Focus Features | Release Date: October 8, 2010
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 120 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
81
Mixed:
33
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
heyitsmegrif4Dec 27, 2011
As in its title it is kind of a funng story, an dit is kind of entertaining. Well overall it is a very well made movie with great performances. I give this movie 61%.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
mrcriticOct 17, 2010
The book is terrible. I don't know how it got made into a movie in the first place. That being said, the movie is slightly better than the book, but fails to deliver anything funny. However, great acting by Keir Gilchrist, Emma Roberts, andThe book is terrible. I don't know how it got made into a movie in the first place. That being said, the movie is slightly better than the book, but fails to deliver anything funny. However, great acting by Keir Gilchrist, Emma Roberts, and Zach Galifianakas, along with a unique plot lands this at a 4 out of 10. Disappointing is an understatement. Rent it on DVD. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryOct 9, 2010
This movie is not a funny story. There are amusing moments (thanks primarily to fellow patient Zach Galifianakis), but it's a drama about a suicidal 16-year-old (Kier Gilchrist) who spends 5 days in a mental ward. Call it "One Flew Over theThis movie is not a funny story. There are amusing moments (thanks primarily to fellow patient Zach Galifianakis), but it's a drama about a suicidal 16-year-old (Kier Gilchrist) who spends 5 days in a mental ward. Call it "One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest" lite in several ways: The teenage viewpoint, the not-as-crazy crazies, the less intense situations. The attempts at flights of creative whimsy are jarring and not clever. While the performances are heartfelt, the pacing is glum and every aspect of the plot is painfully predictable. Surprisingly, the adolescent audience at my viewing seemed engaged. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
6
jimmytancrediSep 6, 2011
What a surprising movie! I really enjoyed it. This film recalls â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MorriBeyApr 17, 2011
Can be best summed up by a reviewer who said -
"I used to think art was just bourgeois decadence," a wiser Craig says in the end, which is funny, because that's kind of what this film is. " -
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
...except it's not! This film is supposed to be an uplifting comedy, however I found it painfully predictable and a bit sad. Keir Gilchrist was great, playing Craig, a young mental patient who wants to kill himself. Gilchrist and the flashes...except it's not! This film is supposed to be an uplifting comedy, however I found it painfully predictable and a bit sad. Keir Gilchrist was great, playing Craig, a young mental patient who wants to kill himself. Gilchrist and the flashes of his thoughts, that we get to see, are the best part of this film and the only thing really worth seeing. Zach Galifianakis, who is one of my favorites, isn't at all funny, he's actually kind of pathetic in this film. Despite Gilchrist performance, the movie is actually quite stupid, I mean what kind of mental hospital lets the patients have access to the roof of the hospital? It looked good, has some really good actors in it, but nothing happens, the story is predictable as hell, and it's a "comedy" in which no one really says or does anything funny. I was hugely disappointed with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ReubenIsAGodOct 10, 2013
Is average good movie made me feels feels everywhere, pretty OK is a good time i guess, gets 5 chicken heads out of 10, i mean is ok its just not amazing or something i am going to watch again
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
itsthenutshackOct 12, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's not a completely bad movie but I think it's dull. This movie lacks some more intense plot, character's development is major flaw imo because everything seems cliche. Let me explain myself: the protagonist is basically the same regular guy that has a problem and isnt the most brilliant of the bunch, but he meets his fairy odd parent (Zach Galifianakis) and learns how to be cool and then gets a pretty girl and all of his problems are solved, no more depression, no more **** in his life. Everything seems so flat.... I was waiting for something relevant to happen but the nope it just had another useless and boring happy ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews