Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 1, 2013
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 203 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
95
Mixed:
82
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
CineAutoctonoJan 31, 2017
"Jack the Giant Slayer" was a simple film, in short, the special effects, and the stage of the story were excellent, but the performances, and the story in general, were unacceptable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeMay 11, 2016
Meh, this Giant Slayer doesn't go around slaying every giant he sees. He just wants to fall asleep... that's all and because so, every single bit of this movie is prepared to enter trouble duty.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
43in2014Aug 1, 2015
Before watching this film: I have read the children story and seen some cartoons.

Premise: Jack was unwillingly traded some magic beans that grew during a storm and carried his house and a princess up into the clouds, of which Jack has to
Before watching this film: I have read the children story and seen some cartoons.

Premise: Jack was unwillingly traded some magic beans that grew during a storm and carried his house and a princess up into the clouds, of which Jack has to go up with some of the king's men to rescue.

Pros:
1) The writers had modified some of the details of the story of Jack and the Beanstalk to make this film. I think that this is necessary, as otherwise it would have been just any other children story and would have failed at the box office. Nonetheless, the film still failed at the box office. Note that Jack the Giant Slayer is somewhat different from the Jack and the Beanstalk story.

Cons:
1) The film was middling, the events not memorable and the giants not three-dimensional.

Score: 3/5. Save your money and watch it on TV.

Who would be satisfied with this film? Some people only, more for kids.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
phildogMar 4, 2015
I must say I was more then presently surprised by this one. Rarely these days do I watch a film at home from start to finish, but this movie had me gripped from start to finish. It's predictable, dumb, and fun. A lot of fun. I was actuallyI must say I was more then presently surprised by this one. Rarely these days do I watch a film at home from start to finish, but this movie had me gripped from start to finish. It's predictable, dumb, and fun. A lot of fun. I was actually surprised by some of the clever ideas they threw in the movie tactically. The way the defeat the "king" giant in the end couldn't be more brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Jack the Giant Slayer" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

The Good: I was doubtful that this would have a good enough story to be a decent film, but the story was not the problem at all. It was actually a creative idea and a great way to
"Jack the Giant Slayer" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

The Good: I was doubtful that this would have a good enough story to be a decent film, but the story was not the problem at all. It was actually a creative idea and a great way to bring a "Jack and the Beanstalk" story to life. The cast seemed game. Good to great performances from McShane, Hoult, McGregor, and Bill Nighy who provided the voice of the lead giant.

The Bad: It just doesn't hold up. While the idea was a great one, the execution was lacking. There just isn't much heart in the tale. It also didn't help that the film had horrible special effects. In this day and age, and with this sort of budget, green/blue screen moments should not look so obvious. Also, with the exception of a few early scenes, the giants looked like cartoons which was a major let down. For the most part, they were just silly looking.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
FreekandiFeb 23, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. By far the worst movie I have ever seen since super babies, the film was really cheesy with a disappointing ending, poor costumes and actors, the trailer showed all the best bits and the only good thing about it was the C.G.I. in the Trailer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
naomi12345678Jan 9, 2014
This was unexpectedly entertaining to watch. The special effects were pretty good and it was a good spin on the traditional storyline. Good humorous moments in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
python2000Jan 3, 2014
A surprisingly good movie. The CGI is cringingly bad but if you forgive that the worst thing about it is Ewan McGregor's hair which never loses it's style even after a fight in a river. Better than Man of Steel anyday.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
wggmn3Dec 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not as 'fee fi fo dumb' as many critics would have one believe (though I'm not watching it in a theater which actually is where such a film should be seen).. l love (at least filmically) the era in which the story is situated.. it has quite an impressive, inventive 'look'.. engaging, entertaining & fun to watch sometimes even funny.. very effective cinematography & editing.. appropriately un-memorable yet supportive soundtrack.. emotionally well-paced if a bit predictable not simply because we have often heard this fairy-tail).. with more than merely adequate acting (a notable supporting cast much less the lesser known 'leads') & directing (Bryan Singer).. somewhat obvious but nice ending which is a set up for a follow-up (ooopps, jumped the gun, would have made for a good ending & cut off a half-hour.. still a nice ending a nice quadruple ending).. but it's the 'look' that makes this film "it's a hell of a view".. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
owlman1996Dec 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The dialogue was lame, but the story was good. The characters were lame, but the giants were cool. The movie itself did that crap where it makes you think its over but it isnt, but the second part was good. Point is, for every good part of the movie, there was something cringeworthy. It was fairly decent, but had an outstanding ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oblique15Dec 14, 2013
This was a great movie! I heard some bad things about it, but knew it had a good shot at delivering and it did.If you`re looking for an adventure look no further than Jack the Giants Slayer.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
KaramDec 7, 2013
A great legendary adventure movie, no creepy violent scenes or bad words, my son enjoyed each scene of it suitable to all ages and very enjoying highly recommended for a family night gathering!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cag11Nov 30, 2013
'Jack the Giant Slayer' was entertaining. It was a bit disturbing, probably more for kids. It lacked action, however, because there was barely any, but it wasn't a bad movie. It was fairly good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ReviewGuyXOct 7, 2013
Despite the movie being absolutely ludicrous, it was still somewhat entertaining to movie. Terrible opening sequence; the supposed fairytale style they tried to provoke through computer animation ended up looking more amateur and outdated.Despite the movie being absolutely ludicrous, it was still somewhat entertaining to movie. Terrible opening sequence; the supposed fairytale style they tried to provoke through computer animation ended up looking more amateur and outdated. Fun movie... fun enough... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Tss5078Sep 29, 2013
Jack The Giant Slayer has set a record that no one should be proud of. This film made the least amount of money, compared to the amount of money spent on it, in box office history! The film gives new meaning to the word bomb, as it cost theJack The Giant Slayer has set a record that no one should be proud of. This film made the least amount of money, compared to the amount of money spent on it, in box office history! The film gives new meaning to the word bomb, as it cost the studio approximately 80 million dollars! The goal of this film was ambitious, but the problem was that it completely misses all of it's target audiences. The writers wanted to take the story of Jack & The Beanstalk and adapt it for more mature audiences. Parts of it almost seemed like they were looking to make it an epic adventure, like the Lord of The Rings, but the Lord of The Rings it is not. The problem with this film is that while they built up the intensity, they didn't go far enough to make adults want to see it. On the flip side, with all the added death and violence, it garnered a PG-13 rating, which meant that younger kids weren't going to see it either. Personally, I liked what they did with the story and I think Nicholas Hoult is a terrific actor, but the way they wrote this film was just a disaster waiting to happen. When they build up the suspense and something is about to happen, they don't show it, because it would be too intense for the kids. When they go the comedic route, the fart jokes, bees in the helmet, and gigantic bad breath is a turn off to the adults. At times I felt like I was watching a kids movie, while at other times I felt as though I was watching one of these three an a half hour epic trilogies. The film couldn't decide how it wanted to go and as a result, it didn't appeal to very many. You can't argue the fact that the film bombed at the box office and I think you can't argue the fact that it did so for a good reason. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Sep 26, 2013
While it lacks any real substance and depth to be taken seriously, it's still allot of fun to watch. Effects are decent, most of the time, aside from the Giants (which are awful.) Tucci & McGregor really pulling off some great and hilariousWhile it lacks any real substance and depth to be taken seriously, it's still allot of fun to watch. Effects are decent, most of the time, aside from the Giants (which are awful.) Tucci & McGregor really pulling off some great and hilarious performances.

Overall:
Not the greatest fairy tale adaptation, but an entertaining one at the very least.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
zmgalen2000Sep 5, 2013
The plot of this movie is very poor and slow. Acting seems fake, and the story is really puzzling. This movie never looked good from the beginning, but there were some humorous parts. I didn't like this at all, but I love action and humorThe plot of this movie is very poor and slow. Acting seems fake, and the story is really puzzling. This movie never looked good from the beginning, but there were some humorous parts. I didn't like this at all, but I love action and humor movies. This just was plain awful. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Luiz_FelipeAug 28, 2013
So boring. So bad story. There is a lot of better blockbusters out there, keep digging and skip this one. My score is 3 and not 0 only because the visuals were nice at least.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Ashley1998Aug 16, 2013
Entertaining and enjoyable, but nothing groundbreaking or spectacular. A lot of drawn out and dull scenes which lose your attention and takes far too long for action to start. However when the action does start, it becomes better. The sceneEntertaining and enjoyable, but nothing groundbreaking or spectacular. A lot of drawn out and dull scenes which lose your attention and takes far too long for action to start. However when the action does start, it becomes better. The scene with the beanstalk growing in the house was very boring. Overall, it cames across as any other kids fairy tale romp film and generally forgettable, but not to bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
film_bugAug 13, 2013
A film that brings out the bright-eyed child within everyone. Fun and entertaining for all ages. An interesting collection of actors and actresses that worked like magic. More please!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroAug 12, 2013
Awful, just awful. The acting is atrocious, the main male character too ugly to convince that he could charm a princess, the CGI is simply poor. The story is boring and incoherent. Why are these movies made They will never make the studio money...
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
TheQuietGamerAug 1, 2013
An interesting twist on the classic fairy tale, it's just a shame the movie isn't that interesting or entertaining. It falls short mostly due to predictability. A lot of the plot points have been done before, and better, in other movies. TheAn interesting twist on the classic fairy tale, it's just a shame the movie isn't that interesting or entertaining. It falls short mostly due to predictability. A lot of the plot points have been done before, and better, in other movies. The movie gets point for its fantastic special effects that rivals the works of Peter Jackson, but that means nothing when the special effects aren't used in an entertaining experience. The action, the plot, and the humor all falls short. The cast does a good enough job even if there is some overacting from some of the supporting cast. Ewan McGregor's performance is especially entertaining and he's easily the best character in the film providing just the right amount of silliness and seriousness. All in all the movie just isn't that enjoyable and I don't recommend it. Better pass on this one. It tries hard to ride its beanstalk up into the clouds, but in the end the whole thing manages to come crumbling down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
skyminsterJun 29, 2013
To put it simply, Jack the Giant Slayer is a funny, action-filled, fast-paced movie with a fairly interesting plot. It's definitely enjoyable, but isn't exactly very well written, it is written OK though. The movie occasionally drifts fromTo put it simply, Jack the Giant Slayer is a funny, action-filled, fast-paced movie with a fairly interesting plot. It's definitely enjoyable, but isn't exactly very well written, it is written OK though. The movie occasionally drifts from it's plot and gets boring at times, this lowers it's score, also, the acting wasn't the best, as well as that it was incredibly cheesy at times. So I give this film a... 7.3/10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RtheomJun 28, 2013
There was A LOT of potential here, and I think that was the biggest let down. Had the studio been willing to spend more on the movie, they could have had a really great, watch-it-multiple-times movie. Instead, it was worth seeing once onThere was A LOT of potential here, and I think that was the biggest let down. Had the studio been willing to spend more on the movie, they could have had a really great, watch-it-multiple-times movie. Instead, it was worth seeing once on Netflix or a similar service. I would be pretty excited for a sequel based on what the last few minutes of the movie hints at, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZeratulofAiurJun 26, 2013
Very fun and entertaining movie. The storyline could stick a little bit better, and show more detail, but otherwise, a great family movie. There is no blood as I remember, so it should be fine for littler kids as well. A great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Jun 22, 2013
Fairytale stories always have the ability to be wonderfully entertaining or be lame attempts, and Jack the Giant falls somewhere in between. There were some great moments that could have been perfected better, but it just didn't have theFairytale stories always have the ability to be wonderfully entertaining or be lame attempts, and Jack the Giant falls somewhere in between. There were some great moments that could have been perfected better, but it just didn't have the riveting story or battle scenes that I could have hoped for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticJun 9, 2013
A surprisingly fun film directed by Bryan Singer. The main concern going in was the giants and overall I thought they were fine. The key to the movies success is the strong acting along with a solid directorial touch by Mr. Singer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
drakensengJun 9, 2013
This movie, even though its rated PG was still decent. The main characters ans even side characters were pretty good. But the story was just too all over the place. It begins with a dad and son reading about giants and then a movie about aThis movie, even though its rated PG was still decent. The main characters ans even side characters were pretty good. But the story was just too all over the place. It begins with a dad and son reading about giants and then a movie about a princess trying to save the kingdom. Jack himself, didn't really do a lot of fighting in the movie. I though he was going to turn into some great giant slayer or something as the title suggests? But he spends most of his time fighting against himself, being a farm boy and falling in love with a princess. This movie would be a great 3d animation for PG. But the title is very misleading and not many 'slaying' in the movie. The movie is a good family movie but its centered around one or two characters and its about saving a kingdom. There is pg love, there is pg fights, there is pg dialogue. So no blood and guts here...just family fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
azazqadirJun 2, 2013
Very interesting and full of adventure movie. This movie has a "Peter Jacksonish" feel in it, though it is not as great as his epics. But who cares?! this movie is very entertaining from start till end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
csw12Jun 1, 2013
Besides from some lame jokes and mediocre visuals, Jack the Giant Slayer is a good adventure film that successfully modernizes its' fairy tale basis while staying true towards the classic tale.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews