Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 2, 2008
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1741 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,585
Mixed:
94
Negative:
62
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
CraigMMay 8, 2008
Am I crazy here, or did nobody else notice how crappy this movie was. Yes, Robert Downy Jr. is a good choice for the role but not when every line he has is some horribly cheesy joke. The robot banter also seems right out of the eighties. The Am I crazy here, or did nobody else notice how crappy this movie was. Yes, Robert Downy Jr. is a good choice for the role but not when every line he has is some horribly cheesy joke. The robot banter also seems right out of the eighties. The romance between him and Paltrow is egregiously underdeveloped and the action wasn't even that good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LewisP.May 11, 2008
This is basically 'Robocop' updated to 2008. Except it's nowhere as good as that film. The '87 thriller is set in the future with a semi-plausible scenario: the body of a murdered police officer is used to create a robot This is basically 'Robocop' updated to 2008. Except it's nowhere as good as that film. The '87 thriller is set in the future with a semi-plausible scenario: the body of a murdered police officer is used to create a robot who still retains traces of the dead man's memories. The core of Iron Man is totally implausible: set in the present time, the iron man (played by Robert Downey Jr.) must prance around with some kind of magnet implanted in his chest cavity, preventing shrapnel from puncturing his heart. Then, he invents an iron suit which enables him to fly at supersonic speeds and kill terrorists without suffering serious injury. Like Robocop, a computer interface is suggested inside the 'mask' of both superheroes; but in Robocop the hero is haunted by the memories of the dead man whose body was used to create him. There is no such internal tension in Iron Man. It's strictly a good guy-bad guy shoot 'em up. Downey plays Stark, the head of a large corporation which manufactures weapons. Stark is depicted as an arrogant playboy who takes no precautions when he travels around in a Humvee in Afghanistan. He ends up being captured by a local warlord and his crew of motley insurgents and realizes that they have been using his company's weapons to fight US troops. Now he suddenly has a change of heart and uses his skills (he's a genius!) to create an iron man outfit to escape the bad guys (they think he's working on a missile). When he returns to the US, he decides to utilize the prototype of the iron man outfit he created in Afghanistan to become a superhero fighting for good. A good part of the film is taken up with Downey designing the new Iron Man outfit; during the 'testing phase' he gets thrown against the walls of his laboratory numerous times (how exciting!). Finally, he starts flying through the air with this metal suit on and almost crashes when he goes too high up in the atmosphere and his suit gets frozen with ice (funny how he wasn't smart enough to invent some kind of deicing device contained on most commercial aircrafts). Terrence Howard (of 'Hustle & Flow' fame) isn't doing much hustling and flowing here in a do-nothing part as an army liaison officer for the munitions company. Similarly Gwyneth Paltrow, Stark's personal assistant, engages in a great deal of pointless banter leading to a non-romantic moment at the film's denouement. Jeff Bridges probably has the best part as Downey's partner in the multinational corporation who ends up betraying him and working with the warlords and terrorists in Afghanistan. But how did he so easily get past the alarm system or other security devices in Downey's home? You would think that breaking into a home like that wouldn't be so easy. In the end, there is the obligatory battle between the two machines (done much better in Terminator 2). Bridges looks ridiculous when he takes off his metal helmet and all you see is his face inside the metal contraption. I fail to see why so many critics gave this film good marks. It's strictly a film for uneducated teenagers who read comic books all day. It also serves to lull people in this country into a false sense of security vis-a-vis the terrorist threat. By creating an invincible 'Iron Man" who can easily mow down terrorists and bad guys, it makes us forget that the bad guys in real life are not so easily defeated. Case in point: 9/11. The only winners here are the actors who collected nice paychecks for participating in such a cheesy and worthless venture. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RaymondA.May 10, 2008
I don't understand what people liked about this movie. Boring and stupid. Cool graphics can't make up for a sagging plot and horrendous storyline.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RonFMay 9, 2008
