Focus Features | Release Date: October 8, 2010
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 122 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
83
Mixed:
33
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
sethbkOct 11, 2010
A wonderfully made movie that is more of a drama than a comedy. It was very enjoyable to watch and I would recommend going to see it. It's Kind of a Funny Story is a wonderful coming-of-age tale.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
jakesonaplaneOct 27, 2010
Good movie. Dark comedy at it's finest; poignant and thoughtful, meant to make you look deeper into yourself. Having worked at a treatment center for 3 years, I found Galifianakis' performance to be perfect; he nailed it so well that I'mGood movie. Dark comedy at it's finest; poignant and thoughtful, meant to make you look deeper into yourself. Having worked at a treatment center for 3 years, I found Galifianakis' performance to be perfect; he nailed it so well that I'm convinced that in whatever capacity he's been around people of this sort. A good movie, well made, unapologetically creative, and with a message that people of all mental states can appreciate. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
goodmoviesOct 18, 2010
"It's Kind of a Funny Story" is a well-told -and funny - story of frustration, hope, and redemption. The acting is excellent, and through laughter and touching moments we learn a thing or two about authenticity and acceptance.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
jkerr50Oct 19, 2010
I found this movie to be a realistic and amusing portrayal of teenage depression. The film avoids exploitive cliches, trite resolutions, and cheap laughs. Very enjoyable, but not for every taste.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Misslove14xxMar 13, 2011
This movie feels like it is directed towards people ages 13-16, not that that has to be a bad thing, but, though most of it is pretty well done, it's a little cliche. The whole movie has a surprisingly mellow feeling, despite the fact that itThis movie feels like it is directed towards people ages 13-16, not that that has to be a bad thing, but, though most of it is pretty well done, it's a little cliche. The whole movie has a surprisingly mellow feeling, despite the fact that it takes place in a mental hospital. I kind of felt like it lacked a climax, which can kind of make the whole movie feel like it's just along for the ride. Over all this was an enjoyable movie that was pretty well done, just needs a few tweaks. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
awfyJun 26, 2011
I would certainly recommend this if you're "must watch" list is getting low on movies. It's not ground breaking, it's not hysterical but it's enjoyable. It's storyline is nothing new but it's nice to see if set on a hospital ward rather thanI would certainly recommend this if you're "must watch" list is getting low on movies. It's not ground breaking, it's not hysterical but it's enjoyable. It's storyline is nothing new but it's nice to see if set on a hospital ward rather than a high school playground.

For Zach Galifianakis fans, he is his usual comedic perfection however he does have a few touching and emotional scenes. It definitely shows a different side to him as an actor.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
dev92Aug 16, 2012
I was extremely impressed with this film, one which I would not immediately pick up and watch but one that I am glad that I did. It's an emotion-filled adventure which really showcases the issues with mental health extremely well. A braveI was extremely impressed with this film, one which I would not immediately pick up and watch but one that I am glad that I did. It's an emotion-filled adventure which really showcases the issues with mental health extremely well. A brave film but one that relies on both it's direction and cast to push it to the heights to which it reached. Well worth a view. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ShiiraOct 15, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Stop me if you've heard this one before; it's the story of the "great white hope", an inner-city, public middle school teacher, the inspirational type, naturally, who sees a black youth in trouble, a girl on the verge of entrenching herself forever within the drug trade, the nefarious culture of gangbangers, thus inspiring Dan Dunne(Ryan Gosling) to take it upon himself to make a difference(as the bylaws of the genre dictates that he does so), and tries to save her. Saving Drey(Shareeka Epps) becomes Mr. Dunne's mission. Intervening on his student's behalf, the teacher, full of piss and vinegar...and self-righteousness, pays the drug dealer a visit, in which the girl's mentor lectures the pusherman about the bad influence he poses toward his young niece. This is the crucial juncture in the movie where the half-nelson that the filmmakers put on the story's form and content, struggles to break free, and abide by those genre bylaws, but can't. While the narrative, at the outset, may not differ much from other teacher/savior flicks such as John N. Smith's "Dangerous Minds" and Richard LaGravenese's "Freedom Writers"(to name a few), Mr. Dunne's unanticipated actions previous to his momentous showdown with the antagonist, instigates a whole new set of circumstances that forces a divergence from the genre norms, and throws "Half-Nelson" into chaos. Dan, as it turns out, has a serious problem, a problem that does serious damage to his integrity, in which the girl's supposed knight and shining armor suddenly lacks the moral authority to save anybody. It's kind of a funny story, a riposte to the "white man's burden" scenario, as "Half-Nelson" saddles itself with a crack addict as its protagonist, hardly the role model that this sort of archetypal movie calls for. Bobby(Zach Galafanakas) is no role model either, a verbal admission he makes to Craig(Keir Gilchrist), the boy at risk whom the divorced father of a young daughter mentors at the psychiatric ward of the Argenon Hospital, as opposed to the silent epiphany that Dan undergoes, the instantaneous realization of this confused man's own ethical impotence which visibly washes above board his face. It stops the outraged teacher's hypocritical speechifying; this crack addict's stern reprimand, cold, in mid-stream, toward a nonplussed Frank(Anthony Mackie), when Dan realizes the irony of the situation, the dialectical impasse at hand, as there can be no supply without demand, but here is a textbook example of oppositional forces at work; it's as if Dan wrote out the situation on his chalkboard, in which a drug user tells the drug dealer to stop trafficking. It's kind of a funny story. Stripped of any racial and sexual differences, the dynamics between Bobby and Craig is nevertheless, the same story, an equally gelastic one, full of the same contradictions, where the mentor(Galafinakas), a man who attempted suicide six times, has the gall to advise his pupil against killing himself, while extolling the virtues of life. Whereas Drey helps an incapacitated Mr. Dunne out from a school bathroom stall, therefore greatly undermining his institutional ascendancy to shape a young mind, the shifting balance of power, likewise, occurs in "It's Kind of a Funny Story" when Craig helps Bobby prepare for a group home interview, going so far as loaning his mentor a clean shirt. Bobby knows the music, but not the words, so he just rips off the words("That he is not busy being born is busy dying," from the Bob Dylan track "It's Alright, Ma(I'm Only Bleeding)") that describe matters concerning life and death, and it shows, because his own words turn out to be a sort of anti-poetry, an aesthetic emblematized by prosaic whininess and narcissistic vampirism. In the cafeteria, Bobby chastises a consorting patient, a regular at the table, for taking Craig's breakfast burrito, but later in "It's Kind of a Funny Story", a darker story, one that was probably intended to promote fraternalism, emerges, where Bobby makes a petition to his disciple's soul on the basketball court, asking Craig that he "...be young," and "live ife like it meant something," which has the ring of a desperate man who would take Craig's life if he could. One more suicide attempt makes seven, unlucky seven, if he survives. Considering the setting, an Ingmar Bergman film sits waiting on the sidelines, hoping for a time-out and genre substitution. Rather than play chess with death, like the knight does in "The Seventh Seal", Bobby could challenge Craig to a game of one-on-one, or horse(slang for "heroin"), for his life, like something out of Peter Hewitt's "Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey". It's kind of a funny story because it's Zoloft that saves Craig, ultimately, just like how crack saves Drey, in which both teenagers free themselves with drugs, both legal and illegal, as an elixir for the benevolent tyranny of deeply flawed men. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
DukeNov 2, 2010
A Film Review By: Sam Fragoso

"It's Kind Of A Funny Story" *** Newcomer Keir Gilchrist and Zach Galifianakis star in the new film "It's Kind Of A Funny Story". When a film can make us laugh and cry all in the same scene, you it's done
A Film Review By: Sam Fragoso


"It's Kind Of A Funny Story"

***



Newcomer Keir Gilchrist and Zach Galifianakis star in the new film "It's Kind Of A Funny Story".

When a film can make us laugh and cry all in the same scene, you it's done something right. "It's Kind Of A Funny Story" is not so much of a comedy, as it is a touching story about people with depression and other illnesses.

The film revolves around Craig (Keir Gilchrist), a sixteen-year-old boy, who like many teenagers has been dealing with depression and anxiety. Until one night his depression is stronger then usual. He rides his bike to the Brooklyn Bridge, where he is ready to jump off. But he decides to preserve his life, get real help that could benefit him in the future. So he goes to a hospital, where be begs and pleads to be taken into the mental facility.

At first, Craig is reluctant to stay at the hospital, he is so unaware of the people in these facilities, that have much bigger problems then he could ever imagine having.

Eventually he adapts to it, however he has to stay there for five days in order to be cleared to go home. But on the way, he meets people that can really help him and can certainly relate to his problems.

The first character he meets is Bobby, played by Zach Galifianakis. I know what you all are thinking; there is no way that Galifianakis can play a serious role, in a film like this. But he does, he shows signs of genuine sincerity and sympathy to the people heâ
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyApr 11, 2012
Really pretty movie, is emotive, and fantastic, the performance of Emma Roberts is really awesome and the rest of the cast, uff, is fantastic. It's Kind of a Funny Story is amazing.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
movieboyJan 29, 2011
Loved this film. One of the best "teen" related movies in a long time. It mixes comedy and drama perfectly. And abounds with interesting characters. Zach Galifianakis shines of course in a quite subdued role. A kind of updating of "One FlewLoved this film. One of the best "teen" related movies in a long time. It mixes comedy and drama perfectly. And abounds with interesting characters. Zach Galifianakis shines of course in a quite subdued role. A kind of updating of "One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest" I was especially impressed with how the "crazy" characters were not overplayed, and i didn't find it predictable. Even loved the Queen fantasy segment. Definite thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PopcornNRosesNov 8, 2010
I wasn't sure about this film, but I liked the trailer, and I had a recommendation from a friend, so I was happy to fall totally in love with it. Keir Gilchrist is amazing as Craig, a 16 year old battling feeling of suicide, so much so thatI wasn't sure about this film, but I liked the trailer, and I had a recommendation from a friend, so I was happy to fall totally in love with it. Keir Gilchrist is amazing as Craig, a 16 year old battling feeling of suicide, so much so that he checks himself into a local hospital to fight back against it. When he realizes this wasn't a lark, and that he's stuck for a minimum of 5 days in the hospital, he starts to get to know the residents of the adult psychiatric ward where he is - the teen psych unit is being renovated. And he begins to realize that he's not alone in his battles. While there, he meets the other teen in the adult ward, Noelle (wonderfully played by Emma Roberts), and a romance starts to spark. And his new friend Bobby (Zach Galifianakis) shows him the ropes on how to get along in the ward. Over the five days, Craig gets to know why he's feeling suicidal, his family starts to understand his recent behavior, and his friends, once they find out where he is, show surprising support for him. I've had demons of my own recently as well as over the years, and I totally related to Craig and his problems, even though I'm 30 years his senior. The end of this movie left me sobbing , with a smile on my face and hope in my heart. Without A doubt, one of the best films I've seen all year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KingmushMar 15, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/its-kind-of-funny-story.html

When I first heard of this movie I knew I just had to go see it. For one I love Zach G. Everything he does honestly, secondly Emma Roberts, pretty good herself. Third,
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/its-kind-of-funny-story.html

When I first heard of this movie I knew I just had to go see it. For one I love Zach G. Everything he does honestly, secondly Emma Roberts, pretty good herself. Third, the trailer for it caught my attention. So fast forward till it came out, then fast forward a little bit more and I finally watched it.

And I will say this movie lived up to my expectations. Very compelling story of a kid who tries to commit suicide due to stress, then admits himself into a facility only to regret his decision but slowly realizes the situation and accepts it and then throw in some lovey dovey romance.

While this may seem cut and dry it is not. Lots of great scenes that I found were very innovative. One that comes to mind is the singing scene where they transform into a Queen and David Bowie concert. Humor wise this movie doesn't fall short either, I laughed quite a lot.

Overall great movie you should go watch it. Simple as that.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cmburton87Oct 12, 2010
Well the problem here is that those of you who did not think it was funny either don't understand the intellectual humor presented and don't like Zach's comedy in its traditional element. The Hangover is not his style for the most part, atWell the problem here is that those of you who did not think it was funny either don't understand the intellectual humor presented and don't like Zach's comedy in its traditional element. The Hangover is not his style for the most part, at least the movie at large isn't. He plays this character in Bored to Death like a champ and everyone I know finds that hysterical. Maybe you just need to see comedies with friends so you can all join in the laughter? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
masterorbOct 11, 2010
Very small moments are explored in this movie and it requires close attention and multiple viewings to see everything that happens. Galifianakis is electric; Keir Gilchrist expresses hopelessness every time he looks away. Emma Roberts is veryVery small moments are explored in this movie and it requires close attention and multiple viewings to see everything that happens. Galifianakis is electric; Keir Gilchrist expresses hopelessness every time he looks away. Emma Roberts is very good at giving people the finger. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GluttonMar 30, 2011
This is a very good movie.Good cast,good acting,good plot.Definitely a feel good movie.Emma Roberts is on her way to being the new poster on many a walls.Watched this with my grumpy co-worker,and even he was very happy with this flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrotherlaxFeb 14, 2011
Although I rarely laughed in what was supposed to be a comedy, I loved it nonetheless. Any teen who has ever been depressed knows what Craig is going through. It's tough stuff, and hard to find somebody who cares. This movie portrays thatAlthough I rarely laughed in what was supposed to be a comedy, I loved it nonetheless. Any teen who has ever been depressed knows what Craig is going through. It's tough stuff, and hard to find somebody who cares. This movie portrays that perfectly but somehow manages not to be depressing. It also gives you some laughs along the way, and Zach Galifianakis's character was awesome. Come to think of it, there was not a single character that I disliked. All of them were interesting, and the acting was phenomenal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lovemusicJul 31, 2011
its not that bad at all. Zack was good. he was funny and sad and very touching in this movie. the story is kinda corny. but the movie isn't. its good. its heartfelt. good movies for families and teens
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
islandJan 21, 2012
It was great to see that Zach Galifianakis can act in a film where his role is not really funny and he is not supposed to make you laugh. Even though it's category officially is comedy it is not. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CognauticCreixOct 2, 2011
This probably isn't the perfect movie, I mean, it kinda starts slow with the not most easily identifiable protagonist, even for those suffering through depression. This guy brought levels of failure to self express, strangely inconsistentThis probably isn't the perfect movie, I mean, it kinda starts slow with the not most easily identifiable protagonist, even for those suffering through depression. This guy brought levels of failure to self express, strangely inconsistent self-absorption (which isn't uncommon), and cringiness to new levels, and it takes a little bit before you discover his better qualities. But I loved the movie none-the-less, his embodiment of what is teenage depression was spot on, and his growth from that to someone focused on living their life with appreciation on what truly matters to him hit me just in the right spot, and couple that with a the stunning Emma Roberts, who just happened to be a reasonable unassuming human being (unlike most romantic heroine's dramatic and self-degrading tendencies), and this movie fit with me like a lock and its key. Not to mention the lovable Zach Galifianakis' performance, and the progression of everything involved. In your teenage years if you ever suffered through romantic obsession, feelings of isolation, depression, a lack of appreciation, aimlessness, etc. then this movie can be enjoyed by you. As far as movies go, this will go down in being one of my all time favorites. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mloikmAug 21, 2011
The trailer to this movie seemed boring, but it turned out to be such a great movie! I recommend this movie 100% . Although it's more drama than comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JrAgujaIsAGleekMay 11, 2014
There are obvious moments where the books are better than the movies. (The Hunger Games and Harry Potter)

There are rare moments where the movies are better than the books. (The Spectacular Now). And there are really rare moments where
There are obvious moments where the books are better than the movies. (The Hunger Games and Harry Potter)

There are rare moments where the movies are better than the books. (The Spectacular Now).

And there are really rare moments where movies are equally good as the books, and it’s this one.

When I read the book, I thought the story is great but the writing is all over the place at some parts.

So I got a chance to see the movie, it’s just okay as the the book.

The casting is great. I thought Keir Gilchrist did a good job portraying the main character Craig. That goes the same with Zach Galifianakis as Bobby and Emma Roberts as Noelle.

The movie kept justice with the book with slight chances. There were some slight changes that I wasn’t okay with. Because those parts before they were modified for the screen were the ones that make the story (kind of) funny but nonethless, the movie is a faithful adaptation to the book.
I would give props to the direction and cinematography. I never thought it would be this good especially the scenes in Craig’s mind.
The movie did the book justice with great casting and direction so check it out if you like stories about depression and suicide, handled in a humorous tone.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ViksterDec 13, 2012
A coming of age teen drama who's grappling with illusion and delusions of the world. There's a slight typicality in this kind of a films. But, it did provide comedic and the cliché the "moral of the story". An entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SummersausageJan 8, 2013
It's a small cute story to deal with people who suffer from mental disorders. It is not as impacting as Half Nelson yet Ryan Fleck Does deliver a suitable appreciation of the combination of wisdom and young admiration.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews