Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Mar 27, 2014
    100
    Hittman's debut isn't just a brilliantly tactile study of the mounting sexual curiosity and frustration of 14-year-old Lila (Gina Piersanti); it's also an important landmark in the oft-ignored subgenre of realistic movies about female adolescence.
  2. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Mar 18, 2014
    100
    It Felt Like Love is brilliantly, brutally tactile.
  3. Reviewed by: Katie Walsh
    Mar 16, 2014
    91
    It Felt Like Love, marks the arrival of a new crop of talent to watch, behind the camera and in front.
  4. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Mar 20, 2014
    90
    A mood poem to summer loving and sexual awakening, It Felt Like Love powerfully evokes a time when flesh is paramount, and peer behavior is the standard by which we judge our own.
  5. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Mar 16, 2014
    88
    Eliza Hittman's film captures the exclusive properties of sex with a degree of intimacy and empathy that, at times, feels authentically revelatory.
  6. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Mar 21, 2014
    80
    Resolutely descriptive, It Felt Like Love doesn't exactly have a plot, which feels absolutely right for a film whose elliptical yet intensely focused visual style seem to flow directly from Lila's consciousness.
  7. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 24, 2014
    70
    What's exciting about the film is the confidence Hittman brings to it, particularly with her visual choices. The dancing in particular is striking, with surprising cuts and edits. It Felt Like Love isn't a great movie, but it is a promising one, for everyone involved.
  8. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Mar 16, 2014
    70
    Sadly believable and benefiting from an unshowy performance by first-timer Gina Piersanti, it will have many viewers eager to see what Hittman does next.
  9. Reviewed by: Alissa Simon
    Mar 16, 2014
    70
    The writer-director’s stress on the small, degrading details that attend yearning as well as her protagonist’s desperation and self-deception make it more mood piece than straightforward narrative, but the ultra-confident production proves that Hittman’s a talent to watch.
  10. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Mar 20, 2014
    67
    By the end, audiences may end up craving a more charitable, less dour study of teenage mating habits — one, like the less “realistic” Raising Victor Vargas, that doesn’t portend trauma for any sapling trying to blossom too soon.
  11. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Mar 28, 2014
    63
    However heartfelt and keenly observed this pessimism is, it becomes monotonous.
  12. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Mar 18, 2014
    60
    The filmmaker has fallen for some of indiedom’s worst clichés, including our main character’s sad stare out to the ocean, and soft camerawork that’s beginning to sound like a Klaxon: Hug me, hug me, hug me.
  13. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Mar 18, 2014
    50
    Hittman demonstrates enough talent in It Felt Like Love to suggest that she could make a terrific film. All she needs is an original idea.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Sep 29, 2014
    4
    It's a really slow movie but it isn't that bad. I just think there's so so much waste potential... I was really interested in Chiara andIt's a really slow movie but it isn't that bad. I just think there's so so much waste potential... I was really interested in Chiara and Lila's relationship and I'd like to learn more about them... The acting is good, but I don't like the fact that there aren't many dialogues. Full Review »
  2. Aug 25, 2014
    2
    This movie is boring and very slow. A few times during the movie I was about to stop watching it.
    The main actress (Lila) plays well. Most of
    This movie is boring and very slow. A few times during the movie I was about to stop watching it.
    The main actress (Lila) plays well. Most of the other actors plays ok as well.
    They is very little dialog (that may be a good thing).
    Unfortunately the script is not very plausible.
    Examples: Her friendship with Chiara who is probably 2 years older;
    The scene where she set the alarm clock forward; the scene were she goes to the apartment of the 3 guys.
    The cameraman tries to give the film an "artistic" look with some nice close-ups but I did not care too much for many of the hazy/smoky scenes.
    The movies ends abruptly.
    All in all, don't waste your time.
    Full Review »