Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 2, 2008
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1741 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,585
Mixed:
94
Negative:
62
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Dr.C.May 7, 2008
It-Doesn't-Get-Any-Better-Than-This! What a ride... This movie is the reason you pays yer money to see it on the big screen. Wow. And, in a weird way, the high tech world of Tony Stark doesn't seem so far fetched, considering It-Doesn't-Get-Any-Better-Than-This! What a ride... This movie is the reason you pays yer money to see it on the big screen. Wow. And, in a weird way, the high tech world of Tony Stark doesn't seem so far fetched, considering it's a comic book fer cryin' out loud! Attention Robert Downey, Jr.: Stay sober, man... You are a fantastic actor & you pull off this anti-macho, cool cat, hipster industrialist Big Time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
CraigMMay 8, 2008
Am I crazy here, or did nobody else notice how crappy this movie was. Yes, Robert Downy Jr. is a good choice for the role but not when every line he has is some horribly cheesy joke. The robot banter also seems right out of the eighties. The Am I crazy here, or did nobody else notice how crappy this movie was. Yes, Robert Downy Jr. is a good choice for the role but not when every line he has is some horribly cheesy joke. The robot banter also seems right out of the eighties. The romance between him and Paltrow is egregiously underdeveloped and the action wasn't even that good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
RobCMay 3, 2008
The only good thing besides the effects is Downey!, almost the worst of Marvel comics.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
KenW.Jun 2, 2008
A good movie to nap to during a Sunday afternoon matinee. Way over rated.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LewisP.May 11, 2008
This is basically 'Robocop' updated to 2008. Except it's nowhere as good as that film. The '87 thriller is set in the future with a semi-plausible scenario: the body of a murdered police officer is used to create a robot This is basically 'Robocop' updated to 2008. Except it's nowhere as good as that film. The '87 thriller is set in the future with a semi-plausible scenario: the body of a murdered police officer is used to create a robot who still retains traces of the dead man's memories. The core of Iron Man is totally implausible: set in the present time, the iron man (played by Robert Downey Jr.) must prance around with some kind of magnet implanted in his chest cavity, preventing shrapnel from puncturing his heart. Then, he invents an iron suit which enables him to fly at supersonic speeds and kill terrorists without suffering serious injury. Like Robocop, a computer interface is suggested inside the 'mask' of both superheroes; but in Robocop the hero is haunted by the memories of the dead man whose body was used to create him. There is no such internal tension in Iron Man. It's strictly a good guy-bad guy shoot 'em up. Downey plays Stark, the head of a large corporation which manufactures weapons. Stark is depicted as an arrogant playboy who takes no precautions when he travels around in a Humvee in Afghanistan. He ends up being captured by a local warlord and his crew of motley insurgents and realizes that they have been using his company's weapons to fight US troops. Now he suddenly has a change of heart and uses his skills (he's a genius!) to create an iron man outfit to escape the bad guys (they think he's working on a missile). When he returns to the US, he decides to utilize the prototype of the iron man outfit he created in Afghanistan to become a superhero fighting for good. A good part of the film is taken up with Downey designing the new Iron Man outfit; during the 'testing phase' he gets thrown against the walls of his laboratory numerous times (how exciting!). Finally, he starts flying through the air with this metal suit on and almost crashes when he goes too high up in the atmosphere and his suit gets frozen with ice (funny how he wasn't smart enough to invent some kind of deicing device contained on most commercial aircrafts). Terrence Howard (of 'Hustle & Flow' fame) isn't doing much hustling and flowing here in a do-nothing part as an army liaison officer for the munitions company. Similarly Gwyneth Paltrow, Stark's personal assistant, engages in a great deal of pointless banter leading to a non-romantic moment at the film's denouement. Jeff Bridges probably has the best part as Downey's partner in the multinational corporation who ends up betraying him and working with the warlords and terrorists in Afghanistan. But how did he so easily get past the alarm system or other security devices in Downey's home? You would think that breaking into a home like that wouldn't be so easy. In the end, there is the obligatory battle between the two machines (done much better in Terminator 2). Bridges looks ridiculous when he takes off his metal helmet and all you see is his face inside the metal contraption. I fail to see why so many critics gave this film good marks. It's strictly a film for uneducated teenagers who read comic books all day. It also serves to lull people in this country into a false sense of security vis-a-vis the terrorist threat. By creating an invincible 'Iron Man" who can easily mow down terrorists and bad guys, it makes us forget that the bad guys in real life are not so easily defeated. Case in point: 9/11. The only winners here are the actors who collected nice paychecks for participating in such a cheesy and worthless venture. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RaymondA.May 10, 2008
I don't understand what people liked about this movie. Boring and stupid. Cool graphics can't make up for a sagging plot and horrendous storyline.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DerS.May 17, 2008
Plenty of expsnsive gadgets and state-of-the-art cg for the tech-and-status-obsessed 14-year-old in us all. The dark underside of all of this sound and fury is the perverse idolatry of Hollywood Wastrel #1, Robert Downey, Jr., who is in Plenty of expsnsive gadgets and state-of-the-art cg for the tech-and-status-obsessed 14-year-old in us all. The dark underside of all of this sound and fury is the perverse idolatry of Hollywood Wastrel #1, Robert Downey, Jr., who is in essence playing himself, the bad boy who is more smug than ever for having gotten away with it after all these years. One of the most cynical products of our cynical age. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
GusMay 3, 2008
I thought the story was flat and marred by so many dull plot elements. If not for Downey's irrepressible personal traits that I suppose everyone wanted to be part of the character, there would be no one on screen worth bothering about. I thought the story was flat and marred by so many dull plot elements. If not for Downey's irrepressible personal traits that I suppose everyone wanted to be part of the character, there would be no one on screen worth bothering about. The robot is cool, there are a slew of fancy sport cars, the baddies are politically current and a bevy of hot ladies grace the screen. . . All the essentials are down. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MM.May 3, 2008
The good: Great, great special effects and CGI. This can't be stressed enough. Great acting all around. The bad: Stale plot, predictable plot. Can you say "stereotypical middle eastern bad guys?" I gotta be honest: I'm not a huge The good: Great, great special effects and CGI. This can't be stressed enough. Great acting all around. The bad: Stale plot, predictable plot. Can you say "stereotypical middle eastern bad guys?" I gotta be honest: I'm not a huge comic book guy and this was the movie I chose to break my streak on. I'm wishing I didn't. This is just the usual Hollywood stuff being churned out en masse as any original ideas have virtually dried up. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RonFMay 9, 2008
Even checking your brain at the door might not be enough to save this film. I got a free ticket and felt that was an over-charge. To be truthful, I did walk out half way through (around the time where Ms Potts pulls the coil out of Even checking your brain at the door might not be enough to save this film. I got a free ticket and felt that was an over-charge. To be truthful, I did walk out half way through (around the time where Ms Potts pulls the coil out of Stark's chest), so it might have picked up from there. If you are gung-ho military, have racist attitudes towards Afghans and do not mind a very unconvincing script, see this movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MorganB.May 15, 2008
I've never been a giant fan of Comic book movies, but I always seem to enjoy then none the less-as long as there decent:I'm talking to you Incredable Hulk. Though I don't quite have words to describe how wonderful this movie I've never been a giant fan of Comic book movies, but I always seem to enjoy then none the less-as long as there decent:I'm talking to you Incredable Hulk. Though I don't quite have words to describe how wonderful this movie was-and how amazing Robert Downey Jr was. No one, absolutely no one could have played this character better. It's the best casting I've seen since John Barrowman in Torchwood. Amazing story, fantasticly snarky, and the genious of Robert Downey Jr, who could ask for more! I saw it twice the first weekend:) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SkyrimGuy935Jan 17, 2015
A charismatic lead from Downey, Jr., spectacular effects, a surprisingly coherent story, and witty dialog, Iron Man is the rare summer blockbuster that manages to be ridiculously fun while also providing a great story and characters. IA charismatic lead from Downey, Jr., spectacular effects, a surprisingly coherent story, and witty dialog, Iron Man is the rare summer blockbuster that manages to be ridiculously fun while also providing a great story and characters. I couldn't have imagined a better start for the MCU.

9.5/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbyNov 25, 2015
Iron Man is a great way to kick start the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Robert Downy Jr. gave a really god performance as Iron Man, and the movie had witty jokes and good quips. This certainly is one of the better Marvel films.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoOct 11, 2015
A great start to the MCU. Tony Stark is a great character and one of the best things about the movie is the fact that there's no "if so-and-so isn't stopped, the world will end" thing from a lot of superhero flicks. Some bad stuff willA great start to the MCU. Tony Stark is a great character and one of the best things about the movie is the fact that there's no "if so-and-so isn't stopped, the world will end" thing from a lot of superhero flicks. Some bad stuff will happen, but nothing that'll bring about the apocalypse. Robert Downey Jr. Gave a good performance (truth be known though, he was essentially playing himself...) it's definitely a good movie. Nice beginning to one of the most well known superhero franchises ever... The Marvel Cinematic Universe. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ThatMarvelDCGuyAug 19, 2012
It's an origin story minus the boredom. There's a whole lot of action, drama and humor that will keep you on the edge of your seats. Intensely exciting, you can't keep your eyes off the screen because any moment, something intriguing mayIt's an origin story minus the boredom. There's a whole lot of action, drama and humor that will keep you on the edge of your seats. Intensely exciting, you can't keep your eyes off the screen because any moment, something intriguing may unfold. Great script, great director, great actors, what more can you ask for? Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
8
Longbottom94Apr 29, 2013
This is Robert Downey JR's film. He is Iron Man and he is the thing that propels the film ok comic book film, to great comic book movie. Definitely watch this movie, especially if you want to get the most out of watching the avengers.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 15, 2011
The action and humor is amazingly strong and unnecessary to prove the movie that its worth more than the others; in the end, "Iron Man" is just a decent summer blockbuster.
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Nov 1, 2010
Jon Favreau made some great effort in making this superhero epic hit with some talentive acting from Robert Downey Jr.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
GilbertL.May 12, 2008
Run of the mill plot twists almost seem besides the point in this movie. The director/producers/screenwriters hit all the marks of a typical superhero movie, knowing that the movie will be a crowd pleaser.This movie feels as though it would Run of the mill plot twists almost seem besides the point in this movie. The director/producers/screenwriters hit all the marks of a typical superhero movie, knowing that the movie will be a crowd pleaser.This movie feels as though it would have been fresh at least 10 years ago, but, as seen in 2008, the movie is somewhat dull. Robert Downey Jr's line readings and the banter between him and Gwyneth Paltrow are the most entertaining elements of the movie. Even the character of the villain is boring. If a movie of this sort doesn't have a strong, seemingly invincible villain, then what is the point? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
WiesyJan 17, 2013
One of the best superhero movies i've ever seen, but not the best. I like Downey and the character of him. I love this movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
RedeadhoodMar 28, 2016
Definitely one of the best superhero movies of all time, Iron man has it all, action, humor, and most importantly intrigue. It saddens me that the later marvel films (with the exception of TWS) weren't able to capture the same magic. IronDefinitely one of the best superhero movies of all time, Iron man has it all, action, humor, and most importantly intrigue. It saddens me that the later marvel films (with the exception of TWS) weren't able to capture the same magic. Iron man not only revived Downey's career but also gave the comic books the recognition that they deserve. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
RS.Sep 21, 2008
Very strange film, very strange message - seemingly thus; man has epiphany that making weapons is wrong (regardless of it allowing him a billionaire playboy lifestyle). What does he do? Makes himself a new, more powerful weapon and starts Very strange film, very strange message - seemingly thus; man has epiphany that making weapons is wrong (regardless of it allowing him a billionaire playboy lifestyle). What does he do? Makes himself a new, more powerful weapon and starts warring again. Scratch the surface and it still brashly glorifies advanced weapons and war too (I thought in these Iraq war-years we'd all lost our appetite for such things. Seemingly I was wrong. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
OliverC.May 4, 2008
I want everyone to just hold on a second and think this through. Is this movie really what passes for good these days? It wasn't more than acceptable. The plot is moronic. I guess everyone just takes that for granted, but can't we I want everyone to just hold on a second and think this through. Is this movie really what passes for good these days? It wasn't more than acceptable. The plot is moronic. I guess everyone just takes that for granted, but can't we maybe afford to raise our standards a bit? Downey Jr is just a sardonic james bond, complete with his own moneypenny and over the top gadgets. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
3
AntrossoI.May 8, 2008
Overrated movie, just another solid action movie. Nothing more, nothing less.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DWillyMay 9, 2008
Where previous American cultures made cinematic spectacle of the Bible or historical turning points, we, sadly, celebrate comic books. So, of course, this is thin. As you watch this your mind can wander... remember when Robert Downey Jr. Where previous American cultures made cinematic spectacle of the Bible or historical turning points, we, sadly, celebrate comic books. So, of course, this is thin. As you watch this your mind can wander... remember when Robert Downey Jr. broke into a house and went to sleep in some kid's bed... I thought at one time Terence Howard was going to be a good actor... did they approach Paltrow's husband to do the music?... who's the bad guy in this film, anyway... oh, sure, it's him... but what's his deal? If you like this movie a lot, maybe it's time to put away childish things. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
kateb.Jan 18, 2010
The leads are riveting; the story is not. AND, the play upon ethnic stereotypes is obnoxious. I wanted to watch for Robert Downey Jr and Gwyneth Paltrow, and also the computer effects, but in the end I just couldn't tolerate the movie The leads are riveting; the story is not. AND, the play upon ethnic stereotypes is obnoxious. I wanted to watch for Robert Downey Jr and Gwyneth Paltrow, and also the computer effects, but in the end I just couldn't tolerate the movie and it's standard good guy-bad guy stuff. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MitchS.May 10, 2008
Worst movie I've ever seen honestly i don't know what they were thinking. Minimal fighting scenes and slow and long. So bad please take my advice do not see this movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
AriL.May 16, 2008
Military industrial complex driven movie should be inspiring for a younger generations. Perhaps thats why most of the corporate media gave it a big thumbs up. The perfectly sanctioned Pentagon film for the cattle. Enjoy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DemetriusM.May 10, 2008
I feel like I was watching a commercial rather than a superhero movie. Burger King, Audi and others really make me feel like this movie was made to showcase all the brands. Sure, Transformers also did it but it was not obvious. Robert Downey I feel like I was watching a commercial rather than a superhero movie. Burger King, Audi and others really make me feel like this movie was made to showcase all the brands. Sure, Transformers also did it but it was not obvious. Robert Downey Jr. really portrayed the billionaire Mr. Stark but Gwyneth really disappoint me. Hope the sequel will be a proper movie rather than a commercial disaster. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
SamTMay 9, 2008
No matter how much the CG costs, it will never be a substitute for good dialogue and plot. Iron man was lacking in both of these areas. Acting was brilliant all around, but the stereotypical middle-eastern terrorists/psychopaths were far too No matter how much the CG costs, it will never be a substitute for good dialogue and plot. Iron man was lacking in both of these areas. Acting was brilliant all around, but the stereotypical middle-eastern terrorists/psychopaths were far too cliche. In summary, there was good eye candy and great acting, but everything else was well below average. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JohnB.May 19, 2008
I'm not familiar with the comics but this movie was garbage. The character development seriously lacked. Who is Starks and why should I care about him? It seems to me that such a conflicted character could have been handled a bit more I'm not familiar with the comics but this movie was garbage. The character development seriously lacked. Who is Starks and why should I care about him? It seems to me that such a conflicted character could have been handled a bit more seriously. The whole movie felt like filler with a few decent scenes mixed throughout. The acting was one dimensional and dialog felt forced throughout the entire thing. A few cheap laughs, guilty of working over the audience multiple times is not what I call comic relief or entertainment. Even for summer blockbuster fare, I thought it really did not deliver. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
santosxFeb 29, 2012
the plot of the whole movie could fit in 30 minutes, followed by some real action for the next hour or so. unfortunately, instead the 30 minutes plot fills 2 hours and makes for a very boring movie. good for kids below the age of 16 i would say.
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
1
2May 3, 2008
You can't mix serious issues with fantasy! Why did they have to include the war in the middle east for? Couldn't they think of a fictional enemy? And Stark being the "suit" in a cave? was just stupid!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
EricaM.Nov 3, 2008
Boring. Music poorly concieved. Though there are good actors in this film, there aren't a lot of good acting opportunities. We turned it off half way through, and returned to it with resignation. What is it that everyone liked about this movie?
