Jack Reacher

Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jan 19, 2013
    70
    A trim thriller with an enviable lack of grandeur. [21 Jan. 2013, p.79]
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Dinning
    Dec 31, 2012
    80
    Christopher McQuarrie and Tom Cruise deliver on their promise, with a witty, violent take on Reacher that makes up for its lack of height with an abundance of smarts and thrills.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 23, 2012
    75
    Werner Herzog, better known as one of the finest living directors, plays a bad guy with Teutonic relish. If he doesn't watch it, he'll have a whole other career for himself playing dead-eyed villains.
  4. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Dec 23, 2012
    67
    This violent, sometimes brutal suspense thriller was thus quite a surprise, both in how effectively Cruise creates a commanding physical presence despite his lack of size, and for how well the film works in general.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 20, 2012
    75
    Cruise's Jack Reacher is a loner who doesn't smile, charm, love the ladies, aim his index fingers to the heavens or sing "You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling" in bars. Here he just snarls and kills people. Yes, please, and let's have more of the same.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 20, 2012
    65
    The bigger problem is that Cruise, as Reacher, has no wit and no style, other than the studiously applied kind. He's so desperate to do everything right that nearly everything he does comes off all wrong.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 20, 2012
    63
    McQuarrie... is a real writer; his banter has snap and bite. His directorial skills are still catching up with his writing skills; the movie loses steam in the final half-hour.
  8. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Dec 19, 2012
    65
    Beat by beat, Jack Reacher is just like Child's paperbacks in the best possible way: it's fast, fun, and smarter than it looks.
  9. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Dec 18, 2012
    70
    Cruise is definitely too short for the gig, but in this first fight, he proves his tough-guy chops. Outraged Reacher readers can stand down.
  10. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 18, 2012
    75
    This is Cruise's show. And he nails it. The patented smile is gone, replaced by a glower that makes Jack Reacher a dark and dazzling ride into a new kind of hell.
  11. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Dec 18, 2012
    83
    In terms of pure pop entertainment value, you'll be hard-pressed to find a more smartly constructed, beautifully shot, pulse-pounding movie this holiday season.
  12. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Dec 10, 2012
    80
    Tom Cruise is in fine form as mysterious tough guy Jack Reacher finally reaches the big screen.
  13. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Dec 10, 2012
    80
    A superior thriller, with Cruise and McQuarrie slotting together like a bullet in a clip. Like Reacher on the firing range, the aim isn't always true – but the misses are fractional.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 350 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 109
  2. Negative: 22 out of 109
  1. Dec 21, 2012
    8
    Tom cruise is like marmite you either love him or hate him, usually i tend to go for the latter. However i found this film to be very true toTom cruise is like marmite you either love him or hate him, usually i tend to go for the latter. However i found this film to be very true to the book which i respect, it had action, suspense and a bit of romance between the two main leads "Cruise, Rosamund pike". If you're looking for a thrill ride then i recommend you go and see this despite what the critics say this is definitely a crowd pleaser. Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    3
    Not sure why this was rated over 60% on Rotten Tomatoes. This movie is terribly paced, the story is ridiculous and frankly the whole blondeNot sure why this was rated over 60% on Rotten Tomatoes. This movie is terribly paced, the story is ridiculous and frankly the whole blonde damsel in distress scene was over the top. Some scenes just drag on too long and others feel like they should have been cut out all together. This is one of those movies you watch when it's free on TV and you have nothing else to do. Full Review »
  3. Dec 21, 2012
    0
    This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen and it was so bad in fact that I purposefully created an account on this site just so IThis was one of the worst movies I have ever seen and it was so bad in fact that I purposefully created an account on this site just so I could talk about how terrible it was. I feel like I threw away two hours of my life and will never get it back. The lead actress was wooden and laughable, as if she were trying to emote with a face-full of Botox. Tom Cruise was standard Tom Cruise. I got so angry by the end at the fact that I had to sit through this pathetic movie that I threw my bottle of water on the floor. Full Review »