Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2012
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 409 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
229
Mixed:
120
Negative:
60
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
MarcDoyleDec 24, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I haven't laughed so hard in an action flick in a long while. My midnight show crowd was fairly raucous with the laughs, and there were plenty of oohs/aahs during the driving/fighting sequences, so I'm guessing this is more of a target demo film than one for the critics, who seem pretty evenly divided. It has a hard-edged pulpy feel to it - and it keeps you thinking throughout. The opening sequence is particularly brutal - it's understandable why the studio cancelled the premiere in light of the recent school shootings. Tom Cruise does an effective job in the lead (I have no frame of reference with the source material, incidentally, so the complaints over his casting are lost on me). Rosamund Pike is excellent - she needs to be in more films that require some range instead of doing the next Wrath of the Titans sequel. And Robert Duvall - it's great to see him make an appearance, even in a small role. The end left me with slightly mixed feelings, but on the whole, I enjoyed the thrill ride. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"Jack Reacher is a smart, action packed and intelligent thriller that is a truly entertaining film to watch from start to finish. Tom Cruise is suburb in the titular role. Begging the question if Jack Reacher is one of the best action movies"Jack Reacher is a smart, action packed and intelligent thriller that is a truly entertaining film to watch from start to finish. Tom Cruise is suburb in the titular role. Begging the question if Jack Reacher is one of the best action movies of 2012 A- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
nutterjrAug 9, 2013
Not entirely sure that it was a great idea for the lead macho man to be so unemotional and so distant from the viewer that the film transcends to an unflinching unraveling of a sequence of events that lead into the salvation of the audienceNot entirely sure that it was a great idea for the lead macho man to be so unemotional and so distant from the viewer that the film transcends to an unflinching unraveling of a sequence of events that lead into the salvation of the audience from boredom as the credits roll in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Andys_ReviewsAug 26, 2013
The film starts off very stylish, looking every bit the classic cop movies of the 70’s and 80’s. Sadly it does not keep this early promise and soon slips into the usual cliché‘s that have haunted many more recent cop films. I found it veryThe film starts off very stylish, looking every bit the classic cop movies of the 70’s and 80’s. Sadly it does not keep this early promise and soon slips into the usual cliché‘s that have haunted many more recent cop films. I found it very hard to connect with any of the characters, although all the performances were very good. I did particularly like Werner Herzog as The Zec, a particularly shady character; other than that it was pretty mundane. I found it a bit bloated and over-long although it did pick up towards the end.

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED (Just)

My score: 5.8/10.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
santiagodracoDec 21, 2012
Jack Reacher is a pop-corn thriller, nothing more nothing less nor does it propose to be other than what it is. You don't go to see this movie anticipating another Mission Impossible sized blockbuster. This is what the critics don't seem toJack Reacher is a pop-corn thriller, nothing more nothing less nor does it propose to be other than what it is. You don't go to see this movie anticipating another Mission Impossible sized blockbuster. This is what the critics don't seem to understand.

How does it deliver on it's promise to entertain? Very well. JR is a brisk entertaining adventure with a stoic and smartly played lead by Tom Cruse. He delivers what he promised, kick butt fun.

In my opinion the writing is smart. The bad guys have good dialog (while we are left feeling somewhat unsatisfied on the back-story, but this is the fault of the writers not the movie) but still feel the villians are to be feared, both for their ferocity and intelligence.

