Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1763 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Iron Man 3 pits brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark/Iron Man against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy’s hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible. This journey, at every turn, will test hisIron Man 3 pits brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark/Iron Man against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy’s hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible. This journey, at every turn, will test his mettle. With his back against the wall, Stark is left to survive by his own devices, relying on his ingenuity and instincts to protect those closest to him. As he fights his way back, Stark discovers the answer to the question that has secretly haunted him: does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man? [Marvel Studios] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 1, 2013
    91
    Iron Man 3 is an ominously exciting, shoot-the-works comic-book spectacular.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Iron Man 3 is smart, funny and spectacular.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 30, 2013
    80
    It sharply fuses the humor and heart of the earlier films with a satisfyingly heavy-metal strength — and a darkness that’s more than earned.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    May 1, 2013
    63
    It's not without its payoffs; I enjoyed a lot of it. But overall last year's "Avengers" delivered the bombastic goods more efficiently than this year's Marvel.
  5. 63
    The real question for audiences isn’t whether Tony Stark/Iron Man defeats the latest supervillain (of course he does), but whether the movie itself rises above the dreaded third-in-a-sequel torpor of "Spider-Man" and "The Dark Knight." Spoiler alert: Yes, mostly, it does.
  6. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    May 1, 2013
    58
    Here, it’s hard not to wish Downey were sparring with his costumed comrades again, instead of trading barbs with the far-less-colorful cast members — old and new — of this busy, sporadically diverting sequel.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 30, 2013
    38
    The villains are all wrong, the motivations are muddy, even the gadgetry is off. And the swaggering genius at the center of it all has become a preening fool.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So first of all, I want to say that I loved this movie, but I do get the hate on it, for it's controversial plottwist.
    But there are some reasons why some fanboys shoud NOT be so angry about it;
    - first of all, the fake mandarin was set up, to not set up a racist stereotype and more of like a fun character.
    - aldrich killian revealed that he was the real mandarin, he even had some dragontattoos across his chest.
    - a big part of the fanbase was angry at Tony throwing his arc reactor away at the end, but Tony states that he is still Iron Man and he picks up one of the extremis holders, which will likely mean that he will build an extremis suit, powered by repulsor technology (which has also been confirmed as the new energysource for the suits.) and this will set up a suit that will allow Tony to go into space with it, and this will probably set up the bridge between guardians of the galaxy and avengers 2.

    so for me this was a very good movie, and I think they've done a great job with expanding the MCU even further
    Expand
  2. May 3, 2013
    9
    Warning SPOILERS. A film directed by Shane Black instead of Jon Favreau and you can tell from the very beginning. As such it carries almost aWarning SPOILERS. A film directed by Shane Black instead of Jon Favreau and you can tell from the very beginning. As such it carries almost a darker tone when compared to the previous two films. It shows the impact of what happened in New York in a way i did not expect. Instead of Tony Stark carrying on like he is invincible the events of The Avengers has shown that Iron Man is not as invulnerable as he would seem. As the film progresses it is clear Tony is suffering from PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) and is plagued with nightmares and having panic attacks which is something you wouldnt have seen in Iron Man 1-2.

    Inspiration for the film was taken from the Extremis storyline from a few years ago a story that also helped shape the look of the original suit in the first film and its evolution in the second. The action as ever is fantastic, bombastic and adrenaline fuelled. From the scene where the house in Malibu is attacked to the final fight between the films antagonist but more on that later. It felt as if there was less action than the previous but that may be because this film is much more of a Tony Stark story than an Iron Man. For much of the film Tony is stranded and is forced to build his own means of protecting himself without relying on the suit. However when the suit is in the frame it does not disappoint. Very early on were shown one of the suits featured in the film and from those early scenes the suit seems to take on a character of its own and could almost be considered a form of comic relief similar to the mechanical arms in the the other films. I say one of the suits because unless you have somehow managed to evade any of the promo material for the film you will be very aware that there is much more than just one new suit. I cannot go into detail but fans of the comics will enjoy suits that appear to be based on some of the famous comic book incarnations such as the silver centurion and one that could be based on the infamous hulk buster armour.

    Moving onto the villain of the film as we have been lead to believe it was to be portrayed by one Sir Ben Kingsley. In a move in which i believe to be both bold and brilliant we learn that the Mandarin is not who we believe it to be. What will no doubt enrage the hardcore it seems that real villain is actually Guy Pierce's Aldric Killian and that the Mandarin is nothing but a creation of his designed to insight fear. When Black could of gone the somewhat obvious way of making the Mandarin some sort of middle eastern power he has taken the film in a direction that i feel is more adult than the previous films as it seems more intelligent then the comic book films that we are gifted every summer and is something i would like to see continue in the rest of Marvels phase 2 and 3 films. I think in making the films more than what some may assume just action films they will garner more widespread appeal. Aldric's evolution as a villain start right at the very beginning of the story and continues to grow throughout the film. Guy Pierce seems to enjoy himself in this role and will no doubt receive some a great many female fans from his performance. However i hope he told Ridley Scott that he was gonna borrow some of the tech from Prometheus im sure the Weyland corporation would have something to say about that.