Even checking your brain at the door might not be enough to save this film. I got a free ticket and felt that was an over-charge. To be truthful, I did walk out half way through (around the time where Ms Potts pulls the coil out of Even checking your brain at the door might not be enough to save this film. I got a free ticket and felt that was an over-charge. To be truthful, I did walk out half way through (around the time where Ms Potts pulls the coil out of Stark's chest), so it might have picked up from there. If you are gung-ho military, have racist attitudes towards Afghans and do not mind a very unconvincing script, see this movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AntrossoI.May 8, 2008
Overrated movie, just another solid action movie. Nothing more, nothing less.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DWillyMay 9, 2008
Where previous American cultures made cinematic spectacle of the Bible or historical turning points, we, sadly, celebrate comic books. So, of course, this is thin. As you watch this your mind can wander... remember when Robert Downey Jr. Where previous American cultures made cinematic spectacle of the Bible or historical turning points, we, sadly, celebrate comic books. So, of course, this is thin. As you watch this your mind can wander... remember when Robert Downey Jr. broke into a house and went to sleep in some kid's bed... I thought at one time Terence Howard was going to be a good actor... did they approach Paltrow's husband to do the music?... who's the bad guy in this film, anyway... oh, sure, it's him... but what's his deal? If you like this movie a lot, maybe it's time to put away childish things. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MitchS.May 10, 2008
Worst movie I've ever seen honestly i don't know what they were thinking. Minimal fighting scenes and slow and long. So bad please take my advice do not see this movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DemetriusM.May 10, 2008
I feel like I was watching a commercial rather than a superhero movie. Burger King, Audi and others really make me feel like this movie was made to showcase all the brands. Sure, Transformers also did it but it was not obvious. Robert Downey I feel like I was watching a commercial rather than a superhero movie. Burger King, Audi and others really make me feel like this movie was made to showcase all the brands. Sure, Transformers also did it but it was not obvious. Robert Downey Jr. really portrayed the billionaire Mr. Stark but Gwyneth really disappoint me. Hope the sequel will be a proper movie rather than a commercial disaster. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JohnB.May 19, 2008
I'm not familiar with the comics but this movie was garbage. The character development seriously lacked. Who is Starks and why should I care about him? It seems to me that such a conflicted character could have been handled a bit more I'm not familiar with the comics but this movie was garbage. The character development seriously lacked. Who is Starks and why should I care about him? It seems to me that such a conflicted character could have been handled a bit more seriously. The whole movie felt like filler with a few decent scenes mixed throughout. The acting was one dimensional and dialog felt forced throughout the entire thing. A few cheap laughs, guilty of working over the audience multiple times is not what I call comic relief or entertainment. Even for summer blockbuster fare, I thought it really did not deliver. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
santosxFeb 29, 2012
the plot of the whole movie could fit in 30 minutes, followed by some real action for the next hour or so. unfortunately, instead the 30 minutes plot fills 2 hours and makes for a very boring movie. good for kids below the age of 16 i would say.
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
1
2May 3, 2008
You can't mix serious issues with fantasy! Why did they have to include the war in the middle east for? Couldn't they think of a fictional enemy? And Stark being the "suit" in a cave? was just stupid!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
1
BBMay 22, 2008
Seriously, I'm going to start knocking 30 points off all scores to get a more realistic sense of a movie's quality. There's a lot of grade inflation going on here. Come on, people, 9's and 10's? Lame, lame, lame Seriously, I'm going to start knocking 30 points off all scores to get a more realistic sense of a movie's quality. There's a lot of grade inflation going on here. Come on, people, 9's and 10's? Lame, lame, lame movie. Don't bother. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
0
JulieF.May 4, 2008
They did it again! They RUINED another icon! Why does Hollywood have to force their opinions on us at every film showing? I became more and more angry throughout this film. Here's the REALLY hypocritical part: Robert Downey Jr. is just They did it again! They RUINED another icon! Why does Hollywood have to force their opinions on us at every film showing? I became more and more angry throughout this film. Here's the REALLY hypocritical part: Robert Downey Jr. is just fine with TORCHING a bunch of Afghani's and obliterating a bunch more when it's HIS life on the line. He has no problem wasting dozens of men to escape from a cave (which he evidently could have just FLOWN out of anyway). But when it's our SOLDIERS that are in harm's way, OH....then we can't have any weapons! It's kind of like how Hollywood drives around in Limo's but wants the rest of us to ride bikes to work so we don't make a "carbon footprint". Anyway, the last 5/6 of this film will be a big preach-fest about how the USA is a war-mongering nation who has no right to defend herself and how any weapons manufacturer should not be allowed to exact a profit (while Hollywood gets to make BILLIONS of dollars of profit on its own products) What a farce. Don't see this film if you have a brain because it'll explode. Don't see this film if you love your country because this film certainly doesn't. SHAME ON YOU, IRON MAN. Recommended: Not in a million years. Expand
0 of 10 users found this helpful
0
PJOct 6, 2008
Stupid. don't waste your time. most reviews are tainted by love for the actor vs. his acting. the plot, acting, and SE are great if you're 13.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GB.May 22, 2008
How did this get a score of 78, much less 8.4? Please! What a waste of my money, time, and popcorn. Very disappointing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BrianLMay 25, 2008
For a superhero movie, there is almost no action. And in the final fight scene he gets his butt kicked by the villain until Paltrow hits some weird switch that kills him? This movie was so dragged out and plotless. Don't see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JSDec 9, 2009
No plot. Cliche, mock 30's style acting. Its just another movie rated highly because it had a big effects budget. Totally illogical, pointless, and even racist at time. I forced myself through the movie, hoping it would get somewhere. I No plot. Cliche, mock 30's style acting. Its just another movie rated highly because it had a big effects budget. Totally illogical, pointless, and even racist at time. I forced myself through the movie, hoping it would get somewhere. I ended up wondering where the movie went (did it even start? where's the substance?) and wishing I had used that time to get some more sleep. You're kind of just there to watch the 10 minute opening action scene. Just a big nothing of an action movie. Conglomerated, forced. It did have a smidgen of personality and a few funny parts. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
1
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Iron Man is iron trash. Where is the action but besides that the movie comes across as just stupid. Robert Downey Jr. talks way too much in this film which makes him very annoying. Just another stupid action movie but with more stupid in it.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
2
JesseB.May 20, 2008
I waited too long, I guess, for this movie. The pacing was wrong and the jokes were only good sometimes. His gadgetry is fantastic but not logical at all. Even a tiny explanation would have been interesting even if not entirely possible. I waited too long, I guess, for this movie. The pacing was wrong and the jokes were only good sometimes. His gadgetry is fantastic but not logical at all. Even a tiny explanation would have been interesting even if not entirely possible. Tony Stark makes an impression of being a Jock before and after his adventure. No character developement there. The action is mainly 2 or 3 scenes and the rest is just embarrasing. Especially the last fight. Watch this in the cinema and you'll at least get the special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoeR.May 4, 2008
Same old plot, same old one-dimensional charatcers, same old "bangs" and "booms" and same old Robert Downey, Jr. playinp Robert Downey, Jr. I'm sorry but I was bored, amybe I've just seen too many of these to care anymore. It Same old plot, same old one-dimensional charatcers, same old "bangs" and "booms" and same old Robert Downey, Jr. playinp Robert Downey, Jr. I'm sorry but I was bored, amybe I've just seen too many of these to care anymore. It certainly didn't have the depth of "character" that Batman Begins did... it was more like Fantastic Four meets the (first) Hulk... I really wanted to like this, but the went expensive with the visuals and cheap with the character development & simplistic storyline. Just feel flat, for me personally, but again I may have been expecting too much after reading some reviews and hearing WOM. I have a feeling after seeing the Hulk trailer that I'm gonna have to wait for INDY to really cheer again for a movie character... that's what a summer blockbuster is all about for me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NigelM.Jan 5, 2009
Great film, but only if you're a 9 year old boy. Simplistic and predictable, as all superhero films are. Time for anyone older than that to grow up and stop hollywood churning these out I reckon. Brief synopsis: Good guy vs bad guy who Great film, but only if you're a 9 year old boy. Simplistic and predictable, as all superhero films are. Time for anyone older than that to grow up and stop hollywood churning these out I reckon. Brief synopsis: Good guy vs bad guy who wants to rule the world, big fight at end, guess who loses? See also: Batman, Hulk, Spiderman, Superman, Fantastic four, in fact every other damn superhero movie. Why bother? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SimonD.May 27, 2008
I really regret seeing this movie. Acting was average, CGI was average, but it's the storyline that really destroys it. If you watch movies with a critical eye then you cant help noticing there are twice as many government-approved I really regret seeing this movie. Acting was average, CGI was average, but it's the storyline that really destroys it. If you watch movies with a critical eye then you cant help noticing there are twice as many government-approved messages in this one, compared to any of the similar movies that have been released. I realize that's how you have to make them if you want to use the military's shiny toys but is it really worth it? I think John Cusack's "War, Inc" is a much more realistic view of things. On the other hand if you just watch movies to tune out then you'll have a blast, and hey, if the Wall Street Journal gives a movie 100% then it must be cool, right? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.May 2, 2008
Ridiculously bad! Literally almost walked out. Most overhyped, overrated, overly stupid movie of 2008? Absolutely! Will this hit big in box office? Yes, definitely. Will everyone be dissappointed? Even more so than Spiderman 3. Please Ridiculously bad! Literally almost walked out. Most overhyped, overrated, overly stupid movie of 2008? Absolutely! Will this hit big in box office? Yes, definitely. Will everyone be dissappointed? Even more so than Spiderman 3. Please don't spend your 9 10 or 11 dollars on Iron Man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnnyB.May 23, 2008
Oh gracious, no! Too many inept attempts at humor. Way too dumb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KAMay 7, 2008
The worst. Another manichean cartoon using our sad political state to justify it's embarrassing and simplistic obsession with power.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnWOct 13, 2008
Likely one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Pay attention to those that score this movie with a low rating; they're actually the ones who know what they're talking about. Movie Summary: over 45 minutes of watching our hero Likely one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Pay attention to those that score this movie with a low rating; they're actually the ones who know what they're talking about. Movie Summary: over 45 minutes of watching our hero build the machine. If I wanted to watch the 'A-Team' again with B.A. Baracus I would, but I certainly wouldn't want 45 minutes straight. He then flies away in his machine and is picked up by his American friends. Rest of Movie Summary: Our hero has a change of heart and decides to not build weapons for the military. Yet, of course he builds one for himself and carries on to destroy some badboy 'terrorists'. Our hero tweaks machine to perfect the machine. This process takes an additional 30 minutes minimum. Weak romance/humor displayed between our hero and his secretary. Villain of movie makes bigger version of the flying gayboy contraption. Villain of movie wacks our hero around for awhile, hero of course wins battle of the gayboy flying machines. This movie is utterly pathetic with poorly played 'terrorists' and scenes that dwelled far too long to get the point across. If I could get my money back, I would. Time not well spent. Oh, 2 points is awarded for the 'cool' sunglasses that I'm sure gayfanboys around the world will flock to buy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
I utterly despise this movie. Horribly bad and stupid. Nothing about it was enjoyable and I felt like the story was going no where. Everybody who says this is good has no taste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CharlesthrowerMar 10, 2017
It was okay, I didn't really vibe with the movie though. The graphics and the suit looked cool though. The movie could have been a lot better but then again maybe I'm just criticizing too hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ZebunkerFeb 6, 2017
Iron Man is an above average comic book movie. I don't know if that's saying much. I enjoy it for what it is. It’s a fun movie if you have a home theater system and sludge if you don't.

The plot is full of holes, and the action bits are
Iron Man is an above average comic book movie. I don't know if that's saying much. I enjoy it for what it is. It’s a fun movie if you have a home theater system and sludge if you don't.

The plot is full of holes, and the action bits are bland compared to what has been seen of the character in past comics and cartoons. It’s hard to cheer much for Iron Man when everything comes so easy for him, he's just not a very likable or believable character. And that might be what's most wrong with Iron Man.

In looking back at this film one can't help but not the sequels that came after and all the casting drama that followed. This film feels childish, like it came out in the 90's. We have a setup of the origin of Iron Man, but what really needed was a setup story of Tony Stark first. We jump right in and he has no troubles really in the world. He has no real conflict or struggles. Even later his brilliant engineering skills just seem to come out of now where. It does not make him feel human.

The characters in this movie are very bland. Who do you connect with? The only ones that have a shred of connection are the terrorists and Shaun Toub as Yinsen. I think kids like Iron Man because of the tech he has. Or the attraction of dancing strippers of his own plane. But it’s so shallow, we don't care collectively about Tony Stark at all.
Then when you throw on the super suit, he's lost even more.

Like I said earlier it’s a fun, turn your brain off for 2 hours kind of movie. The main villain is so predictable and out of place. What a waste of Jeff Freakin Bridges! So much more could come out of it and the sequels improve on this but this first flight of Iron Man is just that a comic book movie for all the pains and praise that might bring. Crank up that sound system baby!

Best Actor : Gwyneth Paltrow as Pepper Potts

The obvious choice would be to pick Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man. But really he's just playing himself. Or his onscreen persona much like Matthew Mcconaughey does in Mcconaughey things. Like bad car commercials.

Gwyneth Paltrow has some character to her, we learn things about her. She changes in the way she things about Tony Stark, well at least a little. The other characters in the movie don't change at all, they just do different things, that's not character development.

Paltrow has an innocent quality and seems to glow on the screen. She's fun to watch. I wish she had more to do in the film. It’s a shame she pretty much got axed out of the series.

Worst Actor: Terrence Howard as James "Rhodey" Rhodes

It’s no wonder why he was re-cast in the second film. Spewing out bad military one-liners and flag waving propaganda is really not that hard. Anybody on Fox News does it every day. So why is watching him in this film so ear bleeding bad? We care nothing about him at all to boot.

Best Scene: Big Robot Battle

The lead up is the big battle at the end. And while it’s fun, it’s not really epic and kind of predictable. The fact that Obadiah could build a more improved suit and bigger than Iron Man in a short amount of time.
What seemed like mere hours in movie time is ridiculous. While we get the idea that Stark's company is huge, like Wal-Mart in scale. He builds the robot at the main plant right? How could Tony not know about it or how could they figure out how to do that. Lame.

The most interesting character scenes are when Obadiah comes in and paralyses Tony with some weird Men in Black device. I think he steals something from him. I forgot. It’s not important. Well Obadiah clearly wanted Tony dead and just like 5 minutes later tries to kill him in the suit, so why not just kill him right there on the couch. Ugh. Worse plot hole than a James Bond Villain.

Again Potts sneaks into Stark to steal plans or research and confronts Obadiah. This is a fun scene, you don't know what's going to happen. But he lets her go. Again, idiot. No wonder you are second in command. Bridges' character really needed a makeover and bigger motivation than greed.

Worst Scene : Desert Base Building

The idea that Stark could build an iron man suit in a cave in the middle of the desert under the cameras and watch of terrorists is absolutely crazy. At least take your audience out of the movie at the one hour mark not 10 minutes in.

Even then we are not seeing Stark struggle with how to do this or planning it out. We are following the events through the terrorist eyes, not Stark. Well, the terrorist’s names are not on the movie title. Just dumb slog.

Hits
• Cool action bits
• Jeff Freakin Bridges!
• Iron Man on screen for the first time.

Misses
• Obligatory Iron Man Black Sabbath Song at the end.
• More plot holes than there are stars in our galaxy.
• Flat one sided characters we care nothing about.

Rating: D
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews