User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 339 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 339
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 24, 2012
    6
    Definitely entertaining. This is not a complicated film nor should anyone expect anything more than a couple of car chases and some fight scenes. Story is mildly entertaining and Robert Duval adds his usual excellence. The film is so basic that it makes slow pitch softball look high-speed, but given that even Tom Cruise could screw it up. Sorry I never forgave him for the debacle that wasDefinitely entertaining. This is not a complicated film nor should anyone expect anything more than a couple of car chases and some fight scenes. Story is mildly entertaining and Robert Duval adds his usual excellence. The film is so basic that it makes slow pitch softball look high-speed, but given that even Tom Cruise could screw it up. Sorry I never forgave him for the debacle that was War of the Worlds. Captain Crazypants and the Scientology wackos must have gotten "clear" just long enough to make a movie that is just entertaining enough to fill the void between now and the next summer season. This is just like dating, set your standards low enough and you will never be disappointed. Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2013
    6
    This was a okay story with a good story and good action scenes in it as well.But this movie gets really boring at most bit witch is the real let down. So its worth a rent but dont expect anything amazing. Jack Reacher 6.5/10
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Película del 2012 que apenas está llegando a nuestras salas de cine. Noveno libro de la Saga del escritor Lee Child publicado en 2005.
    Gratamente sorprendida al darme cuenta que Jack Reacher no es enteramente una película de acción, tristemente decepcionada al ver una historia floja y sin ninguna sorpresa con actuaciones pobres que no reflejan el recorrido actoral de los protagonistas.
    Inicia con una de las mejores escenas de la película y el eje central, un tiroteo perpetuado a manos de un francotirador. Francotirador que es ubicado y capturado rápidamente dejándonos pensar que su culpabilidad es inminente, sin embargo en el desarrollo de la trama las cosas cambian viendo como al entrar al juego Jack Reacher logra ubicarnos en una perspectiva diferente.
    Tom Cruise protagoniza el papel del exmilitar Jack Reacher, con una actuación predecible similar a la de Misión Imposible o Minority Report con la diferencia de que en esta tiene la habilidad de dejar mujeres suspirando por el a su paso, es Cruise el encargado de la acción, el que todo lo sabe, el que investiga, el que descubre, el que pelea, y al final el héroe, papel que ya conoce y que protagoniza perfectamente sin ningun esfuerzo. Con mucha seriedad y pocas sonrisas Reacher se adentra en la oscuridad de un guion flojo y logra desenmarañar el complot que se envuelve en medio de los intentos de convertir esta historia en un thriller.
    Excelente fueron las escenas de acción, pocas pero creíbles, buenos planos, coreografía, sonido y con mucha claridad en el momento de los golpes y puños, seguida por una espectacular persecución en auto con un buen montaje que no deja que el espectador pierda el plano ni el sentido de ubicación (Caso contrario al de las películas de Jason Bourne)
    Tristemente desaprovechadas las actuaciones de Richard Jenkins, Robert Duval, con personajes que no aportan nada actoralmente y que al parecer solo querían un dinerito extra. Rosamund Pike en un papel mediocre, que no logra pasar de la chica en apuros a la que hay que salvar, dejando por el piso el aporte femenino de la película. Con el villano tengo mis dudas, ya que queriendo dar la sensación de temor con la historia en la que se comió sus propios dedos no lo logra, por el contrario es eclipsado por Jai Courtney (Charlie) que nos regala unos buenos momentos de acción junto a Cruise.
    En resumen tenemos un thriller de acción entretenido con unas pequeña pizca de comedia, que intenta mezclar a James Bond con Sherlock Holmes sin éxito, pero al final logra salir airosa gracias a Tom Cruise que sin ser este su mejor papel ha realizado un gran trabajo intentando sacar a flote este proyecto junto con McQuarrie que debería pensarlo mejor antes de aventurarse nuevamente en el roll de director, sabiendo que como escritor ha obtenido mejores resultados como en The Usual Suspects.