    What Shane Black and his team has done is to instead to trying to make a film bigger than the Avengers and in making it a more personal story have created a film that stands on its own two feet. Unlike Iron Man 2 which struggled being in the middle of Phase 1 and needed to sort of seed both Thor and Captain America this film is allowed to evolve Tony Starks character more and give you an ending which i definitely did not expect and am genuinely excited to where it can go next. Downey Jr IS Tony Stark and even though his contract appears to be up Marvel would be mad not to throw money at him to get him to return as now no one could see anyone else filling Starks suits.

    I do have a few minor problem though i do think that the character of Maya Hansen who was an important character in the comics was almost criminally under used. With few appearances in the film and not alot of character development there was definitely something more that could have been done for her. The same could have been said for Col James Rhodes who featured prominently in the promo material wearing the Iron Patriot armour. We never really got to see him get going till just over mid way through the film which was dissapointing as i wanted to see more of the Iron Patriot and see what it was capable of but maybe just maybe thats being saved for Avengers 2.

    Besides those few minor problems this is a fantastic and highly enjoyable film that established fans should enjoy and is a ideal jumping on point for people who have managed to evade all the other films. Whilst it doesnt reach the heights of the Avengers its still the best Iron Man film and deserved a solid 9.
    Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Iron Man 3 is another fantastic film from Marvel Studios, It's a good way to end the trilogy. The original Iron Man movie is great, Iron Man 2 was not that great, The Avengers was revolutionary and this is also great. Overall it had some great action and some good story elements in it. I really wish people would not be so hateful to this movie just because of how much they hated that plot twist with the Mandarin, even though I didn't care, I mean I guess it was pretty stupid but I am not going to judge the movie by that one point. That wasn't even the worst part about this movie, I say probably the worst thing in this film is the fact that this felt more like "Tony Stark: The Movie" than a new Iron Man movie, I mean why not have more Iron Man in it. However the story was still good and it even has a bit of funny and enjoyable moments. If you can survive that plot twist that insulted many Comic Book fans, I think you will enjoy this movie. Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    6
    When Iron Man 3 opens and Eiffel 65's hit "Blue" from 1999 begins to play as we see the Marvel and Paramount logos flash up on the screen itWhen Iron Man 3 opens and Eiffel 65's hit "Blue" from 1999 begins to play as we see the Marvel and Paramount logos flash up on the screen it was clear we were in for a little something different this time around. I haven't read many comic books and out of the ones I have, none of them have ever been an Iron Man comic, but at the end of the day it feels like that if there were a film that was able to get as close to the spirit of its source material (or even the artistic medium originally used for that matter) that it might be this one. Granted, I have nothing to base that on, but it is simply a gut instinct in that the tone of this film is very light in its banter, very quick in its wit, and also more personal at the same time than I ever expected it to be, especially considering the obvious point that it's a massive summer blockbuster. While Iron Man 3 doesn't exactly live up to the expectations I was holding for it, it instead reroutes them and delivers a story that was more on the opposite side of the standard super hero flick spectrum while still containing enough explosions and fight scenes to appease those that go to these kinds of movies expecting nothing more than that. Director Shane Black (Kiss Kiss Bang Bang) takes over for Jon Favreau (who still shows up to play Happy Hogan) and took on writing duties as well and has delivered a very Shane Black-esque script with plenty of self-referential dialogue and a large scale action set piece every twenty minutes or so. I enjoyed the film immensely and found Robert Downey Jr. as good as ever as Tony Stark, but despite all the flash and bang it still felt like there was something missing, or maybe that's just because Captain America, Thor, and The Hulk didn't bother to show up.

    read the whole review at www.reviewsfromabed.com
    Expand
  5. May 4, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When it comes to Iron Man, or any Marvel movie for that matter, I'm skeptical. They can be really good like: Spiderman; The Avengers and X-men or utter like Thor; The Hulk or Elektra. Iron Man to me is a mixed bag in that it can be good or mediocre. I personally disliked the first one and loved the second. What about this Iron Man movie how did it fair. I mean when we went to see it the tickets were sold out. Thankfully we wisely bought our tickets online unlike some people. Anyway the movie, was it truly the summer blockbuster we were waiting for? Was it truly a perfect movie like we had thought? NO! It wasn't, it really wasn't. Does that mean it was bad? Well no it was, OK. I won't completely spoil the story, but in my opinion it was an excuse plot that ties in with the Avengers movie(which by the way is referenced a lot in this movie). I really did not find the story very interesting, at all. Like I said, it is an excuse plot, there is nothing you can't predict, save for one scene. The slower scenes in the movie really offset the more action oriented scenes, to the point of being boring. I'm serious you are gonna be think can these people shut up and get to the action already. Oh by the way, I hope you like Deus Ex Machina's cause this movie has a metric ton of them. There were plenty of times where I went "oh Bull****". Robert Downey, Jr. reprises his role as Tony Stark Iron Man and as always he does an excellent job in this role. He really brings life to an otherwise lifeless movie. As always he really gets into character and has fun with it and in turn we have fun too. What about the other character? Well, for the most part, they kinda suck. Don Cheadle as James "Rhodey" Rhodes aka Iron Patriot(what a stupid name) is in the movie but barely does anything. Gwyneth Paltrow as Virginia "Pepper" Potts is just there to get captured, that's it. The kid, well I hate kids in action movies, so there is your answer .What about The Mandarin? Let me answer that in a question. WHAT THE DID THEY DO TO THE MANDARIN?!! The Mandarin has always been one of my favorite marvel villains, so when I learned he would be the main villain I was hyped. When he is revealed he looks and sounds awesome and in scene in the movie where we see how cruel he is, I thought I can't wait to see him fight. So disappointed was I, because HE'S NOT EVEN THE MAIN VILLAIN! What they did to such a cool villain was downright criminal and I know I sound like a crazed fan boy, but when I saw the real villain it was impossible to not be aggravated. Seriously the writers thought the villain reveal was clever, but it was so obvious to anyone who graduated 6th grade. So the story suck, most of the characters were lame, but what about the the action and effect were they at least good? Actually they were. The suit were pretty well made, granted I am well aware that they were cgi, but the get the job done. The action was definitely great even when Iron man didn't have his suit, he was still awesome. I won't give it away but the final action scene was one of the greatest things ever, however I can't help but feel Iron Man gets his ass kick just a little too much, but the scenes are still memorable. Finally let me warn you, do not sit through the credits! All you will get is a shameless, shoehorn cameo and the most insulting sequel set up ever! In fact it isn't even a sequel set up, because the writers thought it would be awesome to blatantly tell you that "Tony Stark will return" for another cash-in. Wow! you guys. With that being said the final score for Iron Man 3 is a 6/10 it's decent. The action and effect is what you came for and you get it. The movie also had genuinely funny jokes and like I said Robert Downey, Jr. is a joy in this movie as he normally is. However the other characters and story gravely missed their marks. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm pretty easy to please, and tend to like movies most others don't like, and movies most people do like. This was not one of those movies. They completely ruined the Mandarin, and the fact that Ben Kingsley was a complete hoax aside what was originally portrayed in the trailers reinforces the total disapointment that is Iron Man 3. They shouldn't have cast Ben Kingsley and his version of the "fake" Mandarin all together, and just ran with the burning orange bio-energy wielding Guy Pearce as the Mandarin instead. It would have had a cooler, less misdirecting feel with a better movie adaptation of a super villain.

    The other, just as much if not more of a let down what how WEAK Iron Man was portrayed as in this movie. I know it's a typical comic book adaptation movie, where the hero deals with a new situation, gets the crap beat out of him/her, comes back and wins/saves the day/world. The whole movie Iron Man and Stark were like a joke, going through suits like toilet paper and getting crushed like tin cans. This is the SAME HERO that took on an ALIEN ARMY and a NORSE GOD, yet some freak science experiments are able to crush his suit like it's nothing?? This was all very underwhelming for what, in my opinion, wasn't even close to what an Iron Man movie should be like.

    I hope he is better portrayed in the Avengers too, and my apologies to those who actually liked the movie, as I'm just stating my personal opinion in this review.
    Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    Lousy god, humorously goofy child. Slowly destroying the movie goes and turns in the show Tony Stark. Well this movie is extremely bad,Lousy god, humorously goofy child. Slowly destroying the movie goes and turns in the show Tony Stark. Well this movie is extremely bad, rubbish and certainly the worst of the 3. Expand

See all 467 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More

    Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More Image
    Published: September 3, 2013
    Find out which summer movies were most liked by critics, and which performed best at the box office. Plus, we check on our users' Metascore predictions for the major summer films to see how accurate they were.
  2. Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium

    Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium Image
    Published: May 2, 2013
    Get the details (and watch trailers) for all of the key films heading to cineplexes between now and the end of August, including the latest Star Trek, Superman, and Hangover films, new features from Sofia Coppola, Joss Whedon, Noah Baumbach, Nicolas Winding Refn, and Edgar Wright, and much more.