Jack Reacher is pure fun pop-corn entertainment and is highly recommended as such.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
0
DrTonyApr 28, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After the first five minutes, this starts to feel like a bad comic book flic. You'd think with millions dollars budget they could've made something reasonably believable with a coherent plot. As it is, the movie is just idiotic, unrealistic, and badly played. The characters are ridiculous from the "good lawyer" to the oddity of the Russian ex-con villain. No character development whatsoever. Crazy predispositions all throughout. And the whole thing ends with the "bad guys" getting together waiting for Tom Cruze to come and get them, pretty much one by one. Yeah, sure... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
BikerjamesDec 24, 2012
I'm a fan of Tom Cruise the actor, but he doesn't cover any new ground in this over the top, ludicrous film. Your eyes will be rolling throughout. It isn't a horrible film, and it is mostly watchable and entertaining, but you really have toI'm a fan of Tom Cruise the actor, but he doesn't cover any new ground in this over the top, ludicrous film. Your eyes will be rolling throughout. It isn't a horrible film, and it is mostly watchable and entertaining, but you really have to ignore all the implausibilities and go with it. This was my first exposure to the lead actress Rosamund Pike and I wasn't impressed. Her acting was unrealistic and unemotional throughout. I don't know if the director was responsible or if it was her decision but she didn't behave like a normal person, particularly in the hostage scene. The Robert Duvall character was really ridiculous. You really felt like you were watching a poor version of Dirty Harry. I can't quite recommend it, but I've seen so many movies like this throughout my life I've become jaded by them. A younger person might like it more. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
agagilApr 19, 2013
Just stopped watching after twenty minutes. Nothing seemed even remotely believable and the lawyer and Reacher characters dialogues were outright ridiculous.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
gregor-eDec 26, 2012
Huge casting blunder to expect Tom Cruise to play Jack Reacher. He doesn't even begin to portray the brooding, damaged, taut-steel machismo of the the character. Instead we wind up with a middle-aged Top Gun playing tough guy. It falls soHuge casting blunder to expect Tom Cruise to play Jack Reacher. He doesn't even begin to portray the brooding, damaged, taut-steel machismo of the the character. Instead we wind up with a middle-aged Top Gun playing tough guy. It falls so short of the character presented in Lee Child's fiction that I found it difficult to get into the movie, constantly finding myself thinking "no way Jack Reacher would come across like that". I guess that's the curse of having heard Dick Hill narrating the audiobook to compare against. Aside from that, the movie is good for whiling away a couple of hours. It grabs your attention and keeps it. I hope we see more of Lee Child's books on the screen. Preferably with a different lead. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
1
randomstupidApr 20, 2014
We only got through 20 minutes of this movie because of how poor it came across.. direction, screenplay, acting all left a lot to be desired. Have never read or heard much about the books so just going from the movie on its own - very poor.We only got through 20 minutes of this movie because of how poor it came across.. direction, screenplay, acting all left a lot to be desired. Have never read or heard much about the books so just going from the movie on its own - very poor. Urgh piano music - oh im meant to feel emotive now because some stupid piano is playing. Not very deep or thought provoking but we only saw 20minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TomHugDec 31, 2012
OK so Tom Cruise isn't 6'5". He is Reacher. I went into this with very low expectations due to the middling reviews this movie has been getting.

This movie characterizes Reacher very closely to the book, and it's well done. The plot
OK so Tom Cruise isn't 6'5". He is Reacher. I went into this with very low expectations due to the middling reviews this movie has been getting.

This movie characterizes Reacher very closely to the book, and it's well done. The plot follows the book, pretty much, to the best of my recollections.

If you expect to walk in and find "Ethan Hunt" as Reacher, you'll be disappointed. If you read the Reacher on Lee Child's pages, who is a bit grim and one-dimensional (except for that enigmatic deep well that motivates him), then I find that this movie succeeds on all levels.

Oh and Werner Herzog is deliciously slimy as a villain. Bonus.

Rosamund Pike is the hot damsel in distress. Another bonus.

See this movie!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
BartDec 22, 2012
What a joke. Did the people who made this movie even look at the books, let alone read them! A violent mish mash of badly passed scenes full of cliches. Tom Cruise id a midget compared to what the character is supposed to be. Not toWhat a joke. Did the people who made this movie even look at the books, let alone read them! A violent mish mash of badly passed scenes full of cliches. Tom Cruise id a midget compared to what the character is supposed to be. Not to mention WAY to much plastic surgery and botox. Relay violent, and cliched, with no satisfaction to be had. Save yourself the money, and if you must see this, wait for it on cable, which may show up as early as next week considering how terrible it is. Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuJan 9, 2017
Jack Reacher was a fun little popcorn action flick. The downsides to it were an inconsistent tone and ill-defined villains. But otherwise, the film was fun and suitably badass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
David_HDec 21, 2012
Please don't waste your money on a ticket to Jack Reacher. I think some of these movie studios could save a lot of trouble, if every year they would just release a movie entitled "Generic Tom Cruise Action Movie". This has to go down as onePlease don't waste your money on a ticket to Jack Reacher. I think some of these movie studios could save a lot of trouble, if every year they would just release a movie entitled "Generic Tom Cruise Action Movie". This has to go down as one of the worst casting errors in film history. The premise is just so silly; Tom Cruise is what about 5' 7"... my grandmother could kick his butt. I don't know if I'm more disappointed with Cruise, the film studio, or Lee Child, the author of the Jack Reacher novels. I guess the only people that might find this movie tolerable are people that don't read books. Lee Child's series of books featuring this character are not exactly Melville, but they are entertaining and one thing you don't forget is his character development. If you know the stories, then you know this is a little bit like casting Cruise to play the life story of Hulk Hogan. You don't have to take my work for it; look up a facebook page called "Tom Cruise is not Jack Reacher". Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
10
BenardenDec 27, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Decided to see " Jack Reacher", having read all ( seventeen? ) of Lee Childs " Jack Reacher" books. What a great movie!
Tense & gritty & taught & " Noirish" & fast paced.

Tom Cruise channels the " Jack Reacher" essence, as written by Lee Child, distilling the detection, the intellect, the minutae of " what doesn't fit in an air tight case." Cruise also portrays a guy tough enough to be gentle. Reacher: Does Sandy work here?
Store clerk: What are you, a cop? I'm going to need to see some ID.
Reacher: Go get Sandy.
Store Clerk: Well I need to see something.
Reacher: How about the inside of an ambulance?

Great pacing, editing and camera work, in dark, gritty locations.
Moves with the momentum of Indiana Jones.
Werner Herzog and Robert Duval deliver great performances, In short, The film delivers the goods. You will be pleasantly surprised.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
jessof89Dec 21, 2012
Tom cruise is like marmite you either love him or hate him, usually i tend to go for the latter. However i found this film to be very true to the book which i respect, it had action, suspense and a bit of romance between the two main leadsTom cruise is like marmite you either love him or hate him, usually i tend to go for the latter. However i found this film to be very true to the book which i respect, it had action, suspense and a bit of romance between the two main leads "Cruise, Rosamund pike". If you're looking for a thrill ride then i recommend you go and see this despite what the critics say this is definitely a crowd pleaser. Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
0
dogboyAug 30, 2013
Worst casting of any movie ever. Lee Child is an absolute douche for allowing Tom Cruise to play the protagonist from his books. Could have made an excellent bunch of movies on his books but casting Cruise in this first movie has killed anyWorst casting of any movie ever. Lee Child is an absolute douche for allowing Tom Cruise to play the protagonist from his books. Could have made an excellent bunch of movies on his books but casting Cruise in this first movie has killed any chance of that happening. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
drlowdonNov 3, 2016
Jack Reacher is a by the book action thriller that, despite wanting to think its really cool, doesn't do anything that hasn't been seen hundreds of times before in movies like The Bourne Identity. It still makes for relatively entertainingJack Reacher is a by the book action thriller that, despite wanting to think its really cool, doesn't do anything that hasn't been seen hundreds of times before in movies like The Bourne Identity. It still makes for relatively entertaining couple of hours but it's not a movie you'll really remember. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DiosysJan 22, 2013
You may be mystified by the unknown character of Jack Reacher, but this film is completely and utterly unbelievable. Its hard to even suspend our reality to get into the movie because the immersion sucks as we are forced to call this movie onYou may be mystified by the unknown character of Jack Reacher, but this film is completely and utterly unbelievable. Its hard to even suspend our reality to get into the movie because the immersion sucks as we are forced to call this movie on all the holes it has. I could name three or four instances of storyline that does not make sense. Terrible movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
cmktivDec 23, 2012
The movie started off kind of ambiguous, but as soon as Tom Cruise's character dialogue started, I knew it was going to be bad, and it was.

Jack Reacher is this thin, but unflinchingly arrogant (rightly so) all around badass. Close to
The movie started off kind of ambiguous, but as soon as Tom Cruise's character dialogue started, I knew it was going to be bad, and it was.

Jack Reacher is this thin, but unflinchingly arrogant (rightly so) all around badass. Close to super hero status. Everyone else in the movie has a hard time keeping their wits, but Jack Reacher shows everyone their ignorance, and gets **** done.

Jack Reacher has one mood/tone/persona, and it never changes. The movie presents about every five minutes that it has blown your mind, but it is completely underwhelming, predictable, and cheesy.

The two points I did give the movie were because of Rosamund Pike, who I
Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellDec 23, 2012
"Jack Reacher" is awesome, much better than the overrated "Looper" that came out earlier this year. This action movie might not pile up a ton of action, but the action it does have is believable and exciting. Tom Cruise does yet another"Jack Reacher" is awesome, much better than the overrated "Looper" that came out earlier this year. This action movie might not pile up a ton of action, but the action it does have is believable and exciting. Tom Cruise does yet another excellent performance. Its not the most thought-provoking mystery movie i've seen, but it is epic. Expand
8 of 18 users found this helpful810
All this user's reviews
7
dharmaApr 9, 2013
As he gets older, Cruise attempts to broaden his movie 'franchises' that is more age appropriate so to speak. Hence, Jack Reacher, a more cerebral, procedural 'action' franchise. People expecting the next Mission Impossible will beAs he gets older, Cruise attempts to broaden his movie 'franchises' that is more age appropriate so to speak. Hence, Jack Reacher, a more cerebral, procedural 'action' franchise. People expecting the next Mission Impossible will be disappointed. Reacher is an action man all right, as written by author Lee Child, but essentially he is an ex cop. So there's mystery, investgations and conspiracies galore. Cruise may be shorter than how the character was written in the novels, but he is always a good actor, and this is a role that somewhat suits him. Not bad and worth a look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StevenFJan 23, 2013
There is a very quiet opening sequence that sets up the pace for this movie, its fast, smart, and enjoyable from start to a predictable yet entertaining finish.
Jack Reacher is brought to the big screen in a small way, in the form of Tom
There is a very quiet opening sequence that sets up the pace for this movie, its fast, smart, and enjoyable from start to a predictable yet entertaining finish.
Jack Reacher is brought to the big screen in a small way, in the form of Tom Cruise, who doesn't exactly fit the description of the monstrous Reacher of the comics, but he certainly brings his own attitude and his own cards to the table to leave behind a very convincing role as the mysterious investigator.
Jack reacher didnt fall into the action hero book to film trap of an all out explosion frenzied movie, it tries to to form a story as its backbone which turn introduces an array of characters, all with a relevant connection to the sniper events at the start of the film.
The cinematography in Reacher is excellent, it really was surprising to see so much focus on individual shots for a so-called popcorn movie. From the landscaping shots of the sniper scenes to the close cam car chases, it feels more intense, especially since the particular chase scene had no score or background music at all, and it simply worked.
Cruise does bring difference to a role that many would have seen as another Ethan Hawke, but Cruise manages to draw the line in his movies where he knows what the difference needs to be, Cruise's Reacher is calm, he's isolated, motivated, but more importantly, not afraid to seek justice by any means necessary, and this was portrayed on screen.
Rosamund Pike makes a starring role as counsellor Heen Rodin, and daughter to District Attorney Alex Rodin (Richard Jenkins), there is also a minor appearance from Robert Duvall.
While the turn of events and climax of the film are predictable, it still has a smart finish with guns glitz an glamour.
The films dialogue was very good indeed and the humorous moments in the film did show that care needed to be taken not to take the film too seriously. The close combat at work here is excellent, bizarre and sometimes horrific (using one mans head to knockout another man, while they are both lying on the floor) but again it fits well with mystery and intrigue surrounding Jack Reacher.
Fun, sophisticated, well scripted, and a convincing story, the Jack Reacher film is worth the trip.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
MeltedFab5Dec 24, 2012
For putting this character up on screen for the first time I thought they pulled this off well. Few missteps but an overall well made movie that does the character justice while satisfying where it should. Good time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
quincytheodoreMar 16, 2015
Donning another persona of a vigilante CSI, Jack Reacher, Tom Cruise
makes a performance that is bordering on overly fictional, but at the
same time charismatically intriguing. Jack Reacher is an action thriller, mixing crime
Donning another persona of a vigilante CSI, Jack Reacher, Tom Cruise
makes a performance that is bordering on overly fictional, but at the
same time charismatically intriguing. Jack Reacher is an action
thriller, mixing crime investigation, punch exchanges and some suave
driving sequences. In heart, it's heavily focused on a particular case,
especially at the first half, people expecting Mission Impossible might
not appreciate the intricacy. Action is quite good, more of a realistic
scuffle than immense CG scenes, its crude feel has a unique appeal.

The story begins with a retired lone sniper, James Barr, who is
allegedly fired on five random persons on broad daylight. When he's
captured he asks for Jack Reacher, a former Army Military Police Major
who once caught him in his previous spree. Jack is originally unwilling
to delve into the case, but ultimately sticks around for the truth, or
the dame. Tom Cruise is a good fit for the character, he has a calm and
confident air about him, despite probably not as big as Jack Reacher
should be. In some scenes he appears as an imposing figure without
relying on his size, a somewhat serendipitous result of the casting.

Helen Rodin (Rosamund Pike) plays the damsel, barely sketching on the
clichéd role but just not quiet. She's a self-proclaimed pacifist and a
lawyer in defense of James Barr. Her role is adequately strong,
although somewhat too over the top when she's surprised, and she
practically is, most of the time. Warner Herzog (Zec) is grizzly
daunting, he really sold the character from a dark place who has
sacrifice more things that people are willing to save his life. Robert
Duvall as Cash appears somewhat late in the movie, but he steals the
attention with a brassy witty senior role, it's a shame he didn't get
more screen time as the interactions between him and Tom are
entertaining.

Dialogue is cleverly made and delivered, plenty of details but not
veering off from mainstream audience. The action has some good moments,
more importantly they are well structured to give increased tension as
the story progresses. One particular scene from the driving is
unpredictably original, although honestly could be too comedic. Camera
angles that accompanied the action are accommodatingly focused, often
providing clear perspectives so audience can appreciate the action even
in faster pace.

Slick performances, good amount of humor and smart plot make Jack
Reacher a refreshing crime cinema.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bruce722May 11, 2013
Jack Reacher was a surprisingly fantastic film. I went in thinking, thanks to some slightly misleading trailers, that this was going to be a high octane action movie with a bunch of gun fights, car chases, and explosions but littleJack Reacher was a surprisingly fantastic film. I went in thinking, thanks to some slightly misleading trailers, that this was going to be a high octane action movie with a bunch of gun fights, car chases, and explosions but little development and quality. I was completely wrong. While there were a few gun fights, one car chase, and an explosion of sorts, it was done in a completely different manner and was more of an action thriller. Tom Cruise did a great job in his typical role. The rest of the supporting cast was solid enough and the cameo by Robert Duvall was awesome. The plot developed really well and made it more of a "thinking movie" than I anticipated. That being said, the turns in the plot kept the film from becoming stagnant or boring and the action sequences felt real and authentic. I wasn't a huge fan of some of the cinematic elements and there were some flaws in one of the plot twists but nothing that really hurt the movie-watching experience. All-in-all, I'd say this was a great movie that most people would very much enjoy watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Nov 2, 2013
Jack Reacher was nothing like I expected it to be. The previews made this film look like a comedy, featuring some bad ass cop that doesn't play by the rules. The film itself couldn't be more different from how it was packaged and I thinkJack Reacher was nothing like I expected it to be. The previews made this film look like a comedy, featuring some bad ass cop that doesn't play by the rules. The film itself couldn't be more different from how it was packaged and I think that's why it didn't do as well as it could have at the box office. The character, Jack Reacher, comes from a series of novels and the film is taken directly from one of the books. Strangely enough, they didn't choose the first book written to introduce us to the character, but one written much later. Reacher has spent his whole life in the military and retired as a military police detective. He had enough of not really helping those who deserved help and went off the grid. Now, Reacher only shows up when someone is in need of his help and in this film, that person is a former suspect of his. Reacher knows the man is guilty, but doesn't think he'd do this horrible crime on his own and he goes to investigate. The film was fast-paced and had an interesting story to tell, but they don't let us figure anything out! Jack Reacher has all the answers and tells us everything we need to know and how he figured it out way before we did. I get it, he's some kind of police savant, but it really is frustrating. I love a good mystery and the allure is in figuring it out on my own, but this film never gave me the chance. Tom Cruise stars and fans of the book series were mortified by the choice of producers to have him star as Reacher. I don't care much for Cruise either, but the fans protest had to do with the book describing him as a 6'7 powerhouse. Well who would they rather have had play Jack Reacher, The Rock? This was a major, high budget film, and it needed a big name. Cruise actually does a decent job and was very believable, as was the story, but the one major drawback for me was just how little was left to the imagination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
KamiduttenApr 19, 2013
A movie that failed to make me care about the story at all, characters were empty and uninteresting and even thou this movie had a few scenes that were pretty well done i still found myself looking at my watch time and time again hoping thisA movie that failed to make me care about the story at all, characters were empty and uninteresting and even thou this movie had a few scenes that were pretty well done i still found myself looking at my watch time and time again hoping this would eighter pick up or just end. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
3
SupR_GDec 21, 2012
Not sure why this was rated over 60% on Rotten Tomatoes. This movie is terribly paced, the story is ridiculous and frankly the whole blonde damsel in distress scene was over the top. Some scenes just drag on too long and others feel like theyNot sure why this was rated over 60% on Rotten Tomatoes. This movie is terribly paced, the story is ridiculous and frankly the whole blonde damsel in distress scene was over the top. Some scenes just drag on too long and others feel like they should have been cut out all together. This is one of those movies you watch when it's free on TV and you have nothing else to do. Expand
10 of 18 users found this helpful108
All this user's reviews
4
EludiumQ36Oct 9, 2013
Thought this was going to be an old-style hero kicks-ass and blows everything up doing it, but instead it's a murder mystery with Tom Cruise out of his element in this type of mixed role. Seriously, much of this film could've played out on anThought this was going to be an old-style hero kicks-ass and blows everything up doing it, but instead it's a murder mystery with Tom Cruise out of his element in this type of mixed role. Seriously, much of this film could've played out on an episode of Dateline: NBC which specializes in murder mysteries. I wouldn't say it's a waste of time but keep your expectations decidedly low. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews