Jack the Giant Slayer

Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Feb 27, 2013
    88
    A rousing, original and thoroughly entertaining adventure.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Feb 28, 2013
    75
    A giant chef character is an icky bit of inspiration (complete with booger humor to soothe any shell-shocked young’uns in the audience), and the monsters are key to an epic-scale third act. If you thought the tale ended when Jack clambered back down from the skies, then you haven’t given it as much thought as Singer.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 28, 2013
    63
    Peter Jackson devotees may not like to hear this, but Jack the Giant Slayer is far more accomplished, visually speaking, than The Hobbit: An Unexpected Snooze, I mean, Journey.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 28, 2013
    58
    This is how a fairy-tale movie gives us our money's worth today. Even if once upon a time, it was called overkill.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 28, 2013
    50
    Jack's problem is that he's a commoner, but the movie's problem is that its script is commoner still, an enchantment-free pretext for animated action, straight-ahead storytelling and ersatz romance.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 28, 2013
    50
    It's a bloodless, gutless piece of PG-13 fodder, geared to go down easy. That it does. It practically evaporates while you're watching it, lulling when you most want it to levitate.
  7. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Feb 27, 2013
    12
    This epic waste of $190 million plunders the grab bag of overused plotlines, failing to put its own stamp on much of anything.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 58
  2. Negative: 5 out of 58
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    Just came from seeing this with my kids. Was not too violent. Kids had a total blast and so did I. Total fun! An Oscar winner for bestJust came from seeing this with my kids. Was not too violent. Kids had a total blast and so did I. Total fun! An Oscar winner for best picture? Never, but who cares! This was totally enjoyable. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    I have to say that this movie was not what I expected it to be. It was neither childish, nor what I would consider adult, but a mix betweenI have to say that this movie was not what I expected it to be. It was neither childish, nor what I would consider adult, but a mix between the two. One thing I will say right away is if you are expected jaw-dropping 3D, skip this movie. It has a few wow moments, but on the whole I would recommend saving a few bucks and seeing the 2D version instead.
    I did like the movie, and I feel the story is solid. I left the theatre feeling good about spending the money to see it, and because of that I give it an 8. If the 3D had been better, it would have scored higher.
    Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    Here's a storybook retelling by Hollywood that isn't completely rubbish. Jack the Giant Slayer stands proudly on the verge of decency, butHere's a storybook retelling by Hollywood that isn't completely rubbish. Jack the Giant Slayer stands proudly on the verge of decency, but doesn't really achieve greatness either. It is a stylized version of Jack and the Beanstalk that caters to more contemporary viewers. With the help of its stars, it provides a more palatable reinterpretation of fairy tale, although the script doesn't really shine. Effects are good throughout, gigantic creatures may have been digitally constructed before and while the giants here don't rewrite how they should be portrayed, they do have more humane motions in an attempt to include them more as characters and not mere monsters.

    Nicholas Hoult as Jack is an appropriate pick. He doesn't stand out as the heroic type, leaning more towards an urchin type of protagonist. His love interest Isabelle, played by Eleanor Tomlinson, is a princess who longs for an adventure. If I didn't know better, I'd say the first few scenes are from old RPG game, and truthfully. It starts slow and predictable, almost overly cliché. This is a movie that has slow beginning but eventually builds up to more interesting sequences.

    Stanley Tucci, Ewan McGregor and Ian McShane are no strangers to fantasy movie, these veterans are charming and act their parts ardently. They give more color to the otherwise wanting movie, I personally like Ewan McGregor as he steals the scenes even only as supporting role. Writing is somewhat inconsistent, some dialogues are corny and seem forced, and for those who aren't, they are decent at best. The pace is brilliantly tight however, the scenes are set in hasty fashion, not prolonged mundanely, and they are chained together fluidly.

    Action is integrated well, the ones towards the end are pretty amazing. It has compact and comprehensible battles, things happen quickly in sorted recognizable order, it's a good trait to have, considering the numbers of people involved are plenty at times. The use of 3D is serviceable, camera placement for the action are tailored for it, although not in invasive way as most 3D movies do. The switch to first person view briefly at some events is a nice touch.

    Wardrobe for the cast deserves credit, outfits are medieval yet seemingly have modern ambiance to them. Armor designs fit the theme, the characters look fine as each respective garment insinuate their personality more. Jack the Giant Slayer is a movie which isn't overly epic, it does have some issues and doesn't really make for a grand journey. However, the solid acting and good pace will likely amuse audience.
    Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    This was a fun movie. It doesn't try to be anything it's not and is filled with good action and characters. Only complaint is that the cgi wasThis was a fun movie. It doesn't try to be anything it's not and is filled with good action and characters. Only complaint is that the cgi was a little spotty at times. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2013
    6
    Besides from some lame jokes and mediocre visuals, Jack the Giant Slayer is a good adventure film that successfully modernizes its' fairy taleBesides from some lame jokes and mediocre visuals, Jack the Giant Slayer is a good adventure film that successfully modernizes its' fairy tale basis while staying true towards the classic tale. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    5
    THis wasn't a great movie. I found the action scenes very good, but the movie was all over the place. At points it was a comedy, but sometimesTHis wasn't a great movie. I found the action scenes very good, but the movie was all over the place. At points it was a comedy, but sometimes it was a serious adventure, or a fantasy war movie, and I don't know what they were thinking with linking it to real life. As well as that, it wasn't even consistent with who it was made for. The plot was too simple for the older crowd, but too violent for the children the plot seems to cater for. I also found that not many people have much of a motive. Why did the obviously evil guy keep killing his teammates? Why did Princess Isabel run away from a moderately reasonable request from her father and king? There were some good points, like the action scenes and the character of Jack, but not enough to justify more than a 5. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2013
    0
    Awful, just awful. The acting is atrocious, the main male character too ugly to convince that he could charm a princess, the CGI is simplyAwful, just awful. The acting is atrocious, the main male character too ugly to convince that he could charm a princess, the CGI is simply poor. The story is boring and incoherent. Why are these movies made They will never make the studio money... Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Trailers