movie" than a new Iron Man movie, I mean why not have more Iron Man in it. However the story was still good and it even has a bit of funny and enjoyable moments. If you can survive that plot twist that insulted many Comic Book fans, I think you will enjoy this movie. Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    6
    When Iron Man 3 opens and Eiffel 65's hit "Blue" from 1999 begins to play as we see the Marvel and Paramount logos flash up on the screen it was clear we were in for a little something different this time around. I haven't read many comic books and out of the ones I have, none of them have ever been an Iron Man comic, but at the end of the day it feels like that if there were a film that was able to get as close to the spirit of its source material (or even the artistic medium originally used for that matter) that it might be this one. Granted, I have nothing to base that on, but it is simply a gut instinct in that the tone of this film is very light in its banter, very quick in its wit, and also more personal at the same time than I ever expected it to be, especially considering the obvious point that it's a massive summer blockbuster. While Iron Man 3 doesn't exactly live up to the expectations I was holding for it, it instead reroutes them and delivers a story that was more on the opposite side of the standard super hero flick spectrum while still containing enough explosions and fight scenes to appease those that go to these kinds of movies expecting nothing more than that. Director Shane Black (Kiss Kiss Bang Bang) takes over for Jon Favreau (who still shows up to play Happy Hogan) and took on writing duties as well and has delivered a very Shane Black-esque script with plenty of self-referential dialogue and a large scale action set piece every twenty minutes or so. I enjoyed the film immensely and found Robert Downey Jr. as good as ever as Tony Stark, but despite all the flash and bang it still felt like there was something missing, or maybe that's just because Captain America, Thor, and The Hulk didn't bother to show up.

    read the whole review at www.reviewsfromabed.com
    Expand
  5. May 4, 2013
    6
    I am not gonna jump on here to disgrace this film in anyway what so ever. It was not a horrible movie, however it was not the best Iron Man, or comic based story for that matter. It began interestingly enough, then the story became weak throughout, and the character development was...lacking. I was really hoping they would build on Stark's problems a little more. I had also wished that they really played around with the relationship between Pepper and Stark more than they did. In the end it is a film worth seeing if you are a fan, but remember you aren't looking at a film masterpiece. In my personal opinion Iron Man, The Avengers, and X-Men: First Class were the best Marvel films as of recent. I felt Thor and Captain America were a little rushed. I didn't like the way they re-portrayed Spidey either. I hope they can come on top with another great marvel film soon enough. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm pretty easy to please, and tend to like movies most others don't like, and movies most people do like. This was not one of those movies. They completely ruined the Mandarin, and the fact that Ben Kingsley was a complete hoax aside what was originally portrayed in the trailers reinforces the total disapointment that is Iron Man 3. They shouldn't have cast Ben Kingsley and his version of the "fake" Mandarin all together, and just ran with the burning orange bio-energy wielding Guy Pearce as the Mandarin instead. It would have had a cooler, less misdirecting feel with a better movie adaptation of a super villain.

    The other, just as much if not more of a let down what how WEAK Iron Man was portrayed as in this movie. I know it's a typical comic book adaptation movie, where the hero deals with a new situation, gets the crap beat out of him/her, comes back and wins/saves the day/world. The whole movie Iron Man and Stark were like a joke, going through suits like toilet paper and getting crushed like tin cans. This is the SAME HERO that took on an ALIEN ARMY and a NORSE GOD, yet some freak science experiments are able to crush his suit like it's nothing?? This was all very underwhelming for what, in my opinion, wasn't even close to what an Iron Man movie should be like.

    I hope he is better portrayed in the Avengers too, and my apologies to those who actually liked the movie, as I'm just stating my personal opinion in this review.
    Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    Iron Man 3 seems to be a tired echo of its predecessors. The scenes were bland and the fast, and unusual, pace of the movie, compared to the previous, made it unbearable to watch. 15 minutes into the movie I very munched missed the former director. If Iron Man 3 is a taste of what is now to come from Marvel studios, I will no longer be the devoted movie goer I have been in the past. I have a feeling Disney is interfering too much in the production process now. I hope this does not carry over to the upcoming Star Wars movies or I will not be watching those as well.

    We need character depth and devolpement. Fast paced action is for Michael Bay teeny bopper fans. Blah. Waste of money.
    Expand

See all 449 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More

    Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More Image
    Published: September 3, 2013
    Find out which summer movies were most liked by critics, and which performed best at the box office. Plus, we check on our users' Metascore predictions for the major summer films to see how accurate they were.
  2. Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium

    Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium Image
    Published: May 2, 2013
    Get the details (and watch trailers) for all of the key films heading to cineplexes between now and the end of August, including the latest Star Trek, Superman, and Hangover films, new features from Sofia Coppola, Joss Whedon, Noah Baumbach, Nicolas Winding Refn, and Edgar Wright, and much more.