    Si quieres pasar un rato entretenido junto a tus amigos en donde no tengas que utilizar tu materia gris Jack Reacher es la pelicula.
    Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    6
    Jack Reacher had some good and memorable moments, but overall it just felt like a cheesy crime drama series that you can find every night on TV. This movie is based on the book "One Shot" written by Lee Child, which is just one of a series of Jack Reacher novels. So this guy is sort of an icon in the literature world, and so when they wanted to adapt a movie from it and it kind of fellJack Reacher had some good and memorable moments, but overall it just felt like a cheesy crime drama series that you can find every night on TV. This movie is based on the book "One Shot" written by Lee Child, which is just one of a series of Jack Reacher novels. So this guy is sort of an icon in the literature world, and so when they wanted to adapt a movie from it and it kind of fell flat for me. Don't get me wrong I had a good time seeing this movie and it wasn't actually bad, but there just really is nothing here that we haven't seen a thousand times before. This guy is a cop and he plays by his own rules, who hasn't seen that dozens of times? I realize its based off a book, but I just didn't think he was the great and intimidating action character that the film's trailer makes him out to be. But the main reason someone is going to see this is for Tom Cruise, I mean lets face it, if he weren't in this film nobody would care about it whatsover. I mean just a few weeks ago we had Alex Cross and everyone was disappointed with that, and now we have another crime mystery thriller. This almost feels like it should've been released in the summer so that it wouldn't have much high expectations with a end of the year release, but sadly it must compete with the big and powerful films of December. Some things I did like about it were the car chase sequences, which were exciting and gave the movie a little variety. Some of the fighting scenes between Cruse and the bad guys were fun as well, but if you watch closely you can tell that these are some of the dumbest and clumsiest bad guys I have seen in a action movie for a long time. Christopher McQuarrie directed this movie, and I enjoy a lot of his work, so I appreciate what he was trying to make here but it just wasn't as good as it should've been. I'm not sure if I could ever make a better movie than this, but there are some moments in this film where you know they could've fixed to make it less ridiculous. This film is fun if all you want is a simple action flick, but as for me, I crave something a little more well done. Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2013
    4
    A movie that failed to make me care about the story at all, characters were empty and uninteresting and even thou this movie had a few scenes that were pretty well done i still found myself looking at my watch time and time again hoping this would eighter pick up or just end.
  6. Dec 24, 2012
    5
    Went into theater expecting a mix of Drive and Mission Impossible. What I got was a mix of Law and Order and Sniper. Entertaining story even if it is a little far out. Wait did I say little... The only thing I do not understand is that with Tom Cruise having so much film cred what is he doing in this film that should be staring Steven Segal or Van Damne. Certainly worth a matinee viewing though.
  7. Jan 9, 2013
    4
    This movie is just too fake. Cheesy lines with illogical scenes. It doesn't matter anymore if it's starring Tom Cruise or any good actors.. If the plot and scripts are bad, then the movie is bad.
  8. Dec 24, 2012
    5
    I'm a fan of Tom Cruise the actor, but he doesn't cover any new ground in this over the top, ludicrous film. Your eyes will be rolling throughout. It isn't a horrible film, and it is mostly watchable and entertaining, but you really have to ignore all the implausibilities and go with it. This was my first exposure to the lead actress Rosamund Pike and I wasn't impressed. Her acting wasI'm a fan of Tom Cruise the actor, but he doesn't cover any new ground in this over the top, ludicrous film. Your eyes will be rolling throughout. It isn't a horrible film, and it is mostly watchable and entertaining, but you really have to ignore all the implausibilities and go with it. This was my first exposure to the lead actress Rosamund Pike and I wasn't impressed. Her acting was unrealistic and unemotional throughout. I don't know if the director was responsible or if it was her decision but she didn't behave like a normal person, particularly in the hostage scene. The Robert Duvall character was really ridiculous. You really felt like you were watching a poor version of Dirty Harry. I can't quite recommend it, but I've seen so many movies like this throughout my life I've become jaded by them. A younger person might like it more. Expand
  9. Dec 30, 2012
    5
    I thought the movie itself was done well, and was reasonably loyal toward the book. Tom acted well, but simply does not rise to the threatening brutality of Jack Reacher. He was far too diminutive and clean cut to be believable as a rough Reacher, and the scene with him shirtless was a joke. Rosamund Pike was probably the strongest actor as Helen Rodin. The Zek and other minor rollsI thought the movie itself was done well, and was reasonably loyal toward the book. Tom acted well, but simply does not rise to the threatening brutality of Jack Reacher. He was far too diminutive and clean cut to be believable as a rough Reacher, and the scene with him shirtless was a joke. Rosamund Pike was probably the strongest actor as Helen Rodin. The Zek and other minor rolls were done well, except David Oyelowo as Emerson. His character ended up with few speaking scenes and was barely noticible. Expand
  10. Jan 9, 2013
    6
    Despite its predictable premise, Jack Reacher is still that lovable vigilante that allows the film to be characteristically prismatic; all the stunning chase scenes, chemistry between Cruise and Pike, rapid pacing and the bad-ass main character combine to make a healthy action flick that succeeds in its purpose to thrill audiences.
  11. Jan 21, 2013
    4
    Despite the exaggerated and absurd situations in the film and the screenplay´s silly moments, Jack Reacher has its qualities. Starting with Werner Herzog, who is a good villain, he is threatening and scary (and sometimes unintentionally funny, because of the horrible dialogues). Tom Cruise tries hard, but delivers an very over the top performance. The opening scene creates goodDespite the exaggerated and absurd situations in the film and the screenplay´s silly moments, Jack Reacher has its qualities. Starting with Werner Herzog, who is a good villain, he is threatening and scary (and sometimes unintentionally funny, because of the horrible dialogues). Tom Cruise tries hard, but delivers an very over the top performance. The opening scene creates good suspense, but it´s pay-off is so disappointing. The best scene is the stylized car chase. But after all, despite all the films efforts, Jack Reacher is definitely not a must-see. Expand
  12. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    Ok. First of all, i have a ver bad feeling about mr. Cruise in general. But besides that there where two things that i really fined bad in that movie. The first one was a slapstick show during a scene which could have been quite interesting, and the second, was one of the luckiest "precision" shot in movie history. But since i am no movie critic i was entertained and that's wy we are here.Ok. First of all, i have a ver bad feeling about mr. Cruise in general. But besides that there where two things that i really fined bad in that movie. The first one was a slapstick show during a scene which could have been quite interesting, and the second, was one of the luckiest "precision" shot in movie history. But since i am no movie critic i was entertained and that's wy we are here.

    The bad guy was really bad.
    Collapse
  13. Jan 2, 2013
    5
    Tom Cruise sort of nails it this time with his humor and sense of action but this was a decent flick but definitely not Toms best. I really enjoyed the car chase sense where our main protagonistJack Reacher must run from the cops.
  14. Jan 11, 2013
    4
    I have read all the jack reacher books and this movie seemed to disappoint me. Jack reacher is a 200 pound 6 foot male. they brought tom cruise, a 5 foot 4 140 pound male. Why make a movie when your main character resembles nothing to the book character(except the fact that he still is a very skilled assassin). over all i give it a 4
  15. Jan 20, 2013
    6
    Jack Reacher is a good and entertaining movie. It's not amazingly directed overall and doesn't have beautiful cinematogrophy. It's story is also nothing special. However the action was pretty good, (especially the main car chase), Tom Cruise's performance was also good, and the dialogue was better than most movies like this. It's a slightly above average movie that's fun and worthJack Reacher is a good and entertaining movie. It's not amazingly directed overall and doesn't have beautiful cinematogrophy. It's story is also nothing special. However the action was pretty good, (especially the main car chase), Tom Cruise's performance was also good, and the dialogue was better than most movies like this. It's a slightly above average movie that's fun and worth seeing. I look forward to possible sequals. (First ever review) Expand
  16. Apr 25, 2013
    5
    its bit mediocre movie, writers and stunt directors made a mess even though they had a potential to make a good movie.Anyhow this movie is quite watchable but its not worth the money if you going to watch it in cinema.
  17. May 11, 2013
    4
    It is absolutely entertaining, though that's solely because of the action and acting. Tom Cruise is great in the lead role and it's always good to see Robert Duvall in a movie, because he's always good. The directing was as it is in all action films; irrevelant, as all action movie directors seem to do the same thing over-and-over. Despite that, as I said before, it was an entertaining watch.
  18. Jul 14, 2013
    5
    Tom Cruise plays the ex-military fighting machine who defeats the bad guys and charms the ladies with his rugged looks. The storyline is as bouncy as the cleavage of the shallow female lead role. Jack Reacher is bashed by the critics, but average viewer will enjoy watching it
  19. May 19, 2013
    6
    Jack Reacher is not completely without its merits. Devout followers of Lee Child’s novels had trouble accepting Tom Cruise as the strapping, Viking-esque eponymous protagonist, but to reject Tommy Boy too early is a big mistake: for all the constantly-swirling controversy Cruise somehow continues to keep simmering, he’s as able to both fill seats and entertain now as he ever has been. InJack Reacher is not completely without its merits. Devout followers of Lee Child’s novels had trouble accepting Tom Cruise as the strapping, Viking-esque eponymous protagonist, but to reject Tommy Boy too early is a big mistake: for all the constantly-swirling controversy Cruise somehow continues to keep simmering, he’s as able to both fill seats and entertain now as he ever has been. In fact, Cruise’s steely cool is perhaps Christopher McQuarrie’s film’s grandest asset. One can’t quite shake the fact, though, that there should be at the very least a bit more popcorn fun to Jack Reacher. McQuarrie has assembled a sensational cast Richard Jenkins, Robert Duvall, and even our favorite thickly-accented fusspot Werner Herzog appear here but after the gleeful advent of their mere presence wears off, there’s not all that much for them to do. Jack Reacher wants to be a new kind of Mission: Impossible where Bourne Supremacy-esque action replaces any deep need for well-rounded character, but McQuarrie and Cruise never fully get around to successfully making their case. This is easily-digestible Hollywood fare, to be sure, but there’s not quite enough meat on the bone here. Expand
  20. May 22, 2013
    6
    Tom Cruise puts for another solid performance as the focused and quick-witted Jack Reacher in this clumsily drifting, but competent and entertaining action-thriller. -MN
  21. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    Tom Cruise continues to be a good action star, but his choice of films need to be questioned. The script and story are weak and as much as Cruise's charisma helps it is not enough.
  22. Aug 9, 2013
    4
    Not entirely sure that it was a great idea for the lead macho man to be so unemotional and so distant from the viewer that the film transcends to an unflinching unraveling of a sequence of events that lead into the salvation of the audience from boredom as the credits roll in.
  23. Aug 26, 2013
    6
    The film starts off very stylish, looking every bit the classic cop movies of the 70’s and 80’s. Sadly it does not keep this early promise and soon slips into the usual cliché‘s that have haunted many more recent cop films. I found it very hard to connect with any of the characters, although all the performances were very good. I did particularly like Werner Herzog as The Zec, aThe film starts off very stylish, looking every bit the classic cop movies of the 70’s and 80’s. Sadly it does not keep this early promise and soon slips into the usual cliché‘s that have haunted many more recent cop films. I found it very hard to connect with any of the characters, although all the performances were very good. I did particularly like Werner Herzog as The Zec, a particularly shady character; other than that it was pretty mundane. I found it a bit bloated and over-long although it did pick up towards the end.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED (Just)

    My score: 5.8/10.
    Expand
  24. Oct 2, 2013
    4
    Well its not as bad as some of the other movies I've seen recently but it is kinda boring, was expecting more action but it is watchable if you don't have anything else to do.
  25. Oct 9, 2013
    4
    Thought this was going to be an old-style hero kicks-ass and blows everything up doing it, but instead it's a murder mystery with Tom Cruise out of his element in this type of mixed role. Seriously, much of this film could've played out on an episode of Dateline: NBC which specializes in murder mysteries. I wouldn't say it's a waste of time but keep your expectations decidedly low.
  26. Jan 9, 2014
    5
    Jack Reacher isn't good as a story, and it doesn't come together as a movie in the end. It feels like a generic action movie, but it is fairly diverting.
  27. Mar 27, 2014
    6
    Jack reacher starts with a shooting where a man kills 5 people from a parking lot, and the film follows a drifter vigilante type played by Tom cruise. The film has been unfairly judged by critics on the whole, it features some good action scenes and some interesting plot twists. I would say the film fails in certain aspects though, without spoiling anything there's a good 2-3 scenes whereJack reacher starts with a shooting where a man kills 5 people from a parking lot, and the film follows a drifter vigilante type played by Tom cruise. The film has been unfairly judged by critics on the whole, it features some good action scenes and some interesting plot twists. I would say the film fails in certain aspects though, without spoiling anything there's a good 2-3 scenes where there is no way the protagonist would of survived and the director fills in some of these 'plot holes' with comedy and in my opinion it sort of discredits the believability of the film, which most detective movies pride themselves on. However, there's more than enough to keep most entertained and is definately worth watching imo. Expand
  28. Dec 13, 2014
    5
    Don't expect Bond or Bourne, just accept Jack Reacher for who he is, a fraud. However, he is an interesting fraud who conducts a decent film. Weak characters and action film clichés won't get you off your seat. Neither will the lack of any original elements. The solid story and tense situations do hit the spot though, as does the film, to an extent.
  29. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    "Jack Reacher" 10 Scale Rating: 6.5 (Decent) ...

    The Good: Cruise actually shows some acting skill in this one, though it does help that he is playing a very well written character. Reacher is interesting and makes me want to read the book series. The story starts off with a lot of intrigue and with such a great set up, you remain very interested in what is going on. Rosamund Pike,
    "Jack Reacher" 10 Scale Rating: 6.5 (Decent) ...

    The Good: Cruise actually shows some acting skill in this one, though it does help that he is playing a very well written character. Reacher is interesting and makes me want to read the book series. The story starts off with a lot of intrigue and with such a great set up, you remain very interested in what is going on. Rosamund Pike, Richard Jenkins, and David Oyelowo round out a good supporting cast ... especially Jenkins and Oyelowo who always seem to be the highlight of whatever they are appearing in.

    The Bad: Cruise was an odd choice. While he shows flashes of real acting skill, a lot of the times you can't help but feel like you've seen this movie before. Far too often, Cruise is the same guy he is in any other action/thriller that he has been in. Robert Duvall was pointless and his character rubbed me the wrong way. He was very cliche and I could have done without him. The story itself unravels somewhat near the end.
    Expand
  30. Feb 23, 2015
    6
    The scene to look for is when a group of people protect a criminal...reminds me of how people feel about tom cruise in life......Why not.....the scene to ignore is the slow beginning and the gauntlet style ending which to be honest are a perfect 10 in the world of seeing things once. In that same world driving backwards is awesome.....-JRA
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jan 19, 2013
    70
    A trim thriller with an enviable lack of grandeur. [21 Jan. 2013, p.79]
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Dinning
    Dec 31, 2012
    80
    Christopher McQuarrie and Tom Cruise deliver on their promise, with a witty, violent take on Reacher that makes up for its lack of height with an abundance of smarts and thrills.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 23, 2012
    50
    Despite a terrific cast, Jack Reacher comes up empty-handed.