Metascore
23

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Jack and Jill is a comedy focusing on Jack Sadelstein, a successful advertising executive in Los Angeles with a beautiful wife and kids, who dreads one event each year: the Thanksgiving visit of his identical twin sister Jill. Jill's neediness and passive-aggressiveness is maddening to Jack, turning his normally tranquil life upside down. Katie Holmes plays Erin, Jack's wife. (Sony Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 26
  2. Negative: 17 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Nov 10, 2011
    63
    What's more genuinely wacky is what a kick the movie can sometimes be, completely in spite of its big, flat stunt.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Nov 10, 2011
    50
    Though the Jill problem is too insurmountable to ignore, almost everything else in this comedy succeeds.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Nov 10, 2011
    40
    Jack and Jill is a barrage of fart jokes and fat jokes and mean jokes that sincerely thinks it deserves to end with a hug. It doesn't deserve awwwws - and it doesn't deserve your money.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Nov 10, 2011
    30
    In the wake of "Bridesmaids," Sandler's lipsticked tomfoolery - and inability to share the screen with genuinely funny women - feels particularly regressive and stale. Both movies have diarrhea gags, but only one feels defined by such humor.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Nov 10, 2011
    25
    The unapologetic laziness and ineptitude of Jack's impersonation, which is played for cheap laughs, is just as lazy as Sandler's performance as the real Jill. You don't buy it for a minute.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Nov 12, 2011
    16
    What makes Jack And Jill worse than the average Sandler vehicle is Jill, who's been conceived as little more than a dude in drag, hold the jokes.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Nov 10, 2011
    0
    A total bust, a stupefyingly unfunny and shamelessly lazy farce packed with cringe-worthy jokes and overt product placement.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 71
  2. Negative: 44 out of 71
  1. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    I think that it very interesting film about brother and sister. Every Critic, who wrote something wrong about this film is very stuped! Because this film has got meaning in contrast Mission Impaseble: Ghost Protocol! Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Absoultely terrific. Perfect family movie for everybody, terrificly acted, and well produced. I finally see Adam Sandler is starting to actually act like a millionaire should Expand
  3. May 21, 2013
    6
    Ohhh vamos porque tiene tan mala calificación, se que es un poco estúpida en algunas ocasiones pero muestra un verdadero sentido del humor un poco negro pero es verdaderamente no ortodoxo. Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2012
    2
    Shockingly terrible. And funny. Not really a very good movie, but enjoyable for those who like dodgy comedies. How much did they pay Al Pacino to go in this? Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2012
    1
    Another one of Adam sandlers failed abortions which he constantly and I mean constantly likes to remake. It's like a turd being reheated time and time again by Adam Sandler which I thought was funny when i was 5. But this is just another one of his brain dead tasteless comedies that get him deeper and deeper to the end of his poor and miserable career. Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2011
    0
    A truly terrible movie that is a 100% waste of time and money. It's been a long time since Adam Sandler could make anyone laugh and Adam Sandler in drag is even worse. I can only pray for the day that he stops making movies all together. Don't see this movie whatever you do, staying home and staring at a blank wall for two hours would be more stimulating (and humorous) than this movie. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    I'm not going to say that Jack and Jill is a bad movie. That wouldn't be doing it justice. Jack and Jill is hands down the worst film ever made, not only failing on a comedic and technical level, but also on the level of entertainment. Most bad movies garner a few chuckles based on pure goofiness, such as The Room. Jack and Jill couldn't even make me smile once, as I was too busy being appalled at the atrocities I was witnessing onscreen. Adam Sandler has become the representation of cheap, poorly executed Hollywood blockbusters and whatever comedic value he had in the past is gone. His career has been on the decline for years, and this abomination was the long-awaited dagger to his image. It took two Adam Sandlers, both completely unlikable and instantly annoying characters, for people to detect his formula of putting little effort into filmmaking and making large profits off of fart jokes and the occasional adult humor. Even the presence of Al Pacino can't save the movie, and makes it even more depressing when one considers that this powerhouse actor accepted a role in Sandler's cinematic prostitution.
    Jack and Jill is a marvel. I can't say I hate any other movie with such unrelenting passion, especially when I realize that ten-years olds are being showed this racist, mysoginistic, and downright unpleasant series of unfinished storyboard sketches. I sincerely hope that these younger audiences don't look to Sandler as a king of comedy, because then the next generation of filmmakers will have a corrupted vision of what true comedy really is. Jack and Jill should serve as the shining example of how to fail in making people laugh: sacrificing the likability of its characters and the intelligence of its plot for inane body humor and inexplicable attempts at social satire. It fails not just because its a broken mess of a movie, but because we all know its creator has the potential for so much better, and his creative vision has been blinded by the allure of box office success. Whether Sandler can turn his career around from this apparent black hole remains to be seen. But for now, Jack and Jill remains as a gigantic blemish not only on his career, but on the entirety of American cinema.

    0/10

    Follow me on twitter. @cbeers2513
    Expand

See all 71 User Reviews

Trailers