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
RichardS.Sep 15, 2008
Immature, a portrayal of debauchery and simple minded plot consisting of inconceivable conclusions, relationships, and villainy. Heroes should be portrayed as noble, not as a stuck-up technician.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
BBMay 22, 2008
Seriously, I'm going to start knocking 30 points off all scores to get a more realistic sense of a movie's quality. There's a lot of grade inflation going on here. Come on, people, 9's and 10's? Lame, lame, lame Seriously, I'm going to start knocking 30 points off all scores to get a more realistic sense of a movie's quality. There's a lot of grade inflation going on here. Come on, people, 9's and 10's? Lame, lame, lame movie. Don't bother. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
0
JulieF.May 4, 2008
They did it again! They RUINED another icon! Why does Hollywood have to force their opinions on us at every film showing? I became more and more angry throughout this film. Here's the REALLY hypocritical part: Robert Downey Jr. is just They did it again! They RUINED another icon! Why does Hollywood have to force their opinions on us at every film showing? I became more and more angry throughout this film. Here's the REALLY hypocritical part: Robert Downey Jr. is just fine with TORCHING a bunch of Afghani's and obliterating a bunch more when it's HIS life on the line. He has no problem wasting dozens of men to escape from a cave (which he evidently could have just FLOWN out of anyway). But when it's our SOLDIERS that are in harm's way, OH....then we can't have any weapons! It's kind of like how Hollywood drives around in Limo's but wants the rest of us to ride bikes to work so we don't make a "carbon footprint". Anyway, the last 5/6 of this film will be a big preach-fest about how the USA is a war-mongering nation who has no right to defend herself and how any weapons manufacturer should not be allowed to exact a profit (while Hollywood gets to make BILLIONS of dollars of profit on its own products) What a farce. Don't see this film if you have a brain because it'll explode. Don't see this film if you love your country because this film certainly doesn't. SHAME ON YOU, IRON MAN. Recommended: Not in a million years. Expand
0 of 10 users found this helpful
0
PJOct 6, 2008
Stupid. don't waste your time. most reviews are tainted by love for the actor vs. his acting. the plot, acting, and SE are great if you're 13.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GB.May 22, 2008
How did this get a score of 78, much less 8.4? Please! What a waste of my money, time, and popcorn. Very disappointing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BrianLMay 25, 2008
For a superhero movie, there is almost no action. And in the final fight scene he gets his butt kicked by the villain until Paltrow hits some weird switch that kills him? This movie was so dragged out and plotless. Don't see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JSDec 9, 2009
No plot. Cliche, mock 30's style acting. Its just another movie rated highly because it had a big effects budget. Totally illogical, pointless, and even racist at time. I forced myself through the movie, hoping it would get somewhere. I No plot. Cliche, mock 30's style acting. Its just another movie rated highly because it had a big effects budget. Totally illogical, pointless, and even racist at time. I forced myself through the movie, hoping it would get somewhere. I ended up wondering where the movie went (did it even start? where's the substance?) and wishing I had used that time to get some more sleep. You're kind of just there to watch the 10 minute opening action scene. Just a big nothing of an action movie. Conglomerated, forced. It did have a smidgen of personality and a few funny parts. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
9
RicochetPhoenixMay 6, 2013
Great film with an amazingly well-translated origin story. The first half of this film is fantastic, for both casual movie-goers and hardcore comic book fans alike. However, unfortunately, the film starts to lose a bit of direction in theGreat film with an amazingly well-translated origin story. The first half of this film is fantastic, for both casual movie-goers and hardcore comic book fans alike. However, unfortunately, the film starts to lose a bit of direction in the second half it never gets bad...it just starts to fall a little bit flat. I don't feel like Iron Monger was strong enough of a villain to carry the ending. Great movie overall though, one of Marvel's best. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
sinadoomDec 23, 2012
I don't see what's so great about this film. Little to no action, very cheesey and predictable, almost no plot at all and very eventless. Some OK parts but on the whole, a waste of time.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
dharmaApr 29, 2013
The first of the Marvel Universe is one of its best. Before this flick, Downey Jr was a 'has been actor' and Iron Man is considered as a B-List Marvel Super Hero. That practically changed overnight, with Iron Man. Exciting, humorous andThe first of the Marvel Universe is one of its best. Before this flick, Downey Jr was a 'has been actor' and Iron Man is considered as a B-List Marvel Super Hero. That practically changed overnight, with Iron Man. Exciting, humorous and 'organic', Iron Man carries with it a peculiar Indie sensibility in its dialogue. Great and career defining performance by Downey Jr, catapulting him into an A-Lister. He is Tony Stark, pure and simple; a performance on par with Chris Reeve iconic performance as Superman. Rewatch it again to prepare yourself for Iron Man 3, folks! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Iron Man is iron trash. Where is the action but besides that the movie comes across as just stupid. Robert Downey Jr. talks way too much in this film which makes him very annoying. Just another stupid action movie but with more stupid in it.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
O melhor dos 3 sem dúvidasO melhor dos 3 sem dúvidas Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
After disappointments like "X-Men: The Last Stand" and "Spider-Man 3", "Iron Man" is a big renaissance for the Marvel Universe and it is STILL a solid superhero movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SpiderPlayerAug 3, 2014
A great film has a great soundtrack, good special effects, has some funny scenes, Robert Downey Jr. played very well the role of Tony Stark, the story was very well done, and the armor of Iron Man was also great, I recommend for those whoA great film has a great soundtrack, good special effects, has some funny scenes, Robert Downey Jr. played very well the role of Tony Stark, the story was very well done, and the armor of Iron Man was also great, I recommend for those who have not watched, you watch, worth it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
Comic-book-to-film franchise starters often sag under the weight of creation stories, establishing conflict between the super-heroic and super-villainous and introducing a roster of iconic characters familiar to comics geeks but unknown toComic-book-to-film franchise starters often sag under the weight of creation stories, establishing conflict between the super-heroic and super-villainous and introducing a roster of iconic characters familiar to comics geeks but unknown to the general movie-going public. That's an awful lot of exposition for any one film to handle. Jon Favreau's Iron Man wrestles with those responsibilities as well as a relatively unique conundrum: How do you make audiences care about a character whose face is hidden under a metallic scowl? The Iron Man filmmakers' answer is to cast Robert Downey Jr. in the lead role and keep him out of the Iron Man suit for as long as possible.

Downey stars as dashing billionaire playboy Tony Stark—part Howard Hughes, part Errol Flynn—who leads a life unencumbered by reflection until he's captured and held hostage in Afghanistan by terrorists using his company's weapons. Downey escapes by building a crude version of his Iron Man suit. Upon returning home, Downey perfects the robotic flying suit, but when he announces that his company is getting out of the weapons business he makes himself an inviting target to rivals, including enigmatic father figure Jeff Bridges, who looks disconcertingly like Winter Kills co-star Sterling Hayden with his shaved head and mad-prophet beard.

Iron Man takes its sweet time getting Downey into the Iron Man suit, and it doles out big action setpieces sparingly once man has fused triumphantly with machine. Downey is so much fun as a breezy cad that it's a shame he spends so much time brooding and luxuriating in obsession. Like Ang Lee's Hulk, Iron Man is a comic-book blockbuster characterized as much by heavyweight acting and sober intellectual concerns about the use and misuse of power and technology as the usual comic-book foolishness. But Iron Man finds a much more palatable, audience-friendly balance between delirious spectacle and tortured introspection thanks largely to Downey, a great actor who's also a great entertainer. His relationship with a fire-extinguishing robot is funnier and more poignant than the central relationship between humans in most movies, and there's nothing arbitrary about love interest/long-suffering assistant Gwyneth Paltrow. Having gotten all that exposition out of the way in a brisk and entertaining fashion, Favreau paves the way for more pure fun and excitement in future entries. Iron Man is the rare comic-book movie that makes the prospect of a sequel seem like a promise instead of a threat.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DesmondW.May 2, 2008
Ironman was always my favorite hero from the marvel universe. It felt really good to watch him shine on the big screen. RDJ's acting is simply brilliant. Great story adaption leaving it realistic. Few but well done action scenes getting Ironman was always my favorite hero from the marvel universe. It felt really good to watch him shine on the big screen. RDJ's acting is simply brilliant. Great story adaption leaving it realistic. Few but well done action scenes getting you a real feel for the suit. Suprisingly this movie will bring you alot of laughs..Yes its weird but it sure wll. I LOVE IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PriyanthT.May 2, 2008
thye movie was awesome the graphics were done greatly and it was fun watchin and it was no less than spider man, superman or batman, and wish a sequel wuld be made
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CamilleMay 30, 2008
Though I admittedly enjoyed Speed Racer more, I absolutely loved this movie. It was the perfect balance of action and explanation needed for a comic book movie origin story. The thing that had me most appreciative was the believability of Though I admittedly enjoyed Speed Racer more, I absolutely loved this movie. It was the perfect balance of action and explanation needed for a comic book movie origin story. The thing that had me most appreciative was the believability of the special effects and dynamics between the characters. This is a film not to be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TeryMay 3, 2008
I saw the movie at 10:30 PM on 5/2. I think is is a very good movie. The plot was pretty good. The actors were excellent. The movie didn't seem to flow that well due to direction. It was so exciting, I could not get out of my seat to go I saw the movie at 10:30 PM on 5/2. I think is is a very good movie. The plot was pretty good. The actors were excellent. The movie didn't seem to flow that well due to direction. It was so exciting, I could not get out of my seat to go the restroom or buy anything, and that says something! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeN.May 3, 2008
Downey nailed the character of Stark. Special effects look real. Dialogue is very sharp and witty. Would have been nice to give Bridges more screen time. Last act felt a little rushed. Final fight could have been a little longer/more Downey nailed the character of Stark. Special effects look real. Dialogue is very sharp and witty. Would have been nice to give Bridges more screen time. Last act felt a little rushed. Final fight could have been a little longer/more dramatic. Good start to the series can Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidR.May 30, 2008
I have never really cared for RDJ as an actor and the current comic version of Iron Man is an unlikeable fascist dick, so I had zero expectations going into this movie. I only saw it because I had eight bucks to spend and two hours to kill. I have never really cared for RDJ as an actor and the current comic version of Iron Man is an unlikeable fascist dick, so I had zero expectations going into this movie. I only saw it because I had eight bucks to spend and two hours to kill. Coming out of the movie, I bought another ticket because I would have been ripping the theater off if I had only paid full price for it. This is the standard by which all future Marvel movies will be judged. I simply cannot praise this movie enough. It's as good as Batman Begins, but "lighter" and more suitable for children, and it has enough sly humor that the adults will be entertained as well. RDJ gives the performance of a lifetime in the role he was born to play. I have seen this movie six times now and I'm going back this weekend for yet another serving of metal-suited terrorist-punching awesomeness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattAMay 6, 2008
This was a very good movie. Although...it would have been nothing without Robert Downey Jr. He made the picture...well...him, and the awesome looking Iron Man suit. My only major gripe was that it all felt like it was leading up to This was a very good movie. Although...it would have been nothing without Robert Downey Jr. He made the picture...well...him, and the awesome looking Iron Man suit. My only major gripe was that it all felt like it was leading up to something...better...in which it was. So when the sequel comes around...i may be giving this a nine, but until then, this serves as a good backstory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RienyeN.May 8, 2008
Awesome movie! I was riveted from the start to end. Simple clear-cut story without bothersome sub-plots! The special effects were excellent and Downey delivered. Gwyneth could have been more lively but other than that i highly recommend it. Awesome movie! I was riveted from the start to end. Simple clear-cut story without bothersome sub-plots! The special effects were excellent and Downey delivered. Gwyneth could have been more lively but other than that i highly recommend it. Best marvel comic adaptation to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonP.May 8, 2008
Forget the pretentiously snivelling humdrum of those who would look down upon this piece of movie theatre gold. They are probably upset that an action movie could be such a powerful epic, and that some pathetic, self-indulgent yet tragic Forget the pretentiously snivelling humdrum of those who would look down upon this piece of movie theatre gold. They are probably upset that an action movie could be such a powerful epic, and that some pathetic, self-indulgent yet tragic art-fiasco love-story wasn't the cause of the warm feelings welling from within. Out of shame, they look downward with their bespectacled glare and succeed in once again providing all they can to the world: their judgment of someone else's brilliance. This movie was the perfect mix of snide wit and explosive special effects. It not only does the comic book justice, but sets itself apart from its printed origins and in fact all other movies in its genre. It is so rare to see Oscar worthy performances in what should be a simple shoot-em-up, but that's what you get for your money. This is a must-see, and one of the best of all time; believe it. Mark my words: this film will break the billions, and birth a new tinsel-town dynasty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NormanX.Apr 30, 2008
Wonderfully done. I was afraid it'll be cheesy and lame, but it met every expectation with some great lines from Robert Downey Jr, the perfect Tony Stark. Pacing was good, great action, and even a quick reference to perhaps a sequel Wonderfully done. I was afraid it'll be cheesy and lame, but it met every expectation with some great lines from Robert Downey Jr, the perfect Tony Stark. Pacing was good, great action, and even a quick reference to perhaps a sequel with Warhammer made me hunger for more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveS.Apr 30, 2008
If you are a marvel comic fan, or even a fan of action movies in general, then you need to see this movie. Being the first in what will undoubtedly be a series, this movie has no baggage to bring into it, and really stands out because of it. If you are a marvel comic fan, or even a fan of action movies in general, then you need to see this movie. Being the first in what will undoubtedly be a series, this movie has no baggage to bring into it, and really stands out because of it. The story may be a fairly simple one, but it is a brilliant introduction to the character of Iron Man. Robert Downey junior makes a return to form in his portrayal of Tony Stark/Iron Man blending arrogance, some self realisation and lighter comedic moments well. The visuals and special effects are a credit to the production and special effects teams. Simply put, this is the best Marvel movie I have seen in a long time, and quite frankly I'm willing to see it again in the cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisR.May 10, 2008
I thoughts this was a very well done movie. the only problem I had with it was the amount of action. this movie really doesn't get going until the middle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidW.May 1, 2008
Wow, this movie is definitely one of the best superhero movies. Arguably better than the Spiderman movies. What makes this movie so good is the character Tony Stark. Tony Stark is just one of those you guys who you hate and love at the same Wow, this movie is definitely one of the best superhero movies. Arguably better than the Spiderman movies. What makes this movie so good is the character Tony Stark. Tony Stark is just one of those you guys who you hate and love at the same time cause he's so cocky. The ending is awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JanmikS.May 10, 2008
Very very entertaining and visually awesome. Great script for wit and humor and acting covers the somewhat typical superhero movie plot. 'Tis worth your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Bluezboy8May 10, 2008
All the CG and gadgetry of a summer blockbuster, but surprisingly, all the well-drawn story and acting of a fall season Oscar contender. This movie just has it ALL!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadShiiraMay 19, 2008
When Tony Stark(Robert Downey Jr.) returns to the middle east as Ironman, he's no longer the problem to war; he's the solution. This routine, but literary-steeped screenplay, suggests that the weapons manufacturer is a contemporaryWhen Tony Stark(Robert Downey Jr.) returns to the middle east as Ironman, he's no longer the problem to war; he's the solution. This routine, but literary-steeped screenplay, suggests that the weapons manufacturer is a contemporary Marlowe, the protagonist in Joseph Conrad's modernist classic "Heart of Darkness", which told the story of Africa's rape at the turn of the century by European hands. Although Marlowe wasn't an imperialist, per se, he did foster the ongoing tyranny by simply being in that tug boat. In "Ironman", as Stark rides across the desert in an army utility vehicle, our anti-hero gets closer to his unbeknowing nightmare, the discovery that he's enabling the enemy. The horror, the horror. In that cave, he turns into Oskar Schindler(an ex-war profiteer), as a Marvel superhero. But if you're looking for a Kurtz stand-in, it's pretty hard not to miss Jeff Bridges' bald head. Bridges manages the neat trick of being a megalomaniacal tyrant with a god complex(in other words, Marlon Brando in Francis Ford Coppola's "Apocalypse Now"), and Preston Thomas Tucker(the car manufacturer in "Tucker: The Man & His Dreams; again, Coppola), a man of vision, albeit an evil one. "Ironman" also impresses with its Mulder/Scully dynamics between Stark and Pepper Potts(Gwyneth Paltrow). When Stark says, "Admit it. This isn't the worst thing you caught me doing," to his assistant, fans of "The X-Files" will nod knowingly. Mulder was a porn aficionado. "Ironman", predictably, has the requisite action to satisfy its target demographic(something that Ang Lee's "Hulk" failed to do), but it's the suppressed love between boss and employee that's the real story here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenH.May 2, 2008
What a great movie. I went in expecting possibly a passable movie and found that there was not a moment in this very well structured movie that didn't keep me absolutley glued to my seat. This movie is well worth seeing in the cinemas. What a great movie. I went in expecting possibly a passable movie and found that there was not a moment in this very well structured movie that didn't keep me absolutley glued to my seat. This movie is well worth seeing in the cinemas. The acting was great particularily from Robert Downey Jr. I couldn't imagine the role of Tony Stark ever going to anyone else. The comedy in it was hilarious . What we need to keep in mind when rating this movie that it is a comic action flick, and as such i will rate it so.. there was no great meaning or artsy fartsy metaphors. For me this was the perfect comic book action movie. It was far better than any of the other marvels movies i have seen so far and made Transformers look like a joke. I will be going to the movies again soon for this one. 10/10 from me, i hope there is a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JesseB.May 20, 2008
I waited too long, I guess, for this movie. The pacing was wrong and the jokes were only good sometimes. His gadgetry is fantastic but not logical at all. Even a tiny explanation would have been interesting even if not entirely possible. I waited too long, I guess, for this movie. The pacing was wrong and the jokes were only good sometimes. His gadgetry is fantastic but not logical at all. Even a tiny explanation would have been interesting even if not entirely possible. Tony Stark makes an impression of being a Jock before and after his adventure. No character developement there. The action is mainly 2 or 3 scenes and the rest is just embarrasing. Especially the last fight. Watch this in the cinema and you'll at least get the special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JarrodD.May 2, 2008
OK, Dark Knight has a opponent that I thought would fade away in a few minutes after seeing it. I thought Iron Man was going to be entertaining at most really. I didn't think they would do a super great job at "wow"ing me. As you know,OK, Dark Knight has a opponent that I thought would fade away in a few minutes after seeing it. I thought Iron Man was going to be entertaining at most really. I didn't think they would do a super great job at "wow"ing me. As you know, I'm a comic book fanatic. I love em. So, imagine my surprise when they stayed true, and even upped the Iron Man characters, stories, and visuals. I didn't find myself once thinking about how good/bad the effects were. I know that they were incredibly well done, but I also was so into the !&^#% story that I wasn't paying attention to that....which I've never done. Robert Downey Jr in my opinion does his best work to date. I couldn't have asked for a better actor....absolutely perfect. I think RDJ can relate to Tony Stark cuz they've both had/have problems with drugs or women or whatnot, so it worked pretty well. Jeff Bridges, I couldn't see him as the antagonist in my mind before the movie. During and after the movie, I was all for him playing the villain. I don't know about all of you, but for me, it's hard to like or even really care about the "damsel in distress" in super hero movies. I could care less for Mary Jane in Spider man, or Rachael Dawes in Batman Begins. Their characters were just there to be in trouble and add a little sexual flavor to the movie. Gwyneth Paltrow, I honestly cared and liked her character. She was there for more than just, HELP! In fact, she was pretty bad @%#. The acting from all these people was great. They couldn't have done better. There was just enough comic book references in there to keep a nerd like me happy. I could myself a few times clenching my hands in anticipation and glee for what I was about to see or seeing. I was seriously like a 7 year old again watching a combination of Robocop, Superman, Batman, and the x-men cartoon for the first time. It was so @%^$ sweet to see such a good adaptation on screen. I can't tell you how critical I am of comic book movies. As adaptations they #^#*$ suck. As movies, they are usually just passable as entertaining, with the exception of a few. This was a great adaptation (the 8 people around me in the theater thought it was the best adaptation of a book to a story they've seen) Just enough action in it to keep everyone wanting to see what the hell that suit can do (and it is a lot) and just enough character development and story to keep everyone interested and caring for these characters. I can honestly say that I wouldn't have changed a single thing. There was everything in there that needed to be in there, without any of the #&$%@@#$. I would've added one thing. IT'S DIFFERENT THAT CHANGING THINGS! It's not a spoiler, just an awesome Iron Man line that was in a comic. There was a scene in the comic where Tony Stark is flying around in the suit and the guys on the ground are noticing he's slurring words and I think he's even singing. The people observing the test yell through the communication line, "Tony, are you #&$% drunk?!" to which it cuts to a panel of Tony Stark in the suit laughing and saying "Have you seen this thing!? Do you really think I'd get into it sober!" haha, everytime I let anyone read that series, they always remember that line and laugh. So, in conclusion, @&*$%^@#! Go see it immediately. I'm available for lunch if you want to go then! Also, when you do see it, stay till after the credits. I don't care if you get a phone call that your baby is birthing right then and there. You sit your @$$ down and watch the #*$%@# end! I honestly felt like an Arsenio Hall audience member after the end scene, I stood up and pumped my fist and gave a "woot woot woot" so awesome! Truly surprised. Alright, I'll shut up. Go see it already Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekC.May 2, 2008
This is what it's all about. Where other movies have either gone cheezy (fantastic 4, the hulk) or realistic and gritty (batman begins), this film succeeds in being fun, carefree and allows you to just enjoy the ride. Downey is a This is what it's all about. Where other movies have either gone cheezy (fantastic 4, the hulk) or realistic and gritty (batman begins), this film succeeds in being fun, carefree and allows you to just enjoy the ride. Downey is a perfect cast. Makes you want to be a kid again and build your own ironman suit out of cardboard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EugeneM.May 3, 2008
Superb comic based movie. RDJ was perfect for the role. I did not give it a perfect 10 because I still wanted to see more ironman action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SorenKMay 3, 2008
Iron Man perfectly suits the superhero movie genre; especially if you're under fourteen years of age. The movie lacks a truly formidable foe to push the Iron Man's buttons and force him to prove his mettle (I blame Favreau). The Iron Man perfectly suits the superhero movie genre; especially if you're under fourteen years of age. The movie lacks a truly formidable foe to push the Iron Man's buttons and force him to prove his mettle (I blame Favreau). The casting/acting is top shelf, but too much of it is wasted on exposition (not to mention a lack of any real chemistry between Downey and Paltrow). Favreau's direction is mostly plodding and unsure of itself - antithetical to the movie's protagonist. By all means go see it, but let's hope Marvel picks a better director for the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReyA.May 30, 2008
This is by far the best superhero movie of all time. I used to be a big fan of spiderman until Iron Man came around. Also, what I liked alot is the technologically advanced weaponry used in the film. It really caught my attention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DplummMay 3, 2008
I went kicking and screaming.... This is not my type of movie....I'm more of a McDreamy kind of movie goer..... I never even heard of IronMan. I was not dissapointed. Robert and Terrance as friends. ... so believable .....and Pepper and I went kicking and screaming.... This is not my type of movie....I'm more of a McDreamy kind of movie goer..... I never even heard of IronMan. I was not dissapointed. Robert and Terrance as friends. ... so believable .....and Pepper and Jeff....what a cast! A must see!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaddyH.May 3, 2008
A great film......brilliant gadget wise! definately would recommend it to other people!!!!!!!!!!!!! go watch it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.B.May 3, 2008
I was very skeptical about with Downey playing Stark. I was wrong, no one else could have been Ironman. The movie had plenty of action with well timed humor. I will be taking my sons to see it again next weekend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnnyD.May 3, 2008
If you liked the previews, this movie won't disappoint. There were equal parts action, humor, and storyline. I can't wait for a sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickG.May 3, 2008
Well paced, intelligent and enjoyable film. The soul searching and slow paced traps other sueprhero films fall into aren't present in this throughout this film (luckily) and the lack of cheesy love moments or sentimentality give the Well paced, intelligent and enjoyable film. The soul searching and slow paced traps other sueprhero films fall into aren't present in this throughout this film (luckily) and the lack of cheesy love moments or sentimentality give the film credibility. Ironman also looks amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnF.May 3, 2008
I have been waiting 25 years for this movie and it was worth every second of it! Terrific movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanR.May 4, 2008
This movie was really cool and one of the best comic book movies yet. Just make sure you stay until after the credits!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoeR.May 4, 2008
Same old plot, same old one-dimensional charatcers, same old "bangs" and "booms" and same old Robert Downey, Jr. playinp Robert Downey, Jr. I'm sorry but I was bored, amybe I've just seen too many of these to care anymore. It Same old plot, same old one-dimensional charatcers, same old "bangs" and "booms" and same old Robert Downey, Jr. playinp Robert Downey, Jr. I'm sorry but I was bored, amybe I've just seen too many of these to care anymore. It certainly didn't have the depth of "character" that Batman Begins did... it was more like Fantastic Four meets the (first) Hulk... I really wanted to like this, but the went expensive with the visuals and cheap with the character development & simplistic storyline. Just feel flat, for me personally, but again I may have been expecting too much after reading some reviews and hearing WOM. I have a feeling after seeing the Hulk trailer that I'm gonna have to wait for INDY to really cheer again for a movie character... that's what a summer blockbuster is all about for me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanB.May 4, 2008
Fantastic. Seamless animation, razor sharp editing and near-oscar worthy performances from Daniels, Paltrow and of course Downey. Equal in excellence to the 1 and 2 'Spiderman' movies and to the current 'Batman' series. Fantastic. Seamless animation, razor sharp editing and near-oscar worthy performances from Daniels, Paltrow and of course Downey. Equal in excellence to the 1 and 2 'Spiderman' movies and to the current 'Batman' series. Very believable and well written. Don't miss! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndreF.May 4, 2008
This is one of the best comic book movies that I have seen in quites sometime. The acting was on par with Batman Begins, and it gave hope to reviving a franchise with what I believe was a poor sequel in Spiderman 3. Great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalvinC.May 4, 2008
The first movie made in 4 years where I actually cared about the characters. The CGI is there, yet it doesn't completely overshadow the movie, which is a nice touch. Lots of political drama spice up the plotline as well. Don't wait The first movie made in 4 years where I actually cared about the characters. The CGI is there, yet it doesn't completely overshadow the movie, which is a nice touch. Lots of political drama spice up the plotline as well. Don't wait for the DVD or Blu-ray. Watch it now. You won't be dissapointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElizabethE.May 4, 2008
Fantastic. Downey is perfectly cast, plot is smart, special effects are terrific, dialogue is clever. It is the rare action movie in which even the non-action scenes are compelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RDalviMay 4, 2008
Awesome film. Cool Visual effects. Robert Downey Jr, Gwyneth Paltrow, Jeff Bridges, Terence Howard and all others were great. COOL WITH A HUGE C.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffL.May 5, 2008
The Dude abides.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonanonL.May 5, 2008
Expected Much Much Worse. Even with all the "summer movie" moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MNGMay 5, 2008
RDJ can act alright. He's great. Gwyneth is good too - but what was so good about her role - pretty sexist if you ask me. the movie was exciting and fun to look at it and an exciting ride. But a little worrying politically. Yay America RDJ can act alright. He's great. Gwyneth is good too - but what was so good about her role - pretty sexist if you ask me. the movie was exciting and fun to look at it and an exciting ride. But a little worrying politically. Yay America - the only he wants after three months in a cave is a cheeseburger. an American has to be the one to save the Iraqi civilians (or whatever race they were - they looked Iraqi). the Iraqis are the bad guys. the Americans are the good guys. the token black is a good guy. the older bearded fellow is dodgy. and don't even get me started with RDJ's facial hair! the moustache is practically hitleresque and disgusting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimD.May 5, 2008
I'm a huge fan of comic film and this is one of the top 5 comic films. Robert Downey Jr is amazing, Favreau weaves an amazing story
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AustinM.May 5, 2008
This movie was spectacular. Sure, it was no Star Wars or The Godfather, but regardless, it was the most fun I've had at a movie since Cloverfield, and before that, since Star Wars Episode 3. The acting by Robert Downey Jr. was This movie was spectacular. Sure, it was no Star Wars or The Godfather, but regardless, it was the most fun I've had at a movie since Cloverfield, and before that, since Star Wars Episode 3. The acting by Robert Downey Jr. was phenomenal, and after watching the movie, I yearned to be that Tony Stark, brilliant, funny, awesome, billionaire of a guy that he was in that part. The soundtrack wasn't anything memorable, but it certainly didn't detract from anything. The special effects, as always by ILM, were amazing, and the entire visual aspect of the piece was great. The story as well, was admirable, and much, much better than that crap the Spider-Man movies keep throwing at us. This is probably because it stuck very loyally to the comics, with the added "Tony Stark is awesome" thing. Overall, just a really good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JenniferMay 6, 2008
Good movie. I'll admit that I don't really like superhero action movies, but there were some thrilling scenes (like RDJ taking his Iron Man outfit out for a test drive). All the male actors are great. Paltrow is "meh."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Fullys.May 6, 2008
this is an amazing movie, aguably with transformer to be the best movie during last 12 months
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NOMay 8, 2008
Movie was great better than i expected retard that gave it a 4 was a transformers loser. Transformers and Iron are 2 TOTALLY different categories of movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcC.Jun 1, 2008
Awesome flick. I don't know what "Brian L" was watching. But it's like every start of a franchise. It has to start from scratch and told from the bottom to work it's way at the top. This movie has that and then some. Very Awesome flick. I don't know what "Brian L" was watching. But it's like every start of a franchise. It has to start from scratch and told from the bottom to work it's way at the top. This movie has that and then some. Very entertaining and a cast that does the job well done. Downey Jr. played a good role and shows he's having fun doing so. Worth the money and your popcorn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClarkWAug 10, 2008
The casting of Downey as Iron Man is as perfect as Heath Ledger as the Joker. Downey plays a great hero, and is funny throughout. There are very few low points to this movie. The only drawback is the final fight scene, it could have been a The casting of Downey as Iron Man is as perfect as Heath Ledger as the Joker. Downey plays a great hero, and is funny throughout. There are very few low points to this movie. The only drawback is the final fight scene, it could have been a bit better. But other than that, a great movie that will have you gasping in awe and laughing until your sides hurt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NigelM.Jan 5, 2009
Great film, but only if you're a 9 year old boy. Simplistic and predictable, as all superhero films are. Time for anyone older than that to grow up and stop hollywood churning these out I reckon. Brief synopsis: Good guy vs bad guy who Great film, but only if you're a 9 year old boy. Simplistic and predictable, as all superhero films are. Time for anyone older than that to grow up and stop hollywood churning these out I reckon. Brief synopsis: Good guy vs bad guy who wants to rule the world, big fight at end, guess who loses? See also: Batman, Hulk, Spiderman, Superman, Fantastic four, in fact every other damn superhero movie. Why bother? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilOct 11, 2008
This is one of the best movies of the year. However, my only concern is the absurdly short boss battle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WickedS.Oct 4, 2008
This is the most fun a comic book fan can have. Iron Man truly comes to life and entertains. If you like Batman or Spiderman then Iron Man will not dissapoint you. I am not a fan of Terrance nor Gwyneth but everyone else was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AliR.Oct 8, 2008
Nice Effects, Power Suit is just like comics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EdayH.Apr 30, 2008
at first, i didn't expect much from it, but it turned out, i was wrong. the movie is finely done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful