Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Jack Ryan appears to be just another New York executive to his friends and loved ones, but his enlistment into the CIA secretly goes back years. He was brought in as a brainy Ph.D. who crunches global data – but when Ryan ferrets out a meticulously planned scheme to collapse the U.S. economy and spark global chaos, he becomes the only man with the skills to stop it. Now, he’s gone fully operational, thrust into a world of mounting suspicion, deception and deadly force. Caught between his tight-lipped handler Harper, his in-the-dark fiancée Cathy and a brilliant Russian oligarch, Jack must confront a new reality where no one can seem to be trusted, yet the fate of millions rests on his finding the truth. With the urgency of a lit fuse, he’s in a race to stay one step ahead of everyone around him. [Paramount Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    Jan 16, 2014
    83
    Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit though, gets the international-espionage ingredients almost exactly right.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jan 16, 2014
    75
    Even with its thrifty set pieces and smaller ambitions, this attempt to reboot the series based on Tom Clancy characters does the most important thing right: It almost always feels like a Jack Ryan movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jan 16, 2014
    70
    A reboot of an A-level spy series seems too pretty-good to be true. Shadow Recruit occupies this weekend’s movie screens as familiarly and reassuringly as a Walther PPK fits in the hand of James Bond.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jan 15, 2014
    63
    The film is slow in getting started and once it's underway it's only intermittently involving. It's also occasionally far-fetched.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 16, 2014
    60
    Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit is a well-made movie, well-acted (Costner and Branagh seem to be having an especially good time) and a pleasant diversion. They’ll probably make several more. But it doesn’t exactly put the “thrill” in action thriller.
  6. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jan 16, 2014
    50
    There is no shaking the feeling that Branagh and his cast are a kind of an espionage film B team, capable of mild diversion but nothing more.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 22, 2014
    20
    Branagh might as well have opened a can and dumped it on a plate, the ridges of a factory-line production still perfectly hatched on a gelatinous cylinder of crud.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55
  1. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    Well made, excitingly paced action, spy pic. All of the lead actors were exactly what was needed: Chris Pine, soft on the eyes, action hero, an average Joe in for more than he bargained for, but a soldier first and foremost; Keira Knightley, the pretty innocent who tags along, and then is up to the tasks at hand; Kevin Costner, the old mentor and Kenneth Branagh, who gets special mention for playing a Russian flawlessly. The plot was not complicated, easy to understand, but exciting even with its simplicity. And the plot was thoughtful in our contemporary times: full of technology and ideas of economic terrorism. The films was pleasant in its setting: lavish apartments and office buildings, high tech screens, exteriors in Moscow. Collapse
  2. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Even though it's not saying much, It's the best film of January 2014.
    Cons-Nothing new, Not so good pacing except when it comes to action,
    some acting is not good, The cinematography is not first rate in place Pros- Most of the acting is believable, Great action scenes, pretty much everything else Recommendation-everyone Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2014
    7
    It certainly wasn't The Hunt for Red October but this was a fairly action packed and enjoyable popcorn movie. Don't expect Oscar performances but not bad overall. Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2014
    6
    "You Americans like to think of yourselves as direct. Perhaps you are just rude."

    "You Russians like to think you're poets but perhaps
    you're just touchy."

    Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit was actually a pretty decent movie and certainly not the worst action movie to come out this year that for sure goes to I, Frankenstein. I really don't understand all the hate for this film i guess maybe since its a Jack Ryan movie people expected more from it but lets be honest here its not like the previous Jack Ryan film (The Sum of All Fears) was all that great either and this one is for sure better than that one. I for one like Chris Pine and thought he did a solid performance in this but i felt that the lacking script held back his performance also once i seen Keira Knightley i thought she was just going to be annoying but surprisingly she wasn't. Kenneth Branagh is known for acting in his own movies and again he does it in this as the villain but sadly he just wasn't that great and the way that he dies was seriously lame.

    The movie follows Jack Ryan(Chris Pine) and after the events of 9/11 he enlist into the US Marine corps and is soon fighting in Afghanistan where he is critically injured when his helicopter is shot down by a RPG missle. During rehab Jack grows a relationship with a medical student Cathy Muller(Keira Knightley) and also catches the attention of Thomas Harper(Kevin Costner) a CIA official. Not long after completing rehab Jack is approached by Harper to join the CIA. Now the film picks up ten years later Jack and Cathy are in a serious relationship together and he is working undercover at a Wall Street stock brokerage as a compliance officer. His task is looking for suspicious financial transactions that would indicate terrorist activity. At a United Nations hearing the Russian Federation loses the vote of the Unites States for keeping it the leader in oil exportation in that area which if not would cause the collapse of the Russian economic system.

    After noticing things are not right with the market Jack comes across some secret hidden accounts once loaded with trillions of dollars owned by Russian organizations and mostly controlled by Viktor Cherevin(Kenneth Branagh), Jack gets the approval of his boss and heads to Moscow to investigate. Now we have our spy movie and honestly i think the movie would have been better if it had a bit more action in it i mean it started out good but then it slows down for about 45 minutes which in a movie of this genre you just cant have that. Although once the operation starts it doesn't let up with plenty of great action scenes, my favorite being when jack picks up a piece of metal and jumps on a moving cars hood then bashes the driver window opening knocking the driver out, sure it may be unrealistic but that doesn't mean it wasn't cool.

    Overall i give it a 6.5 Seeing that this movie was made for only 60 million and its made 135 million total i wouldn't call this movie a box office bomb like some do sure the opening weekend was bad but basically any movie that gets released in January bombs. Also Kevin Costner was way better in this than he was in 3 Days to Kill.
    Expand
  5. May 24, 2014
    5
    Technically plausible is this movie. Outside of that I kept seeing Captain Kirk as Jack Ryan. His acting was good just couldn't get past that point. Out of everything this movie was, I found surprisingly a rekindled respect for Kevin Costner which had me quite perplexed...and lead me to now watch 3 Days to Kill, so we'll see...but hey, it's leading me to rent his movie so gotta give up respect for Costner. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2014
    4
    Slow. The movie start out with a small amount of action Jack is working for the CIA under cover as an Accountant for a large company. The first 45 minutes are slow. NO action. Slow. Get the point? It's an action spy movie that's slow. Same old basic spy plot to Crash the financial system. Sound close to reality? Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    This movie did nothing for **** **** **** assgngjgjfjsjskoeorofkfkfkfkkffkfkfkgiyiyughthfndmcmckcpfodlddkdkdjrjfjfjfjfjfjfjdnxnssnnddnxjdjfjdjdjdjdjdjfjf Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.