Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 2, 2008
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1631 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,482
Mixed:
87
Negative:
62
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Longbottom94Apr 29, 2013
This is Robert Downey JR's film. He is Iron Man and he is the thing that propels the film ok comic book film, to great comic book movie. Definitely watch this movie, especially if you want to get the most out of watching the avengers.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
9
Dr.C.May 7, 2008
It-Doesn't-Get-Any-Better-Than-This! What a ride... This movie is the reason you pays yer money to see it on the big screen. Wow. And, in a weird way, the high tech world of Tony Stark doesn't seem so far fetched, considering It-Doesn't-Get-Any-Better-Than-This! What a ride... This movie is the reason you pays yer money to see it on the big screen. Wow. And, in a weird way, the high tech world of Tony Stark doesn't seem so far fetched, considering it's a comic book fer cryin' out loud! Attention Robert Downey, Jr.: Stay sober, man... You are a fantastic actor & you pull off this anti-macho, cool cat, hipster industrialist Big Time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
WiesyJan 17, 2013
One of the best superhero movies i've ever seen, but not the best. I like Downey and the character of him. I love this movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
RedeadhoodMar 28, 2016
Definitely one of the best superhero movies of all time, Iron man has it all, action, humor, and most importantly intrigue. It saddens me that the later marvel films (with the exception of TWS) weren't able to capture the same magic. IronDefinitely one of the best superhero movies of all time, Iron man has it all, action, humor, and most importantly intrigue. It saddens me that the later marvel films (with the exception of TWS) weren't able to capture the same magic. Iron man not only revived Downey's career but also gave the comic books the recognition that they deserve. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MorganB.May 15, 2008
I've never been a giant fan of Comic book movies, but I always seem to enjoy then none the less-as long as there decent:I'm talking to you Incredable Hulk. Though I don't quite have words to describe how wonderful this movie I've never been a giant fan of Comic book movies, but I always seem to enjoy then none the less-as long as there decent:I'm talking to you Incredable Hulk. Though I don't quite have words to describe how wonderful this movie was-and how amazing Robert Downey Jr was. No one, absolutely no one could have played this character better. It's the best casting I've seen since John Barrowman in Torchwood. Amazing story, fantasticly snarky, and the genious of Robert Downey Jr, who could ask for more! I saw it twice the first weekend:) Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SkyrimGuy935Jan 17, 2015
A charismatic lead from Downey, Jr., spectacular effects, a surprisingly coherent story, and witty dialog, Iron Man is the rare summer blockbuster that manages to be ridiculously fun while also providing a great story and characters. IA charismatic lead from Downey, Jr., spectacular effects, a surprisingly coherent story, and witty dialog, Iron Man is the rare summer blockbuster that manages to be ridiculously fun while also providing a great story and characters. I couldn't have imagined a better start for the MCU.

9.5/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbyNov 25, 2015
Iron Man is a great way to kick start the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Robert Downy Jr. gave a really god performance as Iron Man, and the movie had witty jokes and good quips. This certainly is one of the better Marvel films.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoOct 11, 2015
A great start to the MCU. Tony Stark is a great character and one of the best things about the movie is the fact that there's no "if so-and-so isn't stopped, the world will end" thing from a lot of superhero flicks. Some bad stuff willA great start to the MCU. Tony Stark is a great character and one of the best things about the movie is the fact that there's no "if so-and-so isn't stopped, the world will end" thing from a lot of superhero flicks. Some bad stuff will happen, but nothing that'll bring about the apocalypse. Robert Downey Jr. Gave a good performance (truth be known though, he was essentially playing himself...) it's definitely a good movie. Nice beginning to one of the most well known superhero franchises ever... The Marvel Cinematic Universe. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ThatMarvelDCGuyAug 19, 2012
It's an origin story minus the boredom. There's a whole lot of action, drama and humor that will keep you on the edge of your seats. Intensely exciting, you can't keep your eyes off the screen because any moment, something intriguing mayIt's an origin story minus the boredom. There's a whole lot of action, drama and humor that will keep you on the edge of your seats. Intensely exciting, you can't keep your eyes off the screen because any moment, something intriguing may unfold. Great script, great director, great actors, what more can you ask for? Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 15, 2011
The action and humor is amazingly strong and unnecessary to prove the movie that its worth more than the others; in the end, "Iron Man" is just a decent summer blockbuster.
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Nov 1, 2010
Jon Favreau made some great effort in making this superhero epic hit with some talentive acting from Robert Downey Jr.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
RicochetPhoenixMay 6, 2013
Great film with an amazingly well-translated origin story. The first half of this film is fantastic, for both casual movie-goers and hardcore comic book fans alike. However, unfortunately, the film starts to lose a bit of direction in theGreat film with an amazingly well-translated origin story. The first half of this film is fantastic, for both casual movie-goers and hardcore comic book fans alike. However, unfortunately, the film starts to lose a bit of direction in the second half it never gets bad...it just starts to fall a little bit flat. I don't feel like Iron Monger was strong enough of a villain to carry the ending. Great movie overall though, one of Marvel's best. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
dharmaApr 29, 2013
The first of the Marvel Universe is one of its best. Before this flick, Downey Jr was a 'has been actor' and Iron Man is considered as a B-List Marvel Super Hero. That practically changed overnight, with Iron Man. Exciting, humorous andThe first of the Marvel Universe is one of its best. Before this flick, Downey Jr was a 'has been actor' and Iron Man is considered as a B-List Marvel Super Hero. That practically changed overnight, with Iron Man. Exciting, humorous and 'organic', Iron Man carries with it a peculiar Indie sensibility in its dialogue. Great and career defining performance by Downey Jr, catapulting him into an A-Lister. He is Tony Stark, pure and simple; a performance on par with Chris Reeve iconic performance as Superman. Rewatch it again to prepare yourself for Iron Man 3, folks! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
O melhor dos 3 sem dúvidasO melhor dos 3 sem dúvidas Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
After disappointments like "X-Men: The Last Stand" and "Spider-Man 3", "Iron Man" is a big renaissance for the Marvel Universe and it is STILL a solid superhero movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SpiderPlayerAug 3, 2014
A great film has a great soundtrack, good special effects, has some funny scenes, Robert Downey Jr. played very well the role of Tony Stark, the story was very well done, and the armor of Iron Man was also great, I recommend for those whoA great film has a great soundtrack, good special effects, has some funny scenes, Robert Downey Jr. played very well the role of Tony Stark, the story was very well done, and the armor of Iron Man was also great, I recommend for those who have not watched, you watch, worth it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
Comic-book-to-film franchise starters often sag under the weight of creation stories, establishing conflict between the super-heroic and super-villainous and introducing a roster of iconic characters familiar to comics geeks but unknown toComic-book-to-film franchise starters often sag under the weight of creation stories, establishing conflict between the super-heroic and super-villainous and introducing a roster of iconic characters familiar to comics geeks but unknown to the general movie-going public. That's an awful lot of exposition for any one film to handle. Jon Favreau's Iron Man wrestles with those responsibilities as well as a relatively unique conundrum: How do you make audiences care about a character whose face is hidden under a metallic scowl? The Iron Man filmmakers' answer is to cast Robert Downey Jr. in the lead role and keep him out of the Iron Man suit for as long as possible.

Downey stars as dashing billionaire playboy Tony Stark—part Howard Hughes, part Errol Flynn—who leads a life unencumbered by reflection until he's captured and held hostage in Afghanistan by terrorists using his company's weapons. Downey escapes by building a crude version of his Iron Man suit. Upon returning home, Downey perfects the robotic flying suit, but when he announces that his company is getting out of the weapons business he makes himself an inviting target to rivals, including enigmatic father figure Jeff Bridges, who looks disconcertingly like Winter Kills co-star Sterling Hayden with his shaved head and mad-prophet beard.

Iron Man takes its sweet time getting Downey into the Iron Man suit, and it doles out big action setpieces sparingly once man has fused triumphantly with machine. Downey is so much fun as a breezy cad that it's a shame he spends so much time brooding and luxuriating in obsession. Like Ang Lee's Hulk, Iron Man is a comic-book blockbuster characterized as much by heavyweight acting and sober intellectual concerns about the use and misuse of power and technology as the usual comic-book foolishness. But Iron Man finds a much more palatable, audience-friendly balance between delirious spectacle and tortured introspection thanks largely to Downey, a great actor who's also a great entertainer. His relationship with a fire-extinguishing robot is funnier and more poignant than the central relationship between humans in most movies, and there's nothing arbitrary about love interest/long-suffering assistant Gwyneth Paltrow. Having gotten all that exposition out of the way in a brisk and entertaining fashion, Favreau paves the way for more pure fun and excitement in future entries. Iron Man is the rare comic-book movie that makes the prospect of a sequel seem like a promise instead of a threat.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DesmondW.May 2, 2008
Ironman was always my favorite hero from the marvel universe. It felt really good to watch him shine on the big screen. RDJ's acting is simply brilliant. Great story adaption leaving it realistic. Few but well done action scenes getting Ironman was always my favorite hero from the marvel universe. It felt really good to watch him shine on the big screen. RDJ's acting is simply brilliant. Great story adaption leaving it realistic. Few but well done action scenes getting you a real feel for the suit. Suprisingly this movie will bring you alot of laughs..Yes its weird but it sure wll. I LOVE IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PriyanthT.May 2, 2008
thye movie was awesome the graphics were done greatly and it was fun watchin and it was no less than spider man, superman or batman, and wish a sequel wuld be made
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CamilleMay 30, 2008
Though I admittedly enjoyed Speed Racer more, I absolutely loved this movie. It was the perfect balance of action and explanation needed for a comic book movie origin story. The thing that had me most appreciative was the believability of Though I admittedly enjoyed Speed Racer more, I absolutely loved this movie. It was the perfect balance of action and explanation needed for a comic book movie origin story. The thing that had me most appreciative was the believability of the special effects and dynamics between the characters. This is a film not to be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TeryMay 3, 2008
I saw the movie at 10:30 PM on 5/2. I think is is a very good movie. The plot was pretty good. The actors were excellent. The movie didn't seem to flow that well due to direction. It was so exciting, I could not get out of my seat to go I saw the movie at 10:30 PM on 5/2. I think is is a very good movie. The plot was pretty good. The actors were excellent. The movie didn't seem to flow that well due to direction. It was so exciting, I could not get out of my seat to go the restroom or buy anything, and that says something! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeN.May 3, 2008
Downey nailed the character of Stark. Special effects look real. Dialogue is very sharp and witty. Would have been nice to give Bridges more screen time. Last act felt a little rushed. Final fight could have been a little longer/more Downey nailed the character of Stark. Special effects look real. Dialogue is very sharp and witty. Would have been nice to give Bridges more screen time. Last act felt a little rushed. Final fight could have been a little longer/more dramatic. Good start to the series can Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidR.May 30, 2008
I have never really cared for RDJ as an actor and the current comic version of Iron Man is an unlikeable fascist dick, so I had zero expectations going into this movie. I only saw it because I had eight bucks to spend and two hours to kill. I have never really cared for RDJ as an actor and the current comic version of Iron Man is an unlikeable fascist dick, so I had zero expectations going into this movie. I only saw it because I had eight bucks to spend and two hours to kill. Coming out of the movie, I bought another ticket because I would have been ripping the theater off if I had only paid full price for it. This is the standard by which all future Marvel movies will be judged. I simply cannot praise this movie enough. It's as good as Batman Begins, but "lighter" and more suitable for children, and it has enough sly humor that the adults will be entertained as well. RDJ gives the performance of a lifetime in the role he was born to play. I have seen this movie six times now and I'm going back this weekend for yet another serving of metal-suited terrorist-punching awesomeness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattAMay 6, 2008
This was a very good movie. Although...it would have been nothing without Robert Downey Jr. He made the picture...well...him, and the awesome looking Iron Man suit. My only major gripe was that it all felt like it was leading up to This was a very good movie. Although...it would have been nothing without Robert Downey Jr. He made the picture...well...him, and the awesome looking Iron Man suit. My only major gripe was that it all felt like it was leading up to something...better...in which it was. So when the sequel comes around...i may be giving this a nine, but until then, this serves as a good backstory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RienyeN.May 8, 2008
Awesome movie! I was riveted from the start to end. Simple clear-cut story without bothersome sub-plots! The special effects were excellent and Downey delivered. Gwyneth could have been more lively but other than that i highly recommend it. Awesome movie! I was riveted from the start to end. Simple clear-cut story without bothersome sub-plots! The special effects were excellent and Downey delivered. Gwyneth could have been more lively but other than that i highly recommend it. Best marvel comic adaptation to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonP.May 8, 2008
Forget the pretentiously snivelling humdrum of those who would look down upon this piece of movie theatre gold. They are probably upset that an action movie could be such a powerful epic, and that some pathetic, self-indulgent yet tragic Forget the pretentiously snivelling humdrum of those who would look down upon this piece of movie theatre gold. They are probably upset that an action movie could be such a powerful epic, and that some pathetic, self-indulgent yet tragic art-fiasco love-story wasn't the cause of the warm feelings welling from within. Out of shame, they look downward with their bespectacled glare and succeed in once again providing all they can to the world: their judgment of someone else's brilliance. This movie was the perfect mix of snide wit and explosive special effects. It not only does the comic book justice, but sets itself apart from its printed origins and in fact all other movies in its genre. It is so rare to see Oscar worthy performances in what should be a simple shoot-em-up, but that's what you get for your money. This is a must-see, and one of the best of all time; believe it. Mark my words: this film will break the billions, and birth a new tinsel-town dynasty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NormanX.Apr 30, 2008
Wonderfully done. I was afraid it'll be cheesy and lame, but it met every expectation with some great lines from Robert Downey Jr, the perfect Tony Stark. Pacing was good, great action, and even a quick reference to perhaps a sequel Wonderfully done. I was afraid it'll be cheesy and lame, but it met every expectation with some great lines from Robert Downey Jr, the perfect Tony Stark. Pacing was good, great action, and even a quick reference to perhaps a sequel with Warhammer made me hunger for more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveS.Apr 30, 2008
If you are a marvel comic fan, or even a fan of action movies in general, then you need to see this movie. Being the first in what will undoubtedly be a series, this movie has no baggage to bring into it, and really stands out because of it. If you are a marvel comic fan, or even a fan of action movies in general, then you need to see this movie. Being the first in what will undoubtedly be a series, this movie has no baggage to bring into it, and really stands out because of it. The story may be a fairly simple one, but it is a brilliant introduction to the character of Iron Man. Robert Downey junior makes a return to form in his portrayal of Tony Stark/Iron Man blending arrogance, some self realisation and lighter comedic moments well. The visuals and special effects are a credit to the production and special effects teams. Simply put, this is the best Marvel movie I have seen in a long time, and quite frankly I'm willing to see it again in the cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisR.May 10, 2008
I thoughts this was a very well done movie. the only problem I had with it was the amount of action. this movie really doesn't get going until the middle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidW.May 1, 2008
Wow, this movie is definitely one of the best superhero movies. Arguably better than the Spiderman movies. What makes this movie so good is the character Tony Stark. Tony Stark is just one of those you guys who you hate and love at the same Wow, this movie is definitely one of the best superhero movies. Arguably better than the Spiderman movies. What makes this movie so good is the character Tony Stark. Tony Stark is just one of those you guys who you hate and love at the same time cause he's so cocky. The ending is awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful