Metascore
23

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 26
  2. Negative: 17 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Nov 11, 2011
    38
    But Jack and Jill? Oh, Al.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Nov 10, 2011
    38
    Then there's Pacino, out-of-place and yet somehow right at home. You want big? Al does BIG. And since is as close as we're likely to get to "Don Corleone Does Don Quixote," that alone is worth the price of admission.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Nov 11, 2011
    33
    In one form or another, you get exactly what you pay for at an Adam Sandler comedy. Otherwise the man wouldn't have earned zillions.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Nov 10, 2011
    30
    It's a dull drag-show routine headed nowhere until Pacino (playing a self-important version of himself) begins stalking Jill.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Nov 10, 2011
    30
    In the wake of "Bridesmaids," Sandler's lipsticked tomfoolery - and inability to share the screen with genuinely funny women - feels particularly regressive and stale. Both movies have diarrhea gags, but only one feels defined by such humor.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Nov 10, 2011
    30
    There are a few funny moments in Jack and Jill, most of them celebrity cameos that also serve to affirm what a cool, connected celebrity Mr. Sandler is. The most sustained of these is the appearance of Al Pacino as himself, falling for Jill and giving the film a jolt of genuine zaniness. I'm sorry to say that this may be Mr. Pacino's most convincing performance in years.
  7. 25
    A noxious PG comedy starring Adam Sandler as a pair of middle-aged male-female twins that should have been separated at birth to spare us from this movie.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Nov 10, 2011
    25
    The unapologetic laziness and ineptitude of Jack's impersonation, which is played for cheap laughs, is just as lazy as Sandler's performance as the real Jill. You don't buy it for a minute.
  9. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Nov 10, 2011
    25
    Jack and Jill contains long stretches of squirm-inducing tedium in which Sandler riffs and ad-libs far longer than he should.
  10. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Nov 10, 2011
    20
    Jack and Jill is witless and sloppily constructed, getting by on fart gags, homeless jokes, Latino stereotypes and that old favorite, explosive chimichanga diarrhea -- and no, not in an inspired "Bridesmaids" way.
  11. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Nov 12, 2011
    16
    What makes Jack And Jill worse than the average Sandler vehicle is Jill, who's been conceived as little more than a dude in drag, hold the jokes.
  12. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Nov 10, 2011
    12
    A comedy that has one good joke, four strange cameos and a spirit so juvenile kids may wonder what Sandler's deal is.
  13. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Nov 10, 2011
    12
    If the result is a movie that seems like a much slicker, more condensed, and speedier version of the Sandler comedies that have guaranteed his grandkids' retirement, count it as a blessing that it's over quickly. Not without pain, but quickly.
  14. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Nov 16, 2011
    11
    I'm not sure which is more freakish: the fact that this savagely unfun and relentlessly generic Adam Sandler comedy has spawned its own (infinitely more entertaining) Internet meme or the realization that something has gone seriously awry with the decision-making process of Al Pacino's agent.
  15. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Nov 11, 2011
    0
    It's pretty sad if you're a comic and Al Pacino is the funniest thing in your movie.
  16. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Nov 10, 2011
    0
    More than 24 hours has passed since I watched the new Adam Sandler movie Jack and Jill and I am still dead inside. It made me feel as if comedy itself were a dirty thing.
  17. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Nov 10, 2011
    0
    A total bust, a stupefyingly unfunny and shamelessly lazy farce packed with cringe-worthy jokes and overt product placement.
User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 72
  2. Negative: 45 out of 72
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Adam Sandler still acts? could've fooled me after watching his latest abortion of a movie. face it sandler, you had it good with Billy Madison, Waterboy and Little Nicky, but your last few movies (especially anything with Kevin James) have been complete and utter failures. Full Review »
  2. Aug 2, 2012
    0
    Why is adam Sandler a transvestite in this movie. This movie is an abomination. They should do what they did with that terrible E.T Game and bury all copies in the new mexico dessert. Full Review »
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    It deserves less then a 0! It deserves to be non existent like Sandler! I'll be honest I tried to enjoy his movies in the past even Eight crazy nights, ugh! But it was impossible especially that abortion Don't mess with the Zohon. Every one of his movies he uses the same lame characters, references homosexuality in some way and used the same tired jokes over and over with his annoying voice. He's never funny in his movies. The Wedding Singer was the only movie I enjoyed because of the subtlety and the humor coming from everybody else not just him. It was hard to take him seriously in Reign over me and Don Cheadle was amazing as always. Full Review »