Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 2, 2008
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1739 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,583
Mixed:
94
Negative:
62
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
AndrewK.Sep 24, 2008
Tony Stark is hilarious! Great acting, great story, great Action! Very entertaining, can't wait to see what Marvel cooks up next. The Avengers, perhaps?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MasterOrbApr 29, 2009
Only one problem: the idea that you can tell terrorists you are building a rocket while imprisoned in their secret base but secretly build a huge metal suit, all while on closed-circuit TV, without them knowing. I know you're supposed Only one problem: the idea that you can tell terrorists you are building a rocket while imprisoned in their secret base but secretly build a huge metal suit, all while on closed-circuit TV, without them knowing. I know you're supposed to suspend your disbelief with comic book movies but this was so ridiculous that it really took me out of the film. besides that, it kicks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelleBMay 12, 2008
A surprisingly original take on the superhero genre. Clever casting, irony and a wonderful Downey make even the clunky "escape from captivity" sequence and predictable "oh here's the ring on the evil villain" scene--plausible. This A surprisingly original take on the superhero genre. Clever casting, irony and a wonderful Downey make even the clunky "escape from captivity" sequence and predictable "oh here's the ring on the evil villain" scene--plausible. This movie thrills the eye and gives geeks and cool kids something to applaud. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenP.May 28, 2008
I loved this movie, it told a good story and and great effects and i cant wait to see the next saga
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeilB.Jun 12, 2008
Great film. Can't wait till the next one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AJW.Jun 13, 2008
Clever set piece action with an engaging style. A good example of how to do big-screen superheroes right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradleyH.Jun 15, 2008
The movie was great. Special effects were done really well. It was a long movie but I wish it were longer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidC.Jun 17, 2008
One of the best superhero movies ever created. RDJ plays the part perfect. This is our next Spider-man quality franchise (lets just hope it gets better with time rather then down the road Spider-man went).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattH.Aug 12, 2008
Great cast. Some truly funny lines. Iron Man 2 will hit a home run. This is just the warm up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MovieFailAug 17, 2010
Iron Man stands in my mind as the greatest super hero film released thus far. With a phenomenal mix of great acting, near-perfect special effects, humor, and story, this film simultaneously gave me hope that future Marvel movies mightIron Man stands in my mind as the greatest super hero film released thus far. With a phenomenal mix of great acting, near-perfect special effects, humor, and story, this film simultaneously gave me hope that future Marvel movies might actually be good, and brought the wonderful Robert Downey, Jr. back into the limelight. As a character, the protagonist, Tony Stark, is in every way the perfect vehicle for Downey, Jr. as he assuredly inhabits the role and plays it out to its limit. Pushing the boundaries at every turn, Stark is a chauvinistic, rich, pompous ass of a man. However, unlike his would-be DC counterpart in The Dark Knight, he is actually more entertaining to watch in many respects than his superhero alter ego. Stark manages to be both funny and endearing throughout the film- a brilliantly written script from Fergus, Ostby, Marcum, and Holloway makes every scene both witty and often-times hilarious, without being campy. I found myself eagerly awaiting Downey, Jr.'s next impeccably delivered line as much as I looked forward to seeing the suit. An all-star cast is used to the fullest, with solid performances from both Jeff Bridges, Terrence Howard, and Gwyneth Paltrow, even if they were a bit under-utilized. I enjoyed the fact that this movie also adhered pretty closely, if not entirely, to the comic storyline. At the very least, they captured the essence of a lesser-known superhero and made him appeal to the general public. In a nice little tribute to avid readers, Iron Monger is portrayed in this film as the main antagonist. Unfortunately, I would say where Iron Man trips up the most is in the story. The climax of the film, though mostly satisfying, leaves something to be desired. This is because prior to this action sequence, there are brilliant set pieces that are used in other battles, and the final fight doesn't match up. However, the final scene wraps up the movie beautifully and leaves us wanting more- unlike a movie starring a certain Caped Crusaderâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheBearOct 18, 2010
Such a welcome and unexpected surprise as Iron Man defies expectation and turns out to be something quite special. Exceptionally cast; Robert Downey Jr. steals the show and blows away all the other competition. It's very funny, action packedSuch a welcome and unexpected surprise as Iron Man defies expectation and turns out to be something quite special. Exceptionally cast; Robert Downey Jr. steals the show and blows away all the other competition. It's very funny, action packed and although it may lack a overall plot, Iron Man turns out to be a fun filled ride that you half wish would never end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 9, 2011
Iron Man is brought to life because of Robert Downey Jr. he was the perfect person for the part, he pulled it off so well, and while it might not be the most kid friendly super hero movie it's still an amazing one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RJSmooveMar 19, 2011
Iron Man was a huge surprise. And a very pleasant one at that. Going into the summer of 2008, my attention was completely preoccupied with The Dark Knight, The Incredible Hulk, Kung Fu Panda, Pineapple Express, Tropic Thunder, Indiana JonesIron Man was a huge surprise. And a very pleasant one at that. Going into the summer of 2008, my attention was completely preoccupied with The Dark Knight, The Incredible Hulk, Kung Fu Panda, Pineapple Express, Tropic Thunder, Indiana Jones 4, Wanted, Hellboy II, Wall-E, Step Brothers and The Mummy 3. All of which were very hyped up titles that had people lining up for them. But, among them was one of the best comic book movies ever made. As much as I love The Dark Knight and Tropic Thunder (they're in my top three favorite all-time movies), I think that Iron Man is superior to both of them in many ways. It is highly entertaining, throughout. It doesn't matter if you like Superheroes, or not. There is something in this film for just about everyone. The few action scenes are top notch. My personal favorite is the scene when Iron Man returns to the Middle East to destroy all of his weapons. The acting is phenomenal. Robert Downey Jr. was beyond perfect as Tony Stark. I am always glad to see A-listers give their all in these types of films because it proves that they are not just for children and geeks (honestly, we all still have a little of both in us). The rest of the amazing cast consists of Jeff Bridges, Gwyneth Paltrow, Terrence Howard and even Samuel L. Jackson in a surprise post-credits cameo. I also have to mention the director, Jon Favreau. I only