Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 2, 2008
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1741 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,585
Mixed:
94
Negative:
62
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
ChrisR.May 10, 2008
I thoughts this was a very well done movie. the only problem I had with it was the amount of action. this movie really doesn't get going until the middle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidW.May 1, 2008
Wow, this movie is definitely one of the best superhero movies. Arguably better than the Spiderman movies. What makes this movie so good is the character Tony Stark. Tony Stark is just one of those you guys who you hate and love at the same Wow, this movie is definitely one of the best superhero movies. Arguably better than the Spiderman movies. What makes this movie so good is the character Tony Stark. Tony Stark is just one of those you guys who you hate and love at the same time cause he's so cocky. The ending is awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JanmikS.May 10, 2008
Very very entertaining and visually awesome. Great script for wit and humor and acting covers the somewhat typical superhero movie plot. 'Tis worth your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Bluezboy8May 10, 2008
All the CG and gadgetry of a summer blockbuster, but surprisingly, all the well-drawn story and acting of a fall season Oscar contender. This movie just has it ALL!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadShiiraMay 19, 2008
When Tony Stark(Robert Downey Jr.) returns to the middle east as Ironman, he's no longer the problem to war; he's the solution. This routine, but literary-steeped screenplay, suggests that the weapons manufacturer is a contemporaryWhen Tony Stark(Robert Downey Jr.) returns to the middle east as Ironman, he's no longer the problem to war; he's the solution. This routine, but literary-steeped screenplay, suggests that the weapons manufacturer is a contemporary Marlowe, the protagonist in Joseph Conrad's modernist classic "Heart of Darkness", which told the story of Africa's rape at the turn of the century by European hands. Although Marlowe wasn't an imperialist, per se, he did foster the ongoing tyranny by simply being in that tug boat. In "Ironman", as Stark rides across the desert in an army utility vehicle, our anti-hero gets closer to his unbeknowing nightmare, the discovery that he's enabling the enemy. The horror, the horror. In that cave, he turns into Oskar Schindler(an ex-war profiteer), as a Marvel superhero. But if you're looking for a Kurtz stand-in, it's pretty hard not to miss Jeff Bridges' bald head. Bridges manages the neat trick of being a megalomaniacal tyrant with a god complex(in other words, Marlon Brando in Francis Ford Coppola's "Apocalypse Now"), and Preston Thomas Tucker(the car manufacturer in "Tucker: The Man & His Dreams; again, Coppola), a man of vision, albeit an evil one. "Ironman" also impresses with its Mulder/Scully dynamics between Stark and Pepper Potts(Gwyneth Paltrow). When Stark says, "Admit it. This isn't the worst thing you caught me doing," to his assistant, fans of "The X-Files" will nod knowingly. Mulder was a porn aficionado. "Ironman", predictably, has the requisite action to satisfy its target demographic(something that Ang Lee's "Hulk" failed to do), but it's the suppressed love between boss and employee that's the real story here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenH.May 2, 2008
What a great movie. I went in expecting possibly a passable movie and found that there was not a moment in this very well structured movie that didn't keep me absolutley glued to my seat. This movie is well worth seeing in the cinemas. What a great movie. I went in expecting possibly a passable movie and found that there was not a moment in this very well structured movie that didn't keep me absolutley glued to my seat. This movie is well worth seeing in the cinemas. The acting was great particularily from Robert Downey Jr. I couldn't imagine the role of Tony Stark ever going to anyone else. The comedy in it was hilarious . What we need to keep in mind when rating this movie that it is a comic action flick, and as such i will rate it so.. there was no great meaning or artsy fartsy metaphors. For me this was the perfect comic book action movie. It was far better than any of the other marvels movies i have seen so far and made Transformers look like a joke. I will be going to the movies again soon for this one. 10/10 from me, i hope there is a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JesseB.May 20, 2008
I waited too long, I guess, for this movie. The pacing was wrong and the jokes were only good sometimes. His gadgetry is fantastic but not logical at all. Even a tiny explanation would have been interesting even if not entirely possible. I waited too long, I guess, for this movie. The pacing was wrong and the jokes were only good sometimes. His gadgetry is fantastic but not logical at all. Even a tiny explanation would have been interesting even if not entirely possible. Tony Stark makes an impression of being a Jock before and after his adventure. No character developement there. The action is mainly 2 or 3 scenes and the rest is just embarrasing. Especially the last fight. Watch this in the cinema and you'll at least get the special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JarrodD.May 2, 2008
OK, Dark Knight has a opponent that I thought would fade away in a few minutes after seeing it. I thought Iron Man was going to be entertaining at most really. I didn't think they would do a super great job at "wow"ing me. As you know,OK, Dark Knight has a opponent that I thought would fade away in a few minutes after seeing it. I thought Iron Man was going to be entertaining at most really. I didn't think they would do a super great job at "wow"ing me. As you know, I'm a comic book fanatic. I love em. So, imagine my surprise when they stayed true, and even upped the Iron Man characters, stories, and visuals. I didn't find myself once thinking about how good/bad the effects were. I know that they were incredibly well done, but I also was so into the !&^#% story that I wasn't paying attention to that....which I've never done. Robert Downey Jr in my opinion does his best work to date. I couldn't have asked for a better actor....absolutely perfect. I think RDJ can relate to Tony Stark cuz they've both had/have problems with drugs or women or whatnot, so it worked pretty well. Jeff Bridges, I couldn't see him as the antagonist in my mind before the movie. During and after the movie, I was all for him playing the villain. I don't know about all of you, but for me, it's hard to like or even really care about the "damsel in distress" in super hero movies. I could care less for Mary Jane in Spider man, or Rachael Dawes in Batman Begins. Their characters were just there to be in trouble and add a little sexual flavor to the movie. Gwyneth Paltrow, I honestly cared and liked her character. She was there for more than just, HELP! In fact, she was pretty bad @%#. The acting from all these people was great. They couldn't have done better. There was just enough comic book references in there to keep a nerd like me happy. I could myself a few times clenching my hands in anticipation and glee for what I was about to see or seeing. I was seriously like a 7 year old again watching a combination of Robocop, Superman, Batman, and the x-men cartoon for the first time. It was so @%^$ sweet to see such a good adaptation on screen. I can't tell you how critical I am of comic book movies. As adaptations they #^#*$ suck. As movies, they are usually just passable as entertaining, with the exception of a few. This was a great adaptation (the 8 people around me in the theater thought it was the best adaptation of a book to a story they've seen) Just enough action in it to keep everyone wanting to see what the hell that suit can do (and it is a lot) and just enough character development and story to keep everyone interested and caring for these characters. I can honestly say that I wouldn't have changed a single thing. There was everything in there that needed to be in there, without any of the #&$%@@#$. I would've added one thing. IT'S DIFFERENT THAT CHANGING THINGS! It's not a spoiler, just an awesome Iron Man line that was in a comic. There was a scene in the comic where Tony Stark is flying around in the suit and the guys on the ground are noticing he's slurring words and I think he's even singing. The people observing the test yell through the communication line, "Tony, are you #&$% drunk?!" to which it cuts to a panel of Tony Stark in the suit laughing and saying "Have you seen this thing!? Do you really think I'd get into it sober!" haha, everytime I let anyone read that series, they always remember that line and laugh. So, in conclusion, @&*$%^@#! Go see it immediately. I'm available for lunch if you want to go then! Also, when you do see it, stay till after the credits. I don't care if you get a phone call that your baby is birthing right then and there. You sit your @$$ down and watch the #*$%@# end! I honestly felt like an Arsenio Hall audience member after the end scene, I stood up and pumped my fist and gave a "woot woot woot" so awesome! Truly surprised. Alright, I'll shut up. Go see it already Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekC.May 2, 2008
