Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Jack Ryan appears to be just another New York executive to his friends and loved ones, but his enlistment into the CIA secretly goes back years. He was brought in as a brainy Ph.D. who crunches global data – but when Ryan ferrets out a meticulously planned scheme to collapse the U.S. economy and spark global chaos, he becomes the only man with the skills to stop it. Now, he’s gone fully operational, thrust into a world of mounting suspicion, deception and deadly force. Caught between his tight-lipped handler Harper, his in-the-dark fiancée Cathy and a brilliant Russian oligarch, Jack must confront a new reality where no one can seem to be trusted, yet the fate of millions rests on his finding the truth. With the urgency of a lit fuse, he’s in a race to stay one step ahead of everyone around him. [Paramount Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    Jan 16, 2014
    83
    Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit though, gets the international-espionage ingredients almost exactly right.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jan 16, 2014
    75
    Even with its thrifty set pieces and smaller ambitions, this attempt to reboot the series based on Tom Clancy characters does the most important thing right: It almost always feels like a Jack Ryan movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jan 16, 2014
    70
    A reboot of an A-level spy series seems too pretty-good to be true. Shadow Recruit occupies this weekend’s movie screens as familiarly and reassuringly as a Walther PPK fits in the hand of James Bond.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jan 15, 2014
    63
    The film is slow in getting started and once it's underway it's only intermittently involving. It's also occasionally far-fetched.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 16, 2014
    60
    Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit is a well-made movie, well-acted (Costner and Branagh seem to be having an especially good time) and a pleasant diversion. They’ll probably make several more. But it doesn’t exactly put the “thrill” in action thriller.
  6. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jan 16, 2014
    50
    There is no shaking the feeling that Branagh and his cast are a kind of an espionage film B team, capable of mild diversion but nothing more.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 22, 2014
    20
    Branagh might as well have opened a can and dumped it on a plate, the ridges of a factory-line production still perfectly hatched on a gelatinous cylinder of crud.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 63
  2. Negative: 8 out of 63
  1. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    Well made, excitingly paced action, spy pic. All of the lead actors were exactly what was needed: Chris Pine, soft on the eyes, action hero, an average Joe in for more than he bargained for, but a soldier first and foremost; Keira Knightley, the pretty innocent who tags along, and then is up to the tasks at hand; Kevin Costner, the old mentor and Kenneth Branagh, who gets special mention for playing a Russian flawlessly. The plot was not complicated, easy to understand, but exciting even with its simplicity. And the plot was thoughtful in our contemporary times: full of technology and ideas of economic terrorism. The films was pleasant in its setting: lavish apartments and office buildings, high tech screens, exteriors in Moscow. Collapse
  2. Jun 12, 2014
    8
    Seeing the commercial is what really got me to see this movie. While watching I thought that the fighting, action, suspense, was all on point. But when trying to think about the story it just didn't make a lot of sense. Like I couldn't think of what the movie was trying to portray. Up until I got out of the movie theater it started to make sense......But that was after looking at my phone to check on a website what it was about and then I was able to process how it made sense. Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2014
    7
    It certainly wasn't The Hunt for Red October but this was a fairly action packed and enjoyable popcorn movie. Don't expect Oscar performances but not bad overall. Expand
  4. May 16, 2014
    6
    Honestly, the film feels too short and a bit underwhelming. Personally, I'll welcome any revival/reboot of a long dormant series. But Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit brings nothing new to the table that we haven't seen before, in terms of action and plot. It's a nice hour and 45 minute diversion and somewhat involving, but it takes a while for the supense to pay off. The film's finale is somewhat worth the wait, but still could've been better. The film is just too slow, even for me, and the action and plot isn't unique enough to distinguish itself from many other films out there. Cast and acting was fine. I have no complaints with the acting, because the actors did the best they could with what they were given. However, some events are a bit unbelievable: like Jack being able to take down his much larger and likely sronger assassin disguised as his bodyguard, Jack being the only one capable to save the day, and Jack being able to do all he does in the film even though only becoming "operational" a few hours before. Guess he's just lucky. If this film didn't have the Jack Ryan title, it might've been more heavily criticized.

    For longtime Jack Ryan fans, this must make you happy. The film updates the "Cold-War hero" with a story of economic terrorism and geo-politics. It is nice: just not two original or "new". I do hope there will be sequels though, because why not? Also, may Jack Ryan's creator, Tom Clancy, rest in peace

    If you liked this review, please read my other ones on a wide variety of movies and TV shows. I work hard on them, and to me it's more fun than a hobby. :-)
    Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2014
    5
    Jack Ryan starts off quite action packed, but quickly slows down as the story unfolds. Which in this case is not the greatest story ever told, yet another cold war type thriller set in modern times.

    The film is quite fast paced once it gets going and will keep you interest for a little while. But I doubt you will be to bothered if you get interrupted whilst watching.

    Sadly the main character is slightly disjointed for me (no pun intended!), going from a standard GI to special agent/tax man with barely any skills overnight. Getting himself into trouble around every corner, he goes from bland tax man to super hero in a matter of days.

    There are much better films of this genre out there, stick to them and leave this one in the shadows.
    Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2014
    5
    Jack Ryan Shadow recruit has its moments but by the end you just want to leave the movie. Writing was descent and directing was good but the story line was a little dull Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    This movie did nothing for **** **** **** assgngjgjfjsjskoeorofkfkfkfkkffkfkfkgiyiyughthfndmcmckcpfodlddkdkdjrjfjfjfjfjfjfjdnxnssnnddnxjdjfjdjdjdjdjdjfjf Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.