Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Dec 18, 2012
    25
    Jack Reacher is mostly grim, violent and stupid.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 20, 2012
    38
    The violence is plenty, and pointless.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Dec 20, 2012
    25
    The film is as incompetent, manipulative, safe, and disposable as any number of nickel-and-dime actioners, but goes to great, unconvincing lengths to insist it's different.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 20, 2012
    0
    Jack Reacher, which Christopher McQuarrie directed from his adaptation of a Lee Child crime novel, is not just another dumb thriller. It's almost peerlessly self-important, weirdly incoherent and eerily smarmy. It's also mysteriously inept, considering that Tom Cruise plays the title role.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 20, 2012
    38
    Jack Reacher is a wildly ill-advised miscalculation, with Cruise's virtually unstoppable appeal butting uncomfortably against Reacher's alternately cocky and downright crude cynicism.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 291 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 102
  2. Negative: 22 out of 102
  1. Dec 21, 2012
    3
    Not sure why this was rated over 60% on Rotten Tomatoes. This movie is terribly paced, the story is ridiculous and frankly the whole blonde damsel in distress scene was over the top. Some scenes just drag on too long and others feel like they should have been cut out all together. This is one of those movies you watch when it's free on TV and you have nothing else to do. Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    8
    Tom cruise is like marmite you either love him or hate him, usually i tend to go for the latter. However i found this film to be very true to the book which i respect, it had action, suspense and a bit of romance between the two main leads "Cruise, Rosamund pike". If you're looking for a thrill ride then i recommend you go and see this despite what the critics say this is definitely a crowd pleaser. Full Review »
  3. Dec 21, 2012
    0
    This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen and it was so bad in fact that I purposefully created an account on this site just so I could talk about how terrible it was. I feel like I threw away two hours of my life and will never get it back. The lead actress was wooden and laughable, as if she were trying to emote with a face-full of Botox. Tom Cruise was standard Tom Cruise. I got so angry by the end at the fact that I had to sit through this pathetic movie that I threw my bottle of water on the floor. Full Review »