This is what it's all about. Where other movies have either gone cheezy (fantastic 4, the hulk) or realistic and gritty (batman begins), this film succeeds in being fun, carefree and allows you to just enjoy the ride. Downey is a This is what it's all about. Where other movies have either gone cheezy (fantastic 4, the hulk) or realistic and gritty (batman begins), this film succeeds in being fun, carefree and allows you to just enjoy the ride. Downey is a perfect cast. Makes you want to be a kid again and build your own ironman suit out of cardboard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EugeneM.May 3, 2008
Superb comic based movie. RDJ was perfect for the role. I did not give it a perfect 10 because I still wanted to see more ironman action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SorenKMay 3, 2008
Iron Man perfectly suits the superhero movie genre; especially if you're under fourteen years of age. The movie lacks a truly formidable foe to push the Iron Man's buttons and force him to prove his mettle (I blame Favreau). The Iron Man perfectly suits the superhero movie genre; especially if you're under fourteen years of age. The movie lacks a truly formidable foe to push the Iron Man's buttons and force him to prove his mettle (I blame Favreau). The casting/acting is top shelf, but too much of it is wasted on exposition (not to mention a lack of any real chemistry between Downey and Paltrow). Favreau's direction is mostly plodding and unsure of itself - antithetical to the movie's protagonist. By all means go see it, but let's hope Marvel picks a better director for the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReyA.May 30, 2008
This is by far the best superhero movie of all time. I used to be a big fan of spiderman until Iron Man came around. Also, what I liked alot is the technologically advanced weaponry used in the film. It really caught my attention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DplummMay 3, 2008
I went kicking and screaming.... This is not my type of movie....I'm more of a McDreamy kind of movie goer..... I never even heard of IronMan. I was not dissapointed. Robert and Terrance as friends. ... so believable .....and Pepper and I went kicking and screaming.... This is not my type of movie....I'm more of a McDreamy kind of movie goer..... I never even heard of IronMan. I was not dissapointed. Robert and Terrance as friends. ... so believable .....and Pepper and Jeff....what a cast! A must see!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaddyH.May 3, 2008
A great film......brilliant gadget wise! definately would recommend it to other people!!!!!!!!!!!!! go watch it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.B.May 3, 2008
I was very skeptical about with Downey playing Stark. I was wrong, no one else could have been Ironman. The movie had plenty of action with well timed humor. I will be taking my sons to see it again next weekend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnnyD.May 3, 2008
If you liked the previews, this movie won't disappoint. There were equal parts action, humor, and storyline. I can't wait for a sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickG.May 3, 2008
Well paced, intelligent and enjoyable film. The soul searching and slow paced traps other sueprhero films fall into aren't present in this throughout this film (luckily) and the lack of cheesy love moments or sentimentality give the Well paced, intelligent and enjoyable film. The soul searching and slow paced traps other sueprhero films fall into aren't present in this throughout this film (luckily) and the lack of cheesy love moments or sentimentality give the film credibility. Ironman also looks amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnF.May 3, 2008
I have been waiting 25 years for this movie and it was worth every second of it! Terrific movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanR.May 4, 2008
This movie was really cool and one of the best comic book movies yet. Just make sure you stay until after the credits!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoeR.May 4, 2008
Same old plot, same old one-dimensional charatcers, same old "bangs" and "booms" and same old Robert Downey, Jr. playinp Robert Downey, Jr. I'm sorry but I was bored, amybe I've just seen too many of these to care anymore. It Same old plot, same old one-dimensional charatcers, same old "bangs" and "booms" and same old Robert Downey, Jr. playinp Robert Downey, Jr. I'm sorry but I was bored, amybe I've just seen too many of these to care anymore. It certainly didn't have the depth of "character" that Batman Begins did... it was more like Fantastic Four meets the (first) Hulk... I really wanted to like this, but the went expensive with the visuals and cheap with the character development & simplistic storyline. Just feel flat, for me personally, but again I may have been expecting too much after reading some reviews and hearing WOM. I have a feeling after seeing the Hulk trailer that I'm gonna have to wait for INDY to really cheer again for a movie character... that's what a summer blockbuster is all about for me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanB.May 4, 2008
Fantastic. Seamless animation, razor sharp editing and near-oscar worthy performances from Daniels, Paltrow and of course Downey. Equal in excellence to the 1 and 2 'Spiderman' movies and to the current 'Batman' series. Fantastic. Seamless animation, razor sharp editing and near-oscar worthy performances from Daniels, Paltrow and of course Downey. Equal in excellence to the 1 and 2 'Spiderman' movies and to the current 'Batman' series. Very believable and well written. Don't miss! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndreF.May 4, 2008
This is one of the best comic book movies that I have seen in quites sometime. The acting was on par with Batman Begins, and it gave hope to reviving a franchise with what I believe was a poor sequel in Spiderman 3. Great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalvinC.May 4, 2008
The first movie made in 4 years where I actually cared about the characters. The CGI is there, yet it doesn't completely overshadow the movie, which is a nice touch. Lots of political drama spice up the plotline as well. Don't wait The first movie made in 4 years where I actually cared about the characters. The CGI is there, yet it doesn't completely overshadow the movie, which is a nice touch. Lots of political drama spice up the plotline as well. Don't wait for the DVD or Blu-ray. Watch it now. You won't be dissapointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElizabethE.May 4, 2008
Fantastic. Downey is perfectly cast, plot is smart, special effects are terrific, dialogue is clever. It is the rare action movie in which even the non-action scenes are compelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RDalviMay 4, 2008
Awesome film. Cool Visual effects. Robert Downey Jr, Gwyneth Paltrow, Jeff Bridges, Terence Howard and all others were great. COOL WITH A HUGE C.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffL.May 5, 2008
The Dude abides.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonanonL.May 5, 2008
Expected Much Much Worse. Even with all the "summer movie" moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MNGMay 5, 2008
RDJ can act alright. He's great. Gwyneth is good too - but what was so good about her role - pretty sexist if you ask me. the movie was exciting and fun to look at it and an exciting ride. But a little worrying politically. Yay America RDJ can act alright. He's great. Gwyneth is good too - but what was so good about her role - pretty sexist if you ask me. the movie was exciting and fun to look at it and an exciting ride. But a little worrying politically. Yay America - the only he wants after three months in a cave is a cheeseburger. an American has to be the one to save the Iraqi civilians (or whatever race they were - they looked Iraqi). the Iraqis are the bad guys. the Americans are the good guys. the token black is a good guy. the older bearded fellow is dodgy. and don't even get me started with RDJ's facial hair! the moustache is practically hitleresque and disgusting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimD.May 5, 2008
I'm a huge fan of comic film and this is one of the top 5 comic films. Robert Downey Jr is amazing, Favreau weaves an amazing story
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AustinM.May 5, 2008
This movie was spectacular. Sure, it was no Star Wars or The Godfather, but regardless, it was the most fun I've had at a movie since Cloverfield, and before that, since Star Wars Episode 3. The acting by Robert Downey Jr. was This movie was spectacular. Sure, it was no Star Wars or The Godfather, but regardless, it was the most fun I've had at a movie since Cloverfield, and before that, since Star Wars Episode 3. The acting by Robert Downey Jr. was phenomenal, and after watching the movie, I yearned to be that Tony Stark, brilliant, funny, awesome, billionaire of a guy that he was in that part. The soundtrack wasn't anything memorable, but it certainly didn't detract from anything. The special effects, as always by ILM, were amazing, and the entire visual aspect of the piece was great. The story as well, was admirable, and much, much better than that crap the Spider-Man movies keep throwing at us. This is probably because it stuck very loyally to the comics, with the added "Tony Stark is awesome" thing. Overall, just a really good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful