User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 125
  2. Negative: 39 out of 125

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    It's Complicated may be unrealistic and too slight to deliver a real thematic message, but the humor kills in this one. It's not slapstick or dirty; just like Mrs. Streep's performance, it is sophisticated and genuine. The final third might be a little below the rest of the movie, but overall it is enjoyable and an easy watch.
  2. Aug 29, 2014
    7
    Nancy Meyers ceases to amaze us with another look at American relationships in the modern era. It truly is complicated--but that's what we love about it.
  3. Apr 12, 2014
    6
    Loved Streep and Baldwin together. Film is worth watching just to see those to interact. They make the film. Martin? Boy cannot act. His character is like someone's pet rock.
  4. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    A nice romantic comedy that focuses on an older couple(that's rare.) I can only say good things about Meryl and there were some very funny scenes where you can tell they were having a lot of fun and it translated very well.
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    3
    The actors do fine work, but it is nothing new, nothing fun, and nothing funny. So not much goes on here that is actually complicated. I give this movie 34%.
  6. Apr 5, 2012
    6
    I intentionally gave this film a miss as I have a hunch it is not my cup of tea after Nancy Meyersâ
  7. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    Not funny at all especially when you have two talented actors. An insipid story with sappy dialogue delivered by predictable, one-dimensional characters. About as complex as the movie's title.
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Alec Baldwin, Meryl Streep, Steve Martin are all fantastic an Nancy Mayers always do manuscrips that are well written. This is one of the better Hollywood romantic comedies i have seen.
  9. JBM
    Oct 16, 2011
    1
    This is a comedy? What a bore! I watched it for the many familiar faces in it and I have never seen so much talent do absolutely nothing. Krasinsky managed a small bit of comic performance in the middle of the film so thanks for that. This movie had no tension whatsover. Even when the characters were mildly bothered by their actions, they were totally thrilled with their perfect lives. And those kids? Where do you get kids who were little more than cardboard cutouts of persons? This is a perfect movie to keep on the DVR for when you cannot sleep. If I hear a soft and mellow guitar background one more time, I will shoot myself. no no no no no. Expand
  10. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    It's Complicated was the funniest movie I have seen in years, possibly ever. I watched it three times in the theater bringing different people each time. Every time I laughed harder then the last. It's believable in most cases and some of the situations that arise are hysterical. Definitely great to see with a lady friend. You won't be disappointed.
  11. Feb 9, 2011
    4
    It's not complicated, it's not well made, and it's not worth your time. Basic run of the mill chick flick themes and ideas trying to masquerade as something more by getting good actors to do bad work. a couple of mildly enjoyable moments (thanks to Alec Baldwin) can't save this one.
  12. Dec 22, 2010
    5
    With having had a streak of great Streep films, "It's Complicated" is rather underwhelming. Just another romantic comedy, it feels more like a rip of from "Something's Gotta Give" than anything else. Meryl Streep is pretty good in it, but she has rather little to work with, since the characters are not very well developed and the storyline is not extremely interesting. The film isn't even that funny. I guess, there were some entertaining parts, and the cast is pretty decent, so there is definitely something to find in the film, especially for rom-com fans! Expand
  13. Aug 28, 2010
    6
    Tough movie to review. While most of the criticisms are fair, the movie is - in the end - pretty amusing.

    Some movies are made to "deliver a message" and some are meant purely to entertain. This is much more of the latter.

    Worth seeing for pure laughs...
  14. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    You probably won't like this movie if you're not a fan of chick flicks That said, fans of Nancy Meyers's other works (The Holiday, Something's Gotta Give) will feel right at home. Like her other movies, this is set in a visually stunning environment that many would love to live in. The story is fun (if contrived in parts) and the cast is a joy to watch. No, it's not entirely realistic and won't challenge you intellectually, but it's a fun movie to watch and will join the list of Meyers's other movies that I watch repeatedly. Expand
  15. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    Lately comedies have been sex romps and teenage movies. Itâ
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. It's Complicated is middle-aged porn, the specialty of Meyers, who also set ladies and interior decorators drooling over homes and gardens in 2006's “The Holiday.”
  2. What Meyers doesn't do is take chances. She sticks to formula and predictability. In "Complicated," this is as much a matter of casting as writing.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    40
    It’s bad enough that Nancy Meyer’s latest conventional romcom is blessed with a title so bluntly unimaginative as to seem facetious; the rub is that it’s not even a truthful assessment.