knew him from comedies and tv, but he did a great job with this big blockbuster. Despite the great action, direction , and superb casting, the real key to this movie's excellence is the script. The writing is not quite as deep and dark as The Dark Knight, but for a supposedly "summer popcorn action flick", it is right on par. It never hurts to get a team of actual comic book writers along with the creator himself, Stan The Man, to guide you and tell you what fits, and what doesn't. That is the only way to make a comic book character come to life, just as he is on the pages. And in the end it will always pay off with the most important group in the audience, the fans. I cannot say that without admitting something though. I was never an avid reader of the Iron Man comics, although he does make an appearance in alot of my books. But I am very familiar with the character, not only from my comics that he is in, but also the cartoon from the 90's. I still try to catch episodes of the cartoon to this day. The reason I never got into his comic arc is because, I honestly had no interest in the villains he fought, except for the Hulk. Most of his villains were just big robots and monsters (Godzilla was actually one of them). With that said, I was still happy to see that they chose a very conventional first villain, Iron Monger. As long as they never make a movie with M.O.D.O.K., I will be happy. My only complaint about this movie is how scarce the action is. There are only really three scenes of action in total. I know it may seem a little hypocritical for me to complain about the action in Iron Man and give it a 90%, when I gave The Dark Knight 100%, and it had even less action than Iron Man. But the difference between the two is that Iron Man is an action movie, but in my opinion, The Dark Knight is a drama. Alot of people would probably disagree with that statement, but after watching both films many many times, that's the feeling I get about them. The action scenes that it does have are beautiful though. I just think Jon Favreau is not an action director, so he played it safe. In the end, that may have been why Iron Man was so great. I was really surprised that Iron Man became one of my favorite movies. It reminds me of how i felt about Star Trek. I had my doubts, but those doubts were completely shattered after seeing it. I cannot wait for Iron Man 2. I'm hoping that it repeats the cycle of great comic book movie sequels. Following in the footsteps of X2, Spider-man 2, The Dark Knight, The Incredible Hulk (if you consider that a sequel), and Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (just kidding). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ATsushiMay 30, 2016
Heroic, full of fun and memorable moments, Iron Man is a film that fits well the character and is among the best that cinema has created the comic genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RicochetPhoenixMay 6, 2013
Great film with an amazingly well-translated origin story. The first half of this film is fantastic, for both casual movie-goers and hardcore comic book fans alike. However, unfortunately, the film starts to lose a bit of direction in theGreat film with an amazingly well-translated origin story. The first half of this film is fantastic, for both casual movie-goers and hardcore comic book fans alike. However, unfortunately, the film starts to lose a bit of direction in the second half it never gets bad...it just starts to fall a little bit flat. I don't feel like Iron Monger was strong enough of a villain to carry the ending. Great movie overall though, one of Marvel's best. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonOct 16, 2013
One of the first movies made by Marvel Studio's the original Iron Man remains, with the possible exception of Josh Whedon's 'The Avengers', my favourite superhero movie. With a great mix of humour (Robert Downey Jr was born to play TonyOne of the first movies made by Marvel Studio's the original Iron Man remains, with the possible exception of Josh Whedon's 'The Avengers', my favourite superhero movie. With a great mix of humour (Robert Downey Jr was born to play Tony Stark), a number of great action scenes and an excellent soundtrack this is the perfect reminder of just how good a summer blockbuster can be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pwnstarJul 5, 2011
This movie is amazing because of Jon Favreau's directing and Robert Downey Jr's acting. The only thing this movie lacks is action scenes, because there isnt that many of them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dharmaApr 29, 2013
The first of the Marvel Universe is one of its best. Before this flick, Downey Jr was a 'has been actor' and Iron Man is considered as a B-List Marvel Super Hero. That practically changed overnight, with Iron Man. Exciting, humorous andThe first of the Marvel Universe is one of its best. Before this flick, Downey Jr was a 'has been actor' and Iron Man is considered as a B-List Marvel Super Hero. That practically changed overnight, with Iron Man. Exciting, humorous and 'organic', Iron Man carries with it a peculiar Indie sensibility in its dialogue. Great and career defining performance by Downey Jr, catapulting him into an A-Lister. He is Tony Stark, pure and simple; a performance on par with Chris Reeve iconic performance as Superman. Rewatch it again to prepare yourself for Iron Man 3, folks! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Bruce722May 24, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hands down one of the best superhero movies ever made. Robert Downey Jr. is fantastic as Tony Stark/Iron Man and the rest of the cast is great as well. They give life to the characters and are all amazing actors. The action sequences were done really well also. This movie has humor, drama, action, romance, intensity, and is told well. The only real issue with the plot itself is that there are a few major plot holes towards the end. For example, how is Obadiah able to see what Pepper downloaded from the computer, check on the progress of his own suit, and then get to Tony's house before Pepper even has a chance to call Tony? Another thing, how does Obadiah get into Tony's house so easily in the first place? Wouldn't you think a genius billionaire like Tony Stark has a halfway decent security system or that Jarvis would've notified Tony? Lastly, how is Obadiah able to master the nuances of his suit immediately without having any trial phase? It took Tony quit a while to master his suit's various functions and yet Obadiah was able to do this right away. These things take away from the movie and prevent it from being a perfect 10/10 but the film was still great. If you're willing to overlook a few flaws then you'll enjoy this a lot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
First off, this would be a 9.25 out of 10. Acting is good. Everyone does a good job. Score is good. Has a really good story. Action sequences are great. Looks so cool. Overall, this is a great film. Great superhero film. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GarianAug 8, 2012
The action mixed with the humor made Iron Man a great movie, Marvel has done it again, Robert Downey Jr played the character very well, and it left me anxiously waiting for Iron Man 2. However, some parts of the movie were quite predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Downey is pitch-perfect as Stark. Rather than creating a strong-man type character, like many superhero movies do, our hero has depth, and that, not the action, is what gives Iron Man its kick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PulseEnderNov 23, 2012
Iron Man is a great movie which is one of the tie in movies towards The Avengers in Marvel's Cinematic Universe. Plot: Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr) is a billionaire and owner of Stark Industries, a company which produces weapons. After aIron Man is a great movie which is one of the tie in movies towards The Avengers in Marvel's Cinematic Universe. Plot: Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr) is a billionaire and owner of Stark Industries, a company which produces weapons. After a standard weapons demonstration, Stark's convoy is ambushed by terrorists and he loses consciousness. When he re awakens as a prisoner, there is a battery attached to his chest keeping him alive. The terrorists want him to create weapons for them. He pretends as if he is building them when he is actually building a compact metal heart to replace the heavy battery, and a metal suit outfitted with weapons which he then uses to escape. During his imprisonment, he realizes that Stark weaponry is also being used by the terrorists. When he arrives back to his home he perfects his suit and becomes Iron Man. He also lashes out at his own company but is judged by the media which almost makes him lose his rights to it. In the meanwhile he vows to keep corrupted parts of the world free from terrorism. Opinion: Iron Man is well done, and makes the audience question the arms race to a larger extent. I recommend this movie to those who own their own large buisness, are very wealthy, and those who are interested in machinery. I also reccomend this movie to those who are interested in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Bolstered by an utterly iconic lead performance, Jon Favreau's "Iron Man" is a breathtaking, intellectual, gleaming, and an overall ideal addition to the Marvel Cinematic Universe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NimbleReviewJun 18, 2013
One of those rare gems that is great all the way through. A great origin story, with everything you could want. The action is fun, the characters are complex and intriguing, and you get tons of great moments throughout the film. AbsolutelyOne of those rare gems that is great all the way through. A great origin story, with everything you could want. The action is fun, the characters are complex and intriguing, and you get tons of great moments throughout the film. Absolutely recommended to everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheApplegnomeJul 29, 2014
Iron Man is an enormous good movie, that truly is packed with exciting and entertaining scenes that are fantastic to watch.

Iron Man is one of these movies that got everything from great action in a high tempo, a wonderful story, a great
Iron Man is an enormous good movie, that truly is packed with exciting and entertaining scenes that are fantastic to watch.

Iron Man is one of these movies that got everything from great action in a high tempo, a wonderful story, a great opening scene to fantastic special effects. It also got many unique things that truly are rare to see in movies nowadays, and combined with the great music and the exiting adventure of Tony Stark, the movie couldn't be more awesome as it is. There are almost none negative things about this movie at all, but one is that there are some objects in the film that don't look real, but overall is Iron Man a hell of a film!

Iron Man is one flawless movie that truly is cool and groovy to watch.

Iron Man gets a 9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SuperheroMoviesAug 3, 2013
The movie was a wonderful surprise and an adrenaline powered ride with Robert Downey Jr. at the helm as Tony Stark, this film is one rare comic book movie that delivers quality as well as quantity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticNov 9, 2013
'Iron Man' is a charismatic, thorough, and witty ploy of the classic Marvels character. Robert Downey Jr. has the charm and humorous spirit that drives the film. He's a respectable actor, who doesn't get enough credit. The whole movie is'Iron Man' is a charismatic, thorough, and witty ploy of the classic Marvels character. Robert Downey Jr. has the charm and humorous spirit that drives the film. He's a respectable actor, who doesn't get enough credit. The whole movie is clear and leaves you with an entertained feeling rather than a confused or disappointed one. Everyone else is "good" enough in terms of how actors normally are in a comic adaptation (Downey was born for this role). It has everything a good superhero film should have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
After disappointments like "X-Men: The Last Stand" and "Spider-Man 3", "Iron Man" is a big renaissance for the Marvel Universe and it is STILL a solid superhero movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
sivaruthvikJan 19, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. best start to a franchise.Robert jr. is overwhelming .the entire cast is excellent . jon favreau made a best combo also at last to make blast.may they continue this. Terrence might have have done well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DrewtheDude85May 29, 2015
The first Iron Man was such an excellent way to begin the Marvel Cinematic Universe, it's a great origin story movie for the hero in Iron we all love today. Robert Downey Jr's performance is top notch and he does a great job of being theThe first Iron Man was such an excellent way to begin the Marvel Cinematic Universe, it's a great origin story movie for the hero in Iron we all love today. Robert Downey Jr's performance is top notch and he does a great job of being the character he is in this film. This film masterfully blends action and comedy very well and it's a lot of fun seeing Tony Stark trying out his new Iron equipment and getting it to work. You have other great performances and there is even a cool fight at the end, even though I wish the fight was a bit more climatic. The first Iron Man is a must see for all Marvel die-hards out there! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
diogomendesOct 3, 2014
Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Analysis: Iron Man (2008)

Marvel Cinematic Universe is probably one of the most ambitious film franchises put together by a studio, and most likely, the best. Kevin Feige was the first person to come up with
Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Analysis: Iron Man (2008)

Marvel Cinematic Universe is probably one of the most ambitious film franchises put together by a studio, and most likely, the best. Kevin Feige was the first person to come up with this idea. An idea of creating a shared media universe, grouping famous super-heroes into the big screen. I personally love this idea. Imagining Iron Man teaming up with notable Marvel characters such as: Hulk, Captain America and Thor as well other characters like Black Window and Hawkeye is just extraordinary. Of course I want Spider-Man and Wolverine to join The Avengers, but the movie rights of these characters belong to Sony and Fox, respectively. To do that, those studios need to sell their rights to Marvel but since that’s not gonna happen, they will stick with their own universe. Unfortunately. However, that doesn’t stop Marvel Studios from offering gritty, smarts movies to cinema and also developing stories that lead to bigger and better things. And that’s where “Iron Man” comes in. This movie starts the Phase 1 of this large universe and it’s not only gripping and entertaining, but it’s also amusing and clever, and seems to comprehend the essence of super-heroes. It’s a rousing ride from the beginning to the end, a heartwarming summer blockbuster that takes its incredibleness to higher levels.

Robert Downey Jr. brings a sunny personality into his character, providing fresh and energetic dialogue while also improvising his own lines. He’s the perfect choice for Iron Man. Thank you Marvel Studios for hiring such incredibly talented actor to portray this marvelous character. Thank you. Downey’s character is funny, clever, quick and most important, strong. I swear to God if I could choose anyone to be my partner or best friend, I would choose Robert. About Gwyneth Paltrow, I don’t know why she’s so bashed by everyone. She did very well in this film, to be honest. Maybe I should watch more of her movies (Oh well). Another actor I would like to point out is ah… Jeff Bridges. Jeff’s thick voice makes the villain sound menacing and dangerous, and his performance in this blockbuster is outstanding. I’m not gonna lie, I laughed my ass off when his character started yelling at the poor doctor: “TONY STARK WAS ABLE TO BUILT THIS IN A CAVE!!!! WITH A BOX OF SCRAPS!!!” XD. One minor flaw I would like to point out is that when Obadiah fights with Tony at the nearly end, he knows perfectly how to use the suit. How? He didn’t test it before, like Stark did. Maybe I’m nitpicking a little bit, but when you have these flaws in the narrative, it prevents you from giving a better score to these movies (*cough* The Dark Knight Rises *cough*). However, the actor fits the role of Iron Monger, a flying robotic weapon that fires air-to-surface missiles. He’s really good in combat, which takes us to the next point.

The fight sequences. The fight scenes, although few, are very well done. No shaky cams, no quick zooms or even disturbing amount of explosions (eww Transformers). I’m not gonna say it’s better than those action sequences in “Captain America: The Winter of Soldier”, but it’s definitely pure exciting and visually stunning. Iron Man flying around is fun to watch and the last fight sequence remains spectacular and believable. If there’s something that it’s difficult to capture in super-heroes movies is belief. Movies that successfully did that are Nolan’s Batman trilogy and the first Amazing Spider-Man, and even those have their “suspension of disbelief” moments.

But the highlight of the film is gotta be the storytelling. The way that the film’s narrative flows throughout the movie is fantastic. The story kept my attention, and that’s very hard to do when you’re writing a script and developing characters. It doesn’t throw every information into one film. You know… like “The Amazing Spider-Man 2” did. It doesn’t spend its time trying to set-up future Marvel movies and TV series. The story focus ONLY on the main character and his motivations, personality and past, while occasionally introducing characters that are going to play a major role in the Marvel franchise. That’s how you set-up sequels and crossovers! Even when the movie is not focusing on Tony Stark, the story also manages to entertain the filmgoers with spectacle thrills and proper character development, even if sometimes falls into typical clichés of modern blockbusters. But just few of them. It’s also fun to see the pacing of this flick, which I think it’s beautiful. Another great thing I would like to point out is the directing. Joss Whedon is the director of this movie, and also the character known as Happy Hogan who does a tremendous job in this super-hero movie. He didn’t do a very good job with “Cowboys and Aliens” but with this film, he outstands himself.

Final Score to Iron Man: 9/10. At the end of the day, “Iron Man” is gritty, entertaining and funny (occasionally, thanks to Robert’s charm) .
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AaronWasserman2May 4, 2014
A freaking awesome, cool, slick, and captivating comic book film. Robert Downy Jr. owns it as Tony Stark. The tech is awesome, the music is awesome, the action is great, the story is memorable. Iron Man is a solid superhero flick
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBAug 29, 2014
Iron Man is witty, entertaining and very amusing. Tony Stark is an iconic superhero character. Overall, Iron Man directed by Jon Favreau delivers, but it has few slow parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SkyrimGuy935Jan 17, 2015
A charismatic lead from Downey, Jr., spectacular effects, a surprisingly coherent story, and witty dialog, Iron Man is the rare summer blockbuster that manages to be ridiculously fun while also providing a great story and characters. IA charismatic lead from Downey, Jr., spectacular effects, a surprisingly coherent story, and witty dialog, Iron Man is the rare summer blockbuster that manages to be ridiculously fun while also providing a great story and characters. I couldn't have imagined a better start for the MCU.

9.5/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
Tony Stark is a billionaire industrialist and genius inventor who is kidnapped and forced to build a devastating weapon. Instead, using his intelligence and ingenuity, Tony builds a high-tech suit of armor and escapes captivity. When heTony Stark is a billionaire industrialist and genius inventor who is kidnapped and forced to build a devastating weapon. Instead, using his intelligence and ingenuity, Tony builds a high-tech suit of armor and escapes captivity. When he uncovers a nefarious plot with global implications, he dons his powerful armor and vows to protect the world as Iron Man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
thomasljoguesNov 13, 2014
Marvel Cinematic Universe's best movie (unless you prefer Guardians of the Galaxy), Iron Man delivers a fresh take on the superhero movie franchise. What was novel was its focus on fun, yet its concept of implying a greater universe ofMarvel Cinematic Universe's best movie (unless you prefer Guardians of the Galaxy), Iron Man delivers a fresh take on the superhero movie franchise. What was novel was its focus on fun, yet its concept of implying a greater universe of interacting superheroes, which was magical before the Cinematic Universe's excessive use of the concept, thus bringing plot-holes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
Iron Man is a well-balanced, action-packed adventure that will entertain all audiences. It possesses wise humor, ground-breaking CGI, a wonderful cast, and a well-grounded setting. This is a good standard for superhero films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
waronassermanMay 2, 2015
Incredible movie! fun, engaging, cool, funny, entertaining, this movie has it all! Robert Downey Jr. does such an amazing job! Such an awesome way to kick off the build up to Avengers
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RedeadhoodMar 28, 2016
Definitely one of the best superhero movies of all time, Iron man has it all, action, humor, and most importantly intrigue. It saddens me that the later marvel films (with the exception of TWS) weren't able to capture the same magic. IronDefinitely one of the best superhero movies of all time, Iron man has it all, action, humor, and most importantly intrigue. It saddens me that the later marvel films (with the exception of TWS) weren't able to capture the same magic. Iron man not only revived Downey's career but also gave the comic books the recognition that they deserve. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
adw55125Jul 3, 2017
This is the best film in the MCU. I am just going to say that now. The sequels never live up to this, not even close. This movie is great. It is so much fun, the action is great, and Robert Downey Jr, shines in this film. Who knew a characterThis is the best film in the MCU. I am just going to say that now. The sequels never live up to this, not even close. This movie is great. It is so much fun, the action is great, and Robert Downey Jr, shines in this film. Who knew a character like Iron Man would be one of the best comic book characters in film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 4, 2016
This movie gives you that feeling that something good might happen when you first see the movie... then here comes the action. Oh! Ah! Yay! Best part about it is that no one can make a good Iron Man actor other than Robert Downey Jr.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PsikologApr 1, 2016
This film is Marvel's rebirth and perfect choice for a start, it was also the first film that makes you think about how it's impossible to think anyone playing Iron Man besides Robert Downey Jr. because he's just an exact Tony Stark in theThis film is Marvel's rebirth and perfect choice for a start, it was also the first film that makes you think about how it's impossible to think anyone playing Iron Man besides Robert Downey Jr. because he's just an exact Tony Stark in the film. This film is one of the best superhero movies of all time, it wouldn't be illogical to say that RDJ could have been nominated for an Oscar for this role after watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ElectroNickApr 28, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Iron Man was a bold risk to start off he Marvel Cinematic universe. those who are are well knowledge of he Marvel Universe know his importance but the average film goer wouldn't have heard of him if it wasn't for this movie. Thankfully the risk paid off not just for this movie but for the entire Marvel Cinematic Universe. Robert Downey Jr. plays the charismatic Tony Stark as he starts off being an arms dealer but later learns the errors of his ways. He relies heavily on his metal chest piece to stay alive which makes this hero unique since his greatest strength is also his greatest weakness. The technology gives him alot of power but it also his life support. Stark is a likable hero due to the fact that his vulnerability is a state that the average person can face. The biggest strength of the film let alone the whole Iron Man film franchise are the interactions between him and the rest of the cast. He has great chemistry with Gwenoth Paltrow which gives rise to wonderful romance. Jeff Bridges is actually a great villain as the fearsome Iron Monger when he creates his own suit of armor based on the Iron Man prototype. The fight with him is an an intense climax and it is a nice visual representation of him fighting against what he used to be. The biggest shocker of the film though was when Stark reveals his secret identity to the world. This allows unique possibilities for him to explore his relation with the rest of the world. This film is a great foundation for the Marvel Cinematic universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sammydefruApr 24, 2016
From the opening credits of comic book pages flying past, you know that this will be a good movie. Whether you're a superhero fan or not, you can't help but think the guy coming out to legendary music, is someone worth watching. I find thatFrom the opening credits of comic book pages flying past, you know that this will be a good movie. Whether you're a superhero fan or not, you can't help but think the guy coming out to legendary music, is someone worth watching. I find that the most exciting scenes are when Tony invents new ways for him to get the suit on. Something that we always get to look forward too in movies after. This will be so fun to see in "Captain America: Civil War.

In this movie, you won't be able to predict what is to come, and it ends up surprising you. This movie will give you hope for future Marvel movies to come. This was the start of great things coming out of the Marvel comic era. Marvel Cinematic Universe took the right step in starting with Iron Man due to him being an all around big hit that has the right attitude and confidence to pave the way for the movies that came after. Iron Man was the ultimate fantasy fulfilled as we are taken inside his suit while watching him in action. If we take a look at the beginning when he was taken by his captors in Afghanistan is when we truly began to see Tony change. We are able to see this change by how he is willing to help the man who saved him, rather than fending for himself. He was given a second chance at life to be someone other than who he was becoming. He was having fun doing whatever he wanted with the unlimited amount of money to get what he wanted. He decided to become a hero, a change that mankind needed.

Downey's casting as Iron Man, made audiences skeptical: he wasn't in the best place of his career, and people didn't know what they were to expect; but that's also one reason you will enjoy this movie: no one expected such a great performance from Downey due to his questionable past. Downey puts on a stellar performance that causes you to want to see the second and third installments, along with all of the other crossover films in the Marvel franchises. Downey blew audiences away with his character, making them want a fourth film; one that has not yet been confirmed. There is no way that they could ever cast someone else as Iron Man, as they are one in the same. This film set the stage for all Marvel films that came after that were just as successful.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Aaron_WassermanJun 1, 2016
The start of the MCU and in my opinion the best of the MCU. Iron man is an awesome film it really is and Downey shines. Marvel did it well with this film, taking a relatively unknown character and turning him into a beloved one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MasterRileyDec 20, 2016
Iron Man started it all for the MCU, and what a movie it was. Its still one of my favourite MCU movies, as it has very good writing, action, casting and performances all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nsroehlAug 7, 2016
My favorite marvel movie so far. Great origin story, robert downey is amazing as stark, and everything that happens just makes sense. It would have been nice to have a more climatic end fight scene but it worked. I highly recommend thisMy favorite marvel movie so far. Great origin story, robert downey is amazing as stark, and everything that happens just makes sense. It would have been nice to have a more climatic end fight scene but it worked. I highly recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GMReviewsNov 5, 2016
Iron Man is a groundbreaking film for comic fans, being one of the best ever made. However, what also leads to the large succession in this film is the great appeal it not only has to comic book fans, but general movie watchers. Robert DowneyIron Man is a groundbreaking film for comic fans, being one of the best ever made. However, what also leads to the large succession in this film is the great appeal it not only has to comic book fans, but general movie watchers. Robert Downey JR immediately becomes one with the character, giving you the feeling no one could ever replace the character to match the constant enthusiasm and wit the character personally brings to the table. I literally think this is one of the main reasons this film was so critically acclaimed when released, the film is revolving all around this entertaining character, meaning a scene is never boring; it just goes to show how an extremely good performance along with a stellar script can evolve into something awesome. This film sets its tone in the first sequence, and maintains it throughout, keeping that level of humorous consistency, and not being drawn back by the fact these type of origin stories have to introduce their characters and show them in all their glory in their costume as the film ends.. That’s the general structure these origin stories go along, but this film took a leap and made it to the other end, because this film displays the character at the beginning as arrogant, not the hero type – but as the film progresses he begins to really morph into his Iron Man persona, and that gradual character development leads to a satisfying result. Overall, this film is amazing and completely knows what it wants to be, and the effect it wants on the people that watch it over the world – being not just comic fans, but general moviegoers and lovers of films. This film gets from me a 9/10 92% Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HatersWannaHateOct 3, 2016
A classic. Resurgence of Robert Downey Jr. People forget that his career was largely considered to be over before this movie came out. He was perfect in this role. If anything the final showdown at the end of the film is a little weak inA classic. Resurgence of Robert Downey Jr. People forget that his career was largely considered to be over before this movie came out. He was perfect in this role. If anything the final showdown at the end of the film is a little weak in comparison to the rest of the film but still a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
egkJan 14, 2017
Now this is how a summer movie should start out. This was the very fist movie that started it all and one of the most memorable. Robert Downy Jr. plays a great tony stark, heck he practically is tony stark.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LillieyMay 28, 2017
The movie that kicked off the MCU! Robert Downey Jr. is an inspired choice for Tony Stark/Iron Man and Jon Favreau's deft direction makes this an enjoyable origin journey with our sarcastic hero. A
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bugger217Sep 13, 2017
Iron Man kicked off what we now know as the Marvel Cinematic Universe with a stylish bang. A topical superhero origin story with strong characters, a killer cast, witty humor, great action, spectacular effects, and a lot of heart. RobertIron Man kicked off what we now know as the Marvel Cinematic Universe with a stylish bang. A topical superhero origin story with strong characters, a killer cast, witty humor, great action, spectacular effects, and a lot of heart. Robert Downey Jr. was born to play Tony Stark. The film gets a little messy in the third act, but it's never boring to watch. In fact, the movie is totally investing from start to finish. I've seen it many times since 2008, and while its flaws have become more noticeable, the overall experience has never gotten any worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PriyanthT.May 2, 2008
thye movie was awesome the graphics were done greatly and it was fun watchin and it was no less than spider man, superman or batman, and wish a sequel wuld be made
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeN.May 3, 2008
Downey nailed the character of Stark. Special effects look real. Dialogue is very sharp and witty. Would have been nice to give Bridges more screen time. Last act felt a little rushed. Final fight could have been a little longer/more Downey nailed the character of Stark. Special effects look real. Dialogue is very sharp and witty. Would have been nice to give Bridges more screen time. Last act felt a little rushed. Final fight could have been a little longer/more dramatic. Good start to the series can Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattAMay 6, 2008
This was a very good movie. Although...it would have been nothing without Robert Downey Jr. He made the picture...well...him, and the awesome looking Iron Man suit. My only major gripe was that it all felt like it was leading up to This was a very good movie. Although...it would have been nothing without Robert Downey Jr. He made the picture...well...him, and the awesome looking Iron Man suit. My only major gripe was that it all felt like it was leading up to something...better...in which it was. So when the sequel comes around...i may be giving this a nine, but until then, this serves as a good backstory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffL.May 5, 2008
The Dude abides.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AliR.Oct 8, 2008
Nice Effects, Power Suit is just like comics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EdayH.Apr 30, 2008
at first, i didn't expect much from it, but it turned out, i was wrong. the movie is finely done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnMay 11, 2008
Very good movie worth seeing in a theatre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattKMay 12, 2008
Robert Downey Jr. is awesome. Jeff Bridges is a great Anti-Dude ("that's a publicity stunt---we made that to shut the hippies up!"). Favreau paces the film very well with the perfect mix of humor, action, suspense, and romance. I was Robert Downey Jr. is awesome. Jeff Bridges is a great Anti-Dude ("that's a publicity stunt---we made that to shut the hippies up!"). Favreau paces the film very well with the perfect mix of humor, action, suspense, and romance. I was hopeful that this was a sign of what's to come this summer (it was perfectly matched with the new Dark Knight trailer), but after Speed Racer, I'm not so optimistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrederickM.May 2, 2008
its an awesome movie... get that right before you read my review... my reviem does not have any major criticisms so i wont even bring them up... solid performance by downey... great cg effects... decent story and plot... and overall a kickass movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoolzLMay 3, 2008
Worst Marvel Film Rob? Are you serious? It's among some of the better ones by a long shot. While there was some time at the beginning and end that didn't engage me as well as it could have there were some genuinely great moments in Worst Marvel Film Rob? Are you serious? It's among some of the better ones by a long shot. While there was some time at the beginning and end that didn't engage me as well as it could have there were some genuinely great moments in this film. Also being the obligatory "Origin" story it's hard to stray very far from a story that any marvel fan would be familiar with. It was a good effort and a far cry from some of the painful films of this genre we've been subjected to in the last few years. And despite all odds I look forward to an even better sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WalterRMay 4, 2008
Fun for it's genre. Robert Downey Jr. makes this movie, but the entire cast is solid. Clever, genuinely funny at times, and the effects are all carried off brilliantly. Loses points for being "the same ole, same ole" as far as superhero Fun for it's genre. Robert Downey Jr. makes this movie, but the entire cast is solid. Clever, genuinely funny at times, and the effects are all carried off brilliantly. Loses points for being "the same ole, same ole" as far as superhero dramas go...love interest, villain with similar powers, etc. Won't give away the ending, but it's nothing creative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhilD.May 4, 2008
Slid writing, pacing, direction and acting (Downey has found his character) - only problem is the ending fight sequence - boring and silly
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielA.May 5, 2008
This movie had all sex, violence, and love the only thing missing was the part where they blew up the Washington post and all their critics in it. Action packed and at this point in history almost believable. If they had shown some way to This movie had all sex, violence, and love the only thing missing was the part where they blew up the Washington post and all their critics in it. Action packed and at this point in history almost believable. If they had shown some way to tie his power pak into high gas prices it would have been solid. cgi was great with only a few flaws ( or features I like to call them). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnMay 5, 2008
Superb film, superb acting, slightly predictable but nonetheless you will not be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AhmadF.AhmadKhairiMay 7, 2008
The movie holds a good balance between action and comedy. Robert Downey Jr was perfect for the role as Stark. Iron Man is a good action movie, not great, but is worth a sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewR.May 7, 2008
Very cool movie. Downey is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JenniMay 8, 2008
Super fun superhero flick! Robert Downey Jr. is a brilliant Iron Man, fantastically entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CourtneyJun 1, 2008
The movie was overall very good, but i think i ended abit soon. And it wasn't very funny. i know its a superhero movie, but spiderman was funny and its one too. overll, it was not the best but i would see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArinaY.Jun 7, 2008
Love this movie.superb acting from RDJ.the lines are funny and witty.thumbs up for GP..enjoyed the movie very much
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyHeatMay 8, 2009
Pretty much what you would expect in a movie about a superhero except that the writers allow us to see the human side of the character more than once. Robert Downey Jr does a good job of portraying the role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
fredbobMay 11, 2008
I was really surprised when this movie was done. I really figured it would be just like the rest and fall short of my expectations. Now this and Batman Begins are the only two i truly love!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesS.May 14, 2008
first half very slow....second half "a rush"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcD.May 2, 2008
In terms of acting chops and believability, Robert Downey Jr. is head and shoulders above the leading actors from all other "superhero" movies, with the possible exception of Christian Bale from "Batman Begins". His understated performance In terms of acting chops and believability, Robert Downey Jr. is head and shoulders above the leading actors from all other "superhero" movies, with the possible exception of Christian Bale from "Batman Begins". His understated performance drives the film, and his chemistry with Gwyneth Paltrow and Terrence Howard is superb. What I appreciate most about the story is that Tony Stark doesn't gain any supernatural abilities in this film by getting bitten by a Spider, or getting mixed up in a chemical spill, etc. He uses his own skills as an engineer, mechanic, weapons developer (and his own brain power) to get himself out of a tough situation, and to then evolve as a human being by cleaning up his playboy act and using his skills for good. The technological aspects of the story, including the evolution of his suit through several iterations, are extremely interesting. And I especially the fact that the back story is well-developed, and the writers/director didn't spend so much of the movie on the final "fight" scene, which usually makes a movie of this type boring and trite. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.May 22, 2008
Extraordinary movie simply for one reason, and one reason only, the extraordinary Robert Downey Jr.!! It's about time somebody took a chance on this remarkable actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamMay 23, 2008
I thought it was ok while I was watching it but after I left and thought about it, it was pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidDMay 3, 2008
I am not a Iron Man fan. Actually, i don't even know anything about Iron Man. That being said, i did think this movie was pretty cool. Very nicely done. The only reason it does not receive a higher score is because i thought the ending I am not a Iron Man fan. Actually, i don't even know anything about Iron Man. That being said, i did think this movie was pretty cool. Very nicely done. The only reason it does not receive a higher score is because i thought the ending with the boss fight was weak. It took away from Iron Man and how in the hell did the bad guy learn his craft on the first try where Tony Starks' took time and practice? Did not make any sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BradGMay 4, 2008
Incredibly fun and beautiful to look at, but a terrible soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RonAMay 4, 2008
Great action movie with a fast pace.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanMay 4, 2008
Great movie. crappy music!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
halbMay 5, 2008
Check your brain at the door and have a blast. Very entertaining for the genre. Robert Downey Jr. and Gwyneth Paltrow are excellent. A fine mix of plot, character quirks, humor and special effects (not overdone for a change; until the Check your brain at the door and have a blast. Very entertaining for the genre. Robert Downey Jr. and Gwyneth Paltrow are excellent. A fine mix of plot, character quirks, humor and special effects (not overdone for a change; until the ending). The climax is predictable and cliche'd, but otherwise this is a fine summetime (okay, springtime) escape. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidV.May 7, 2008
A fun summer movie with great special effects and performances. I found the last battle to a be a little anti-climactic though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Traveller1976May 8, 2008
Fantastic; refreshing. I finally belief in the flawed anti-hero on the big screen Downey and Favreau deliver a power punch yet delicate film one I will care about later.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AvicennaA.May 9, 2008
Spectacular, funny, refreshing, and excellently crafted!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CliffBJun 13, 2008
Good for what it is, a comic book super hero movie. Much more enjoyable than the last Spider Man movie. I would like to see a less predictable story, but hey like I said, it is what it is and it does a good job doing it. I had doubts about Good for what it is, a comic book super hero movie. Much more enjoyable than the last Spider Man movie. I would like to see a less predictable story, but hey like I said, it is what it is and it does a good job doing it. I had doubts about them being able to pull of Iron Man with the masses. Great casting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JJB.May 11, 2008
I was surprisingly impressed. After all the comic book and super hero movies that have fallen very short, Iron Man definitely delivered. Slipping in a foreshadow of Iron Man 2 was also a nice touch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DougN.May 11, 2008
Very well done. Liked the story development, humour, and updated story too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TiernanS.May 15, 2008
The strengths of this film are numerous. It's got a funny, sharp, fast, and witty script and a terrific and inspired performance by Downey Jr., complemented well by Paltrow. Strangely, the best action happens before the climax as Downey The strengths of this film are numerous. It's got a funny, sharp, fast, and witty script and a terrific and inspired performance by Downey Jr., complemented well by Paltrow. Strangely, the best action happens before the climax as Downey discovers the flying machine warrior wihin and escapes captivity. Bridges' villian is unfortunately rather bland and sterile. His character establishes the requirement for a villian, but doesn't really inhabit the film as a truly necessary story element, which is pretty odd. The final showdown is actually a tad hokey and stagnant, and that's surprising for such an otherwise stellar super hero movie. Great entertainment nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GRigMay 23, 2008
The movie was fantastic but i feel that it had the same anticlimactic ending as the first fantastic 4 movie. I wanted more of the suit action!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidHJul 29, 2008
One of the best features of this film is the selection of Robert Downey for the lead role. He is such a good match on both a professional as well as a personal level. If you're tired of comic-based movies, this one will resurrect you. One of the best features of this film is the selection of Robert Downey for the lead role. He is such a good match on both a professional as well as a personal level. If you're tired of comic-based movies, this one will resurrect you. It is incredibly entertaining, understandable plot, not too long and not too short. Paltrow makes a good female interest subject for Downey, but it doesn't get too bogged down with romance. A fun movie and you feel good on the way out of the theatre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
hollyfJan 13, 2009
So it took me forever to eventually see this film. By then I'd already seen The Dark Knight twice in theatres and my friend had already bought the Iron Man DVD. I'm actually not a fan of superhero movies at all, but more a fan of So it took me forever to eventually see this film. By then I'd already seen The Dark Knight twice in theatres and my friend had already bought the Iron Man DVD. I'm actually not a fan of superhero movies at all, but more a fan of the actors in those movies. Now, bear with me but the problem with TDK is the heart of that f-ing movie is sucked out in a vortex of doom and f-ing gloom. In comparison, I ADORED IRON MAN! I love characters, I love actors and assembled in this picture are amongst the most lovable of both. I was constantly entertained, the film WASN'T a half an hour overlong *cough*Thedarkknight*cough*. I have begun an obsession with RDJ because what an amazing and interesting man. No matter what film he's in, he's the best thing in it. The first 3/4 I was so engaged and interested and in love with everybody in it. I love origin stories best, mostly because I got see RDJ in a muscle shirt and full of dirt (oh yeah!). Only problem is the final fight sequence. It lacked a certain sense of epicness (yes that a word now). It was a lot of banging and clanging and I didn't feel satisfied by that final fight scene. The last few scenes in the movie and mint! Go and see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DeVr33zNov 6, 2010
Smarter than your average superhero movie, Iron Man is very entertaining, largely in part because of its strong leads, clever dialogue and realistic characters. It's really too bad the sequel was so disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
i knew nothing about iron man till i seen this film . as comic books to movies go this is one of the better ones . really i was very sketch on this espicialy with robert downy jr. i wasnt sure if he could pull it off but he did . he camei knew nothing about iron man till i seen this film . as comic books to movies go this is one of the better ones . really i was very sketch on this espicialy with robert downy jr. i wasnt sure if he could pull it off but he did . he came across very well as tony stark as this lovable self absorbed jerk. who was actually pretty funny and entertaining to see . there was some good actiion a pretty decent plot . my gripes are though there just wasnt enough action . the final battle seemed way to short . still though it was a fun film and downy kept it entertaining enough through the actionless parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Sep 1, 2010
Playboy, weapons owner, inventor bloke lives it large until he gets caught by enemy soldiers in the Middle-East. Escapes A-Team style, finds out his company are doing dodgy arms deals, becomes a super hero.
Really enjoyable Marvel romp, good
Playboy, weapons owner, inventor bloke lives it large until he gets caught by enemy soldiers in the Middle-East. Escapes A-Team style, finds out his company are doing dodgy arms deals, becomes a super hero.
Really enjoyable Marvel romp, good script, great effects & a decent story despite being predictable. Downey Jnr is perfect as the lead & is supported well by Gwyneth Paltrow, Terrence Howard & the fantastic Jeff Bridges.
Nicely set up for a sequel.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MetalMan95Dec 5, 2010
Amazing movie. Iron Man is a great superhero and character. Each character is developed nicely, each action scene is nicely done, each actor did great in their roles, and it has a great optimistic tone to it which helps the entertainmentAmazing movie. Iron Man is a great superhero and character. Each character is developed nicely, each action scene is nicely done, each actor did great in their roles, and it has a great optimistic tone to it which helps the entertainment factor, which is high. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobMay 12, 2015
Surprisingly Iron Man is great. The film takes a secondary comic book character and makes him awesome. The film focuses Tony Stark not Iron Man showing him going through a redemption story and he is fun to watch. The action is great and theSurprisingly Iron Man is great. The film takes a secondary comic book character and makes him awesome. The film focuses Tony Stark not Iron Man showing him going through a redemption story and he is fun to watch. The action is great and the film manages to avoid the excessive goofyness and seriousness that has plagued earlier comic-book films. The focus on characters over action makes it easy to forget that this is a comic-book movie. Iron Man is a fun stand alone summer-blockbuster and the end credits scene adds a nice bonus as its part of a bigger story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gm101Oct 6, 2010
I liked the movie, but felt it was a bit overrated. I didn't see what was so special about Robert Downey Jr. And for the record, the Dark Knight is a much better movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuJun 30, 2014
Iron Man is awesome! From the performance of Robert Downy Jr to the inclusion of Jeff Bridges to the snappy writing to the sharp directing. It all comes up aces. Great stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews