Miramax Films | Release Date: October 12, 2001
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 51 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
45
Mixed:
5
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
DanF.Apr 9, 2002
The martial arts were good, however they weren't able to eclipse the pathetic plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackyC.Jan 4, 2003
One of the finest examples of the Hong Kong martial arts fantasy genre. The "thin," "pathetic" plot happens to derive from the story of Wang Fei-hong, a historical figure whose life has become a modern legend. A Chinese-speaking audience One of the finest examples of the Hong Kong martial arts fantasy genre. The "thin," "pathetic" plot happens to derive from the story of Wang Fei-hong, a historical figure whose life has become a modern legend. A Chinese-speaking audience would already be familiar with the story, and would not need to be beaten over the head with dramatic development or exposition, making more room for those incredible martial arts sequences, which are what this genre is really all about. Iron Monkey shows off Donnie Yen's authentic Hung Gar skills, a rare treat to see on film. It would be fair to say that Crouching Tiger was an Iron Monkey wannabe, since it was actually made well after Iron Monkey's theatrical release... Ang Lee wanted to make an artsy martial arts fantasy that would stand a chance of being appreciated, and fairly reviewed, by non-Chinese audiences. He succeeded, and for those who aren't equipped to appreciate real Hong Kong film, best stick with his masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoseH.Mar 27, 2002
This was a fantastic movie that brought back the original martial arts movies. It truly is a classic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Apr 29, 2002
Definitely no "Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon," but that is also a good thing. In a Hollywood review scale that tends to rate movies on the latest academy awards winning trends, its nice to see a movie that rightfully becomes individual in Definitely no "Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon," but that is also a good thing. In a Hollywood review scale that tends to rate movies on the latest academy awards winning trends, its nice to see a movie that rightfully becomes individual in modern day cinima. Iron Monkey is a traditional kick-ass karate movie reminicent of Bruce Lee and Kung-fu Theater mixed with modern day visual effects that can be compared to Black Mask and the Matrix. The effect is a well done movie that has its home in traditional chinese cinima and modern fast action cinima. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerC.Nov 14, 2001
It was just a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ConnieE.Oct 20, 2001
The Kung Fu was first rate. However, the plot was thin and I often felt it was a "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" wanna be but lacked the story to do it and made up for it in special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Apr 1, 2002
This just may be the best martial arts movie I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeH.Mar 18, 2003
To all those who said it was a "crouching tiger" wannabe, you may want to take note that this film was actually filmed before that movie was made, but only recieved wide release after "Crouching Tiger"'s success.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmoviecriticJun 12, 2003
I really liked the plot. It made you really think, "ok, how are they going to get out of this?" and I really liked the English dub. But my only problem with it was that the Shaolin thing wasn't not focused on enough, and I wasn't I really liked the plot. It made you really think, "ok, how are they going to get out of this?" and I really liked the English dub. But my only problem with it was that the Shaolin thing wasn't not focused on enough, and I wasn't sure what was going on with it. Great movie though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GaborA.Aug 19, 2004
This, crouching tiger, hero(though not to the same extent). I'm sick of these plotless films with terrible cliche dialogue. "You have the skill but not the dicipline." Thats great. All the time in making these movies is spent on This, crouching tiger, hero(though not to the same extent). I'm sick of these plotless films with terrible cliche dialogue. "You have the skill but not the dicipline." Thats great. All the time in making these movies is spent on crafting the endless fight scenes. The result: lame and super repetetive movies. Bring something over from china that has a plot and a soul not just sword fighting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Nov 23, 2005
Yuen Wo Pingis an ace choreographer, as he helped bring the Matrix trilogy, Kill bill and Kung Fu hustle to the top of the action genre. When he directs on his own, he pulls out all the stops and breathlessly packs tons of his fight Yuen Wo Pingis an ace choreographer, as he helped bring the Matrix trilogy, Kill bill and Kung Fu hustle to the top of the action genre. When he directs on his own, he pulls out all the stops and breathlessly packs tons of his fight sequences into one explosive package. If you like his fight choreography, there's plenty of it here, and it dominates most fo the screen time. THere's little, if any, filler in these intense 89min. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
I really liked the plot. It made you really think, "ok, how are they going to get out of this?" and I really liked the English dub. But my only problem with it was that the Shaolin thing wasn't not focused on enough, and I wasn't sure whatI really liked the plot. It made you really think, "ok, how are they going to get out of this?" and I really liked the English dub. But my only problem with it was that the Shaolin thing wasn't not focused on enough, and I wasn't sure what was going on with it. Great movie though and definitely worth a watch!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews